IMDb > "Bob's Burgers" (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Bob's Burgers"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Bob's Burgers" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 9:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]
Index 83 reviews in total 

182 out of 241 people found the following review useful:

What on earth is wrong with the reviewers on this site?

9/10
Author: stevo-74 from Canada
19 January 2011

I can't believe the amount of flack this show is receiving from the simple-minded and humorless... I have news for everyone: New episodes of the Simpsons are trash... Family Guy hasn't been relevant or clever in ages... American Dad and The Cleveland Show are rip-off cash-ins. I actually read one comment that stated "Give Seth Macfarlane another show!" God forbid! I was a huge fan of Futurama, About the first 10 seasons of the Simpsons, Clone High, Mission Hill, Undergrads, About the first four seasons of Family Guy... so on and so forth. This is the first show that has made me really laugh in a long time. It's clever, and the humor is a bit dryer and more subtle. There are some pretty crude stuff I suppose...

I dunno. I seriously think that people have forgotten what it's like to watch something that isn't preachy, in-your-face, and blatant.

At least this show incorporates its jokes into the story and episode arch... as opposed to Family Guy's idiotic asides...

Was the above review useful to you?

84 out of 115 people found the following review useful:

This Show is SPECTACULAR!

10/10
Author: tracy-duchene from United States
22 January 2011

I absolutely love this show. I have never fallen in love with a television show as quickly as I have with this one.

The humor is original, fresh, and it completely helps push the plot of each show along instead of throwing in humor that is completely unrelated to the plot. There is no comparison between this show and other animated comedies on television currently. Family Guy, The Simpsons, and other shows on TV now are re-using jokes and going for the easy laugh with sex jokes, but Bob's Burgers has smart comedy that often hits you a few minutes later. The characters are all so different, quirky, and lovable! I can see the typical family dynamic and it depicts families as they are. I love it. This show is great and I hope it keeps going!

Was the above review useful to you?

73 out of 105 people found the following review useful:

A great new show that I hope will last.

10/10
Author: Joshua Glowzinski from United States
10 January 2011

New things come and go and many are easily forgotten. There are so many shows now a days. It's hard to keep track of the good with all of the carp that some how makes it into our homes. I am so glad to say that Bobs Burger is one of those shows that you will be happy found it's way. Many things made this show be added to my favorite list and my DVR. Firstly, I love the animation. Instead of trying to look like Family Guy, The Simpsons or King of the Hill, this show stands out as looking completely different. It is gritty and looks like something that would have been on MTV in the mid 80s or early 90s. That makes me like it even more. I am writing a kids book and seeing stuff like this makes me feel good. Not everything has to look so polished. Another thing I like is the dark humor. It is the kind of thing that if you stop paying attention for just a minute, you won't get something later. I actually laughed out loud at this time after time. Which is rare these days. Something else I like about this show is the people doing the voices. Especially H. Jon Benjamin. The story I saw was really funny and memorable. All these things make me really excited about the next episode.

I must say though, I have a bad feeling Fox is going to boot this show. It just does not fit in with there other shows. Everything on Sunday nights looks the same. This seems like it would fit better on Adult Swim or Comedy Central. So let us all hope Fox is smart and keeps this show on. I am already excited about getting a season pass and buying it on Blu Ray when it is available!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

63 out of 101 people found the following review useful:

This show is a keeper

10/10
Author: (naomi@naomimercer.com)
16 January 2011

I didn't see the pilot but I just saw the second episode and it was interesting and hilarious. The plot was funny, the voices were good. I haven't looked up a show in a long time but, on the commercial break, I had to pull it up on my computer to learn more about it.

Other reviewers seem disappointed that the humor included fart jokes and that it doesn't adequately fill the spot following the Simpson's. But keep in mind that this is also the slot before the Family Guy. Bob's Burger's is the perfect show to be on before the Family Guy.

The animation has it's own flavor too which is nice.

I hope FOX keeps this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 56 people found the following review useful:

Best thing on the box right now

10/10
Author: t-turner from Australia
10 March 2011

Really can't believe the people who don't get this, maybe they should stick with "Two and a half Men".It reminds me of the early Simpsons before they forgot how to be funny. The voice's are spot on especially Kristen Schaal as Louise, she was one of the best things about "Flight of the Concords" and the slightly manic energy she had then translates well into Louise to balance the mellowness of the other characters. It also has a nice touch of the surreal which I love, not surprising considering the producer also worked on Dr. Katz, Professional Therapist another one of my favorite (under-rated) shows. I'm really starting to look forward to each new episode to see how the show develops so please don't cancel this show, give it a chance!

