IMDb > "Top Shot" (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Top Shot"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Top Shot" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Nice

8/10
Author: Rafki Ridwan from Indonesia
29 June 2011

First of all, it doesn't really bother me that this show airs on History Channel. After all, this is the same channel that gives us Ancient Aliens, Pawn Stars, American Pickers and Larry the frickin cable guy. If H channel wants to show us a reality TV with gifted marksmen and markswomen, doing all kinds of shooting with all kinds guns/rifles/bows/etc and blow stuffs up, then i'm all for it. This show is way better than any other reality shows.

Though there are small conflicts here and there, the contestants are generally likable. This show also featured many talented individuals who can pick up and mastered new skills in a relatively short time. Most of the challenges have required some marksmanship feats that are difficult or legendary for shooters with experience with the weapon. It's surprising to me seeing that at least half the contestants have minimal or no experience and yet they still generally perform competently. And the coolest thing is contestants can shoot their way out of the elimination, making the better, more well rounded shooters to live to compete another day.

The editing doesn't really bother me. It's standard reality quick cut stuffs, but it gives you some dynamic and makes it more interesting. I don't want to see a camera that's fixed only at the targets, while shooting is in progress, while listening to to Colby's obvious comments (He hits!, He miss!) that would be too boring. I want to see the experts nervous, i want to see them fumbles and out of their elements, and i want to see them triumph against all odds.

In summary, if you like guns and people who can shoot them extremely well, you'll like this show. If you are purists who like to watch "real" sports show or competitions, you might as well go outside to the event and watch it live rather than watching it on TV (on History channel on top of all that, oh, the blasphemy!)

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Part reality show, Part game show

8/10
Author: briangcb from Ontario, Canada
31 March 2012

I would like to start by saying I hate reality shows. I can't stand the premise of them and the politics involved. When I heard about this show, it honestly didn't pique my interest but the thought of having a game show style series with guns at least made it interesting enough to check out. I am a strong supporter of firearms and the fact that a television show was out there that portrayed guns in a positive and safe manor was a good thing in my opinion. I started the show during the first season and the first two episodes were a little weak, but after that it started picking up momentum. The show doesn't have too many reality show elements except for the losing team voting two members to an elimination challenge. The difference from most reality shows that I've seen being that instead of the person who garnered the most votes just packing their bags and leaving, two of them get voted in and face off in an elimination challenge. So even if someone got more votes than someone else, it doesn't mean they're going home. They have a chance to fight their way back to the game.

There's some side interviews with the contestants and a little bit of footage of them mingling around they house they have to stay in. So you get to know the competitors and which ones to like and which ones you wish get sent home. But about 80% of the show is training and challenges. There's been some drama that's very annoying in each season, but it's significantly less as each season has progressed (season 4 is currently airing as I write this) So if you like reality shows, you'll like this one. If you don't like reality shows, you still might like this one. If you love guns, then you will probably find satisfaction in how the show portrays weapons.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Best Reality Show Out There

Author: jehaccess6 from United States
9 August 2011

This is a the best reality show out there. I watch this when I couldn't stand 'Survivor'.

The herd gets culled by at least one contestant on each episode. The choice of who faces elimination are more about politics than performance ability. It is often personal relationships that determine who gets the axe.

The first season, I picked the ultimate winner on the first episode. The man was so obviously formidable, that he personally dominated the group from the first moments.

The second season had no greatly dominant contestant. The eventual winner was almost certainly successful because one of the contestants threw the match. Hopefully, that will not happen on season 3.

There is some obvious limit to how outrageous the series can make the events without losing a contestant to death or injury. The third season premieres tonight and I look forward to each episode.

I would like to know the location of the facility where they tape their episodes. They purposely do not say to avoid having unwanted spectators during the taping of the episodes. I am guessing somewhere in the California mountains from the terrain seen on each episode.

When one of the contestants, Jake Zweig, recently quit the program it threw the format into turmoil. An anonymous group of officials were then called to decide how to procede. It would be nice to know who these officials are and if they are merely the show's producers.

One more thing, where does Colby Donaldson go at night when the contestants are bunking in the hunting lodge that serves as their contest home?

I have only one major complaint, perhaps only my personal taste. Will Colby Donaldson PLEASE shut up with the inane play by play comments during each contestant's performance? The audience can perfectly well determine the relative success of each contestant's efforts without Colby feeling he must explain to his audience of 8 year old children.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I love the show, but I hate some parts of it...

7/10
Author: satanclaw from Norway
20 June 2013

First off, I like this show, it's really entertaining. The competitions are exiting, the weapons are cool, and the host does an OK job, the show still manages to surprise me with the weapons used, and the way the competitions are done, the competitions, or should I say challenges seem to be really fair, I rarely feel like someone is low balled. In my opinion the only thing that really drags it down for me is the "Coming up on Top Shot" "Next up" "Still to come" parts of the show, basically they reveal the results of the competitions, showing us the target after all shots have been fired. This to me is just insulting my intelligence, anyone with half a brain is able to deduct the results, at a minimum when it comes down to the last shooter. If it wasn't for that, I'd give it a 10 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Watched Season 1-3 and loved it

10/10
Author: Richard Greco from Pakistan
19 November 2011

I read the reviews regarding this show and decided to chip in, considering none of the reviewers watched or kept up to date with the new seasons, I thought it would be best if someone who actually bothered to watch the show commented on it.

