IMDb > The Divide (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Divide
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Divide More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 10 of 23: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [Next]
Index 230 reviews in total 

17 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

A violent and unpleasant post-apocalyptic thriller

7/10
Author: Red-Barracuda from Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
22 June 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The Divide begins at the instant a nuclear missile hits a city. Some occupants of a building run into a basement and hide from the carnage. From this point on these survivors begin their descent into a hell of their own making as madness and primal aggression take hold.

This is a pretty unpleasant film to tell you the truth. The levels of degradation that the people in the bunker resort to is fairly grim. Physical, verbal and sexual violence all manifest themselves as these survivors lose touch with their humanity. They are not a particularly nice bunch of people to begin with, so this does pose some problems for us as an audience empathizing with any of them. Nevertheless, the film does generate quite a bit of suspense and there are some very unpleasant moments of nastiness. So it does work in a brutal in-your-face kind of way. And this is the movie's chief selling point.

While the setting is almost exclusively limited to the bunker, there is one unusual moment where one of the survivors is able to exit the confines of the building and come briefly into contact with the enemy. It's a very bizarre sequence where the mysterious bad guys appear to be storing children – one of which they earlier snatched from the bunker - in incubators. The children look either dead or blinded. It's horrific and utterly strange. Immediately after this the mysterious enemy weld our heroes back into their bunker and are never seen again. After this point the microcosm of the bunker just goes from bad to worse, as some inhabitants go mad and others sadistically insane.

Acting is OK. Michael Biehn overacts big time and fairly chews up the scenery throughout. Rosanna Arquette has an extremely unpleasant role. The other actors vary from being unpleasant psychopaths to negligible people. But the pacing is good and the limited setting doesn't affect things too much as the film keeps ramping the tension up. Overall, The Divide is a nasty movie with a very pessimistic view of how life in these extreme conditions will play out. If you like apocalyptic films on the more grimy and violent side of the spectrum then this is one to see.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

Should have hidden in the fridge

2/10
Author: alex (doorsscorpywag) from United Kingdom
28 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

My other title was 'too stupid for words' and this garbage really is. Nuclear bombs are going off all over a city and some people seem to have time to look at the destruction before running down several flights of stairs to the front entrance. Then seeing the blast heading toward them they out run it by running down more stairs having a bit of an argument with the guy inside the basement shelter who lets them in just before the blast levels the building which then collapses. Nice to see some realism in movies nowadays. But as every sensible person knows from movies the best place to hide is a fridge as they are completely immune to nuclear blast. Then for no sensible reason whatsoever Storm Troopers from Star Wars turn up force open the door and steal the child survivor leaving two of their number overcome. The survivors then send one guy to have a look outside in his borrowed Star Wars suit and amazingly connected to their shelter there is a nice level rubble less plastic tunnel that leads off left and right with a lab and kids in stasis chambers. Well you don't see that everyday after a nuke blast. What this is we never find out nor how these people seem to have cleared the rubble of a large building to uncover the basement without making any noise. Then the basement residents go insane and lots of stupid stuff happens such as sado masochism, cross dressing, torture and the usual thing people do when trapped in buildings after a nuclear attack. And that's about it other than the loads of stupid plot holes that after the first hour the viewer could not care less about as the film is worthless rubbish.

They really should have hidden in the fridge............

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

Past, Present or Future - Why The Divide Could Have Been Any of Them

8/10
Author: Graeme Baxter
27 March 2012

The opening scenes leaves the viewer in no doubt - there's nothing left outside except radiation and death. What surprised me was that more people didn't realise there was a huge underground bunker in their building, and thus, avail themselves of it.

Portraying a movie with such a deep seated meaning, as, the decay of everything you've ever known, is always a challenge. Some directors venture into this risky area and end up being swallowed by mediocrity, or worse, fail miserably and leave an end product that's wholly not believable.

The Divide skirts with the latter of the those, however is skillfully brought back to the vestiges of a must watch apocalyptic movie. I question though, the necessity to use a nuclear attack as a back drop - the film would equally have worked in it's own right, were the survivors simply caught in the bunker unnoticed. Indeed, had they gone down this route, then they would have had an instant cult classic - in much the same way Lord of the Flies is.

There are a few scenes, because of the unnecessary nuclear remnants, that just don't work, and worse, are not fully explained - whilst they don't detract from overall story, they don't really add to it either. A far more powerful message could have been put over, in a far more simple environment.

Characters are extremely well casted, each actor chosen presumably for their acting skills as opposed to the "teeth and chiseled jaw" look, and this shows through in the development from normal everyday people, to insane disease ridden madmen that we see near the end. Biehn excels in this movie, however both Milo Ventimiglia and Lauren German are outstanding, the former surprising me somewhat as his Heroes character never really gelled for me.

