IMDb > Kaboom (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Kaboom
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Kaboom More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 49 reviews in total 

106 out of 147 people found the following review useful:

Very cool

7/10
Author: phil neumann from Washington, DC
17 November 2010

I needed to leave a review since the only one up so far was a super negative gay-bashing.

Kaboom is the best Gregg Araki movie I have seen to date. Smiley Face was charming, and Mysterious Skins was just perverted (Mino from Romania should watch that one, he'd love it). It is super stylized in the coolest way, and the presentation is very clean. This movie just has a glossy feel to it that is very impressive. Aside from the color and glitter, the story is very engaging and holds on to you. It is a funny movie, there are scenes that will make you laugh, and some scenes that will give you goosebumps. It is also very eerie at times, the stylistic devices implemented to be chilling are indeed so, and at times it is chilling in a sort of deeper X-Filesy kind of way. Unfortunately, my criticism is that the conclusion of the film is all rushed exposition and not very rewarding at that after the fantastic build up beforehand.

The film deals with sexuality in a very lighthearted way. I find Araki's treatment of sexual taboo's to be refreshing and comical. Not for the ultra-conservative or homophobic crowd.

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

A little history here

7/10
Author: eventpix from florida
20 April 2011

Since other reviewers of Kaboom have mentioned Donnie Darko and Southland Tales, David Lynch, Stanley Kubrick, Polanski, Hitchcock, and Craven I might point out that the character, Smith is introduced as film student who is actually studying "Un Chien Andalou" by those naughty twenty-somethings Luis Buñuel and Salvador Dalí. Our wiki friends inform us that "The film has no plot in the conventional sense of the word. The chronology of the film is disjointed..... It uses dream logic in narrative flow that can be described in terms of then-popular Freudian free association, presenting a series of tenuously related scenes." Sound familiar? Chien was essentially a student film but one might say that it has had some staying power.

I liked Kaboom but it was certainly a bit silly, especially toward the end. About as silly as a lobster telephone. And if characters were continually waking out of dreams (and being interrupted during "spanking" sessions), perhaps that was a hint to the viewer about where the film was coming from.....

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

Disappointing and a bit pointless...

5/10
Author: Movie Geek from London, UK
19 April 2011

After the complex, challenging, touching and definitely mature "Mysterious Skin" (2004) I was really looking forwards to Araki's new film (And let's just pretend that the 2007 Smiley Face doesn't even exist). The trailer makes Kaboom look quirky, subversive and somewhat crazy in a fresh and fun sort of way…. Once again, a misleading trailer! Unfortunately the film itself has really none of that offer, as if Araki, instead of growing up, had been regressing to a film student again, because, that's what this film feels like: a polished and yet pointless student film! And believe me, I've seen many of those in my life! Thomas Dekker is quite likable and he's probably the best thing in the film and yet he's struggling with a story that has no beginning and no end (literally no end!)… and actually, come to think of it, no middle either! The film tries to be anarchic, dark, sexy, funny, rude, aping films like Donnie Darko and even The Rules of Attraction (which was a pretty faulty film anyway). In the end it is just too chaotic and definitely too silly to be taken seriously or to even recommend. There are very few original ideas and the little excitement in there is only given by the music and the editing, but certainly not by the story. Even the few good lines of dialogue in the script remain too isolated and detached be noticed, let alone remembered and they get lost in the ludicrous plot. What is real? Is there a conspiracy? Who are those people dressed like animals? Does any of this really matter? And actually, do we give a toss? In the end it's very hard to care about who does what and why, so basically you'll just end up waiting to see who's going to have sex with whom, (basically everyone seems bed down with just about everyone else in this movie despite their gender differences) and yet, none of the sex never has anything to do with the story. It is completely incidental and purely exploitive. But even if you take it as a sexy film , beyond its average straight/gay/bi soft-core porn clichés, it is all quite unremarkable and gets nowhere close to push any boundary and it thinks it does. In fact it all gets rather repetitive (I lost the count of how many times some character wakes up all of a sudden from some bad dream). This film might have been the director's wet dream, but none of that excitement shows up in the final product. I'll give Araki one last chance then I'll begin to think that "Mysterious Skin" was just a lucky mistake in an otherwise disastrous filmography MoviegeekBlog.wordpress.com

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Taking teen angst to apocalypse

