The Silence (TV Mini-Series 2010– ) Poster

(2010– )

Episode List


Season 1

12 Jul. 2010
Episode #1.1
Deaf teenager Amelia has had implants to restore her hearing and is learning to cope with them. She goes to stay with her aunt and uncle,florist Maggie and detective Jim and their teenaged family whilst undergoing speech therapy.Whilst walking their dog one night she sees a woman being deliberately run over by two men,one of whose faces she sees. The victim is Jane Shilliday,a drugs squad detective, and Jim heads the murder enquiry. Earlier in the evening Amelia had seen Rocky,one of the killers and a drugs squad officer himself,kissing Jane. She tells Jim but Maggie ...
13 Jul. 2010
Episode #1.2
Maggie insists Amelia tell nobody what she saw but this piles pressure on Jim to say nothing when a witness owns to seeing a young girl near the murder site. Jim takes Amelia to the police club where she spots the other killer,Mac. Her lip-reading skills are used to find out what is being said on a CCTV tape and this links Rocky and a pusher,Roach,who is murdered,to Jane. Replaying the tape she works out that the two killers were involved in a deal with Roach. Jim suggests to Mac that Rocky knew Jane well but gets a negative response whilst Amelia identifies Ely,the ...
14 Jul. 2010
Episode #1.3
Jim brings a transcript of Amelia's interpretation of the conversation between the bent coppers to colleague Terry. He believes that Mac,Rocky and another officer,Lee Grigson,were all involved in drug-dealing,killed pusher Roach and then murdered Jane to stop her from blowing the whistle. But nobody can be trusted and Jim takes Amelia to her parents. When the officer supposedly protecting her turns out to be one of the killers she runs away from home. Jim's son Tom is fitted up on possession charges by the murderers to keep him quiet but Jim takes the tape of Amelia ...
15 Jul. 2010
Episode #1.4
Jim goes to the Professional Standards department to have the drug squad corruption investigated but everybody,including Evans,closes rank against him and he is made to look in the wrong for suppressing Amelia's evidence. Amelia hitches to Somerset but rings Jim,who goes after her,followed by Jane's killers,who attempt to murder him and make it look like suicide.Ely confesses that the drugs possession charge was a fit up whilst Amelia sees that justice is done in her own way.

 Season 1 

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page