IMDb > "Terriers" (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Terriers" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 36 reviews in total 

69 out of 71 people found the following review useful:

New and old converge in top notch "Terriers"

Author: troy-125 from Austin, Texas
18 September 2010

I'm a sucker for the private investigator sub-genre of crime fiction. Even when not done well (HBO's "Bored to Death" tries a new take, but gets thwarted by blasé hipster posturing), there's something about the lone wolf not-quite cop, on his own, down on his luck, but armed with a healthy supply of street smarts and canny insight into human nature. Well, along comes "Terriers", and to my delight it knocks it right out of the park. Awash in the over-saturated hues of sun-soaked San Diego, a couple scrappy p.i.s (one's a former cop-slash-alcoholic, the other a former nickel and dime guy) completely re-energize the genre with wit, smarts, and a healthy dose of real pathos. It's "The Rockford Files" meets James Elroy, in the way that its grungy just-this-side of oblivion heroes get embroiled in a corruption plot that is far above their pay grade. Perhaps one wouldn't necessarily think of the term "seedy underbelly" when thinking of San Diego, but the show's creators surprise us with what they dig up.

The series excels in nearly every aspect of hour long drama: crisply directed action, rich supporting characters, intriguing criminal activity, and a whole host of demons for its protagonists to wrestle with, mostly falling on the back of Donal Logue's Hank Dolworth (interesting that one of TV's other most fascinating anti-heroes is the aptly named Hank Moody of "Californication" - both Hanks give us 2 very different sides of southern California survival). Logue, long time one of my favorite just-on-the-verge-of-stardom actors, is absolutely brilliant here. Older, raggedy, and noticeably slim-downed, Logue fits this part to a T, and will hopefully find himself in all sorts of career skyrocketing joy once "Terriers" gets the audience it deserves.

The rest of the cast is also uniformly excellent. Michael Raymond-James as Hank's partner Pollack is just as grungy but a bit lighter - which is fascinating as he is the former crook. And Rockmond Dunbar as the cigar-filter chomping Detective Gustavson - Hank's ex-partner - is perfectly pitched as the hard-ass cop whose soft spot for Hank keeps him situated as a dark ally: maybe he'll help, maybe he won't.

Series creator Ted Griffin, late of "Ocean's 11" and "The Shield", has created a fascinating world of cops and crooks and those in between, that feels well-lived in, while remaining fresh at the same time. If the show continues to pump blood into its true beating heart - the relationship of Hank and Pollack, and both of their personal quests - then he should have a hit on his hands for years, and something that may indeed stand the test of time. A classic in the making, "Terriers" is the best new show on television, and already one of the best period.

Was the above review useful to you?

68 out of 75 people found the following review useful:

Love This Show!

Author: lillith_v from United States
14 September 2010

Only one episode so far, but it's hard to believe it was a pilot. The characters are funny, interesting, and even a little pathetic now and then, but most of all you find yourself hoping they'll get it right this time. Much more depth of character and engaging plot than you normally see in the first episode of anything. By the end of the hour, I felt like I'd known these guys for a while.

The best thing about these characters is that they're not easy to peg. There's not just a "smart one", or a "sensible one", or "the screw-up". They both bring something to the table, and I suspect we'll see even more facets of their personalities as more episodes air.

The only negative I found was the ex-partner (cop) Gustavson. Seems a little stereotypical and forced to me. Maybe that will work itself out in upcoming episodes, but at least it's a minor character and I don't feel the show really suffers for it.

Can't wait to see more!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

56 out of 56 people found the following review useful:

Well written, acted & filmed

Author: Pelagicdrifter from United States
3 October 2010

The writing makes Terriers - but the acting sells it. The characters are engagingly flawed, the by-play between them is superb and there are visual "puns" embedded in many scenes. It is funny, but not slapstick. The humor is often subtle; this isn't a laugh track comedy.

I can't say enough great things about this show. It feels more like a well written movie than something made for TV. The cinematography is lush. The supporting characters have enough back story to be credible parts of the plot. It is engaging and fun to watch. Even the theme is catchy.

I want everyone to watch Terriers so that is produced for many seasons to come. It is just the type of beautifully crafted show that execs seem to cull after a single season.

Was the above review useful to you?

45 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

I'm hooked on something but what? i can't explain.

Author: ( from Estonia
27 September 2010

First i found this series for myself by accident, i can't get into details but after 3 episodes I'm hooked. There is nothing screaming special about Terriers - even the name itself is kind of funny since there is only 1 dog ( but really cool one) in the series and even he is not a terrier but after few episodes you can understand the name! There is no clear explanation but you sense it somehow. Actually its the same with the series - it has this crazy weird aura that rushes you to look at it again and again and again. REALLY good chemistry between main characters ( they are best friends in actual life too ), good balance between humor and the general darkness of the plot which unravels more with every episode, good portion of mystery behind characters and their lives PLUS i specially like the strange continuity throughout the series. There is another good fact that suggests the quality of it - its my first review and i registered myself to just because there was 1 review missing for Terriers' vote.. so there it is. If the executives can't see the uniqueness of this series and they will cancel it after the first season... i'll watch the first season over and over again in the coming years to fool myself.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Revisited Concept With Innovation & Great Potential

Author: DareDevilKid from India
20 September 2010

Review : Terriers (T.V. Show - Season 1) Genre : Comedy, Mystery.

Type : Humorous buddy detective show with a lot of mystery.

Rating : 8.1/10

'Terriers' is basically a show about two oddball guys coming together to play private detectives. We initially get the picture that they are complete losers who have failed in their respective careers and other odds and ends stuff, and have now hit another brainwave with the pseudo-conviction of attaining success and a quick buck rapidly.

