IMDb > Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (2009) (VG) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Silent Hill: Shattered Memories (VG) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

12 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

This game has given me new hope for the Silent Hill series.

10/10
Author: Nummysammich from United States
27 December 2009

I was very afraid that Climax would once again tarnish the series, but boy was I wrong! This is a highly competent re-imagining of the original Silent Hill game. The music is incredible (as always) and has a great mix of ambient and melodic tracks (don't really know how to word that, but I hope I'm getting my point across), though sometimes I felt that the music detracted from the eeriness of the game (the Mall, for example). The graphics are gorgeous with very detailed areas and easily readable text on posters, billboards, signs, etc. The psyche profiling was a cool addition that will greatly enhance replay value, although the first playthrough you don't really realize how much the profiling affects the game because you don't have another playthrough to compare it to (once again I'm not sure if I'm wording this as clearly as I can...sorry if that was confusing). The flashlight mechanics are absolutely amazing; it feels completely natural and it enhances an already detailed world with shadows and falling snow. I also felt that the cellphone was an interesting gameplay mechanic that gave a new layer to the world surrounding Harry with the ability to take pictures and find echoes, as well as call the numbers found throughout the game. Many players will hate the fact that there is no fighting in this game, but I believe that no fighting ramps up the fear and tension. Multiple times throughout the game I found myself freaking out when deciding which way to run in the Nightmare as monsters pursued close behind. Players might also dislike the swapping of rusty decay for ice and snow, but I felt that it was appropriate for the game and story, and it added to the isolation felt throughout the game. The characters are very fleshed out and believable with outstanding voice acting and animation. The story itself is a deep and enthralling piece of work jam packed with the symbolism and weirdness that Silent Hill is known for; it truly is psychological horror. Overall this is an extremely interesting and very well made game (albeit a short one) that will scare and enthrall most players. Definitely worth the money!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Best Horror Game Since Resident Evil 4

9/10
Author: thepartyoftea from BC, Canada
10 January 2011

The Silent Hill franchise has gathered a cult following over the last decade from the series take on psychological and survival horror games, the newer instalments have been meet with oh hum reviews. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is the first instalment of the Silent Hill franchise on a Nintendo console and a re-imagining of the first game in the series. This being my only gaming experience with the franchise (I have seen the movie, one of my favourite video game based movies), Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is the best horror game I've played since Resident Evil 4. During the game there's 2 different perspectives: the first is a psychological therapy session with a pretty blunt psychologist which has you fill out a few.. tests. The other part of the game has you in control of Harry Mason who wakes up from a car crash and is searching for his daughter during a cold winter's night in Silent Hill. Harry's mission takes him all over the town while the tests from the therapy session alter the town in slight ways. The therapy sessions are short, so you spend most of your time as Harry. Shattered Memories plays a lot like an adventure game (such as Hotel Dusk or Myst), you go around the town and search for keys when you hit a locked door. Thankfully the keys are never far to find, no expansive backtracking like in Metroid games. During times in the game the world shifts from normal to a frozen nightmare with creatures that look like meat skeletons that will chase you down. Harry's only option is to run and this creates some of the most intense chases I've played in recent times. Climax Studios, developer of the game, clearly made this game for the Wii. While a PS2 and PSP version are available the Wii version seems to be tailored made for the flash light controls. Controls in general are extremely well done. Climax clearly learnt a lot from their previous Wii title Overlord: Dark Legend and Silent Hill: Shattered Memories controls better, looks better and sounds better. That being said, the game has a few faults to it. The game is very liner, only one way to go. During the chase sequences you will end up running in circles a couple of times because it's too dangerous to stop, whip out your in game phone and check the map to see the next goal. Minor really, but the game does an amazing job at crafting a wonderful and creepy experience and will have you excited all the way to the end credits when your psychological evaluation is given..

