IMDb > Legendary (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Legendary
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Legendary More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 26 reviews in total 

21 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Feels like a 'Hallmark Hall Of Fame' TV movie!

5/10
Author: Hellmant from United States
6 October 2010

'LEGENDARY': Two and a Half Stars (Out of Five)

John Cena stars in his first family friendly dramatic film, which is also a first for the studio behind the film (WWE Films). WWE Films has produced all of Cena's films ( 'THE MARINE', '12 ROUNDS' and now this) and I'm sure their involvement in the film was the reason for Cena's casting. WWE and Cena's interest in the film is a little odd considering it feels like a 'Hallmark Hall Of Fame' TV movie. It's directed by Mel Damski, a veteran TV director, and written by John Posey, a veteran TV actor (who also plays Coach Tennent in the film). So the movie has a strong TV movie feel to it and a 'feel good' uplifting family one at that. Despite this it was released in theaters (in a limited run) for 18 days before taking the video rout. It would have had a much more fitting home as a Sunday night movie on CBS or Lifetime (which it still might I'm sure).

The film revolves around a nerdy high-school student named Cal Chetley (played by Devon Graye) who one day decides to join his school's wrestling team. His father and brother Mike (Cena) were both wrestling legends but his mother Sharon (played impressively by Patricia Clarkson) is dead set against him following in their footsteps. Their family was torn apart ten years earlier when Cal's dad died in an automobile accident and for some reason Sharon blames wrestling for their problems. Cal tracks down his unemployed alcoholic brother and asks him to train him. At first Mike is reluctant to help his brother, who he barely knows, but after Cal shows up at a hearing (for the sentencing of a bar brawl Mike was involved in) and defends him Mike feels obligated to return the favor. So the two train together in secrecy behind their mother's back. This of course leads to dramatic complications.

The movie feels a lot like watered down generic TV crap but it does have a heart and is inspirational in a way. Cena is adequate in his role as well as Graye. Clarkson shines like always and gives a performance far better than the film deserves. Danny Glover has a nice supporting turn as well. The writing and directing is decent by TV movie standards but for a theatrically released, as well as high profile video run, it doesn't measure up. Cena could be a decent action star if he sets his standards higher, he's such a huge wrestling star it shouldn't be too hard for him to get some decent roles (I heard he has interest in doing 'THE EXPENDABLES 2' but many think he hasn't earned it yet). With that said doing this family film isn't nearly as atrocious as the ones The Rock has done (he also got his film career jump started through WWE Films as well with 'THE RUNDOWN' and 'WALKING TALL'). The movie as a whole would be worth checking out on TV with your family.

Watch our review show 'MOVIE TALK' at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j95Zjdlcbe0

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

What's there NOT to like?

10/10
Author: Smiglaty from Wroclaw, Poland
29 October 2010

I mean, you got drama with a hint of mystery; you got sport emotions and suspense, you got genuine character development (fair play for young actors here), way above decent cast and that feel-good touch after leaving the theater…but that's just my personal take, as an active combat sports contester I must say that this side of the movie gives you pretty good inside on how it looks like through the eyes of an athlete. It's not another "bullied kid finds his master and kicks ass" movie, it is way beyond that, best to see it for yourself, you can easily take your gf with you and she will love it as well.

To wrap it all up – great movie, great cast, great feeling after – why would you give that a miss?

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Legendary is inspirational

7/10
Author: Sam Herder from United States
7 February 2012

Legendary is a very inspirational movie to watch. The storyline is simple to follow but is still very intriguing to the audience. Cal fits perfectly into his role as the underdog wrestler and John Cena plays the older brother (Mike) very effectively. This movie has a wide range in audience whether it is a family watching it in the living room or a group of friends hanging out and watching. Legendary does a good job of adding slight twists to keep the audience in suspense but does not get carried away like some underdog movies have. Everyone enjoys a feel-good movie and this is just it. Legendary is one movie that will not disappoint.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Cena has a long way to go...but is slowly improving

5/10
Author: thekyles99 from Canada
27 September 2010

OK to all those Cena haters out there, don't judge a book by its cover cause this is one Cena movie that was actually pretty good. Yes those who know me know i live and breathe pro wrestling and i have never hated Cena, although truth be told i have seen a lot better wrestlers out there however that being said i will also have to say their are a lot worse. Are u listening to me Flair?? Cena is definitely no Dwayne Johnson although i think he has like 100 lbs of pure muscle on the rock, he couldn't out act the rock, but ill tell you in this he tries damn hard. I have to hand it to wrestlers who journey outside the squared circle to venture into unknown territory that hollywierd has to offer. I mean you never see Actors do it aside from the late great Andy Kaufman and of course the idiot David Arquette. Wrestle i mean that is. Great cast including Danny Glover who plays an old fisherman that young Cal (Devon Graye) bumps into and gets a friendship going while spending time down by the river. And Patricia Clarkson who is simply brilliant as Cal and Mike's (John Cena) Mom. The rest of the cast although basically unknowns including Devon Graye do fantastic jobs. The storyline is this, young Cal who is living in the shadow of his former all star wrestling brother Mike who has estranged him and his mother ever since their father was killed in an automobile accident. Mike went from all American hero on a major downward spiral and alluded the surviving family members. Cal decides to join the school's wrestling team and also seek his brother's help in training him along the way. Although reluctant at first mike decides its time to break the ice and take his younger brother on. This movie is inspiring and in my opinion can proudly say can join amongst the other sport inspiring stories ie; Rocky, Cinderella Man to name a few. A good film.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie

9/10
Author: robmorris27 from United Kingdom
10 January 2011

I only just saw this today and was pleasantly surprised by how good it was. Cena is good and doesn't over play his part or look out of place with some very fine actors in support. The film has a good story and is well, acted I'm just afraid that many people will be put off by the wwe connection but shouldn't be. This a great film for anyone with or without an interest in wwe but if you do have an interest i recommend you buy the special edition 2 disc set as it has some great moments of wrestling history on it. Nice to see WWE films branching out and finely a credible role for the ever more versatile Cena who i see having a great future in films.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Teen family life struggles with a sports theme.