Author: melvelvit-1 from NYC suburbs
16 October 2011

Gregg Araki's breakthrough film, 1992's THE LIVING END, was a gay THELMA & LOUISE in the age of AIDS, very cutting edge, and I thought he'd go much further than he did but, then again, big things were also predicted for John Dahl (RED ROCK WEST, THE LAST SEDUCTION) at the time. Oh, well. Anyway, Araki's been on the indie scene ever since and KABOOM takes his "apocalyptic teen angst" series (TOTALLY F***ED UP, THE DOOM GENERATION, NOWHERE, MYSTERIOUS SKIN) on a psychedelic roller coaster ride to a trippy -and inevitable- eve of destruction. It's a stylish (with vivid colors you can eat with a spoon), funny, sexy, college-set CLUELESS-on-acid that morphs into a cross between Sergio Martino's ALL THE COLORS OF THE DARK and THE WIZARD OF OZ after a horny, existentialistic film student begins to realize he may be at the center of a global conspiracy with cataclysmic consequences. Fairly indescribable, free-wheeling sci-fi fun that'll leave you with a WTF? feeling. I liked it.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Not a good film

4/10
Author: dominicdelaware from United Kingdom
13 March 2012

When people start talking about a directors previous films as a supporting material for his current one, it's not a good sign. This film is poorly plotted and paced. The actors put in committed performances but the script is laughable. Never as edgy as it seems to think it is. The actors lines fall like lead balloons from their lips.

I wasn't sure if Kaboom was intentionally aiming for so-bad-its-good fare, but it missed the mark on that score.

I've seen this film called 'Donnie Darko meets Rules of Engagement'; in reality if it was just a little worse, it could have been a Sci-fi Showgirls - but instead of being truly bad, it's merely mediocre.

Some great performances to be fair, but a bad film that isn't bad enough to be worth recommending.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

What a perfect title. Cause by the end you have no idea what the hell just happened!

7/10
Author: thefonz750 from Houston, Tx
29 January 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The first half is fairly coherent. About a boy struggling with his identity. Meets a girl. He's in love with his straight, male roommate. His best friend is a girl in a relationship with another woman. Just your regular college days. By this time, the movie has taken itself pretty seriously.

Somewhere around two-thirds through, the film takes some very strange twists. One of the girls becomes a secret-agent out of nowhere. More twists and tie-ins ensue and blam! One of those you-have-to-see-it-to-believe-it kind of things.

Good movie with some genuine moments that undergoes a strange transformation into ridiculousness and the paranormal. If you like films such as Donnie Darko and Southland Tales, then you will probably enjoy this one. Worth the watch, if only once.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Donnie Darko on Viagra??

5/10
Author: Tim Kidner (tim@kidnerpix.com) from Salisbury, United Kingdom
9 April 2012

That's how 'Kaboom' is billed on the DVD. I watched it, premiered on Film 4 last night.

Initially I rather liked it, the striking design, the casual attitudes to almost everything and the dialogue. Especially the catty one-liners. I'm not familiar with this director and on the strength of this one movie, I'm not in a particular hurry to explore further, however.

I realise that it's intended to be a surreal cult film and where it falls to pieces is where it starts to mess with your head, as it's just non-sensical and frankly, silly. I also realise that I'm not in the probable intended audience, age-wise. People running around in pig- headed masks just don't grab me, I'm afraid.

The liberal, mixed sex scenes were both interesting and fun and the attitude that good sex is just that, refreshing. Most of the young cast play their parts well, especially Thomas Dekker, Haley Bennett and Juno Temple. I did watch it all and there were many good points and I enjoyed much of it, but ultimately, it's just too way out there.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

"Nuttier than squirrel sh*t"

9/10
Author: Brent Trafton from Long Beach, CA
16 December 2011

I have not been a big fan of Gregg Araki's films in the past but "Kaboom" is easily my favorite and it is his funniest.

Obviously this is not a film for everyone. It is kind of a cross between "Scott Pilgrim versus the World" and "Donnie Darko" but "Kaboom" places more emphasis on comedy than narrative. From reading the other reviews on IMDb, a lot of people did not get the jokes. I was laughing throughout the entire movie. If you are offended by sexual content, this movie is not for you.

This is one of the best ensemble casts I've seen in a while. Most of them are new to me. I predict Juno Temple is on her way to becoming a star.