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Very different from the others, a mostly positive new direction

9/10
Author: TBJCSKCNRRQTreviews from Earth
2 August 2012

When driving through the quiet vacation town of Silent Hill, Harry Mason crashes his car(this takes the idea of doing so and its potential consequences and runs with it), and awakens to find his daughter, Cheryl, missing. He goes looking for her, and instantly discovers... that the similarities pretty well end there. This references the original(with locations and events), but "nothing is quite right", making you question how this relates to it(alternate dimension, sequel, coincidence…?), and we get to feel less and less like we know who our protagonist is… his characterization(appearance and behaviour), by the way, along with every other person in this, can be altered by the brilliant and unique psychological profiling feature. You are asked yes or no questions and go through tests, a great addition to replayability(since you can now(for the first time in this series) get more than different endings, it affects scenes throughout it(not how they end up, but how they get there... read on)), and if you are honest, it will find things that will upset you, and use them against you, things will go the way you fear they will(while I can only speak for myself, it utterly nailed me). It is a short experience(and you may just want to rent it if you aren't intending to see all the different versions), taking me only 5 and a half hours - and now that I know where to go and what to do, it probably wouldn't even be that. Since everyone has a cell-phone today, and it can do quite a bit, this puts one in your hand, as well... literally; the Wii-Mote doubles as it(with the D-pad navigating the menus), as well as the now regular type flashlight(it's no longer in your chestpocket), which you can point anywhere you want to(and it'll adjust your view, and thus what direction you're headed in). It can engage and receive calls(any number you find in this, you can call, though it doesn't particularly change things), and you'll get text messages and voicemails... the latter two not only from those you've met in this, but also ones giving a few details on tragic stories(like the ones where you'd get a block of text(from a book, a newspaper article, etc.) that you'd have to stop right there and read, in the others... that wasn't bad in those, still, it's nice to do something else), it's where you save progress(it may go to the nearest checkpoint; you won't have to redo much), you can take photos(of anything, really... what it's meant for is the area-trapped ghosts, which make up essentially all the supernatural aspects of this... this is psychological thriller, not psychological horror with fantasy in it), and the map(that no longer automatically draws out the spots where you can't pass... you can do so, yourself, putting decisions back into our hands(again, the other way wasn't bad)). The puzzles are almost all focused on utilizing the motion controls(they're on the level of Homecoming, if that, immensely easy), you "pull open" a closet, etc. When solving them, you zoom in by using B, then grab something with A, and you can now interact with what you grabbed(which is highlighted so you can find it). A key to a door is in the same room as you need it(there is no inventory). In fact, other than aforementioned, you can only pick up "mementos", things that means something to someone, somewhere. This is rather immersive, if it isn't as effective at that as the Penumbra Collection, maybe because here you can't do things that you'd expect to be able to. Unlike in those, when facing enemies, this doesn't allow you to distract(by way of throwing something to make a noise), fend them off at a slight range, blocking their path can only happen in very specific spots and hiding from them doesn't seem to do any good. The two types of monsters(both pale, skinny humanoids, one of them looking like a doll with extremely thin(or nonexistent?) joints) try to grab you(if one or more of them are successful, you can shake the joysticks to throw them off(and remember, there's no health pickups)) and chase you(running as fast as you...!), making you think of the Dahaka, the guardian of the timeline, in Prince of Persia: Warrior Within - except here, you don't know where you're going, several paths lead back to where you started or into a dead end, and bringing up the map(or putting it away afterwards) both take far longer than they should(why can't you bring it up and lower your arm within a second or two, like you could in real life?). Walking quietly and without a lightsource makes them a little slower to find you, and if you find a flare(there's at most one per sequence), activating it holds them off(until it runs out), only you then can't check where you're going(without dropping it to the ground, and you can't grab it afterwards). And yes, all of this with the foes is only true of the Nightmares, the altered Otherworld(outside of them, there are no attacks), that are now brief, intense bits(though as I described before, they get increasingly frustrating) where you have to get from point A to B as quickly as possible. And in place of fog, rusty metal grates and grotesque imagery, this has everything ice over, looking very unwelcome and isolated. It is hard to recognize where you are because of the visibility and the bluish tint. The story is the focus as usual(and as it should be), and it really draws you in. Because of the length, it also moves ahead at a fast pace. Voice acting is great, with our lead providing the occasional exception to prove that rule. There is disturbing content, and a little moderate to strong swearing, blood and violence in this. I recommend this to any fan of the series(provided they can keep an open mind about the changes) and of this sort of thing in general. 9/10

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Great Game

10/10
Author: indianman from Baton Rouge, La
11 September 2010

I have played every silent hill game made including the one on ps1 that I have never been able to beat. This game was a great buy and one of the best Silent Hill games made yet. Being a remake of the original is what sets this game about from the others, but what does make it good is how it not only references the original but references locations seen in the other games under the same name excluding Silent Hill 4. The full story on who Harry was and how the characters are all related made this game fun to play. The excluding of the guns and other objects used to hurt the guys chasing you was the only down fall I found while playing this game. I hope to see more made, with the story continuing the life of any of the characters already introduced through out all the game made.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

A Silent Hill Fan For Over A Decade.

