IMDb > House at the End of the Street (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
House at the End of the Street
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 17: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 163 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A well-written thriller with nothing extraordinary to offer

6/10
Author: tapio_hietamaki from Helsinki, Finland
3 March 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This film is more of a thriller than a horror film. I didn't find any scenes particularly scary, though there are chase scenes that will make you cling to the edge of your seat. I found it refreshing that the film doesn't have any supernatural elements, nor does it try to make the viewer question whether there might've been any. It's just a working, straight-forward thriller and doesn't try to be anything more than it needs to. Sticks to its strengths.

Jennifer Lawrence delivers a good performance -- she has good chemistry with her cast members and actually does some nice-sounding singing as well. The characters are somewhat forgettable and the dialog, while not clumsy, isn't particularly witty or interesting. The story itself, though, advances very smoothly and manages to keep your interest the whole time. There are several revelations and twists, some rather unpredictable, actually, and the film might even benefit from a second viewing. It only stumbles at the end, trying to milk traditional horror clichés for all their worth.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

transparent!!!!

3/10
Author: nightwatch4773 from Canada
17 February 2013

I really wanted to like this film since I tend to enjoy films with similar titles.I loved Last house on the left( 1974 ) and the reboot a few years ago. Enjoyed the House by the edge of the Park and the video nasty the House on Dead end Street so I went into this hoping that the star of Winter's Bone would carry this to the promise land. Well......no that didn't happen. First off the trailer makes this as some supernatural thriller and that is not the case at all. If you haven't figured this out by the 25min mark, please get an IQ test or maybe I have watched one too many of these sort of films. The film is the perfect example on cashing in on a very hot actress at the moment in Jennifer Lawrence. The script barely gives her anything to work with other than her running around looking sexy in her tight wet top. The only part of the film I enjoyed was Gil Bellows maybe because of the nostalgia of Shawshank Redemption or perhaps he was a customer at my video store that closed down last summer.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Drive past the House at the End of the Street?

5/10
Author: Chandru Bhojwani (cultjones@yahoo.com) from United Kingdom
17 February 2013

A Mother and Daughter move in to a small town and rent a house down the street from the Jacobson home, the site of a double murder four years prior. A brain-damaged daughter murders her parents and vanishes in the woods leaving the house to the sole living heir, the son Ryan. The town loathes the Jacobson property while the young new neighbour, played by Jennifer Lawrence, befriends the loner son only to uncover a dark truth.

Elisabeth Shue and Lawrence headline Mark Tonderai's suspense thriller, which aims to keep you at the edge of your seat before making you jump out of them. Unfortunately it comes off as a little clichéd for the most part and outside of Shue and Lawrence, portions of the acting and dialogue are sub par. Yes, there is a twist which helps give the movie some credibility but then the twists become a little sudden and silly. Unfortunately there isn't enough to make it a stand out thriller and House at the end of the Street is a mid-list DVD watch at best.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Lawrence's hot body is the only good thing here

1/10
Author: krycek19 from Denmark
21 April 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Another watered down PG13 predictable, boring horror-wannabe movie.

**SPOILERS AHEAD** Elissa (Is that a name?) moves to a small town with her mother.

Next door lives Ryan, a weird young man who saw his sister kill his parents and then his sister killed herself. Then he inherited the house and lives there alone. But wait, there is a twist. Because in Ryans basement a girl is locked up. She is Ryans sister that didn't kill herself after all. But is she' really Ryans sister?

*MORE SPOILERS. DO NOT READ AHEAD IF YOU PLAN TO SEE THE MOVIE *

The answer is no. There never was a sister. Ryans mother was abusive and forced Ryan to dress like a girl and called him Carrie-Anne. Finally the boy snapped and killed his mother and father. And afterwards he created the sister in his mind, to forget that he was the one that killed his parents. And the girl in the basement that he wants to be his sister is someone Ryan kidnapped and put blue contactlenses in her eyes. For reasons unknown.

A rip-off from Psycho and several other movies, but done badly. Because of a bad script and inept directing.

The wooden acting from everyone including Jennifer Lawrence and the plot-turns coming down the road a mile away, makes this another forgettable mediocre horror film that never delivers even one scare. No blood, because this is PG13.

On top of that every teenager in the movie, including Ryan is good-looking. And so is Larences mother and the few other parents we see in the movie. Yet another cliché that Hollywood needs to get over. I'd rather see ugly people acting good than pretty people acting bad.

I only kept watching because Lawrence has a hot body and she is either wet or sweating, filmed from angles that shows her nice boobs and ass.

But I'd rather watch porn any day than this dribbling crap.

All this movie did was making me horny looking at Lawrence.

And that is not a compliment to the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Not good at all

2/10
Author: Bezenby from United Kingdom
5 January 2015

I disliked this film after the first twenty minutes. My wife hung in there and then began hating it around the one hour mark, just as things started to get really stupid and annoying. I have no idea who this film was aimed that, but I'm guessing it might be folks that have never watched a slasher film before.

