Breaking the Girls (2012) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
16 Reviews
Sort by:
2/10
Forced
kng-kng-wl10 December 2012
Occasionally, I see reviews for these movies that no one has heard about and I can't help but wonder if it wasn't people involved in the making of the movie that write them.

So, to counterbalance what I read that led me to watch the movie in the first place, I'll just say that this movie didn't do anything for me. The dialogue was forced and the story unfolded in the most boring manner.

There is no reason to identify with any of these characters. The ending was anticlimactic and the effort was average on everyone's part.

Low budget. Low entertainment value.
52 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Breaking the girls, good thriller movie
SicilianLegend9 February 2015
"Breaking the girls" is a film released in 2012 directed by Jamie Babbit. This is a thriller style of the famous Sex Intentions without the match. Three actresses share the prize: Agnes Bruckner, Madeline Zima and Shawn Ashmore Sara is a strong young woman, ambitious and very beautiful. Alex, her equally pretty classmate took her under his wing. Alex and Sara constantly gossiping about people they do not like. The two women closer and more ... One day Alex suggests that each should kill the biggest rival of the other. Sara takes this as a joke until she learns the death of someone she knows well. Nevertheless, the film is very long to launch, more than a half hour to wait ... but then it will bounce bouncing like a good thriller. The ending is unexpected and that's good for viewers....
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A smart and interesting thriller that keeps the viewer interested even though it, at times, is quite predictable!
Isvind8910 November 2012
This psychological thriller follows two college girls who makes a pact to kill each others enemies.

The summary of the Breaking The Girl doesn't imply all the twists and turns. It's a sexy, smart and interesting movie that keeps the audience captivated. Alex (Madeline Zima) is a rich collage chick with some, obvious, dubious character flaws. Sara (Agnes Bruckner) is the scholarship student from the other side of the track. There is some steaming hot scenes between the two and some plotting of murder. Does it sound familiar? It's, on paper, a rip-off of the Wild Things movie(s).

Although the similarities between them I must say that I enjoyed Breaking The Girls more. It's not only because I'm a huge fan of Zima or the director Jamie Babbitt. It's because the story is actually rather good. Where Wild Things is full of archetypes Breaking The Girls play around and, eventually, trick the viewer into believing they have the story figured out.

For those who are familiar with the thriller genre in general this movie might be a bit predictable at places. However, it's a nice and captivating film with great acting, directing, soundtrack and vision.
25 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Breaking this reviewer
movieman_kev5 January 2014
In the mood for a film like "Wild Things" but lacking everything that made that aforementioned movie such a watchable (albeit guilty) pleasure? Well I have got a movie just up your ally. This film while marginally capably acted, never seems to be able to escape the mediocrity that it's mired in thanks to a clunky script, easily foreseen plot-twists and a general by-the-books mind-set that'll more llkely leave the viewer with a case of deja-vu as opposed to actually being entertained. The movie did have potential, but sadly I don't grade on potential but rather the finished product, which in this case simply doesn't pass muster.
13 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Not sure which is worse: the acting or the storyline.
G H25 August 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Really minor spoilers to follow...

It's amazing how truly God awful this movie is. Where to start??? The plot...has been done a hundred times over. And it's been done far better. Feel free to enjoy "Throw Momma from the Train" or "Strangers on a Train."

The acting...Christ almighty, it's bad. It's pretty freaking bad. The scene where Sara comes clean to Eric about her past has to be one of the most poorly acted scenes in the history of cinema. Closely followed by the scene immediately following that one where Madeline is trying to call Sara. And then there's the one following that one where somehow Eric and Sara end up in bed together and Eric is playing on his computer. Really it's just one scene after the other of poor acting.

The actors...is it just me or does Agnes Bruckner look like she's 40 instead of in her early 20's? What's that about?
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Dark, mysterious, mega plot twists... Watch it!
fig-ment17 September 2014
Maybe I'm biased because I'm a lesbian and the girls are really pretty, but!!!... that aside, this film deserves a much higher rating than it has been given. This is one of those movies where at times you think you know exactly where it's going and then all of a sudden everything changes and you have to keep guessing. You don't "love" the characters in this one, it's not the point. Part of the thrill is seeing how unexpectedly messed up people end up being. Sure, there were parts where things didn't quite add up or when it was really unclear what the characters' motives were, but that's the whole mystery (and the point of the movie). Overall, I was quite entertained for the duration of the film. I realize that this one is likely to be a "love it" or "hate it" film, but given my taste, I loved it.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Lesbian relationship with a psychotic liar has bad consequences.
suite9226 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Parties, booze, back biting bad behaviour set at a school with a law program.

Sara (from the lower class) is on scholarship and works more than one job. She and Eric like one another. Brooke wants Eric to herself. Alex (from old money) is a lesbian Cassanova who wants Sara because she's straight and because she thinks Sara is vulnerable. Brooke (another privileged young woman) gets Sara fired from her job, which gets her scholarship revoked, and gets her kicked out of housing. Alex's step mom (real mom died in swimming pool) is five years older than Alex, and quite nasty to Alex (like don't visit home without calling first). The heat comes from Alex's father, though.