9/10
Author: StuffedMannequin from United States
12 December 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This may contain spoilers. Shattered Memories begins just as the first one did. Harry Mason, a writer is driving with his daughter through Silent Hill, swerves off the road and crashes. Harry awakes a period of time later to discover that his daughter is missing, and goes looking for her. But what makes Shattered Memories special? Remember, this is a revision, not a remake, and it's core follows emphasis on Silent Hill 2 and 4.

The graphics: The graphics are the best you could ask for on the Wii. Sure, they wouldn't be mind boggling on the Xbox 360 or the Playstation 3, but they really are beautiful on the Wii. The lighting effects, especially. All the character models in the game are highly detailed and animate beautifully. The environments are well detailed and begging to be examined. When walking through the streets of the town, the snow reflects off your flashlight and the shadows that come off objects are realistically realized and convincing. It's probably one of the best looking Wii game out there.

Sound: Series Mozart Akiria Yamaoka returns (and sadly as it looks like, for the last time, as Yamaoka has left Konami, or at least that's what rumors are saying) and produces yet another bizarre, eerie, thrilling, melancholy and emotional soundtrack. The use of the Wiimote adds much immersion with your cell phone. This was another thing that was complained about in the game by fans, who felt like the addition of the cell phone would eliminate your sense of isolation in the town. To me, if anything, it just adds to the isolation. You see several phone numbers posted everywhere throughout the game, of which you try to call without answer. It really gives you the feeling that you are alone in the town. You can call other characters you have met in the town, but all of them act and respond like they are not seeing and acting upon the same things you are. Your Wiimote emits static, voices come out of it during phone conversations and occasionally it feels like there's somebody in the room actually talking to you. The footsteps, ambiance and sound effects are all very well done.

Gameplay: Gameplay is a key aspect in Silent Hill. This is something that didn't succeed in Homecoming, but works well in Shattered Memories. You still have a sense of exploration and isolation. The beginning and middle of Shattered Memories' Otherworlds consist of simply running away from your enemies until you get to a checkpoint, occasionally having to do puzzles while evading them. It got a bit redundant and disappointing as I progressed through the game, but once I reached just past the middle point, the Otherworld became wholly unpredictable and mind-boggling. Here after the middle point, that line does not become visible any more. If the idea of the "Ice World" turns you off, don't let it. Remember that the Otherworld is what the main character's make it out to be. There's a reason why it's an ice world. It's just a matter of you playing and discovering why. Also, the monsters in the game are simply a canvas in the beginning of the game, to be painted on and molded as you continue your therapy sessions with Dr. Kaufman, taking different appearances depending on your questions and answers you give to your psychiatrist. These psychological tests are brilliantly crafted and affect the game in several different ways, begging you to replay it again and again just to see how it will affect the game.

Overall: Silent Hill Shattered Memories is worthy of your time, if your a fan or not. It is not the bland games that were Origins and Homecoming, it is complicated, full of symbolism in it's characters and psychology, and deeply emotional. The story does not insult the player's intelligence, not spelling everything out for you but instead presenting things to you to figure it out on your own. All the answers are there, it's just a matter of you reading between the lines, a requirement in all Silent Hill games. The twist in Homecoming was bland and predictable, the twist at the end of Shattered Memories is complex, deep and actually gave me a bit of a choke-up. It's what made it a winner in my book. The Silent Hill series has always been known to envoy some sort of emotion in the player. Shattered Memories does not fail. It is confusing, will keep you playing until the very end, at in the end, all the answers are given to you in subtle, creative ways to make it all peace together in a beautiful and compelling way.

Cons: Any cons that I can think of would only be nitpicking. Suck as the slight pause between going through doors in the chase sequences. Running through the Otherworld before the end sequences became a bit redundant and repetitive, but this quickly changed towards the end as the game began to toy around with my head and mixing up the Otherworld into a confusing and tense labyrinth in a search for answers, then the worlds became very special. Another complaint is that since you know that the monsters only appear during the Otherworld chase sequences, it looses that sense of tension. This is fixed towards the end.

