IMDb > House at the End of the Street (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
House at the End of the Street
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 17: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 163 reviews in total 

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

A good thriller

7/10
Author: Steve Johnson
11 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Despite the negative comments this movie got, I have to say I enjoyed it. It has got a good thrill in it, and at the end, there is a major twist in this that really gives it a jump. This is a story about a recently divorced mother, Sarah, moving into to a new neighbourhood with her daughter, Elissa. The town is said to have a house in which a daughter murdered both her parents and was never said to be found.The son, who was not there, Ryan, still lives in the house at the end of the street. Elissa does not like her neighbours on the other sides, so she tries Ryan. She begins to have an affection for him. When he is beat up, Elissa runs to his house and discovers a secret room. She is then attacked by a girl, which then Ryan comes in and explains to her, that the girl who murdered her parents was there, Carrie-Anne. Elissa then finds contacts and a wallet with a girl who looks like Carrie-Anne but his not named that. When Elissa questions Ryan, He traps her in a room, with the now drugged Carrie-Anne. She finds out Carrie-Anne died before she killed her parents, Which means, Ryan kidnaps girls and pretends that they are Carrie-Anne. Ryan then believes Elissa can be Carrie-Anne and the movie turns into a chase thriller where Elissa tries to escape the house, while her mother searches for her. We find out at the end, the real source of evil was the parents. They made Ryan dress up as Carrie-Anne once she died, and when Ryan denied the fact, they would abuse him. He killed his parents and all this time, he was trying to prove that he was not Carrie-Anne. I liked this. Its not an Oscar movie, not at all. It is a good thriller that will give you a chill. Although, this is not horror, it is thriller with a few effective jump scares. I liked this movie, and that is final. p.s. Jennifer Lawrence was amazing in this, she made this movie a good one.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Mystery, Suspense, and a Little Horror Await at the House at the End of the Street

8/10
Author: Sean Jump from United States
4 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Young Elissa (Jennifer Lawrence) and her mother Sarah (Elizabeth Shue) think they are moving into a quiet, uneventful new home to reconnect and start over. The house next door is supposed to be empty, but late one night Sarah sees a light go on in the allegedly vacant edifice. Turns out a young man does live there, in the very house where his crazy sister murdered their parents years before. The townsfolk think young Ryan is crazy for staying in the house all by himself, but Elissa thinks differently. Elissa is drawn to Ryan's quiet, sensitive nature, and perhaps also by the chance to draw him out of his shell. But the local legend is that Ryan's sister is still out there somewhere, watching and waiting for another chance to strike…

Don't think of House at the End of the Street as a slasher film. True, the story could work as a slasher, but director Mark Tonderai has created a film that rises above many of the usual genre clichés. The story is well-written and built around mystery and suspense rather than cheap shocks, and even though most of the main characters are teenagers, the film doesn't take them down the usual paths.

The cast is outstanding. Jennifer Lawrence makes Elissa likable but not without flaws. She is smart and caring, brave and resourceful, and in many ways an atypical teenager, but all the same a young woman who makes some bad decisions throughout the movie, decisions that may have lethal consequences for herself and others. In short, she's a great protagonist that is easy to identify with. Elizabeth Shue likewise does well as Sarah, plagued by paranoia and too much drink but determined to forge a stronger relationship between her daughter and herself...if she doesn't drive her away forever first. Max Thieriot handles the touchy role of Ryan just right, capturing all the nuances of a town outcast living under the shadow of an urban legend with surprising deftness. Together, the performers ensure the story seems populated by real people of flesh and blood.

In some ways, House at the End of the Street echoes that great classic of horror cinema, Psycho. Of course, the current film isn't nearly as good as Psycho, but there are a lot of shared elements which can't entirely be coincidental. Compared to many other horror films, House at the End of the Street may seem a bit bloodless, but that's only because the filmmakers realize it takes more to make a good movie than lots of bloodshed. House at the End of the Street is a fine horror film that delivers the scares without sacrificing good sense.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

For fans of absurd plot-twists, a rich treasure trove.

1/10
Author: fedor8 from Serbia
4 May 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I've played this game far too often. "Describe an idiotic thriller in yet another review about an idiotic thriller" is a game I'm tired of playing. Here's a disjointed list of most of the dumb things.

1. The killer is immune to bullets. 2. Shue is immune to deep stab wounds to the abdominal region. 3. The killer is a martial arts expert – just because he was dressed up as a girl during childhood. 4. The sheriff-was-the-boyfriend plot-twist is a hoot. 5. The killer's childhood story is an even bigger hoot: kind of like a parody of "Psycho", with crack cocaine thrown in for bad measure. 6. The utter confusion regarding who was sneaking up behind trees, staring at Lawrence. 7. The over-kill overboard mega-cliché teen-movie scene in which the killer gets beaten up by a bunch of hormonal jocks. 8. Why does the killer keep leaving the key on the door, when the captive woman managed to escape several times already using that same key? 9. Do regular injections turn every kidnapped girl into a mindless zombie? 10. Did the writer have a lobotomy or was he born that way? 11. The less said about the various teen-movie clichés, the better.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

What an unbelievable disappointment

3/10
Author: captaincameron from Tampa, Florida
8 June 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

There are four good things in this movie: Jennifer Lawrence in a tank top and Elizabeth Shue in a tank top. Barring that, this movie was truly, truly bad. In part I can blame the marketing--they made it seem like a supernatural horror story; instead, it was a failed attempt at a thriller. Rather than creating a new character, they pretty much let Jennifer Lawrence stay in the role of Katniss from The Hunger Games, but with her hair blonde instead. But she did okay, given what she had to work with; so did Max Theriot. Other characters in the movie didn't have to worry about wooden dialogue because we never really saw them more than a couple of times. Every attempt at a plot twist was easily anticipated, including the attempt at a shocker ending. Save yourself time and pain and skip the flick--and if you are watching it for the four good things that I mention, those are few and far between as well.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Casey's Movie Mania: HOUSE AT THE END OF THE STREET (2012)

1/10
Author: caseymoviemania from Malaysia
9 October 2012

Shot in summer 2010, but released two years later to capitalize Jennifer Lawrence's mass popularity after making headlines with her Oscar-nominated performance in WINTER'S BONE (2010) and later became an instant superstar for starring in this year's box-office hit, THE HUNGER GAMES. However, her new movie, HOUSE AT THE END OF THE STREET, is a dreadful psychological thriller that tries too hard to venture into PSYCHO-like territory but comes up terribly short. Interestingly enough, the movie has been heavily promoted with a designated Twitter hashtag under the short title of #HATES. How ironic! The movie begins with a hyperactive prologue -- annoyingly shot with lots of blinding strobe lights -- where a psychotic teen massacring her unsuspecting parents one fateful night, before vanishing into the woods. It's certainly a bad start that hardly registers any sense of worthwhile thrills. From there, it never regains its footing and goes downhill all the way.

Flash forward to four years, we are now introduced to a spunky high-school student Elissa (Lawrence) and her recently-divorce mom Sarah Cassidy (Elisabeth Shue), where both of them move into a house at the small Pennsylvania town of Woodshire, in hope to start fresh. But coincidentally, the house next door to them is where the infamous double homicide happened four years earlier. The place is now resided by the elder son, Ryan (Max Thieriot). He's a quiet teenager who is branded an outcast from the rest of the local peoples around. But not for Elissa, who somehow feels sorry for him and gradually drawn to his quiet personality. As their relationship blossoms into two lovebirds, little is known to Elissa that Ryan is actually keeping his thought-dead psychotic sister locked under the basement of his home.

Despite branded as a thriller and carries such title like HOUSE AT THE END OF THE STREET, it's extremely baffling that the movie is almost suspense-free throughout its wimpy 101-minute running time. Apparently director Mark Tonderai has no idea what makes a good thriller at all. He also has no sense of pacing, while his directing style is a stylistic mess (shaky-cam, Dutch angles, etc.) In the meantime, David Loucka's script (who also wrote last year's equally awful DREAM HOUSE) spends too much time lingering around with its pathetic Hallmark-like storyline involving two lovebirds (Elissa and Ryan) slowly goes wrong. Seriously, the whole movie drags a lot it feels like forever. Even by the time the movie starts to act like a thriller for the final half an hour's mark, it's all too late and too little. Not only that, the climactic payoff is also a huge disappointment. Suspenseful moments are poorly executed in the utmost generic way possible.

