The Good Doctor (2011) Poster

(I) (2011)

User Reviews

Review this title
24 Reviews
Sort by:
Quite good actually
J. Davis30 June 2012
Once you read the plot summation or have viewed the trailer you may think they have shown their hand with this but what unfolds is a much larger picture as the viewer is introduced to DR. Martin Blake. He is new at the hospital having just begun his residency there. Lonely, he seems to be an outsider, never having the girl or the attention he wants most. Until he is introduced to a new patient he will be in charge of named Diane. He & the 18 year old Diane seem to quickly forge a bond, a bond that Martin is determined to keep, thus he meddles with her medication & test results, keeping her there with him at the hospital.

Don't let this fool you by any means, this is just the beginning for Martin, his downward spiral has just begun. I must say that Orlando Bloom did a superb job portraying Martin as a fragile loner desperate for more at any cost. Riley Keough, known for her previous role in The Runaways, also did a fine job as Diane. Overall this did a very good job of building suspense & keeping it going through to the end. My only complaint is that I would have liked it to go a bit further with the story, it seemed to wrap up too quickly & an extra fifteen minutes wouldn't have hurt. Still, it exceeded my expectations & recommend to anyone looking for a well acted solidly written suspenseful story. 8/10
42 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
juin673 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Working as a nurse in the medical field I have to say that this was one of the more realistic depictions of what the working environment is like. All the actors in this film did an excellent job portraying their roles with realism. There are, of course, some scenes that were not accurately depicted but overall the production of this movie was well done. Orlando Bloom surprised me, I had no idea he was this talented. I felt he did an excellent job conveying the moral conflicts that those in the medical field may experience. There were a few parts of the movie that I felt could have been further fleshed out but overall I enjoyed the movie and the performances.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Not Perfect But The Performances Make It Worth Watching
Michael_Elliott30 August 2012
The Good Doctor (2011)

*** (out of 4)

Orlando Bloom plays Dr. Martin Blake, a man with a good job, a nice car, a fine apartment and he appears to have anything you'd want but he's actually quite lonely. He thinks he finds someone special in a young patient (Riley Keough) who is suffering from a kidney disease but soon the doctor's kindness turns to obsession. THE GOOD DOCTOR has gotten some fairly negative reviews but I think they were a bit unfair. Yes, if you're wanting a film that's going to explain everything to you then it's best to skip this one. In fact, we never really learn why Martin is so lonely, why he can't seem to connect with people and we really don't even get to know why he wants to be a doctor or why he becomes obsessed. This is one of those independent movies that wants to make the viewer do a lot of thinking and while it's not a complete success I still found the story compelling and the performances very good. Bloom was perfect in his role as the doctor and with the haircut and performance style I really couldn't help but think of Anthony Perkins in PSYCHO. The performance here certainly isn't legendary like that one but I found a lot of similarities between the characters. Bloom really does a great job at playing this lonely character and you believe it just by the sadness that his eyes carry. I always say that acting with your eyes can be the hardest thing to do yet Bloom gets so much across here. I also really liked Riley Keough in the role of the patient who forms this special bond with the doctor. The actors have some great chemistry together. Taraji P. Henson is excellent in her role as a nurse who doesn't get along with the doctor and we get nice support from Michael Pena and Rob Morrow. There are parts of the story that certainly don't work but I must admit that the film kept me on the edge of my seat because I was never quite certain where it was going to go or how everything was going to play out. I won't ruin the ending but I think it worked just fine but I'm sure everyone will take something different away from it.
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Physician Heal Thyself.
Robert J. Maxwell15 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
It's a movie for adults. There is no secret demonic conspiracy or medical cover-up or madman trying to spread a virus that will kill every man taller than he is.

Instead we have an ordinary internist at a big hospital, the properly taciturn Orland Bloom, who becomes so attracted to a young woman who is his patient that he goes to extraordinary lengths to keep her in the hospital. His plan to keep her in the hospital succeeds, but her winding up in the morgue is extempore.