8/10
Author: ccbig from United States
28 September 2010

By far the best film that features the sport of high school wrestling since the film "Vision Quest".

I cannot stand the "Pro Wresting" shows/films because I think that they do damage to the public view of what the amateur forms of high school wrestling and Olympic styles of wrestling are in real life.

That being said, this is a fine film that shows some aspects of high school wrestling with a fairly good story plot about a teenager facing family life struggles combined with the drive to compete in sports.

John Cena does a decent performance but the film is centered on a teen, high school age young man played by Devon Graye who gives a pretty darn good performance. A good supporting cast too!

A good film for "tweens" and older. Highly recommended for families that play sports.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

legendary

10/10
Author: baironchavez from United States
3 May 2016

Coming of age in small-town Oklahoma. High schooler Cal Chetley is a smart guy who lives with his mother. Ten years earlier his father, a state wrestling champion, died in a car crash. Cal's older brother Mike, also a former wrestling champion. Over the course of a fall and winter, Cal joins the high school wrestling team while searching out Mike to ask for help. Mike rejects the offer, but Cal is persistent. This movie was a great movie to watch i personally enjoyed watching it and recommend other people to watch it as well and gives a good lesson to teens about never giving up. this movie gave me a lot to think about and how i need to reevaluate my life.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Sometimes Legends are born from struggle and sweat.

10/10
Author: bluesman-20 from Canada
16 February 2012

Legendary is a nice decent family film that has some violence a little bit of swearing and no nudity. There is a bit of violence but nothing too disturbing. Cal Chetley is a lost soul his family splintered apart ten years ago after the death of their father a Legendary Wrestling Champion. His older Brother Mike is also a legendary Wrestling Champion but Mike disappeared years ago and Cl is looking for something to understand his family so he enters the world of High school wrestling. It's a world in which his brother and his father were made for and their legends loom large. Cal wasn't made for wrestling so he seeks out his brother and slowly draws him back into his family's life by convincing him to train him in how to wrestle. Cal learns how to wrestle and Mike learns how to forgive himself for mistakes made years ago. John Cena may never hear the words and the Oscar goes to John Cena but he is learning and Legendary is undoubtedly his best work yet. If John Cena is looking to rival the Rock in making good movies and good family entertainment as well as Action films. Then I say the Rock has a New rival in the world of film making and that is John Cena. The Film is a bit cliché and a bit original and never boring or dull. It's worth watching on a cold winter's night or a rainy afternoon with the family.

Was the above review useful to you?

Big Name celebrity tries to cover up the Predictablablity and Cliché of the Movie

3/10
Author: szwajam from in da Cribb
3 May 2016

The movie starts off with a requisite underdog that comes in the form of Cal Chetley (Devon Graye), a 135-pound Oklahoma teenager with a love for science, glasses and a best friend who might as well be called Dweeby McArgyle. Enter bullies, stage left. Partly due to his tormentors and also because Cal is part of a wrestling dynasty - - both his estranged brother and his late father were mega-champs -- he decides that he, too, will hit the mat. As it turns out, and it always does, Cal isn't very talented. But if there's one clear takeaway from any good sports movie, it's that only one thing stands between a dismal athlete and a golden trophy; young grasshoppers just need a mentor. That would be the aforementioned brother, Mike, played by WWE superstar John Cena. Wrestling fans will no doubt flock to see this WWE film and won't be disappointed by Cena's entrance.The movie's main theme and message means well, but the acting performance and the structure of the script is sub-poor and shows lackadaisical effort. Using a sport's star in the movie to mask the poor acting and script failed. The movie is very predicable and cliché, and gives no cliffhangers or intriguing events. The actors looked awkward and unnatural. The movie gives no events to pull the viewers in, and new actors and a new structure is well needed to create a more meaningful and intense movie. Also, Not nearly cinematic enough or well-written enough to take that lazy of a step that so often separates "inspirational" and "hokey."his film is quite predictable, formulaic, and far from original, yet it is well- meaning, inspirational, and I actually sorta liked it. It's flawed enough to where I don't feel quite comfortable enough to give it an extra half star, but I did enjoy it, and think that there are a few scenes that are okay enough to watch. At the end, the actors, (including John Cena) show and have little acting experience, which shows up into the movie. The plot it self is poorly structured and entertaining, while trying to force a inspirational moral and theme into the movie; reselling in a sub- poor movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

This is a great movie which teaches a lesson on how family can never be broken

9/10
Author: Noah Velez (uka5400@gmail.com) from United States
8 October 2013

This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. It was a movie that sometimes you new what would happen next but thats what will make you want to continue to watch the film. The plot was easy to understand and I was able to make a connection which made the movie even better to watch. You do not have to a fan of wrestling to enjoy this movie. It definitely will make you think how well you and your family gets along. This movie really had an impact on my life. This movie is great to show to anyone who needs something to show that anything is possible. This movie does not just consist of drama but it can also be viewed as an action film and also a comedy. I would say the negative review about this movie are totally wrong. In this movie you will find yourself rooting for the underdog.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history