Poor Jennifer Lawrence, who is clearly wasted in her otherwise meaty role she could have done better. Instead, Tonderai spends most of the time focusing more on her cleavage shot (a lot of scenes involving her in a tight white top) and little on her dramatic acting skill. As the reclusive Ryan, Max Thieriot is fairly adequate here. And Norman Bates, he is not. Meanwhile, Elisabeth Shue delivers some worthwhile performance as the overprotective mom, Sarah.

HOUSE AT THE END OF THE STREET is mostly a boring movie. Even with all the twists Tonderai and Loucka thrown in to sustain viewers' interest, particularly at the surprise epilogue, the movie is a colossal waste of time. I guess, if not for Jennifer Lawrence in the credit, this movie should have been dumped for direct-to-DVD release instead.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Good Premise but not Well Executed and Full of Clichés

5/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
22 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The divorced Dr. Sarah Cassidy (Elisabeth Shue) and her teenage daughter Elissa (Jennifer Lawrence) move to a wonderful house in a small town in the countryside. Sarah can only afford the place because the house is close to another house where a girl stabbed to death her parents. Soon Elissa befriends the outcast college student Ryan (Max Thieriot), who inherited the house from his parents, and she falls in love with him. But Ryan secretly keeps his sister captive in the basement using drugs to control her. One night, Elissa snoops around Ryan's house and she discloses dark secrets about her boyfriend.

"House at the End of the Street" is a horror movie with a good premise but unfortunately not well executed. The plot has a good mystery that is revealed early and the last twist in the very end when Ryan discovers the secret about his sister is not well explored. The result is a conventional and disappointing commercial movie full of clichés. My vote is five.

Title (Brazil): "A Última Casa da Rua" ("The Last House of the Street")

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

An abysmal rip-off of Psycho with countless clichés.

3/10
Author: Matt Cipolla (CipollaM926@gmail.com) from Michigan, United States
21 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Just terrible. I could go on and on, but suffice it to say that this atrocity relies on tired character types to propel the "movie," and the ENTIRE thing is a putrid ripoff of Psycho. Not that the target audience would know anything about the legendary Alfred Hitchcock, but this relentlessly copies everything from the masterful 1960 thriller. From the villain's backstory, to the villain's motive, to his fascination with an innocent girl, to the whole setup of the third act, and even the last scene and the last shot. If there's any positive side to this is that I laughed at it a bit. This is very important: THE WHOLE AD CAMPAIGN IS A PLOY. Nothing is backwards, it's just generic, un-scary bulls**t. Do not waste your time, and do not pay for this POS.

3.3/10, two thumbs down, terrible, etc.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

this movie sucks

1/10
Author: jessnhalod from United States
22 September 2012

i wanted to leave half way through but it was too late to get my money back so i stayed, hoping it would get better, it didn't.

i LOVE horror movies. it doesn't take much to please me. i expected it to be cheesy. this movie gave me nothing. it was not scary, entertaining, witty, creative, weird, it was nothing. Jennifer is hot tho. they could have made it better if they had added more entertaining dialog, or developed the characters better. i guess they were thinking that a series of "surprise" moments equals a horror movie. i don't think so. i just hated that i spent 20 on this movie.

that is all. don't see it.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Such a crappy movie to look at!

1/10
Author: Irishmoviereviewer from Ireland
9 July 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Honestly, who would think this movie is that great?

Everything including the acting, the story line and the setting. This is pretty much like a bad Scary Movie parody film. I don't blame Jennifer Lawrence but she shouldn't have accepted to star in this godforsaken film. She just pretty much has bad luck in a lot of films that shes been involved in. Although I'm not a fan of her, i think she should really try to let her hair down and find movies that will make her more successful than her bad movies...

This film was just like a rip off with a mix between the exorcist and the conjouring. Its just a copycat movie at the end of the day, I would like to say to ones who are fans of Jennifer Lawrence to avoid this.....

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Am glad I didn't watch it in the movie theater

5/10
Author: Lilly Smith from United States
8 March 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I only watched it today, which is like two years after it was released and am glad I didn't watch it in the theater.

I would have regretted it. The casting was good as I chose it mainly for the actors, Max Thieriot and Jennifer Lawrence, but wouldn't say it is one of their best movies.

The story was OK, thriller/suspense rather than horror and some twist ends here and there but somewhat sloppy in some parts, like how can one get stabbed so badly and yet survive? That's one of the few parts I didn't like at all. Other than that, it was watchable.

And like many other movies these days, the end part seems to imply a sequel, but would it be a success? I don't know.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 17: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history