IMDb > The Divide (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Divide
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Divide More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 23: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 230 reviews in total 

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Nuclear agony

Author: torstensonjohn from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
8 December 2012

In a world of disaster films and story lines this does nothing to anyone's film savvy. The plot is drawn, the sequences were over done and the general storyline was dull at best.

The simplicity of actions humans will take in these situations are way off base and the characters were nothing short of baseless.

In my opinion the only salvation was Michael Biehn's character of Mickey. I though he was very believable as a desperate, lost in his own volition and careless demeanor.

I would not be one to recommend this to friends or family.

Don't waste the time on this one unless you have absolutely nothing else to do.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Divided We Fall

2/10
Author: David from United Kingdom
5 April 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Quite a few spoilers here so don't read on if you're going to see this film.

OK so who's to say how a bunch of people would act in this scenario - sudden, apparently unanticipated, nuclear attack on New York - a few "lucky" people make it to the basement of their apartment complex, where the caretaker has prep'd a rather spectacularly well equipped emergency shelter. For my money though, there wasn't nearly enough discussion about why this happened, who did it, the people they knew who'd perished etc etc.

Now I'm no expert in this field by any means, but I don't think that's how it'd play out. I think there'd be an awful lot of shock, grief and distress which would subdue people tremendously and ultimately push them together one way or another. OK you'd probably get some problems or disagreements, but I believe a leader(s) would emerge pretty quickly and most energy would go into staying alive for as long as possible and keeping morale up.

Not the case here though. Oh no, things break down surprisingly quickly and half the people go psychotically crazy in various theatrical ways. So crazy in fact that it's hard to believe they could've survived a week in the real world without ending up dead or in prison. Moreover one guy puts his life on the line in a completely selfless act for someone in the group only to suddenly transform into a torturing rapist whackpot soon afterwards. Just doesn't add up.

The behaviour of the group would in itself be an interesting study, if it were believable, but for me it never is.

As for who did this, well there's a very odd couple of scenes involving some outside intervention which leave you asking "who the hell were they then?" and "what's that even all about?" but you never get any kind of answer I'm afraid. So random - the film would've been better without any of that. In the absence of explanations, or any kind of collective effort to survive, we're left with lashings of howling crazy primal behaviour from the Hollywood stereotypical young white psychos. Yawn. I understand, given the premise, that you need to add a story and some drama, but this was not the solution to that problem for me. Just a brazen misadventure in violence and perversion that said far more to me about the psychology of whoever wrote it than how people might behave in such a situation. As for the ending, well, I couldn't make any sense of it - best of luck.

Super disappointed in this movie. Only upside: Michael Biehn was decent in it - what a waste of a good actor. Oh and the shameful John Murphy imitation soundtrack wasn't appropriate for the flavour here.

I would only recommend this to someone I really didn't like.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

slow builder that becomes insane and brutal

8/10
Author: trashgang from Midian
25 March 2013

Xavier Gens, the director from the ultra gore horror Frontiers (2007) is back with a post-apocalyptic flick. But not a normal one. this really goes into the characters in stead of going about surviving.

The flick opens with some nuclear attack on New York. Mickey (Michael Biehn) calls the people from the tower block to hide in his cellar. Eight people make it into the basement and the first 1à minutes that's all what was happening. Thinking this was going to be a blah blah flick I waited a bit longer and just before I thought this isn't good things start to happen. Some kind of rescue or research team enters the basement and from then on the characters start to develop their darker side. What also slowly comes into this flick is the ugliness and brutality with some excellent performances by Michael Biehn but the one that really stuck out was Michael Eklund (Bobby). Before you know it Bobby really becomes a mad person and it's up for the rest to follow him or not. But what also comes in is the red stuff. In the first half the red stuff is let out, the torture and one's finger being cut off is shown off-camera (saw it unrated) but from that point the camera slowly reveals the red stuff coming in in fights or shoot-outs.

It all looked believable and can happen when you don't have your personal space being jammed in a small room with strangers. be advised that this isn't a happy flick and isn't for everyone. If you can take brutal flicks then this is your thing. And the ending made me think, who's the lucky one, those being trapped inside the basement of the one getting out and is lost in a world were nothing is left...

Gore 2/5 Nudity 0/5 Effects 3/5 Story 4/5 Comedy 0/5

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

This movie keeps you thinking for weeks

10/10
Author: robintherocker from Denmark
22 January 2013

The whole post-apocalyptic genre has been overused, and you rarely see something new in this kind of movies. I claim that this movie adds a whole new level to the genre, and hasn't been based on the same script as many other movies has.

If you only want to watch splatter and skin, screw you. This is for people who care more about the feelings a movie express.

This movie has so many symbolic levels, and small hidden political meanings and messages. Many small details has been put in, to leave the attentive watcher wondering "what the ...?". Questions like "Who bombed USA?" and "why would that person do that?" are the most simple questions in this film, but still takes a lot of thinking to make out.

The characters is very realistic, and due to the way Xavier Gens has directed the movie, the characters goes through a BIG transformation. There's no sexy stupid blondes who wander around topless throughout the movie, screaming - it's not a teen movie!

I saw this movie alone with high level of sound, and this movie sucked me in completely. The very sensitive soundtrack keeps the edge of tension, as the plot twists and turns, and in no way follows the mainstream story lines. The next day i had to show it to my wife. Now, after a few weeks, i still wanna watch it again, and pay more attention to small details that makes you wonder.

This movie is highly recommendable (not for the faint-hearted though)! It will change your way of thinking!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Undeniable proof of de-evolution...

3/10
Author: oneguyrambling from Australia
8 October 2012

Here is some undeniable proof in de-evolution. Both in terms of human beings and cinema.

In your stock standard, straight off the shelf post-apocalyptic environment a small group of survivors huddle in the basement of their apartment building alongside Micky (Michael Beihn), the building superintendent who seems to well prepared for just this possibility.

Before the shellshocked masses have any real opportunity to swap insurance information a group of white suited men with big guns breaks through the metal door, kills a few, takes some others and leaves, this time sealing the remaining few from the outside. Then it's back to bickering, panicking and chewing their nails.

Unfortunately for us, the 'highlight' of the film just came and went and we didn't even know it.

All that remains are questions. What is going on outside? Who is responsible? Who are left? If the airtight basement represents the only safe-haven from pollution, radiation and contamination why the fff... heck we all smoking like chimneys?

But above all WHY WON'T THE PLAINTIVE PIANO PLINKING STOP?!?

Don't bother worrying, this film doesn't bother even trying to answer any of these things, it is more worried with growing more and more claustrophobic, menacing and rapey.

If that floats your boat then have at it. For me though, I now have a new post apocalyptic perspective. If it ever eventuates that the big BOOM arrives, and I am blessed with options, here is how I would like to go out.

1. Alone with cockroaches, (Wall-E made it look quite fun). 2. Die in the blast. 3. Survive with only a DVD player and a copy of this film. 4. Survive with the moronic freak show that populates this basement.

And for the record, I ummed and aahed between alternating 3 and 4 for a couple minutes. This film was that lacking in entertainment, creativity or worth. I don't care how realistic, possible or well made it is – and for the record I don't really think it was much of any of these things – The Divide is dull, depressing and pointless.

Final Rating – 3.5 / 10. If I ever voluntarily sit through this again you know the end is nigh. That and I couldn't find a cockroach friend to play with.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Twisted Violence Without Plot

1/10
Author: amtbt from London, England
30 December 2013

A truly disappointing piece of film that had the potential to be a very interesting exploration of human nature in captivity.

Starts off well with a good set up but then spirals into scene after scene of unnecessary violence and no plot leaving the viewer feeling sick more than anything else. The work becomes so extreme that by the end it is (unintentionally) farcical.

The acting was not actually that bad, it was just the writing that they had to portray which was letting them down. Worth a watch if you have literally nothing else to do. However, I recommend leaving this one on the shelf if you cannot cope with watching relentless and graphic abuse.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

The Divide

1/10
Author: titans_58 from Tennessee, United States
24 June 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I felt like my time watching this movie was so wasted. I have to wonder what goes through a writers mind that could come up with the warped dark script as he did. The raping,killing and torture the way it was done was sick to say the least. I was almost throwing up and hoped the movie would get better. And BTW I do not have a weak stomach its just this movie was just sick!I also do not care for movies that led you to come up with your own conclusion like who were the people in the white suits and what were they doing to the little girl and others? and the writer doesn't have much hope in humanity. In my opinion if something like a nuclear bomb was to hit.This movie was very disturbing and really didn't need to be made at all for there was no purpose to any of it. If this writer cant do better then this he might as well give up this career.And the ending was predictable.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Did they do the movie like this on purpose? Most likely

5/10
Author: Simon Bubach from Sweden
12 April 2012

The film is certainly not for everyone and it shows quite clearly. It's not exactly a horror film and not really a sci-fi. It is more a psychological thriller/drama than anything else, kinda like the movie "The Experiment". So if you watch the movie and expect to see anything else but that I'll understand if you get very disappointed.

An unfortunate thing about the film is how little we get to know about why "somebody" dropped the nuclear bombs over the city. But that's not the point of the movie, the point is for the viewer to try to understand the characters' sense of hopelessness. Hopelessness is a good word to describe the whole screenplay.

There are quite a few things that people have complained about or thought were bad about the movie. One of the things I noticed that people talked about most was that the film raised a lot of questions about the story but never told you the answers. I agree that it were a bit annoying but the more I thought about it the more satisfied I got with the movie. One of the things was that you did not receive any direct perception of time on how long they were there in the basement. I thought for a while but then I realized that they probably did not include it because you got it from the characters' point of view. The characters probably had no idea how long it had gone after a while. The whole film was made in that way so you never learn more than what the people in the basement found out.

To summarize: An okay film that was quite interesting.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Not worth the effort - if you have a humane bone in your body....

3/10
Author: TanjentMan from UK
6 April 2012

I can't believe the Snaggletooth review has 46/66 likes currently, as I found it very misleading. In fact, I watched this movie on that recommendation alone and wish I could have the last 2 hours of my life back rather than spending it watching this miserable, disgusting and ultimately unsatisfying movie. And no, I do not like Adam Sandler movies (as suggested by Snaggletooth) and I am not easily disgusted, considering some of my favourite movies include Goodfellas, Fight Club and Pulp Fiction.

What we have here is a movie about humans surviving an apocalypse, which is always a good backdrop to a human drama as it breaks down our normal 'civilized' characteristics until we get to the bare bones of what being human and surviving is all about. Except unfortunately it seems to be the worst of humanity from nearly all the characters. Not to mention it is one of those films where you will cry out at least twenty times during it when a character does something really stupid, which makes the situation worse and comes from poor storytelling. It is well made, but well made does not make a good movie.

Reviews of this movie stating it is 'torture porn' are a little exaggerated, I've seen worse, but this film does seem to like wallowing in the worst possible facets of humanity, simply for the enjoyment of it. Everything bad that could happen does. And pretty much all the characters have very few redeeming features, so by about halfway through I was actually hoping they would all come to a sticky end and just put me out of my misery. I do not think the characters are realistic in the sense that not all humans are inherently bad/stupid, as this film suggests, though maybe this might be true about Americans ? I couldn't say for sure as I'm British.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

80s Video Slasher sex trash flick

1/10
Author: darrenkoneill from United Kingdom
31 August 2012

Instead of dealing with the post apocalyptic events, and why it happened. We get stuck in a cellar with a bunch of idiotic vulgar morons, one as ugly and dumb as the next. For some reason their captivity sends them spiraling into violence and sex identical to early 80s video sex/slasher movies. We get no explanation of what went on or why, and no understanding of why they all so quickly went crazy.

To make matters even worse the musical score is that tried and talentless two key piano playing that has plagued adverts and movies for the last 6 years, two keys are played continually then you move up a note to the next two keys for a while then back down again and so on.

Absolute trash, the movie industry is really all about who you know, otherwise this turd of a turd could never have been released on such a scale.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 23: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history