Well, Bloom is a good doctor with an otherwise unimpeachable reputation and her death affects him deeply. Ridden with guilt, he's then approached by a vulgar orderly who has found the deceased's diary outlining much of what's been going on. The impertinent orderly, Michael Peña, demands a constant supply of dope from the doctor who, when he discovers that the supply must be unending, slips the arrogant underling a dose of KCN. That's potassium cyanide. I happen to remember it because late one night I released some of the gas when I worked in a tool and die shop, just out of curiosity. It didn't smell like almonds, but like peaches. The next day the boss carried on about the equipment somehow having gotten rustier overnight.

I couldn't make out what other shenanigans the doc was up to. (By this time, his term of reference has been reduced in social value from "the good doctor" to "doctor" to just plain "doc".) Aside from the dope, I did notice him snatch a vial or two of something from the supply room, and he fiddled around the labels on some Petri plates -- a very naughty thing to do, as I recall. I don't claim to know much about medicine but I know what I like.

At any rate, it was a relief to watch a movie in which no one's head gets twisted off, there is no high-speed pursuit ending in a cataclysm, and no half-caste zombies. Orlando Bloom is excellent in the role of the young, earnest, enthralled physician. He has all the expressiveness of a tax auditor. He takes his work and his ethics seriously. If only he hadn't fallen for that pretty blond, Riley Keough, with the woeful voice. She's not even phenomenally beautiful, but rather her appeal lies in the fact that she projects the trust, vulnerability, and innocence of a child. Rob Morrow is memorable in a small part.

Lance Daly's direction is straightforward and allows us to see what's going on. The camera does not wobble, neither does it swish pan. There are, though, probably too many huge close ups for a movie made in this classic style. It is, after all, not a TV movie but a feature film designed to be seen in theaters, and who needs J. K. Simmons' head to be sixteen feet tall?

Even the title is nicely apt: "the good doctor," ironic and yet descriptive. Bloom really IS a good doctor, except that he's responsible for one accidental death and one deliberate murder. Doctors always get away with murder. A good friend, who is a doctor, was always late for appointments because he was disorganized, but when he rushed into the examining room, the patiently waiting patient would apologize to HIM because he knew how busy doctors were. The rest of us aren't so lucky.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I'll Bet He Had His Fingers Crossed When He Took the Hippocratic Oath
Chris_Pandolfi31 August 2012
Warning: Spoilers
The irony of "The Good Doctor" is that its title character is anything but good. This would be Martin Blake (Orlando Bloom), a British medical student who has just transferred to a Los Angeles hospital to begin his residency. His initial scenes depict him as withdrawn from his colleagues and superiors, who aren't hostile but certainly don't go out of their way to make him feel welcome. There's even a slight incident involving a Hispanic patient who doesn't speak English and may or may not be allergic to penicillin. But for the most part, Blake is merely suffering from a bruised ego, believing he isn't getting the respect he deserves. We don't see the full extent of his rotten personality until he's introduced to a teenage girl named Diane Nixon (Riley Keough), who's suffering from a kidney infection.

He quickly picks up on the fact that she's attracted to him and longs for his medical care. He's more than happy to oblige. It's not so much that he's attracted to her physically, even though she's indisputably beautiful; like a rapist, what he's really attracted to is the feeling of exerting power over someone vulnerable. Throughout the film, Diane is unaware of the ways in which Blake is manipulating her. This has nothing to do with a lack of intelligence on her part. She's merely young and naïve, having only her current adolescent relationship with a teenage boy as a frame of reference. She now believes her boyfriend is a jerk, and perhaps he is, although that doesn't much matter. What does matter is that this is something else Blake picks up on. He now has one less person standing between him and his patient. If he ever does try to interfere, Blake is well versed in all the medical rhetoric regarding visitors.