This is an excellent portrayal of the degradation of human society, ignoring the unnecessary backdrop, is very likely to be how we would revert back to our more base instincts in the face of severe hardship and confinement.

A modern day Lord of the Flies - unmissable.

8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Don't listen to the negative reviews!

9/10
Author: Beth Slater from England
17 February 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I am a massive fan of Milo Ventimiglia and stumbled across this film when stalking him... I watched the trailer and thought this looks a little cliché but I'll give it a watch!

I did not waste my time! The beginning is a little slow... The acting from Mickey and Marilyn is not great and could be improved. Absolutely outstanding performance from Milo (Josh) and Michael Eklund (Bobby).

The best thing about this film is it is so disturbing and makes you actually worry about certain characters (Adrian, Marilyn and Eva), although you do not actually get to know the characters properly, you still feel really connected with them and want them all to survive and at least get on (except Sam and Mickey, they suck).

I love that the film is 2 hours long, giving it enough time to show how the characters slowly take a turn for the worst... Completely normal characters like Josh and Marilyn becoming the most disturbed. It's a really sick, disgusting, rapey, brutal film, but the soundtrack is so stunning that it really draws you in, it makes you feel sad for the characters, it makes you want to pet their heads and tell them everything is going to be OK, although you really can't sleep after watching.

I would at least give The Divide a try, you might enjoy it, definitely not for the faint hearted, and I would certainly not recommend the unrated version if this gives you chills, it is 10x more brutal and disgusting, I still enjoyed it! Maybe I'm a little disturbed...

I'd say this is more a drama/thriller than a horror, it will keep you on the edge of your seat, purely out of suspense.

I give it a 9 out of 10 because the acting in the beginning is not great, overall one of my favourite movies!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

One of those movies you can't unsee.

9/10
Author: seanwike
13 January 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched this movies years after it was released, knew nothing about it. Post apocalyptic and I'm in, toss in a couple of stars, bonus.

Well things go from bad to worse to really off the chain. Watching the characters devolve and unravel just kept me watching. Sort of like watching a train wreck in slow motion. You know what's going to happen, it's horrible, but you can't avert your eyes away. Just like this movie, when things go south, you're on the ride until it's over, very compelling.

Not an easy movie to watch, certainly not for the faint of heart. This is a "take a shower after viewing" type of movie. And you still won't be able to get the feces off of you. (there's the spoiler)

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Good apocalyptic film with only a couple flaws. 7.5/10

7/10
Author: WalterSoprano from United States
11 November 2014

I have to say to start off I fairly enjoyed this film. It has lower ratings than I thought it would but all of the overacting is what destroyed this film (for me at least) I for one laughed at Michael Behn's acting. Don't get me wrong he is a good actor just not in this film. At first when I saw the film I liked it and couldn't get this film out of my head (mainly because this is the exact type of movie I have been waiting for). But after I bought it the more I began to realize how the movie really was.

If you enjoy psychological movies this is a pretty good pick for that. However, I have seen a lot of people saying the people in the movie were being stupid in the movie. Well I didn't blame overacting on all of it but the actors did a decent job portraying the claustrophobia and problems that arise when being placed in a bomb shelter with several people. The film overall is interesting enough to keep you watching and the ending I thought was a little bit of a let down but that was just because of a sub plot left un resolved other than the un resolved plot and overacting I really enjoyed the film.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

O m g

6/10
Author: Fluff Bum from United Kingdom
4 October 2014

Hi I'm 14 I watched this movie thinking that it would be a good horror movie to watch with my friend , we where very surprised because it was very sexual and more like porn torture .. Me and my friend where really scared I suppose we should of not watched it as it was a 18 .... But we did learn that beans beans are good for your heart the more you eat the more you go mental . It is very Strong and disturbing so would not watch alone cause it messes with you . But overall they where all good actors and where all good at the part and gives you a adrenalin rush ... Byyyyyyeeeeeeeeee and Good luck , by the way try bit to watch it in the dark cause you get sucked in

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Possibly the Most Depressing Movie Ever

6/10
Author: reddoggiegirl from United States
29 May 2014

I love Michael Biehn; I love apocalyptic pretty much anything. While this movie was acceptable, the story tended to wander. I have managed to watch it twice now, but I am fairly sure that I will never watch it again, unless the post-it note I stuck on the case falls off, or I come down with Alzheimer's. I consider myself to be a happy person, but this movie is in the No Watch Zone for me, due to the fact that I found it so depressing. I realize that apocalyptic movies aren't supposed to be cheerful, but, for some reason, this was simply the most depressing movie I have ever seen. Watching this film nearly makes me want to commit suicide.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

