IMDb > House at the End of the Street (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
House at the End of the Street
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 17: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 164 reviews in total 

20 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

this movie sucks

1/10
Author: jessnhalod from United States
22 September 2012

i wanted to leave half way through but it was too late to get my money back so i stayed, hoping it would get better, it didn't.

i LOVE horror movies. it doesn't take much to please me. i expected it to be cheesy. this movie gave me nothing. it was not scary, entertaining, witty, creative, weird, it was nothing. Jennifer is hot tho. they could have made it better if they had added more entertaining dialog, or developed the characters better. i guess they were thinking that a series of "surprise" moments equals a horror movie. i don't think so. i just hated that i spent 20 on this movie.

that is all. don't see it.

Was the above review useful to you?

Initially Watched For Lawrence But Quickly Got Hooked

7/10
Author: zkonedog from United States
3 March 2017

I'll admit this right off the bat: The only real reason I rented this film was because I had recently seen "Silver Linings Playbook" and fell in love with Jennifer Lawrence (!). Granted, I am a suspense/thriller movie genre fan, but I figured that this movie would be decidedly average. I was pleasantly surprised, then, when it hooked me right from the start and carried my interest all the way through!

For a basic plot summary, "House At The End Of The Street" sees Elissa (Lawrence) and her mother Sarah (Elisabeth Shue) move from Chicago to a more rural locale. They quickly discover that they have a reclusive young neighbor named Ryan (Max Thieriot), who is orphaned after the grisly death of his parents. Elissa quickly forms a relationship with Ryan and begins to unravel the secrets surrounding his life.

Like I said, I was expecting to see Lawrence looking beautiful for 100 minutes and little else. But, the film ends up working very well because it is not quite as predictable as you would think. It will never be Shakespeare, as the saying goes, but it distinguishes itself from current similar genre fare for two significant reasons:

1. The plot always keeps you guessing. This is one of those scenarios where the less I say here the better it will be for your viewing pleasure, but suffice it to say that you won't "figure out" this one in the opening minutes.

2. The acting is tremendous. Lawrence shines again (when has she ever not?!), Thieriot nearly steals the show on occasion with his nuanced performance, and for older film buffs, it is fun to see Shue back on the big screen.

Overall, I think that most viewers will be surprised by "House At The End Of The Street" for its ability to differentiate itself from the more mundane suspense/thriller fare that has cropped up recently.

Was the above review useful to you?

Jennifer is Great, The Movie isn't

5/10
Author: adonis98-743-186503 from Greece
11 October 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After moving with her mother to a small town, a teenager finds that an accident happened in the house at the end of the street. Things get more complicated when she befriends a boy who was the only survivor of the accident. Unfortunately this is one of the weakest films Jennifer Lawrence has starred in she's pretty good but the twist with Max Thieriot pretty much destroyed the whole movie with a plot that has been done so many times and with a character that goes nowhere if this film had ghosts or anything i would be more interested in it unfortunately it doesn't it's just some dude who goes crazy and kills a bunch of people and gets locked up in the end with a close shot on his face telling us that he is "crazy".

Was the above review useful to you?