Diane responds well to her antibiotic treatment, and in due time, she's well enough to be released. Surely Blake knew in the back of his mind that such a day would eventually come. But because his self esteem is dependent on being in control of others, he cannot accept her departure on an emotional level. Luck intervenes, allowing Blake to enter the Nixon residence twice. The first time is for a family dinner, Blake having been invited by Diane's father (Wade Williams) out of appreciation. Although Diane isn't present during his visit, the wheels in Blake's head start to turn. The second time is when he picks up a thank-you basket made by Diane's mother (Molly Price). This is when Blake takes action; he excuses himself to the bathroom, retrieves Diane's prescription of antibiotics from the medicine cabinet, and replaces the contents of the capsules with sugar from a packet.

Inevitably, Diane ends up back in the hospital. This time around, Blake takes one extra step to ensure she will stay under his care for as long as possible, namely the discrete replacement of the contents of her antibiotic IV bag with pure saline. Obviously, this can only be done during the night shift; Diane is more likely to be asleep, and the floor is minimally staffed. It's at this point we're made more aware of an orderly named Jimmy (Michael Peña), who doesn't take his job seriously and yet is oddly observant of Blake's actions and behaviors. He will be the subject of the film's final act, although I cannot reveal why. You're probably thinking that I shouldn't bother keeping anything secret, as this review reads as if I've given away the entire film. You're wrong. Let it suffice to say that there's more to the plot that what I've described in excruciating detail.

And what of the plot? Admittedly, it pushes the limits of plausibility, relying on the same conveniences, technicalities, and turns of events one would find in a detective story. The saving grace is that plot is not the film's real focus; this is primarily a character study, and a damn chilling one at that. Blake is a reprehensible human being, willing to violate every ethical standard of medicine just to inflate his ego, which is pathetically fragile. Nothing is known about his background, but then again, nothing needs to be known. That's because his actions in this one story speak for themselves. Although he's responsible for several unnerving moments, the single most frightening scene is the last one, for it asserts that some people are undeservedly lucky in life.

Blake is an intriguing character and is closely examined. Unfortunately, this comes at the expense of several side characters that are infrequently featured, inadequately developed, or both. These would include: Nurse Theresa (Taraji P. Henson), who spends most of the film asking about illegible handwriting on medical reports; Dr. Waylans (Rob Morrow), who's always asking Blake about how he's feeling, physically and emotionally; and a police detective (J.K. Simmons), who only appears during the final act and seems oddly detached. If you look at "The Good Doctor" from a technical standpoint, it is noticeably flawed. The thing is, I believe this film works on a purely emotional level. We don't like Blake, and yet we watch with helpless fascination as he cuts away any remaining threads of morality. I'll bet he had his fingers crossed when he took the Hippocratic Oath.

-- Chris Pandolfi
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Interesting take on Doctors
polsixe9 February 2013
Not the usual doctors as heroes film, this one shows some dark sides. A lonely Brit resident is in his first year at an L A hospital. He's not really sure why he became a doctor other than to gain respect. His boss is a distracted lightweight and a senior doctor called in to consult is a fatuous windbag. A patient gets sick and the senior doctors are baffled, the patient gets worse but because all the normal tests are done it is all shrugged off. Then the relative ease doctors can get involved in the drug trade is depicted. The protagonist seems to get over it all and moves along with his career. Could've used some more tension and humour, although the dinner scene with the family from suburban hell was good for a laff.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Bloom is Superb in this Diabolical Thriller
Larry Silverstein4 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Although this movie is not for everyone, as evidenced by the low rating,I found it to be chilling and sinister and really enjoyed it. I thought Orlando Bloom was superb in the lead as a first year resident doctor at a hospital. On the surface he appears to be a shy nice guy who cares a lot for his patients. However, there's a lot of darkness boiling over that no one can see.

When a beautiful vulnerable, young patient is admitted to the hospital for a rather routine kidney infection, Bloom becomes obsessed and emotionally attached to her. The patient is played admirably by Riley Keough.

Keough's family invites Bloom over to their house after she's released as a thank you to him for taking such good care of her. While at their home he steals a picture of her and takes it back to his apartment.

From that point on, he devises all kinds of devious methods to have her return to the hospital. In time, these methods become more diabolical and dangerous. It all leads to a cascading of events which to me were riveting and spellbinding.