First of all, it's a show, it has to have those slow motion shots and close cuts because that's how you make something like shooting interesting, the show runs off money and you have to attract more audience in order to survive. Sure, people will love a static camera fixed on a single board but not everyone will love it. When directing or making the call you must research your audience.

Moving on, the whole reality based environment is amazing, you see certain amount of sportsmanship and you see people working under pressure and in case of season 3, you see different people with different backgrounds trying to fight things out.

The firearms are impressive, I am sure majority of them I wouldn't even get a chance to touch IRL let alone fire one and that makes the show more appealing, plus it shows that anyone can fire a gun but you need to have training and the right mindset to excel.

The season 3 ending is by far the best season in terms of drama and marksmanship, it's the only season that got me motivated enough to come here on IMDb and write a review.

In short folks, this isn't much, I am sure there is room for improvement but I don't see any other alternatives to this show, so if you like guns and love watching guns shoot and want to learn a thing or two about firearms and different techniques, look no further.

Totseans.com

Was the above review useful to you?

Please - more seasons

8/10
Author: jdonalds-5 from United States
25 December 2014

My son and I really like this show. It's interesting not only watching all of the challenges presented to the contestants each episode, but we also like seeing the variety of weapons used. It should be interesting to the gun manufacturers that we have considered buying certain guns after seeing them on Top Shot

Season 5 was the best. We really like the new format void of the plots used by the producers to stimulate drama. In the previous seasons the divisions created by the Red and Blue teams were artificial but likely produced the type of drama they thought was beneficial to the show. Then there was the single shot selection process, shooting a target with a shooters name under it, for elimination shoot-outs which also provided some drama. We didn't appreciate any of that.

In season 5 all of the artificial drama was gone leaving nothing but pure marksmanship which we really enjoyed. I read one professional review that suggested season five was dull. Nothing could be further from the truth. There was great excitement and none of the diversions of the previous seasons. We could watch without rolling our eyes every time some rivalry surfaced. In season 5 even the shooters felt it was more of a contest and appreciated it.

The only thing I didn't like about season five was the single shot elimination selection. In my opinion that doesn't prove who was the better shooter. Anyone can make an error. I wish that would be replaced by at least three shots in some sort of contest.

Was the above review useful to you?

Please - more seasons

8/10
Author: jdonalds-5 from United States
22 December 2014

My son and I really like this show. It's interesting not only watching all of the challenges presented to the contestants each episode, but we also like seeing the variety of weapons used. It should be interesting to the gun manufacturers that we have considered buying certain guns after seeing them on Top Shot

Season 5 was the best. We really like the new format void of the plots used by the producers to stimulate drama. In the previous seasons the divisions created by the Red and Blue teams were artificial but likely produced the type of drama they thought was beneficial to the show. Then there was the single shot selection process, shooting a target with a shooters name under it, for elimination shoot-outs which also provided some drama. We didn't appreciate any of that.

In season 5 all of the artificial drama was gone leaving nothing but pure marksmanship which we really enjoyed. I read one professional review that suggested season five was dull. Nothing could be further from the truth. There was great excitement and none of the diversions of the previous seasons. We could watch without rolling our eyes every time some rivalry surfaced. In season 5 even the shooters felt it was more of a contest and appreciated it.

The only thing I didn't like about season five was the single shot elimination selection. In my opinion that doesn't prove who was the better shooter. Anyone can make an error. I wish that would be replaced by at least three shots in some sort of contest.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Reality show about shooting

Author: placebotonic from Slovenia
17 August 2010

I expected so much more from this show, I expected it to be a competition, the best shooter wins, you know, like Olympics, or soccer or any other sport. Sadly, it is much more a show than a competition. Regardless of what I just said, I would still love it, if the director, or creators, would change one element. A very crucial one.

There is probably no way that one could make shooting seem more show like, any more movie like than those people did. I felt like watching a sports movie, with lots of cuts and you don't really get the whole picture, basically just snaps, tension, result and comments. I understand the reverse of that would mean a dry show, but they didn't need to go so far. Let me give you an example: two competitors are shooting steel plates at the same time, the camera pans from one guy, to the other guy, to the targets being hit, then cue a slow-motion shot, then randomly mix all of those and repeat. It is impossible to follow or know what is happening just from watching, you see a guys face, hear a shot, and you hear the host saying: it's a hit! If you saw the show, do you really find this appealing? No, I didn't think you did.

Would it not make 10 times more sense to just point the camera at the targets and leave it there, while shooting is in progress, listen to comments and see what's happening in real time? The archery and the knife throwing are unbelievably unrealistic. And if I forgave the bow and arrow.. - how do you shoot a knife? I know, with a GUN! I don't want to see the next season.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 74 people found the following review useful:

what a joke

Author: I M Buggy from USA
20 July 2010

This is History Channel?!?!? This is nothing but a modern sports-venue of skilled shooters competing in a pseudo "reality show." The show has nothing to do with History. Sure, they use some vintage weapons at times but they're only a minor trapping, and briefly mentioned. The show has no significance to the general population, other than those who would wish to watch a contemporary "reality show" (and definitely not history-oriented) using a format of shooting contests between marksmen and markswomen.

The show tries to make some intensity and suspense out of itself in its commercials. But in true reality, it's an insignificant and mediocre hype-reality attempt at a show which tries to elevate current marksmanship into a historically insignificant level.

It doesn't even properly qualify as a sports show, either, when team members get to pick who to send home, based as much on personal politics as any shooting abilities. If "real" sports events included this ridiculous and subjective feature, there would be massive outcries.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history