House at the end of the street Review

1/10
Author: Spideyfan-963-246215 from United States
7 September 2016

House at the End of the Street (2012) Starring:Jenifer Lawrence, Max Theriot, Elisabeth Sue, Eva Link, Nolan Gereard Funk, Allie Macdonald, Jordan Hayes, Kristia Bridges, and James Thomas Directed by Mark Tonderai Review FEAR REACHES.... FOR THE GIRL NEXT DOOR Hello Kiddies your pal the crypt-critic has a rip-off kind of horror film,that is literally like the other, I'll be saving your time by telling you this, It was psycho,it was legitimately psycho, there I just saved an hour and forty minutes of your time. Why do I do this? No wait, here's the better question do I keep finding pieces of shriek? Why, I don't get it well actually I know who's behind this it's that Netflix, they keep putting in bad movies on their instant que, yeah. But whatever screw it let's just get on with it. First off I don't even know why it's even called house at the end of the street cause it wasn't even at the end of a street it was in the middle of the dang woods. There was a psycho, a weed-whacker, and a dang rake. This film is awful and I mean incredibly awful, and it disappoint's me because I was actually intrigued by this film, I mean I'm a Jenifer Lawrence fan and it was nice to see Elsabeth Shue again, it seemed to have a dark premise and despite all the crap he's been in the past I was willing to give Max Theriot another chance cause I liked him on Bates Motel, but good GOD did I pay the price. This movie is not only an insulting rip-off of Alfred Hitchcock's masterpiece Psycho, but it is ungodly boring I dang near fell asleep through about half this flick. This teenager named Alyssa played by Jenifer Lawrence moves into this new home with her mother played by Elisabeth Shue, she develops a relationship with this guy played by Max theriot, who still lives in the same house his sister massacred his parents years ago. And as the two of them get closer more unscary stuff happens and it ultimately turns out that the dude isn't what he seems. Wow I never would have guessed that. Since I would never in my right mind recommend this movie to anyone, I'm just going to spoil the ending for you because it was Psycho! It was literally Psycho, basically instead of killing his mommy or dressing up like mommy he's killing for his sister who he kept locked in the basement this whole time but wait there's more this film has to disguise the fact that it's a rip-off of psycho by telling us it wasn't his sister at all it was one of these other little girls that he was kidnapping and filling with blue contacts to look like his sister. Oh and there's also something about his sister dying on a swing set and his parents dressing him up like his sister when he was a kid and calling him Maryann and my GOD this movie is stupid! Jenifer Lawrence has made a good name for herself with films like X- MEN FIRST CLASS, X-men DAYS OF FUTURE PAST and that rip-of of battle royale(THE HUNGER GAMES) and it's far superior sequel. She is so much better then this, she was actually good in this but that's like saying she was the sparkly piece of corn in a giant Ball of shriek. Max Theriot is a horrendous actor( who should stick to television, he's better at it.) I think he was worse in this then he was in my soul to take which I don't even know how that's possible, then we go on to Elisabeth Shue, who is fine in the movie but is just wasted. The story is assigning, the characters even ones played by good actors are a joke and it's very boring and un-scary. The only scares are jump scares and they don't even happen during scary moments. The value just gets jacked up randomly now and then, I don't get it, I don't get how can someone make a film like this and expect people to be scared by it, but you know what I'll tell you this much the fact that Resident Evil:Retribution is better then this scares the living shriek out of me. This movie blows. I'm giving it one star out of five.

Was the above review useful to you?

Rather bland horror/thriller

3/10
Author: GL84 from Los Angeles, Ca
22 July 2016

Moving into a new house, a teen and her mom meet the lone survivor of a massacre still living in his old house and after ignoring her early warnings to stay away she decides to help him only to stumble across a deadly secret he's harboring in the house.

Overall this one here is quite a bland and unworthwhile horror/thriller. For the most part this one is really undone by the fact that hardly anything at all even occurs in this one for the majority of its running time. As the majority of this one centers heavily on the family drama between the two, from the mother's worry about her daughter's troubling-to-her behavior and the daughter's worry about trying to uncover the secret of his lonely and horrific past, this bland narrative stalls the film almost immediately by not only running such a clichéd and unappealing piece but doing it so that there's an incentive here to wind through these pieces solely for the benefit of the target audience only. It's simply augmented only to make her the center of attention the whole time and make you side with her despite her mom being the clear-cut voice of reason and sanity, yet this one makes her out otherwise merely to feature her as often as possible. This results in plenty of lame non-horror thriller moments merely to try to make her seem as good-natured as possible rather than try to do anything with that storyline and it just feels too safe and clichéd enforcing these stereotypes. As well, that cuts into the action so drastically with these absolutely banal and lame set-ups that there's very little action that would be considered enjoyable, featuring such wasted moments as the girl home alone in her house after the first escape and the attempted attack on the couple in the car which are both interrupted before either actually gets into big stalking territory which is a big missed opportunity to actually feature something of interest during the overlong and excruciating setup. That also manages to hold itself back from the actual blood-and-gore set-up here with an absolutely minimal amount of bloody kills or gore, and it just all adds together into the film's overall watered-down feeling. While these here hold it down, it does have enough good stuff here to make it somewhat watchable which is almost solely based on the final half- house here which is quite fun. Once it's full twist is finally unleashed and given out, there's a lot of fun here with him holding her captive and tied up in the house as it then turns into a somewhat enjoyable series of escape and recaptures that do get a little old but still have some solid action throughout. The big battles down in the basement hiding room and then later on in the garage where there's plenty of good fun to be had with these few scenes offering up some rather enjoyable stalking. As well, the opening rampage does have some solid work for it with the basic elements of a stalking slasher working in quite fun ways Although these here are where it works, there's still some problems here.

Rated PG-13: Violence and Language.

Was the above review useful to you?

Such a crappy movie to look at!

1/10
Author: Irishmoviereviewer from Ireland
9 July 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Honestly, who would think this movie is that great?

Everything including the acting, the story line and the setting. This is pretty much like a bad Scary Movie parody film. I don't blame Jennifer Lawrence but she shouldn't have accepted to star in this godforsaken film. She just pretty much has bad luck in a lot of films that shes been involved in. Although I'm not a fan of her, i think she should really try to let her hair down and find movies that will make her more successful than her bad movies...

This film was just like a rip off with a mix between the exorcist and the conjouring. Its just a copycat movie at the end of the day, I would like to say to ones who are fans of Jennifer Lawrence to avoid this.....