A strong supporting cast includes Taraji P. Henson as a tough nurse who often conflicts with Bloom--Rob Morrow as the supervisor of the residents who initially suspects something is going on with Bloom--and Michael Pena as a conniving and amoral orderly.

I wasn't expecting much from the film so I was pleasantly surprised that I enjoyed it so much.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I'm a doctor...and this was a good film
aks19873 November 2012
Being a doctor myself, I never have seen any really good doctor movies. This film in particular was very well made. The acting was top notch especially by Orlando bloom. He played the doctor really convincingly. I understood what must have been going on in his mind and what he must be going through living all alone without any relationships whatsoever which might have been difficult to relate by others who are not doctors by the way hence the low rating here.

I really liked how this film portrayed that how difficult it is being a doctor with a lot of responsibilities on them and a number of ethical issues considering doctor-patient relationships that has to be aware of.

Without giving anything away I will highly recommend this movie to doctors especially. For the rest of the people out there try putting yourself in a doctor's will enjoy it!

24 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Exellet movie...allow me to break it down a little...
love me love you24 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
To everyone that is ignorantly saying that they don't go into detail and explain why he does what he does (ie. Kill his patients)...I have to ask...disbyou not pay attention at all??? The doctor is friends at work or outside of work because he is new. He became a doctor because he wanted the respect that came with the title (he says so himself) and he feels he isn't getting that from his fellow doctors or nurses. He takes a liking to his underage female patient. They share a lot of the same views and she gives him the respect, attention, and companionship during her stay at the hospital that he desperately wants. So, after she gets better and goes home her father invites him over for dinner (I felt that thecparents were trying to set him up with their oldervof age daughter). Skip forward a few scenes and the doctor goes back to the girls home and uses their restroom and switches her meds with sugar. She relapses and goes back to the hospital where he continues to pretend totreat her but actually isn't giving her meds. It is OBVIOUS that he is doing this to keep her sick so that she will stay in the hospital and they can spend more time together. You have to remember the girl is underage...he can't just ask her out. So he is keeping her there close at the hospital because he cares for her and she quite clearly cares for him too. But he goes too far and she doesn't get the Med or treatment she needs and she dies. He is clearly upset about it. However after only a day his coworkers begin to notice him and give him attention. Some even saying you aren't a doctor until you have lost a patient. Before this he really wasn't even being acknowledged as a doctor so this new respect he is getting is exactly what he has been wanting. He begins to grow confident. The other person he killed in order to hide the relationship he had with the patient. An orderly hooked on pills comes across the girl's diary after she died while cleaning her room and he decided to use it against the doc to get meds...the doc killed him so his secret wouldn't come out. All of this is completely obvious! I just had to explain after seeing so many bad reviews stating that they didn't explain the movie or the doctors intentions well can't get more obvious! The acting was spot on...story line was almost flawless...I had to give 9 stars only because the ending. The way it ends is abrupt that I kept rewinding the DVD thinking it skipped. I just would have liked to see a little more depth to the ending. Like someone else...another 15 minutes could have taken it to 11 stars. I definitely recommend it!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
good concept, dull execution..
Saad Khan5 July 2012
The Good Doctor – TRASH IT (C+) The good doctor is about a young doctor getting obsessed with his teenage patient so much that he change her medicines to keep her longer in the hospital. The scenario is interesting how a young doctor feels disrespected, lonesome and misfit. The moment he finds some attention and affection from a patient he starts to reply on her and goes the extra lengths to keep her in front of his eyes. Orlando Bloom rarely does anything acting oriented since he made his fortune on his luck and good looks solely with Pirates of the Caribbean and Lord of the Rings trilogy. So coming out of big blockbuster his movie to do this a good idea and I think he did a decent job and kept you engaged. Riley Keough is a fresh face and maybe at this time known being the granddaughter of Elvis Presley and future Mrs. Alex Pettyfer, she defiantly has the potential to go places if right role is provided. So far here and in her first movie The Runaways, she was impressive. The movie had interesting concept but towards the end it went very bleak and kind of trying too hard. So avoid it, not worth spending time.
14 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Doesn't make sense unless the viewer makes up his own story.
Thomas Williams8 July 2012
Dr. Martin Blake has just begun his first year of residency as a doctor. His career objective is to study infectious diseases. He says he has become a doctor to receive respect like a family friend who was also a doctor. Dr. Blake is quickly disillusioned when he does not immediately get the utmost respect from the nursing staff. Worse, one of the doctor's first patients, an 18 year-old girl named Diane, is absent at the dinner arranged so that her family can express gratitude for returning Diane to health. Diane has had a bout of a fairly common but potentially deadly kidney infection. Dr. Blake's motivation is unclear as he soon sets out to cause a relapse of serious infection for Diane.