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 65 people found the following review useful:

The Hero of the Sunday Night Lineup

10/10
Author: Ian Carty from Canada
1 February 2011

With new Simpsons and Family Guy episodes failing to entertain less and less with every new episode, Bob's Burgers was a glimmering light at the end of what to me, was a dark, unfunny tunnel. On it's premiere night I decide to check it out because there wasn't to much on, and since then I have been a complete fan of the show. The plot revolves around a man and his struggling burger joint run by him, his wife and his 3 children. The premise may seem a little "closed" but I hope that they are able to continue it for long enough that it doesn't get boring and ridiculous, but with what they've shown so far it does not appear that they are slowing down with quirky, and original plots. The show is hilarious and the actors that voice them are perfect. I've shown this to all my room mates and everyone has become a fan, so hopefully this show will be on the air for a while.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Very much enjoyable

10/10
Author: Eller from Ukraine
17 March 2012

I really enjoyed the first season of Bob's Burgers. Not often for a cartoon you can say that there is chemistry between characters. In Bob's Burgers - there is. The calm and usually serious, but funny dad, mother who's full of weird ideas, and children, each so different. The youngest daughter is definitely my favorite with her unpredictable attitude towards many usual things.

The script is very well written, and after multiple viewings I have noticed new jokes that I haven't paid attention to at first. I really hope this cartoon will stay on the air and keeps up the good work. I rate it 10/10 for the first season.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Every new episode brings a warm and fuzzy feeling to my toes

10/10
Author: billtang79
11 May 2014

Ever since The Simpsons became stale, the Family Guy losing its touch, American Dad is just another Family Guy spin off, Futurama no longer exists I live to see Bobs Burgers for Sunday nights. Because it is funny. Because it is willing to be all out crazy yet links the plots together logically at the same time.

But mostly because I love to see what new devilish plot does Louis Belcher has in store for the episode.

Bob's Burger plot twists, crack jokes, fart jokes and interesting character developments makes it more interesting to watch than other Animated sitcoms and the fact that four seasons on and it is still funny only means it has the legs to continue to be as good and long lasting as The Simpsons. Seth Mcfarlane and Matt Groening are not the only producer/writer that can develop a good animated show. Bob's Burger shows that there are other just as bright and funny producers/writers and I know I will be tuning in to watch every new episode of Bob's Burgers as i once did religiously for Family Guy.

Was the above review useful to you?

Worth it

9/10
Author: QinetiQ from Netherlands
11 July 2014

When I first saw the commercials about a new cartoon-series I wasn't really impressed. Bobs burgers, about a burgershop, really..? The style was a strong reminder of Beavis and Butthead and the short commercial didn't really impress me much. Maybe I was a bit skeptical because the last years no cartoon or animation series has impressed me much. Brickleberry for example never made me laugh and I didn't like any of the characters.

When it comes to that, TV is riddled with the McFarlane cartoons and even though I still like family guy (not love), its all becoming a tad repetitive.

So I gave Bob's Burgers a chance. I had to get used to the style and wasn't convinced a Burgershop could deliver anything fun, but after a few ep's I am pleasantly surprised. The pace is really good, dialogs are fast and you have to take notice of all or you will miss a joke or clever pun. The cartoon-style works, it gives a bit of 80's nostalgia and it just looks funny - seeing Louise go nuts wearing those ears is just a funny sight.

The characters all work for me, I noticed a lot dislike Gene but I can see him fit in. He delivers a lot of clever (superfast) jokes (scrotumwax!) so for me he adds.

Even the 'recurring characters' deliver, my fav would be Teddy ("we need a bigger restaurant!").

All in all its well-made and reasonably original (wich is rare these days) and it's actually funny. It may need to grow on you, I needed a few episodes but now I am a fan.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A little slice of Home.

9/10
Author: Twcreconv2 from United States
6 May 2014

I have to say, originally after watching the first few episodes of Bob's Burgers I was not sure if I liked it or not , but sure enough the show started to grow on me.mi originally got caught up in Loren Bouchard's (and Brendan Small's) creation back when Home Movies was on UPN and to this day Home Movies is my favorite show that I watch all the way through quite often. The thing I like about Bob's Burgers is it feels familiar. Whether or not your a fan of Home Movies Bob's Burgers always seems to try to stay within the bounds of reality, often leaving parts in each episode to feel familiar. I know the show may not always make you "LOL" but I feel as if this show were to disappear ,into the vast pile of Fox's canceled shows, that something would be missing not seeing this dysfunctional but loving family. I can't help but sympathize for the fictional character Bob, as it seems he is consistently alone in his struggles until after humiliation his family steps in. But all of this is balance and formed into a show that has some intriguing plots and I love hearing the familiar voices from Home Movies even Jonathan Katz on a few occasions . So unless they decide to bring back Home Movies this will have to suffice ,but from what I had seen in the episode where Bob gets stuck in the wall with Louise's night light, I have to say that I'm OK with this being the alternative.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 9:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history