So, Brooke and Nina are the obvious targets. Sarah despises Brooke, and Alex despises Nina. So, Sara and Alex discuss this, but not really at any length.

Alex kills Brooke and frames Sara, then kills her father and frames Sara. Nice.

Were there important missing pieces that Sara needs to know about? Will Sara be able to extricate herself from the murder charges? Will everything we think we know be thrown out in the last three minutes?

------Scores-------

Cinematography: 8/10 Mostly fine; camera a bit wobbly now and then.

Sound: 8/10 OK.

Acting: 2/10 The only good acting I saw in this film came from Sam Anderson and John Stockwell; both performances were short. The other performances were between sub-par and bad. The relationship between Alex and Sara was not believable. Shawn Ashmore does better with a stronger director.

Screenplay: 4/10 Derivative and boring. For a bright person trained in the law, Sara navigates her situation very poorly. The exposition of motivation was not all that good, and the poor acting did not help. The turnaround in the plot at the end was a fairly nice touch in terms of plot, but was also yet another full-scale affirmation of corruption. There were so many in this film.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Give ME a break!!
Rich Wright21 November 2014
There is nothing more satisfying in a movie where there's an unforeseen twist in the tale. It changes your outlook on what occurred before, and befuddles your brain as you try to make sense of the new state of affairs. It may even make you want to watch the film again, to see if this reinterpretation of the material adds to the viewing experience.

Breaking The Girls, a really REALLY dumb film attempts three such tasks... and fails miserably with each one. Rather than have you gasping with admiration for how the director manages the process, here you'll be shaking your head with disbelief as how desperate he is to put some pseudo intellectualism onto this mess. Sorry, dude. No matter how much whipped cream you add... a turd is still a turd.

This is, after all, a film that believes a girl who's been straight all her life can become a lesbian overnight because of a bad break-up and losing her job. I don't think it quite works like that. As for the whole 'swap murders' plot as first introduced in that Hitchcock classic Strangers On A Train, here you'd THINK it would perform the function of being the main plot... but NOPE.

Instead we are 'treated' to an alphabet soup of boring conversations, scenes that go nowhere and people doing something smart one minute, and incredibly dumb the next. ALL the focus seems to be on these stupid twists... Which don't work, and lead to more questions than answers. And besides, seeing as how we have zero emotional investment in these bland, no-dimensional characters, what difference would they make, anyway? 4/10
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
You know why you are going to watch this, and it has nothing to do with the story.
Jesse Boland20 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This is one solid mess of bad over acting, and a terribly written story that seems to have been directed over Skype. Fill the screen with beautiful women and hope that that will be distracting enough to not notice that you did not prepare anything before the actors arrived on set. Madeline Zima just looks evil, and that makes things that much more transparent. The camera work is all way to close up, and claustrophobic, and the post is nonexistent, this whole thing looks like it was shot on a low quality HD camera. I did not Enjoy this movie at all, and will not in any form recommend it. IF you want to see Madeline Zima just watch old episodes of Californication.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Competent thriller full of twists and kisses
TdSmth526 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Sara studies law at some fancy school but is there on a scholarship. She works as a bartender at night. A guy in class is into her and she's into him but his girlfriend, Brooke, is the rich powerful and influential girl in class.

One night a girl named Alex shows up at the bar. She's into girls and makes it immediately clear to Sara. She's also rich, wild, spoiled, bored-with-everything. When Sara's shift is over, she agrees to drive the drunk Alex home. They make out a bit and later go to a party. It's some opening of a photographer's exhibition. Brooke is also there. And it turns out the photographer is Jaime who is Alex's step-mom. When her mom died, her step-dad hooked up with one of Alex's friends- Jaime.

Alex and Sara become closer. We learn about their past. Both of their mothers died. Alex's step-dad got all her mom's money. And while Alex doesn't have anything to worry about she hates him and Jamie. She confesses she would like Jaime out of the picture. And she offers to remove Sara's problem. Sara's problem is Brooke. Brooke noticed that Sara's into her guy so she had her fired, kicked out of her apartment and her scholarship taken away. Sara doesn't take Alex's offer seriously.

Next night, Alex actually kills Brooke and plants evidence that implicates Sara. Sara now is closer to the guy, Eric. Sara sees no way out and agrees to kill Jaime. When she gets there she finds Alex's step-dad stabbed and the cops arrive to find her in the middle of a scene setup to make her look guilty. The cops were already interested in Sara after Brooke died.

What follows is a series of surprises and twists which I won't reveal, as well as plans to make things right. Obviously at stake is all the money that Alex stands to get from her dead mother. When you think about things carefully, I suspect that the story doesn't work entirely. So much had to be planned and work perfectly, it's highly unlikely. Breaking the Girls is basically a somewhat more lesbian and less explicit version of Wild Things. The story is intriguing despite the plot holes; the movie is well directed and looks good. I would probably have hired someone other than Madeline Zima, but still, seeing the various girls make out is fun.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Wild Things rip off
ellencontributor13 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
There are two over done misogynistic stereotypes of women. The evil woman and the virginal girl. These women obviously weren't virginal, so of course they had to be evil. Such a cliché! Then there's the fact this movie wasn't even original. It was basically the plot to any of the Wild Things movies.