Get this game. You will not regret it. It may have a few flaws and may not be perfect, but I consider it my game of the year. After Origins and Homecoming, I began to believe that the Silent Hill series was a dying breed. Shattered Memories restored my faith. It's truly a brilliant game that cannot be missed, experienced and felt by anyone with an open enough mind to see it for what it is. A true Silent Hill game. 9/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The chills are strong in this one

10/10
Author: roniksharma
22 February 2016

Harry Mason, a caring father of his daughter Cheryl finds out she's missing after they survive a car crash one snowy night. Play as Harry Mason as you try to find your daughter and discover the secrets of the eerie town, Silent Hill.

Those who are eager to play this game, you guys must have a WII, cause gaming experience is best only on the WII. Neither the PS2 (gameplay isn't good), nor the PSP (graphics are horrible).

The game has 3 forms of gameplay.

1. Exploring... which all die-hard fans of Silent Hill are aware of. Look for clues of Cheryl's whereabouts.

2. Nightmare... In between the game, pink and ugly monsters will start chasing you as the town suddenly freezes (Why you ask? Find out yourself).

3. Dr.K ... In some moments, you are transferred to Dr. Kauffman's office. Try to answer his questions correctly for a smooth experience.

Overall this game is a go!!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

An Intriguing and fascinating re-imagining of the original game, "Silent Hill: Shattered Memories" is a good game held back from perfection by an odd plethora of shortcomings.

7/10
Author: MaximumMadness from United States
28 January 2014

Ah. "Silent Hill." A media franchise that began as a very frightening and highly regarded survival-horror video game series, before branching off into films, comics and other mediums. It's usually accepted that the first few entries in the series are modern classics of horror gaming. (Although even there, there is some controversy, as some fans feel the series peaked with its third entry, while others feel the fourth game was just as good as the previous games. I fall into the latter, and love the fourth game, but I digress.) However, starting at the fifth game, many fans have noted a fairly consistent de-evolution in the series, and found that the games have subsequently dropped in quality with each new release.

That being said, there is an odd enigma amongst the recent titles in the series. A game, that unlike the others, isn't a sequel, but rather a drastically different and new re-imagining of the original game. (1999's "Silent Hill") That game- "Silent Hill: Shattered Memories", released on the Nintendo Wii on the franchise's 10th anniversary.

And it is a game that thankfully broke the mold of recent releases, by actually being pretty darned good in its execution- happily telling a dramatic tale that honors the original, while introducing some intriguing new gameplay ideas into the series. Is it perfect? No, far from it. But it is a good entry into the overall series? Yes, most definitely!

The player assumes the role of Harry Mason, a father who crashes his car on the outskirts of Silent Hill- a quiet little town where he lives. His daughter Cheryl, who was in the passenger seat, has vanished from the wrecked car, and Harry is forced to try and locate her within the town. However, something is wrong- save for a few strange characters, the town has become almost completely abandoned, and is being covered in snow by a horrific storm. And seemingly at random, the world changes into a Hellish frozen wasteland populated by monsters that Harry must flee from to survive. All the while, the game occasionally cuts back to a psychiatrist's office, where the character (who is recollecting the events) must answer questions that will impact the game in varying ways through psychological profiling.

While the bulk of the story may sound familiar, with only some changes, players should be aware that this is a radical departure from the original game. While it is true to the tone and intent of the original, and features many returning characters, everything has been re-imagined. Harry is more fleshed out and vulnerable. Dhalia is now a younger woman who may or may not be involved with Harry. Cybil is much more proactive in the story. And the entire aesthetic and gameplay is altered to tell this new tale. (Particularly evident during the psychological therapy sessions, which are unlike anything in the series before. And the fact that there is no combat system, and characters are forced to flee creatures rather than fight.) That being said, fans of the series should find much to like about this game, even though it is different, and the changes don't feel insulting at all to the canon. Rather, they feel fresh and interesting, and honor the original game. To be honest, the storyline, characters and new ideas almost lead to a flawless entry in the series, and I would say this is easily the best the franchise has offered since the fourth game.