The movie leaves viewers unsatisfied because there are not enough clues to explain the intent of the doctor or the intent of the movie's creators. Viewers are left with some big questions. Is the doctor so lonely as to want Diane to remain in the hospital indefinitely? Does Dr. Blake instead want Diane's respect or gratitude so that he would like to save her from a more serious condition? Or is Diane's case an experiment due to the doctor's obsession with infectious disease? Another big question the viewer is faced with comes at the very end. There are two ending scenes. Both scenes cannot be part of the true ending. At least one scene must be discarded as being a fantasy dream sequence. When reasoning out what makes sense for this movie, the viewer feels the sensible story is not the story that is intended to be told.
12 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
the essence of the movie - a story within a story
Tina Tina20 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This review is all about the metaphor of the movie and a psychological depiction of the characters.

I was silently rooting for Dr.Black to keep on practicing medicine because he is a hard working, meticulous doctor who don't get the respect he deserves. It is the story of a dorky-bullied high school teenager who could never get the prom queen. It is one of those things, a person can not get over. Even though it is a serious, grown up movie it is all about proving something that was left unsaid. Even the mail nurse is portrayed as the typical bully who beats the nerdy kid and scares him off in order to give him the homework. It is funny how people can not get over some seemingly fleeting and childish things. I was fascinated with this movie because of this silent analogy that explains everything. If you see the movie through these lens, there is nothing left unsaid nor unfinished.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
histrionic Orlando Bloom in a thrilling movie
Silvia Franco31 May 2013
Warning: Spoilers
An unseen Orlando Bloom captures you in this movie like he has never done before. He is seen in the 80% of the time with intense close-up and histrionic facial expressions. Martin is capable doctor, he is really alone in his life. One day he meets a teen patient, Diane Nixon, and he cares her. When she is released, her parents invite Martin for a dinner at their home. During this visit, Diane is not present because she is trying to get back with her boyfriend. Martin visits her room and steals a picture of her. Diane leaves a message on Martin's answering machine in which she apologizes for not being present and she asks him to go her place in order to let her parents give him a little present. During this new visit at Nixon's house, Martin changes Diane's medicine. Girl's health condition returns to be severe, and she goes back to the hospital. Martin sabotages Diane's therapy in order to have her nearest as possible. He even gets jealous about her young boyfriend. All doctors cannot explain why Diane's worsens and finally she dies. Martin, who kissed her before she passed, is shocked about that. In spite of young girl's death, he manages to continue his life as if nothing happened, until when a male nurse finds Diane's diary ,which contains many secrets, and starts threatening martin. Will Martin finally tell the truth or will he continue to lie? Thrilling photography, suggestive soundtrack.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The Good Doctor
Jackson Booth-Millard24 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I had not seen the star of The Lord of the Rings Trilogy or Pirates of the Caribbean, and he would not be seen in a big role until The Three Musketeers, and of course The Hobbit, I knew this independent film was probably straight to DVD and probably terrible, but I gave it a chance. Basically Dr. Martin E. Blake (Orlando Bloom) is British and has transferred to a Southern California hospital, but being arrogant and egocentric he alienates himself from the nurses, he does not gain endearment from his first patients, and his superiors are not all that happy with him. All he longs for is respect for his peers and one day the power of authority over others, and he feels this when eighteen year old Diane Nixon (Riley Keough), who is suffering a kidney infection, comes in for medical treatment, she and her family see his good medical work as heroic. Her health slowly starts to improve, but Martin longs to remain a hero and consist respect from fellow staff, so selfishly he finds a way to slow down Diane's recovery, changing her medication and botching other treatment, and he maintains the illusion that he is doing everything he can to help her. He eventually lets this botching go too far and accidentally kills Diane, her infection went beyond his control, he is not suspected of any crime by the hospital staff, but it is questionable what some of her family think. But then Martin has another problem when orderly Jimmy (Million Dollar Baby's Michael Peña) reads through Diane's diary, she wrote her sexual fantasies about Martin, of course the doctor-patient personal relationship implication would damage his career, so he blackmails the doctor to give him narcotics. As long as he gets the drugs Jimmy says he will never give back the diary to Martin, so he fills some of the pills he gives him with potassium cyanide which kills Jimmy, and he steals the diary back. Jimmy's death is treated as suspicious and an criminal investigation is started, Detective Krauss (J.K. Simmons) questions him on anything he may know, he is visibly nervous and panicky, so he goes to the bathroom and attempts to flush the diary, but the toilet clogs. With the toilet flooded he climbs out the window and runs to the seaside, he imagines drowning himself in the ocean, but he runs back and after the detective leaves he throws the diary in the garbage, he is not seen to be suspicious, and some time later Martin assures, while carrying out his duties, that he is getting better all the time. Also starring The KTaraji P. Henson as Nurse Theresa, Rob Morrow as Dr. Waylans, Troy Garity as Dan, Molly Price as Mrs. Nixon, Wade Williams as Mr. Nixon, Sorel Carradine as Valerie and Gary Carlos Cervantes as Mr. Sanchez. It is certainly good to see a good looking actor like Bloom playing against type and being the villain, but the story is rather slow, the dark moments aren't paced all that well, and the script is full of cliché and predictability, a silly and hardly worth the effort thriller film. Adequate!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
MOVIE ABUT A DOCTOR Martin a best thriller with romance touch
jerry-saleem12 February 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Dr Martin Blake who has spent his life looking for respect meets an 18year old patient named Diane . suffering from a kidney infection, and gets a much needed boost of self esteem and Blake (Orlando bloom) shows him kindness . how ever when her health start to improving Martin fears to losing her and he will do anything to keep her in his care,Orlando Bloom(Dr Martin Blake) stars a first year medical resident struggling with loneliness, racked with self doubt and at odds with the head nurse