What an absolute waste of time and money

1/10
Author: RJ Coleman from United Kingdom
18 April 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have never seen a movie so messy and so sickening at the same time. What starts off is an attack of some kind on New York that forces a group of survivors into a bunker. Right away there is a massive hole in the story - THERE IS NO WAY THE ATTACK IS NUCLEAR. First of all we open with the main character starring for about 30 second at the explosion (which doesn't even resemble a mushroom cloud). If someone looks at a nuclear blast they are blinded. This is common knowledge and most movies do this the courtesy of at least showing a bright, white flash which does happen. But no the main character looks at it like nothing.

I thought I could forgive this because the person who suggests, "it's nuclear" is shown to be the slightly paranoid owner of the bunker they flee to. I was fully expecting, "it's nuclear" to be rightly pointed out as false later on. Second of all everyone's phone still works and all the electrics of the building work. Once again, this does not happen in a nuclear attack. A nuclear detonation produces and EMP which knocks all electrics out. These are commonly known things, but it's never brought up. The movie sticks with, "it's nuclear" which is simply impossible.

The next section of the movie introduces the element of white suited special forces invading the bunker and kidnapping a child. We are never given an explanation over what this is about. We get one scene later of the child being discovered in some kind of incubation chamber and then it's never seen of again. Why? This obviously isn't what happens from a nuclear attack and I wanted the movie to explain what was going on. Was it a chemical attack? (because it wasn't nuclear) Is everyone in the bunker contaminated? Never explained. This isn't a case of, "it's left up to the audience", this is just bringing up a plot thread and then dropping it minutes later.

The writing for the characters is simply awful because there isn't any. We don't know if some of them know each other, we don't know if they're strangers. They never introduce themselves to each other and therefore we know nothing about them as an audience. I was 30 mins in before I know what everyone's name was. Then 45 mins in I finally figured out that two of them were brothers and another two were a couple.

But I could put up with this. If the movie stayed on this path, it would've been a boring mess and nothing more. But then it gets so much worse. It degrades itself into a nasty mean spirited shock fest of rape, torture and shoving it down your throat that it's "edgy".

Now first of all I am not squeamish, I can put up with gore, with stuff that pushes the limits...if there is any point to it. Even the Saw franchise attempts to have some moral themes running through it and has that factor, "How would I get out of that?" But with this we watch some awful performances of people raping and mutilating each other without any point to it. It's not saying anything about anything. It's not Battle Royale, it's not Lord of the Flies, it has nothing to offer.

But then the climax is simply baffling. After 45 mins of utter garbage the "villains" end up dead and the bunker is burning down. So our protagonist - who barely does anything for entire run time - abandons the survivors (one of which helped her defeat the bad guys and the other was her fiancé) and leaves them to burn to death while she escapes. Btw she escapes by breaking through the toilet, going into the sewer and climbing up outside.

Question 1: Why did she abandon the other two? I get there was only one suit left, but not even a discussion? Just a quick conversation: one of them is injured and the other insane, she's the best candidate for survival. Simple. But no she just leaves. Question 2: When the hell did she figure out that escape route and why didn't she tell anyone about it? There's no quick scene of her figuring it out, she continues on like she planned it. So how long did she plan it for? Why not tell the others? Was it because of the white suited guys? If so, they never show up when she gets out.

There isn't even the attempt of a twist when she does escape. She walks through the ruins, stop, we pan around and see more ruins. That's it? I've already explained how it can't have been a nuclear attack. If it was revealed to be aliens that would've been something, but no.

Utter utter garbage, one of the worst movies I've ever seen.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Usual stereotypical cast and outcome

2/10
Author: mst900 from United States
19 November 2015

Apparently as in 99.999% of these apocalyptic films and end of the world scenarios-no black women will be around. The one black guy sacrifices himself for the white woman or gets killed off early in the film unless he is an established actor and then he has a little more time to be the sacrificial lamb for white folks.The white woman who cannot run 3 ft without falling down or depends on everyone else protecting her somehow manages to survive the monsters, the chaos, the fires, floods, and does so with little disruption to hair and makeup.Often, she will look as fresh as the proverbial daisy, fails to sweat like normal people and if injured or mussed, will have minimal evidence of such. The racism we are all indoctrinated to repeatedly on TV and in movies is such standard fare-it is never even mentioned in any critiques and can readily be predicted without fail. Hollywood's bigotry shines through every time.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 10 of 23: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history