Jennifer Lawrence (who still manages to be likable throughout) is some songwriter moving from Chicago with her mother to some rural place, next to a creepy murder house. You know the drill. There's someone living there, the neighbours hate him, Jen sees the good in him (not hard after one of the neighbours tries to rape her) blah blah it's twilight only with feckin Norman Bates instead of that Easter Island statue faced guy and the other guy with the six inch wide nose.

So. I can't see any teenager being interested in this. Sure, it's full of all that misunderstood teenager meeting the one who understands them pish (rather than the misunderstood teenager coping by smoking loads of dope and necking acid and eckies pish we had back in the nineties), but 98% percent of this film is made up of arseholes so why make it in the first place.

Plus, the ending has so many moments where people do something stupid you'd that something something something who cares.

It's kind of like Sleepaway Camp, but not really at all because that was a good film. This isn't.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

One of the most incredible films I have ever experienced - do not listen to the other reviews!

10/10
Author: annie-987-514477 from England
4 January 2015

Before watching any movie, I look it up on IMDb, in order to see if it is worth my time. I did so for 'House at the End of the Street' (2012), starring the phenomenal work of Jennifer Lawrence and Max Thieriot; and was extremely disappointed to find that it had only been awarded a measly 5.6/10. I then watched the trailer and was intrigued by the overview of the plot as well as the technical side of it, including the interesting camera angles and lighting/colouring of the movie.

Although it may appear to be a clichéd American 'tween' movie at the start, I can assure you that it is well worth sticking with. After reading some of the reviews, I can infer that one common issue or flaw with the movie is the fast or "choppy" pace, however, although fast, I believe that this movie was set at a perfect pace. It had the ideal and incomparable feature that it was fast, thus intriguing, but not too fast that one could not follow the plot.

Additionally, the plot was seamlessly structured, and was extremely unpredictable. The movie left me feeling unbelievably on-edge and somewhat frazzled - for the first time in a long time I actually found myself sitting on the edge of my seat.

In summary, this is one of the best films I have ever seen; and believe me when I say I have seen a lot of films! If you are looking for an intense, dark, dramatic thriller / horror, I strongly recommend this near-masterpiece of a film.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

As dumb as bricks

2/10
Author: the_wolf_imdb from Prague
30 December 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Was this supposed to be a thriller? A horror movie? Every character is incredibly dumb and everyone totally fails to communicate. Everyone is psychopath, drunk, idiot or whore. There is not a single sympathetic character in the movie, period. Everyone and I really mean everyone made me just sick.

The female character played by Jennifer Lawrence is incredibly, insanely stupid. I mean a lot of beyond "Darwinian candidate level stupid". I think this is really a very bad spot on her career that will be hopefully forgotten.

The moment that made me laugh in the very bizarre moment was she tries to remove the straps by burning them on the light bulb. She tries to burn them for a pretty long period of time. Hello? Have you ever suffered a burn by a light bulb? You would have to be a Hero of Soviet Union class macho to sustain this! Yet she manages to free herself only to make several incredibly bad decisions after that.

Please, stop to make such idiotic TV shows. Please, do not make such crap anymore or at least mark them as "ultra dumb waste of time for a brainless audience". I feel very sorry for everyone who wasted his money on this.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

underrated whatsoever!

10/10
Author: shathar_o from Jordan
18 January 2014

House at the end of the street is a pretty crazy unpredictable psychological horror; it's terrific and terrifying. one of the little movies i enjoy watching. i love this movie because it's my favorite type of horror; the one with a new neighbors coming to a creepy house or a creepy neighborhood with a psycho touch; it couldn't go better. it's almost perfect for it's type; it's a massive mind-blowing and jaw-dropping; both performances of Lawrence and Thieriot are amazing; the story line was so one in a million; i liked it and i don't care about what everyone says; i recommend it without hesitating, and it should get more attention because everyone would love it.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

The Ultimate Movie Review! - http://tss5078.blogspot.com - @tss5078

5/10
Author: Tss5078 from United States
26 May 2013

House at The End of The Street is another ambitious, low budget, Horror film, that tries to make a name for itself by using star power, but how much was I really expecting from a PG-13 Horror film? The story begins when Elissa and her mother move to a new house in the country, a house that is across the street from the scene of a grizzly double murder four years earlier. The house and story is surrounded by rumors and still occupied by the son of the victims, who Elissa quickly befriends. Once again we have a common theme that has been done to death, but the producers of this film were hoping that by spending big bucks on Jennifer Lawrence (Hunger Games) and Max Thieriot (Bates Motel) that they could get people to watch their film and it worked, but I suspect most people were sadly disappointing like I was. The acting was terrific and everything you would expect from these actors, but the story was so simple and predictable that it really wasn't worth watching. Being a PG-13 film didn't help either as there wasn't really anything too horrific or creepy to really catch your attention. If that wasn't bad enough, the first hour of the film was so slow, that I almost turned it off. The only thing that kind of gave me a laugh was that there was a lot of scenes with Jennifer Lawrence in the woods and I couldn't help but think that Katniss wished she had her bow. House at The End of The Street is a film that has the star power, but not much else, as it's a slow, tame, predictable film, that's been done and it leaves far too many unanswered questions. If you're a die hard Jennifer Lawrence fan, check it out, otherwise, I wouldn't waste my time on this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

"I Fought J-Law And J-Law Won...."