so he goes to unconscionable extremes in order to remain in the service i must say that Orlando Bloom did a superb job portraying Martin as fragile loner desperate for more at any cost.well this is a really best ,a really really good thriller with romance touch favourite drama one of me favourite drama+thriller with romance touch& i recommended to anyone who looking for well acted solidly written suspense thriller story 10/10
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Could not finish watching this
Dan Mcgarry2 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The underlying story, that a health-care provider would deliberately harm their patient to remain in contact with them is disturbing on a number of levels, and reflects an obsessive behavior that absolutely frightens me. We trust doctors and nurses to make us better and stories like this, and in real life, where they harm and even kill their patients to make themselves admired. Munchausen by proxy is the psychological term and all the more horrifying that it is common enough to require its own name...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Bland film that had some potential (unfortuantely unrealized)
vincentlynch-moonoi18 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
1. I notice that Orlando Bloom was one of the producers of this film. Note to Orlando: don't quit your day job. In support of that recommendation, please be aware that the film cost a measly $6 million to make, and sold only a little over $5,000 in tickets at the box office. I'm not making that up. It was only in theaters for a whopping 7 days.

2. Oops...I thought Orlando was handsome. Apparently it depends on his haircut.

3. The first half hour of the film drags along at a very boring pace. Yes, I know, in a suspense film (even one that takes place in a hospital) you have to build toward a climax. But my recent kidney surgery was more exciting than the first half of this film.