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Lawrence's hot body is the only good thing here

1/10
Author: krycek19 from Denmark
21 April 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Another watered down PG13 predictable, boring horror-wannabe movie.

**SPOILERS AHEAD** Elissa (Is that a name?) moves to a small town with her mother.

Next door lives Ryan, a weird young man who saw his sister kill his parents and then his sister killed herself. Then he inherited the house and lives there alone. But wait, there is a twist. Because in Ryans basement a girl is locked up. She is Ryans sister that didn't kill herself after all. But is she' really Ryans sister?

*MORE SPOILERS. DO NOT READ AHEAD IF YOU PLAN TO SEE THE MOVIE *

The answer is no. There never was a sister. Ryans mother was abusive and forced Ryan to dress like a girl and called him Carrie-Anne. Finally the boy snapped and killed his mother and father. And afterwards he created the sister in his mind, to forget that he was the one that killed his parents. And the girl in the basement that he wants to be his sister is someone Ryan kidnapped and put blue contactlenses in her eyes. For reasons unknown.

A rip-off from Psycho and several other movies, but done badly. Because of a bad script and inept directing.

The wooden acting from everyone including Jennifer Lawrence and the plot-turns coming down the road a mile away, makes this another forgettable mediocre horror film that never delivers even one scare. No blood, because this is PG13.

On top of that every teenager in the movie, including Ryan is good-looking. And so is Larences mother and the few other parents we see in the movie. Yet another cliché that Hollywood needs to get over. I'd rather see ugly people acting good than pretty people acting bad.

I only kept watching because Lawrence has a hot body and she is either wet or sweating, filmed from angles that shows her nice boobs and ass.

But I'd rather watch porn any day than this dribbling crap.

All this movie did was making me horny looking at Lawrence.

And that is not a compliment to the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Cliché'd Claptrap

2/10
Author: arkhambat-513-170795 from Indiana, United States
23 May 2015

SPOILER FREE (as if you won't figure it out on your own)

Cardboard but-out characters taken from any number of other films make it hard to sit through what seems like a much longer movie. The surprising shock twist is neither shocking nor surprising to any thriller/horror film fan worth their salt. Honestly, the plot line would have been more interesting (and surprising) if they hadn't veered into the direction they chose. The ending, stolen and poorly repackaged from previous films like most of the rest of the film, is one of the most unintentionally laughable things I have seen in a very long time. As it stands, I feel like my mother would have watched this on the Lifetime Movie Network.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Jennifer Lawrence makes this movie.

Author: bluesman-20 from Canada
16 January 2014

The house at the end of the street is not a horror movie . It's more of a suspense film. Mother and Daughter move into a beautiful home after a bitter divorce. The mother is a doctor who works late hours the Daughter played by Jenifer Lawrence is still in high school. She's a singer with a lot of talent. Her mother played by Elizabeth Shue Wants her daughter to fit in. But after a particularly rough first day in which Elyssa is invited to one of the school's most popular students and one of it's richest . She discovers a dark side to the high society and does not like it. Meanwhile she has been watching the house at the end of the street. She was told there was a double murder there about 20 years ago and that no one lives there. Then one night she sees a light on in the house. And she becomes fascinated by the home's owner. The son of the people who died there. She hears how his sister went crazy one night and killed the parents and fled into the woods. Where she is to this day no one knows.

His name is Ryan and he has a few deep dark secrets of his own.

Not really a horror movie. and not a thriller. You might call this suspense lite. You know there is something wrong with Ryan but you don't know what. and when you get the big reveal you feel kind of cheated. There is a lot that's not explained. Or if it is it's not explained properly. The only reason I watched it was because of Jennifer Lawrence. and that's the best part of the film plus you hear her sing which is a good thing. Other then that not much to recommend.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Ultimately Rather Disappointing

5/10
Author: gavin6942 from United States
12 August 2013

A mother (Elisabeth Shue) and daughter (Jennifer Lawrence) move to a new town and find themselves living next door to a house where a young girl murdered her parents. When the daughter befriends the surviving son (Max Thieriot), she learns the story is far from over.

Critics have praised Jennifer Lawrence for her performance saying that she "does her best with a dull and derivative script in this by-the-numbers suburban shocker", and that pretty much sums it up. Lawrence and her co-stars do a fine job, with some above average acting. Even the directing and cinematography is pretty good, but the story is rather lame, wavering between slow moments and "shocking" twists that are all-too-obvious.

The film grossed over $42.7 million worldwide, from a budget of $6.9 million. So, I guess even though it is not a memorable film that will become a classic, it served its purpose for the studio. It just had me sad for Shue, who has been moved to a supporting actress "mother" role... her days of leading lady seem to be behind her.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 17: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history