8/10
Author: ferbs54 from United States
13 May 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Although actress Jennifer Lawrence had appeared in several television programs and seven theatrical films prior to 2012, few could have foreseen the magnitude of her breakthrough that year. While it is true that critics had praised her work in 2010's "Winter's Bone," her career was most assuredly catapulted into the stratosphere by a pair of films that bracketed 2012. Bringing to life the Katniss Everdeen character in "The Hunger Games," she helped propel that March release to an almost $700 million worldwide gross; the No. 3 film of that year, after "The Avengers" and "The Dark Knight Rises." In November, her portrayal of Tiffany Maxwell in "Silver Linings Playbook" earned her a well-deserved Best Actress Oscar...the second-youngest winner of that august award (at age 22) in history, after Marlee Matlin. Less remembered for Jennifer that year, but still an unqualified hit with a domestic gross of $42 million, was the film "House at the End of the Street," which was released in September but had been filmed two years earlier, around the time of "Winter's Bone." And Jennifer's millions of fans around the world should not be surprised to learn that this earlier film shows the then-20-year-old actress evincing just as much intelligence, grit, talent and remarkable good looks as they have recently come to expect.

In the film, Jennifer plays the part of Elissa Cassidy, who, along with her divorced mother, Sarah (1995 Oscar nominee Elisabeth Shue), moves from the big town of Chicago to the picturesque suburban community of Woodshire. They are able to afford the large, rambling abode that they move into only because it happens to be situated next to a house where a double homicide had occurred four years earlier. It seems that little Carrie-Ann Jacobson had murdered both her parents and then drowned in the local dam, although her body had never been recovered. Elissa soon befriends the only family survivor, Ryan Jacobson (a memorable performance here from Max Thieriot), a quiet, sensitive youth who lives alone in the house and is fixing up the place in the hopes of selling it. Well, to be perfectly honest, Ryan doesn't live ENTIRELY alone, and those viewers who have seen such previous "wacko relative in the attic" films as "The Shuttered Room" (1967) and "The Beast in the Cellar" (1971) might have an inkling where this film is headed. But they would be dead wrong, as this film takes a couple of very surprising twists and pulls the rug out from under for all concerned...especially for poor Elissa! "People don't notice all the secrets around them, even though they're right in front of them," Ryan tells Elissa early on, and future events in the film surely do bear that statement out!

Besides those two British films just mentioned, "House at the End of the Street" also brings to mind, in sections, such wonderful horror outings as "Psycho" and "Wait Until Dark." The film turns remarkably suspenseful in its final 1/2 hour or so, and I must confess that my stomach was in knots by the time it was all over. Director Mark Tonderai, whose previous work I am wholly unfamiliar with, does a fine job at keeping his film moving, and his camera work is fluid and mobile, to say the least! The film looks just fine, too, with superior production values; flashily shot, and making nice use of its Metcalfe, Ontario locales. (Is this film an American or Canadian production? Judging by the end credits, my guess would be a joint production, but I'm really not certain on this point.) It is certainly well acted by all concerned, and is a fine exemplar of intelligent, modern-day and realistic horror. (And for those viewers who might pooh-pooh this last statement, as to the film's realism, I would simply cite the stunning events that transpired in Cleveland just this past week!) Still, good as the film is, its main selling point remains its young star, Jennifer Lawrence, who most assuredly "steals the show." Though she doesn't get to wield a bow and arrow in this film, "Hunger Games" fans will be happy to learn that she yet manages to give a very physical performance here: running, jumping through windows, shooting a gun, fighting and kicking and so on. I am tempted to say that Jennifer has all the makings of a great "scream queen," but for the fact that--amazingly enough, given all the horrible things that she encounters during the film--Elissa does not scream once...not even when locked in a car trunk along with what may very well be a female corpse! A tough, smart and beautiful heroine, to be sure; no wonder a drunken teen lustfully says to her at one point, "You're pretty." Gorgeous and naturally talented (it's astounding that Jennifer has never taken any acting classes!), and only 22 years old as I write this...what a bright future Ms. Lawrence has, unless, of course, she foolishly goes down the Lohan route, which I highly doubt she will. In talk show interviews, Jennifer comes across as a bright, funny, self-deprecating and levelheaded actress; no wonder she is so hugely successful and popular! Anyway, I'd say forget about that overrated (in every regard) J-Lo and stick with J-Law! She's the real deal, and makes this already fine horror outing something truly special. And oh...try watching this film a second time, after learning its many surprising secrets. You'll surely see events with a whole new slant, I promise you....

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 17: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history