4. Orlando Bloom can act, and he does rather well here as a boring young hospital doctor who pervertedly decides to keep a patient close to him by finagling her medicines...until she dies. The good news is, this is where the film finally begins to get a tad bit interesting. An orderly (played well -- but slightly creepily -- by Michael Pena) blackmails our doctor for a steady supply of drugs. So what is the GOOD DOCTOR to do...but murder him through poison.

5. No one in this cast really stands out. Bloom is pretty good, as is Pena. Taraji Henson, as a nurse, show promise. But this film feels like the actors are just muddling through. I really can't recommend it.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Is This Too Much To Ask?
Eka Herlyanti24 February 2016
Is it my home theater or the cast really are whispering? I barely heard the words they're saying. So I wasn't quite sure if I get this movie. I checked wiki and suddenly I felt enlightened.

Reading the synopsis makes this movie looks so good. However I didn't really feel that way last night. And I couldn't stand watching Orlando's bangs. So weird because they ruin my Legolas' image. And so with all the doctors and the staffs. They're having too much "fun" at the hospital, giving the negative image to the hospital. Like they're playing around and not serious about their job. Martin's is the only one is good but slowly becoming crazy.

One thing that seems implausible to me about the story. When Mrs. Nixon wants to thank Martin for taking a very good care of her daughter by giving him a present. But she doesn't have time to send it so she invites Martin to her house only to get the present. It's weird. She can deliver it by package service, right? I know why it is made like this because it has something to do with Martin's next move. But please... Give me something more plausible. Is this too much to ask?
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Caroline28 December 2015
This movie was a good one for several reasons. There was excitement and thrill from the very beginning to the very end. The pace and speed was just right. The viewers were left wondering what would happen next. The desire to keep watching was there. The main actor was very handsome. And since it was a romantic movie it made it even better. I really enjoyed the story. The ending of a movie is important also as it will affect the overall rating. There could have been several different endings to it. I was hoping for one type of ending. Although it was not what I had hoped for I still enjoyed how the movie ended as there were a several twists and turns. There was suspense and thrill right until the last minute. It was good.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Travis Bickle with a stethoscope
cmoyton1 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
After enduring the dreadful Martha Marcy May Marlene complete with its non ending here we have yet another movie with a non ending. At least in the case of The Good Doctor the movie was moderately interesting up until the final two minutes.

The doctor in question played by Orlando Bloom is a difficult character to fathom. There is no Vietnam war experience to explain or excuse his actions and patient obsession. It may be a problem if you like to have a reason why he is so messed up as none is given.

Following the despatch of the blackmailer the film descends into American Psycho style with a tenacious detective looking like he is about to calmly intimidate Bloom into accidental confession. Alas the viewer is presented with a Bret Easton Ellis fantasy/reality double ending which merely perplexes.

Defeat snatched from the jaws of victory.
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An absolute WASTE of what could have been a great movie. (Spoilers maybe! Not sure cause I'm ranting)
Warning: Spoilers
OKAY First off, this movie is completely BORING for the first 45 min or so. There is no reason why the doctor poisons his patient and no explanation of his intentions or character!!! Second, As soon as the movie starts to get interesting they seem to RUSH through it all. For example when the cops finally catch on to whats happening, it's all rushed along into a 15min scene. Third, WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT ABSOLUTELY PATHETIC EXCUSE FOR AN ENDING! This movie leaves you with nothing, nothing, nothing but 100% disappointment and regret for wasting 90 minutes of your life.

ZERO character development, ZERO understanding of intentions or reasons why he's doing what he's doing, and ZERO explanation and closure to the film!!! It's like, "Here's this great idea for a movie that we're going to mindlessly put together in two minutes and bore the crap out of you! Then when it starts to get half way interesting BAM we're done!"