But just 20 mins. into the show, we slowly begin to realize that these guys must have chosen their new venture after much deliberation. They might not have studied the 'Sherlock Holmes' manual or even have read beyond the first two pages of 'The Hound Of Baskervilles', but they do have an acute instinct for the nitty-gritty stuff, and while not following strategies by the book, they do logically manage to investigate the right things at the right places. The beautiful thing is that, some of their most absurd modus operandi, more often than not, easily culminates into an accurate logical move (credit to the writers 'Shawn Ryan', 'Ted Griffin', and others).

The basic traits of a great show are to relentlessly engage its viewers within its plot narration along with adequate twists and turns at the right moments (especially for continuing episodes), and all the while, constantly developing its characters with effortless ease such that the viewer is never distracted from the plot while comprehending the characters' motives, backgrounds, qualities and actions. Just two episodes into the show (I never write a review after a pilot just in case its a fluke) and the creator 'Ted Griffin' has managed this spot on (especially in the character development department).

The premise, definitely the most unique aspect of the show, is of a much larger and very engrossing case interweaving the episodes along with smaller, milder albeit pretty engaging cases interspersed between different episodes. Though the smaller cases have no relevance on the main case, you've got to see the show to know how it all churns out and makes sense. The show itself is very humorous, with the right mix of drama, action and mystery.

The performances, while not being first-rate, are more than competent. Donal Logue (the best of the pack) plays Hank Dolworth, a down and out ex-cop, ex-husband, ex-everything, who's striving for a fresh start and to finally revamp his tarnished reputation. Michael Raymond-James (a perfect foil to Donal Logue, although haven't seen or heard of him before) plays Britt Pollack, a much younger guy committed in a relationship to the beautiful Katie Nichols (Laura Allen), who really trusts Hank despite all the advice of ultimately being let down and is just about warming his heart to their private-eye work along-with looking for some quick cash for the happiness of his home, relationship and himself. The sparkling chemistry between these guys and their casual banter is probably the highpoint of the show, while most of the supporting cast is decent enough.

Technically too, the show is very sound with beautiful cinematography and camera-work and excellent locations. Another strong-point is the opening song along with the credits (another must for good shows).

'Terriers' has already began as a damn good show with a good plot and interesting characters. With wholehearted care and efficient execution it can easily transcend the realm to a great show, possibly three quarters into its first season.

My vote: Hook onto it before it gets a tad intricate to follow, stick with it till the end of the season and then decide whether to dedicate yourself to its forth-coming seasons.

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Very Smart

Author: oteromom from United States
14 October 2010

This show is one of the best I've seen in so long. Very smart, interesting, and different type of story, not the typical predictable storyline of who done it. Great acting, interesting characters, and comedy, with believable partners, history, and a great opening song. I can't wait for more episodes with sister Steph. These stories grow each week from the previous, and you don't find many like this one. Thank you for giving us something else to look forward to. I look forward to the story and characters growing to see more of the history of Hank Dolworth; where he comes from, what exactly was his story with ex partner on the police force. Britt is a cutie, someone new I've never seen, but hope to see more of. Donal Logue is someone I'm more familiar with, his work always smart and funny. Their sneaky partnership is just entertaining enough to keep us staying tuned.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Best new show of 2010

Author: jateast from United States
30 September 2010

Okay, I watched L&O-LA while I recorded Terriers because I wanted to see the premier of the new L&O. Nothing compares to Terriers this season; it's a great show. It's funny, has intriguing characters and a story line that is off beat and not the same old same old. Great casting that makes me relate. I don't understand why this show would drop in ratings except for some curiosity about the new L&O this week. I will definitely be watching this series and hope and pray it doesn't get canceled because folks just don't know about it. I also think it's better than some of the new stuff on premium channels. The show could use a little more promotion from FX.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Unique, cool new show!

Author: wayindie from United States
18 October 2010

Glad FX is still making original drama series. While it is funny, there is a fare share of drama, and conflict. The characters are 3 dimensional, and play out as real people you might already know. Good to have a fresh take on PI show. Like that it is still kinda raw, and not predictable either. So much has happened in the 4 episodes I have already watched. Can't wait to see what is next for this crew.

It has been a while since I have been compelled to follow a show. Nice thing is that you can pick up at any time and get into it. Beats anything on network television. Not for those that need main stream junk food TV.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

It's "Veronica Mars" meets "The Big Lebowski"

Author: dtuttle from Seattle
1 October 2010

Love this show! It's "Veronica Mars" meets "The Big Lebowski". The episodes are clever and totally unpredictable. You will never see what's coming around each corner of this plot but it's completely plausible and very entertaining. Episode three in particular has enough plot twists for four episodes. The two main actors are great together. Though every once in awhile I'm reminded of the character that Michael Raymond-James played on "True Blood" and I have to remind myself that he's good now. Good enough anyway. Sexy, plausible, funny, smart, very cool. I hope this one keeps on going. It might be too slow-paced for the mainstream.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Excellent and not what you'd ever expect!

Author: (Amy_cosmicchic86) from Truro, England
30 September 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

To put it simply, this show is fantastic and one of the best new shows to come out of the US in years. It has nothing to do with dogs and is in fact a fascinating, well-written, often funny and always heartfelt crime drama about two buddies trying their hand at private investigating so that they can make ends meet. The realistic, multi-dimensional characters are lovable and layered and the well-paced, twisting and turning stories darken menacingly with each new episode without losing any of their charm. My favorite character is Britt because he is a fab combination of lovable sarcastic slacker and troubled master-thief, but the far more complex Hank is equally great and his mentally-disturbed sibling is a solid new addition to the ensemble. Dear FX Network: This show NEEDS to stay on the air!

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history