However, this game cannot be called flawless due to a few big issues holding it back. First and foremost is the controls. When it works, the game controls beautifully. It makes great use of the Wii's motion- controller, and feels fluid and intuitive. But that's when it works. When it doesn't work, the game is a mess. Particularly during sequences where Harry has to flee from monsters, the controls become nightmarish- it's very easy to have your motion-control cursor (which controls the direction you look and move) stuck on the side of the screen, causing you to run into walls and become stuck. And at other times, it's just too "jittery" to do fine control work, which this game often requires. The controls themselves bring this game down a point.

The other main issues involve the pacing, length and over-simplified nature of the game. The game is definitely very hasty and overly short. And that is a big problem. My first playthrough only took about five hours, and my second playthrough (which I am currently in the process of) seems like it may come in under 2 hours. (Granted, I am rushing through the game) It is by far the shortest entry in the series, which hurts it- it feels like it needs more time to develop. And the game is often very overtly simple, thus losing the puzzling quality of previous entries, and the sense of problem-solving that other games in the series have. Puzzles are not only simple, they are so simple, they seem as though they were made for children. If you find a locked door, chances are the key is in the cupboard next to the door- that sort of thing. There's no real thought to be put into the game, and it does hurt the experience somewhat.

However, those issues being said, this is still a good game and a strong entry in the series. It's creepy, fun, fascinating and it introduces some cool new elements to the gameplay, all while honoring the series and particularly the original game. Despite its flaws, those aspects alone make it worth buying.

I give "Silent Hill: Shattered Memories" a good 7 out of 10. Fans of the series need to check this out!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Silent Hill in name only...

3/10
Author: JDC_Ghaleon from Kentucky, United States
10 November 2010

I have been a Silent Hill fan since the first game. The series was a masterpiece. It took what Alone in the Dark and Resident Evil had started and then capitalized on it with its own brand of survival horror. Everyone seems to love the story of Silent Hill 2 the best ( I to am one of those people) but for the atmosphere and pure terrifying chills, the first Silent Hill is the one to visit.

When I heard that Silent Hill was being remade, I was very skeptical. Then I thought, well it might not be so bad if its a direct remake with amped up graphics. First we find out that most of the characters from the first Silent Hill are in Shattered Memories in name only. They bear no resemblance or anything for that matter to most of the characters. Lisa's character still holds some of that crazy charm she had in the original but keep in mind this one has nothing to do with the original. Instead of having the town turn to what most describe as "hell mode" it turns to this iced over frozen realm where we basically get the same creatures re spawning time and time again. The Silent Hill series has always been noted for its grotesque creatures and you never know when you are going to run into a new one. Not the case here.

I have a few hunches on what happened with this game. First of all I don't think this game was originally written to be a Silent Hill game. Both have sort of similar beginnings in which we have a father wrecking with his daughter and his daughter goes missing. I feel like when writing this story people caught on that it sounded a whole lot like Silent Hill 1 in the sense of the wreck and Harry searching the town for his missing daughter. So they decided to just reboot the franchise with this game. To me this game should not have Silent Hill in the title at all.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Scary as a box of kittens

1/10
Author: principefenice from Italy
1 April 2010

I've been a Silent Hill fan since the first game and I never, ever thought that a brilliant franchise like this could end this badly. Shattered Memories is a pointless and utterly boring game not worth even if you are a dedicated fan. I won't waste my time or the reader's going into much detail, but suffice to say in this game nothing happens. You just have to run from a location to another and look around for keys and souvenirs, alwas not very far and lazily pointed out by the game itsel with a white arrow. The run-for-your-life sequences are so frustrating that you dread them, but for the wrong reason. Using a camera to photograph invisible things has already been done (in a better way I should say) in Fatal Frame, so nothing new here. The game is so boring that you can't be bothered to even pay some attention to the storyline, let alone the characters. The only noteworthy point is the music, but despite being better than Silent Hill Homecoming, is not remotely on par with the earlier works of Mr. Yamaoka. Probably the musician himself was not very happy to waste time on a piece of crap like this. The only merit of this game is to make look better the previous two western-made chapters (Origins and the awful-but-not-so-much-now-that-SM-is-out Homecoming). Shattered Memories is a joke. And a bad one. Konami and climax decided that Silent Hill fans don't deserve any quality. Pity, I won't buy any other future SH game and people should really stay away from this franchise.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history