While "Kaboom" is definitely not for everyone, if you are willing to take a chance on an end-of-the-world sex comedy, you should give it a try.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Very entertaining and stylish

Author: johannes2000-1 from Netherlands
29 July 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I enjoyed this movie for the most part. It's different and stylish and refreshing, and the combination of deadpan comedy with bizarre thriller- and horror elements totally worked for me. Sure, there's lots of sex in it, and yes, it's mostly gay-oriented sex (male and female). So what?!! We are already for ages blown-over by an abundance of straight sex in almost every movie, getting more graphic by the year (think of the American Pie series), and you never hear anyone complain. I for one (but I admit that I preach for my own parish) am glad that more and more film-makers "come-out" with movies where gay sex is presented not as a heavy issue (like coming-out, gay bashing, AIDS, etcetera), but just as casual and as easy-going as any heterosexual counterpart.

Anyway, this movie also has other things to praise. The photography is great, the colours seem like over-saturated, giving everything a very intense and almost surreal aura, which is exactly what it's supposed to have. As a viewer you're forever wondering if what we see is meant to be real, or something in the mind and dreams of the main character Smith. Some of the comments here on IMDb complained of the lack of any coherent plot and of the illogical and totally unrealistic goings-on. They are right of course, but what they overlook is that this is the whole point of it! Come on, give it a break, anyone with an open mind can see that the makers didn't try to create a serious thriller or some gay coming-of-age vehicle, it's all so evidently tongue-in-cheek! Why must every movie that's off-mainstream have a Deep Meaning or a Lasting Message? Can't we just enjoy the ride?

Thomas Dekker is great as the intelligent and very cute, but slightly neurotic gay student, who gradually gets the feeling of being in the center of some mind-boggling conspiracy, while in the meantime he's still trying to build-up a satisfying sex-life. His best friend Stella is played by Haley Bennett and she's even better than Dekker: she's beautiful and sexy and I absolutely loved her ad-libbing comedy-skills! Juno Temple is adorable in every way (with and without clothes) and Chris Zylka as the buff but goofy room-mate Thor is mainly there for showing ample male skin.

The only thing that I didn't like was the ending: all this building up of tension to what I should have liked to be a grand finale (I mean: with a title like "Kaboom!" you DO create expectations!), and then it ended with this terrible puff, as if the writers were over-wrought with their own crazy ideas and just let go. It surely deserved better.

For the rest: a fine and entertaining, funny, well acted, fast paced and beautifully visualized movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Who is The Chosen Son and what the f *ck does it all mean?

6/10
Author: Travis Keune from St. Louis, MO, USA
27 March 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

KABOOM is a comical science-fiction story about a group of college students, each experiencing a unique sexual odyssey. Laced with undertones of horror. The title is catchy, but if KABOOM were renamed to describe what the viewer should expect, it may go something like "Donnie Darko Goes to White Castle While Horny and Tripping on Acid Made by David Lynch." Thomas Dekker (HEROES, 7TH HEAVEN) plays Smith, a sexually confused young man and the central character around which the rest of the crazy, hormonal universe of KABOOM revolves. Haley Bennett (THE HOLE, MARLEY & ME) plays Stella, Smith's lesbian best friend and lover to Lorelei (Roxane Mesquida), a strange, exotic woman with mystical sexual powers. Juno Temple (THE OTHER BOLEYN GIRL, ATONEMENT) plays London, a promiscuous pleasure guru who befriends Smith. Smith is haunted by visions of a troubled red-haired girl (Nicole LaLiberte, DINNER FOR SCHMUCKS) and violent men in animal masks. KABOOM is a bizarre journey full of plot twists and shocking jolts of abstraction. Araki has employed a nearly over-saturated color palette and stark contrast in lighting to pack punch into the heavy, uncomfortable scenes, while keeping the lighter moments resembling an R-rated TV sitcom version of THE BREAKFAST CLUB. Araki's dialogue is sharp and witty, at times nearly too much so. His stock of supporting and bit characters span an array of modern stereotypes, but the humor works well enough to summon laughter, even during the less original moments. While the first third of KABOOM skates by mostly on raunchy humor, sex and nudity, the remainder of the film will have many scratching their heads and others applauding it as a pseudo-psychedelic work of modern art.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history