The only reason this movie is getting a one is because I cannot give it a -1,000,000,000!!! Seriously, I am so mad that I wasted my time with this movie. Do yourself a favor and go rent something worth your time, heck, even watch the grass grow in your yard for 90min, it's a lot better use of your time than watching this piece of junk "movie"
3 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Armand22 December 2012
at first sigh, not very inspired. first cause - the impression than the role is too high for Orlando Bloom. the second - the purpose of director/scriptwriter remains an enigma because the desire to tell all, to impress, to do a special film, to create a thriller and a portrait of medical case is really confuse. but... Orlando Bloom does good job. and this fact is essential. his work gives precise nuances to the desire of his character to resolve each aspect. and the fragile story is not credible only at first sigh. because, it is only an experiment. not bad. just to large to have coherent borders. but, this is not a sin. and experiments are only beginning for better projects. so, the fans of mister Bloom are not disappointed. the rest - few slices of patience are perfect. and, in same time, the courage to be parts of this experiment in which viewer is a kind of scriptwriter. the great virtue - atmosphere of hospital. and, sure, drawing of pressure of every-day like rule of each day . a nice film. not great. but different. as every experiment. seductive for its good intentions.
4 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Oh dear me! What a pile
Charles-lewis11 December 2013
I'm one of those people who takes each film I watch with a completely open mind willing to give anything a go not pre judge,well I have to say this is one of the most atrocious films I have had the displeasure in watching in the last 10 years. How some studios give money and time to trash like this is beyond me I could save them so much by reading the script for them and chucking it straight in the bin. I think you could put any actors in this even have Scorsese direct it and it would still be a yawning piece of junk.Thats not to say the acting was great because it was far from it,am I in a minority here who thinks Orlando Bloom is a wooden mannequin of an actor? He may prove me wrong one day but I will be surprised although he wasn't too bad in the TV extras series. But to be fair De Niro would have struggled to bring much to this tripe Avoid
2 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Don't see it
Newt Rox30 December 2012
Warning: Spoilers
**** MAJOR SPOILERS !!! MAJOR SPOILERS !!!!!!!! *****

The back-breaking part of this film was how slowly it evolved. Like nails scraping a blackboard, it finally got to the doctor "doctoring" his patient's IV. There seemed to be little scientific backdrop to any of the times he spiked the UTI medication (just one 5-minute block on this would have sufficed, not two). With a team of a researcher and a specialist and researcher collaborating and overseeing, they found nothing! What was in the IV? The pills? Dr. House would have got to the bottom of this mess in five seconds.

The love story was weak -- a shallow, emotionally underdeveloped physician, whose only reason for becoming a doctor was to gain respect, has an affection for a teenager, consummated by a solitary kiss when she's passed out. The Lolita story is not new. Nor is doctor adoration.

The only enjoyable part (and real action) was when he killed the orderly. But this too was unbelievable. The doctor seemed more worried about material in the girl's diary being culpatory when at most it would reveal her one-sided, subjective infatuation. A more credible story would be that the doctor wanted to know her true feelings about him and their "relationship." That would have been more interesting despite the creep factor.

The scene near the end when the doctor ran (or imagined he ran) into the ocean and nearly drowned was weak. And weakened further when he returned after jumping out a window, standing on the beach for a bit, after his toilet was noisily overflowing with a perceptive detective in the next room. The only realistic explanation could be that the doctor actually committed suicide in the water and the ending was an afterlife fulfilment of his life dream – confidence, respect.

The acting I liked was the orderly and the father. Their characters were a bit oversimplified but scenes of the orderly trying to get laid and the father threatening the doctor were a welcome change from the sappy, beatific look assumed by the doctor, which also added to the boredom. The detective and Nurse Theresa were realistic and I think both actors accepted a script that was far below their levels.

I also think it's unrealistic that a family with two attractive young daughters would invite the doctor into their house so openly – with a naivete that set up the beginning of the murder – prefaced by the father saying his youngest had really "taken a shine" to the doctor. Even less credible was the doctor actually accepting such an invitation -- more than once. In what year or what small town would we see such a turn of events? But I did like the abrupt, inconsistent ending. The doctor finally had arrived. After having murdered two people, seeped in the self-confidence he has always lacked, you see him multi-tasking, saving lives, fielding rapid-fire life-or-death questions finally in his glory and his element. And in a few seconds it shook the morose, gnawing feeling that had been hanging through the whole film.

The film lacked a frank, realistic discussion of the issue of ethics in doctor-patient relationships.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews