IMDb > The Divide (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Divide
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Divide More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]
Index 232 reviews in total 

22 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

The most criminally underrated, hated, boycotted movie EVER !

9/10
Author: ujktom
16 May 2014

I saw some reviews about this movie and all were that it was "sooo bad", "waste of time" and "terrible movie" and at the same time people told me it was an "shocking post-apocalyptic masterpiece" First i didn't want to watch it because of the ratings.

Ill never trust the ratings again !

This is the most criminally underrated, hated, boycotted movie EVER ! Some people are MAD, they launched an Internet hate-agenda. They HATE this movie. WHY ? Well someone got really butt-hurt and offended about it ! I say you MUST watch it and judge for yourselves....

I give it a 9/10 because of all the BIAS and HATE and it surprised me. normally i would give it a 7/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Really?

1/10
Author: josierevisited
4 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched this the other day and while I enjoy post-apocalyptic survival films and games, this is one I wish I had passed on. The synopsis made it look so interesting, and for about the first half hour, it was. However, the situation turns from bad to unrealistic in a matter of moments, and we are left wondering exactly what the writers were smoking when they put together this mess of a film.

I'm not going to go in-depth into the story as many others have done this already, I will just post the questions that I had about the film.

1. Why isn't anyone concerned about the air supply? They smoke cigars and cigarettes without a care in the world.

2. What is the fuel source of that power generator?

3. Why doesn't anyone seem to want to find a way out? I know there is radiation outside, but after a few weeks (presumably they were in there for a long time, long enough for scurvy to set it although I'm still wondering how that happened on a diet of baked beans) in that hell hole even a rad-infested city would be preferable and they could seek treatment.

4. Why don't the scientists in the white suits check up on their comrades, or send in other soldiers, or... anything at all? They do nothing even though two of their number didn't report back in. They don't seal the door until one of the main characters goes exploring.

5. What's the lab for? Why are they so concerned with the eyes of those children, and why keep them alive after removing them?

6. Why doesn't anyone's health improve after they discover the new food supply that is complete with citrus sources? The scurvy would have gone away, though the radiation poisoning wouldn't. At the very least, the rate of degradation should have been considerably slowed. Instead, it almost seems as if at this point they start to get worse very quickly.

7. At the end, the Eva character locks herself in the food vault to don the suit. At least, that's what it looked like to me and my girlfriend. The two men were beating on the door to get in, and couldn't because the combination to the lock had been changed by the now dead gang leaders. She puts on the suit, and somehow manages to get out of there and into the bathroom, which was on the other side of the basement. How?

8. What happens to her after this? She can see that NY is leveled, but where does she go? What does she do?

9. Why is the Sam character such a worthless piece of garbage? I mean, I was literally screaming at him with the others at the end and I wasn't sorry to see him get the crap beaten out of him.

10. Why didn't Eva just let Mickey out? He was clearly the only one who could have brought the situation back under control and yet, she just leaves him tied to the chair. I wish he had been written with more of a leadership role.

11. We are never told exactly how the Marilyn character dies, though its presumably due to some sort of untreated vaginal infection brought on by repeated rapes and unsanitary conditions (Her unexplained bleeding, and the final rape\torture scene in which she was literally screaming in pain), but I would have still liked more closure than "she broke".

All in all, if you were hoping for a film that explores humans triumphing over impossible odds, or any kind of actual story at all... Move on. That's not this film. They never get out, they never find out why NY was attacked, they never do anything heroic or interesting, they just get sick, rape and beat each other, and then die. The end.

It just was not a good film, even by torture porn standards.

Was the above review useful to you?

30 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

Shocking, twisted, brilliant.

8/10
Author: JohnnyWeapon from United States
30 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As I finished watching The Divide, I realized how much the film had affected me. My stomach had been in knots for nearly two hours straight. Let me also say that I'm not easily this affected by movies.

I don't like gore for the sake of gore, and Xavier Gens does an excellent job of keeping some violence off-screen (to great effect), while delivering some very shocking scenes for our viewing (dis?)pleasure. There are sequences in this film that will cause even the most steady of stomachs to lurch out of sheer intensity more often than glorified gore. You can't ask for more than that out of what I could call a psychological horror flick.

I think the movie really makes the viewer think about the breakdown of humanity in this type of situation. It's easy to sit back and think, "They should be getting along, working together, being civil." But would you? Do you really think that, especially affected by radiation poisoning (and suffering it's consequences), you wouldn't lose your mind to some extent? When Eva leaves at the end, it's purely survival instinct. She'd kept her humanity longest, but ultimately she did what she had to do for herself. Just as all the other occupants of the shelter had been doing along the way.

The acting is extremely well-done. Michael Biehn, who is always at his best in intense roles, shines. I was unfamiliar with Michael Eklund until seeing this, but couldn't have been more impressed. Even Milo Ventimiglia, usually (IMO) pretty limited in range, provides one of the better villains I've seen on-screen in awhile.

Lauren German is... simply breathtaking. Her lead performance is excellent, but my God what a beauty to behold. By the finale, I appreciated a great deal that SHE was the one to step outside... this thing of beauty standing alone in the most horrific of scenarios. It's poetically fitting. There is no hope for mankind. There is no beauty. It's a hard ending to swallow, but after going through the journey, it is the perfect ending.

See this movie. It's worth your time. It's tough to watch at times, but excellent.

Was the above review useful to you?

48 out of 87 people found the following review useful:

I lost my time with this "movie"

1/10
Author: marulez from Romania
28 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

My God! What a piece of thrash... Hollywood just doesn't stop spewing garbage into the world. And they still wonder why their industry is going down??? The number of movies has vastly increased, there are too many movies coming out from Hollywood than ever before and most of them are rubbish.

This particular example (The Divide) is a post-apocalyptic type of movie, just like all the others of its kind, but just like all the others, it's rubbish. There is only one such movie which I consider it to be 100% realistic and beautifully done: THE ROAD (2009). Now that's what I call a masterpiece of post-apocalyptic movie. A solitary man who trusts nobody and wants nobody's help beautifully survives along his son, with no hysterical and psychotic scenarios like the ones in The Divide.

The story in The Divide is awful, disgusting with many unnecessary scenes. The writers of this story probably considered people (in general) like some sort of brainless uncontrolled maniacs.

The movie could have been a masterpiece just like The Road if they would have given the MAIN ROLE to the administrator (Mickey). I don't know why they made him look like a villain. It was his shelter, his food, bought with his money, earned from his work. All the other brainless imbeciles were just intruders (I couldn't call them guests because Mike didn't really wanted them in the first place). I felt no sympathy with any of the characters from this movie. I couldn't find anyone with whom I could associate my self with.

Well in short, all I can say is that I lost my time with this typical garbage. Nothing special to see here folks, move along.

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 59 people found the following review useful:

A horrifying and disturbing look at what a group of strangers do after the apocalypse. Not bad but very disturbing. I say B-.

6/10
Author: Tony Heck (cosmo_tiger@hotmail.com) from United States
28 March 2012

"This ain't exactly the garden of Eden." After a nuclear bomb is dropped and earth is uninhabitable a group of tenants of an apartment are forced to live together in the basement of the building. What starts off as a tense situation quickly explodes into something much, much worse and everyone's views of each other change. This is not what I was expecting. I thought this would be more of a Sci-Fi type movie and what it was was a very disturbing look at what different people will do when pushed to the edge. For those that have seen the movie "Blindness" you will know what to expect. For those that haven't be warned, this is a very, very disturbing look at the human condition and makes you wonder what you would do in this situation. Overall, more disturbing then anything. Not bad, but you must be ready for what you will see. I give it a B-.

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 69 people found the following review useful:

Worst movie ever, just plain stupid!

1/10
Author: sungam65 from Sweden
6 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If i could, I would give it negative stars, like -5. It kind of sucks out your brain and steps on it.

Basically the story has potential. Dramatic entrance, mystic plot, this could have been a good movie.

Sadly this was only the first minutes of the movie, then it developed into a stupid orgie in "Whos crazy now", meaningless, unmotivated violence.

The mystic plot? well, they forgot to tell you about it.

The movie is so bad that I think it takes 2-3 good movies to get over it so I can go on with my life.

Stay away from this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Disgustingly beautiful

9/10
Author: Perry Bee from On a distant star
30 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I read about this film last year and thought this could make for good viewing, but did not think it would be more than a gore/horror teen flick. I am not saying it is not for teens, but it was a surprise for me, I really like some of the ways the director filmed the great acting performances from the whole cast, sure there are a few mistakes in the storyline (whole country is nuked but somehow they seem to have endless power) (the enemy use M16 based weapons, and they are Asian invaders) and it leaves a few question marks about why or how, but it really does not take away any power that comes from this storyline! I have read some people think humans would not behave like the people in this film, and I am not going to argue that point, as I do know better! Most if not all living things will do the most extreme things when pushed into a corner, than take away a food and drink supply and watch what happens, and humans are no different.

I felt the film was shorter than it really was, but I guess it meant for me I was glued to the screen. The storyline gets going real fast, and the characters are very well portrayed by the actors, just enough blood for it not to be a blood and guts type of film, but where it hits home for me is the horror of the characters, the director really did a great job convincing me about the horror of the situation these people got put in.

Sure I felt a bit flat about the enemies coming and going so fast, but it really did not need any more input, as the film hits home so well from start to the last minute of the film.

I was going to give it a 10, but took away a point due to a few small holes in the script, I am sure it is not for every one. but I thought the great music score and great acting and storyline made this a real surprise for me! 9 out of 10

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

waste of time

1/10
Author: s-k-u-l-l-b-o-y from Canada
20 May 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

WARNING THIS REVIEW WILL RUIN THE MOVIE FOR YOU AND SAVE YOU 2 HOURS OF TIME:) i could not stand this movie it makes absolutely no sense first off nothing is explained why are nukes going off in this city? why do the fall out guys take the little girl and put her in some chamber with band aids over her eyes and a tube in her mouth? how and why the hell did the guys in white suits set up all those tubes in the apartment building when clearly at the end of the movie the whole city is in ruins what made that apartment so special to set up a lab? what really pisses me off is the ending the dumb bitch already has rad poisoning yet she still takes the suit and screws the other two over when they could have had at least a little chance to surviving every character was annoying and pretty stupid at times this movie was poorly made and thought out i wouldn't recommend it to anyone i wont be watching another movie written by Karl Mueller,and Eron Sheean anytime soon

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Do not. Believe. The poor reviews.

8/10
Author: maxfawcett from Northampton, UK
15 October 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

First and foremost, do not believe a word anyone who reviews this film as anything less than a 6/10 has to say. There is undeniably a lack of persuasive material at the start of this film; more could definitely have been made of the initial attack, the acting is by no means as compelling as that in the second half. However, this is a film very, very much for those who like to completely immerse themselves in the storyline and appreciate the effort put into a twisted one. What The Divide does so impressively, in my mind, is take your initial, average nuclear-detonation bunker survivalist meet and greet and turn it into something so much darker.

The character development (more the character decay) throughout this film is some of the best I have seen in any horror. Multiple characters are seen to unsurprisingly lose their minds, but the fashion in which it occurs is truly harrowing. There are scenes I did not expect to come across in a movie with such despicable reviews. There is thought applied here on the filmmaker's part. Without wanting to give too much away, the deterioration of one female character's mind and body is almost troubling to watch. Sexual aggression is a theme rife throughout and it is not a film for those unaccustomed to such psychological torment.

Most impressive in my mind is the total absorption of the characters in these actors. It is the closest, and for that reason, most troubling enactment of societal breakdown I can envision in such a scenario. So confined, so reliant upon one another... that can and does turn nasty. The make-up is very impressive bar a few, unfortunate details (likely to not even occur to those not looking) and the actions of the character in the final scenes are some I considered exciting, spontaneous, opportunistic and required where others did not. I would suggest those of that opinion do not possess the intellectual spread to appreciate her reasons for doing as she does.

A fine, fine film. One I will not forget.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

You need to have a strong stomach to get into it.

7/10
Author: Saad Khan from Pakistan
9 April 2012

The Divide – CATCH IT (B+) The Divide is a violent post-apocalyptic thriller, which takes you into the twisted sick mind of humans. The movie starts with the world collapses and bunch of survivors end up into their building's basement. From there the struggle for the survival starts, not only they have to fight the people outside but also the people they're trapped inside. The Divide is a pleasant surprise I don't know why it got bad reviews from the reviewers all over but I think as horror/thriller fans it's defiantly a good surprise. The best thing about the movie is it takes it time to grow on you and the characters also grow as the movie processed. In the beginning people who seems nice becomes utmost evil and demented in the end. There are many sequences in the movie which will make you squirm and feel disgusted. The performances by Milo Ventimiglia, Michael Eklund & Rosanna Arquette are worth mentioning, they have literally taken the psychic sickness to next level. Lauren German as the main protagonist is good though she lacks star power or charisma of the main lead. Ashton Holmes, Abbey Thickson Michael Biehn & Ivon Gonzales did a fine job. On the whole, it takes a very strong heart to go through the Divide. And keep one thing in mind that it's not for the faint hearted people. You need to have a strong stomach to get into it.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history