Not to mention the plot made absolutely no sense. In real life, the police would have figured out that Sara and Nina were sisters and that they had a MOTIVE to kill David, and they wouldn't have let them off the hook so easily. That was ridiculous.

But whatever. If that's what you're into. I am just disappointed because I found it to be misogynistic and boring. I just wanted to see a movie about lesbians and was let down. Besides a few kissing scenes, this wasn't a lesbian movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
A movie about girls... weird and crazy girls.
adi_200226 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Sara is a student and works as a bartender. One night she meets Alex a nice girl and she is too drunk to be able to go home alone so Sara offers to drive her. Arrived at home between the two a romance is born and then intervenes Eric, a schoolmate that Sara likes him. The three have fun at Alex's house in one evening then invites Eric to leave because they feel better without his company. They try to know each other better and thereby finds that both are orphans. Alex has a stepparent and take them by surprise one evening when the two are found kissing on the trampoline. Alex has a much better situation then Sarah, she has her own car and a fancy house that has remained as legacy, a half is her and can be visited on weekends. Sara loses her job after being accused by a colleague Brooke and because of her loses and the place where she lives. Alex tells her that she is unsatisfied by Nina the wife of her stepfather and would be better if he would disappear from the landscape and reminds her that she is in a similar situation with Brooke and if the two would die, their problems would solve. Sara of course do not believe she meant seriously but it turns out that she wasn't joking and she kills Brooke but put the murder in Sara's hands. Now she is the one who has to do the same to keep her part of the agreement and for retaliation. But this will not be so easy and will go through a lot to be able to make excuses for the police and make them believe that she is not the murderer.

It is a very fast film with a lot of lesbianism frequent sequences the shift from relationships between girl-girl and boy-girl, of course it has flaws when the police comes to Alex's home to ask Sara about what she did the night when the murder took place, before she leave, tells her if she has a clue that might help her in the investigation, to give her a call but the policewoman doesn't let a card or a phone number and Sara could not have known her number. Then you do not go with a girl you just met that night and you do not get in her car, find other options such as to call her a cab.

Not the best movie but it reminded me somehow of Wild Things and Cruel Intentions.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The movie makes sense if watched from end to beginning
turtle-925-56905415 July 2016
Warning: Spoilers
So this is a major spoiler but given the chronological sequence of events, it all makes sense (as opposed to some who think not). Chronologically, it resembles Now You See Me more than Wild Things.

Man dates rich women, possibly killing them for the money. Man killed woman with two daughters (D1 and D2), and dragging mother to be buried in front of daughters.

Man marries very rich woman. Man kills rich woman in pool. Woman's Daughter (D3) does not inherit money.

D1 and D2 plots for revenge (possibly for money but looks more like revenge story). The plot involves D1 getting close to D3 to sub-plot killing D3's step father, Man. D1/D3's plot involve 1. D1 marrying Man 2. getting a woman to be the fall guy for D3's crime when she kills Man.

D3 thinks she is approaching vulnerable D2 and sets things in motion, not knowing that she is actually the real fall guy. The rest of the story is how the movie runs from beginning.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Breaking the Girl is utterly breaking the plot into holes!
Arvin Solsona1 November 2016
This is the first homosexual crime / thriller film that I've watched which I thought would gonna be unique in terms of thrill and action. Breaking the Girls is a film that I must say, a film that is made of utterly impossible story. Plot is predictable before you reaches the half hours of the film, and it's bad how the climax jumps with huge plot holes and missing factual and errors of each relations of the characters and the main story.

Breaking the Girl has failed to deliver a unique same-sex crime film trying to give a twist which has failed to give "wow" factor. Great acting though.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
I liked it
karjens13 August 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I don't think there are any spoilers but checked it just in case. I found this by chance and I actually liked it. This is one of those movies where I could predict what's going to happen but yet was still surprised when it did. I thought there was some really great chemistry between Alex and Sara. Though anyone watching this just for gratuitous lesbian sex scenes may want to find something else. This isn't an action thriller. It's psychological which means it's going to be slower paced.

If there was anything thing that really threw me in this movie it was that when I saw Alex (Madeline Zima) I kept seeing little Grace from the Nanny haha, but after thirty minutes or so, I realized that she's now 30 and a great adult actress and wow can she play crazy. I recommend it. If for no other reason this is one of the rare films depicting lesbians that isn't the painful clichés and stereotypes we usually have to endure.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
not that great
neshasouthport-119 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Starting the movie, I was already kinda bored and was just looking for something interesting on Netflix. I paid attention in the beginning since there was "ICEMAN" from X Men and that chick from Blood and Chocolate BUT it lost me eventually and I ended up just fast forwarding through the whole thing. But i gotta compliment the twist ending. I was surprise by it ,so i went back to rewatch it and try understand how the pieces fit together. BUT i still don't understand what their mother had to do with it. Was that even explained?? In conclusion, the movie wasn't that great. I rated it a 5 because i didn't want to be mean but it should probably be lower.
0 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews