IMDb > Expecting Mary (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Expecting Mary
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Expecting Mary More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

10 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Wonderful Film, Great Cast, Great Characters SEE IT!

8/10
Author: Jordan L. Hyde (piman25@hotmail.com) from Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
17 September 2010

Without a doubt this film has its' flaws - it is uneven, ranging from near slapstick to near melodrama. There are a few points where the message is delivered in a rather heavy- handed way, but like many things the flaws are minimal compared to the overall product.

The direction is natural, moving the well written story along at a comfortable pace.

Linda Gray does a fantastic job proving what a talented actress she is. Both as a character and an actress she pulls the characters of the film together into a true ensemble.

Each of the featured actors turned in great performances, treating the film the same way they would treat a major Hollywood production. None give a week or halfhearted performance. The characters each play their part in successfully moving the story along.

Stand-outs include Gene Simmons, very believable as the caring, yet not nurturing, father, Lainie Kazan as the yiddish native American, Elliot Gould as the polka loving truck driver, Della Reese as the cantankerous landlord and Cloris Leachman as the pig lady. Olysea Rulin is very sympathetic in the role of Mary.

There is an actress named Kathy Lamkin in the film who is amazing, watch for her.

In short see the movie, you won't regret it.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Love this film

10/10
Author: Laura Sandler from United States
4 June 2013

This is a very sweet film, well written and directed. Just saw it on TNT and was pleasantly surprised to see such a great cast. The girl who plays the lead is really strong as an actress. Olesya Rulin, she's from the High School Musical movies. She's adorable and vulnerable and interesting to watch. What a great little actress. Della Reese is just hilarious and Cloris Leachman I couldn't get enough of. Wish there were more scenes with her in them. Cybil Shepard was as funny as ever and the gal in the airport terminal was a riot. Story is about a pregnant gal who runs away from her uppity mother (played by Cybil Shepard) to go be with her estranged father (well played by Gene Simmons). She (Olesya Rulin) gets caught up in a weird little town filled with a great cast of quirky characters. Linda Gray plays the woman who becomes a sort of surrogate mother, Lainie Kazan owns the casino that Elliott Gould frequents and dies in. Cloris Leachman and Della Reese live in the same trailer park. Lainie hears that her Casino is in jeopardy of being closed, so the whole town pulls together to help. Linda Gray calls her former agent (Fred Willard) to help them throw a little Christmas shindig to help raise the money. And angry mother (Cybil) shows up in the middle of Lainie Kazan's beautiful rendition of Holy Night, the pregnant girls water breaks and they all head out in a frenzied caravan to get her to the hospital in time. Well, Linda and Cybil bond over the baby and the casino is saved. It's a really sweet, feel good movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A sweet, slightly off kilter, joyous little film.

10/10
Author: Indianbear from Deep Pine Woods, USA
27 April 2011

Comfortable as old shoes, Expecting Mary is a feel good movie about family, finding friends in the strangest places, the importance of babies and in general, just surviving the life.

I was very pleasantly surprised with this little gem. For my taste, many movies categorized as comedies nowadays, simply aren't. Given, there are a lot of different styles of comedy.

Expecting Mary is not a double over in your seat, fall down laughing kind of comedy. It's a movie that makes you smile almost all the time you're watching it, with frequent intervals of chuckling and a few genuine laughs out loud. As I said, it's comfortable.

You'll see some familiar stars playing very different kinds of characters than you're used to. I wish Cloris Leachman's part had been bigger. She plays the best, and funniest, un-motherly mother I've ever seen. If you think Della Reese was typecast as all sugar and sweetness in Touched by an Angel, wait till you see her playing against her image as the grumpy owner of the strangest trailer park you've ever seen. The young actress Olesya Rulin that has the star roll playing Mary was new to me. She lives out her part as the pregnant runaway teenager in such a real and heart touching way that you'll hardly believe she's acting. I'll be looking for more from her. I don't want to give it away, but Elliot Gould is a real hoot as the Jewish truck driver.

With respect to all, for me the real star of the film was Linda Gray. She plays Darnell; the slightly mature Vegas show girl that befriends Mary. Darnell chooses to see life as something good, no matter what. She may not be the brightest bulb on the Christmas lights but she lives her life believing for the best; a true optimist in the finest sense. Wait for her last scene in the movie when she is walking the pig. That one made it for me. It's a wonderful way to pass about an hour and a half. You'll make a whole lot of new friends.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Expect a meaningful, funny, sad, wonderful Christmas film!

8/10
Author: Amy Adler from Toledo, Ohio
29 December 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Mary (Olesya Rulin) is one troubled teen. First, she is on the outs with her society mom (Cybill Shepherd) and her mother's new husband. They sent her to boarding school and didn't seem to want her around. Reaching out to someone, Mary has gotten pregnant. Her mama's response was get an abortion and we'll tell everyone it was appendicitis. Saddened and angry, Mary is hitching cross-country eight month along to see her dad (Gene Simmons), an aging rocker, in Vegas. Just beyond the Oklahoma panhandle, in New Mexico, Mary is picked up by a most kind truck driver, Horace (Elliot Gould). He insists on the two of them stopping for a meal in a small town with an Indian casino. Once there, they get a good meal and Horace ogles the showgirls, especially Darnella (Linda Gray). Unknown to all was H's health problems, as somewhere into the show he expires from a heart attack. Now, what will Mary do? Darnella won't have her on the road again alone and takes her home for the night. In the crazy trailer park where she lives is wacky mother Annie (Cloris Leachman), perpetually grumpy owner (Della Reese) and assorted other eccentrics. Next morning, Darnella gives Mary the bus money to get to Vegas. THAT turns out wrong, too, as her father is about to embark on a world tour with his tired old rock band. Not knowing where to to, Mary heads back to Darnella, who already has great affection for the teen. The two of them will prepare for the young girl's pregnancy. Into this mixed affair comes a news article about the showgirls, which is published where snooty mama can see it. Here she comes to the Southwest to "rescue" her daughter from casinos and trailer parks, in a VW bug with a red nose no less! With Mary is still very unsure of her future role as a mother herself, how will things shake down for all? Especially when Darnella sees Mary as the daughter she gave up long ago to adoption? This lovely movie is most unusual but meaningful flick for the holidays or anytime. The setting in the desert is quite unique while the actors are all great. Meanwhile, the costumes are bizarre but eye-catching, as befitting the offbeat characters, while the script has many twists and turns, from comic to tear-generating, but never lacks power. The same goes for the secure direction. There is a great bounty of Christmas movies in the universe but this one stands out, yes. Its not a fairy tale Holiday fantasy but one that tries to address serious issues with humor and feeling.

Was the above review useful to you?

Overload on "Cheezy-ness", it had good intentions & for that I finished watching it

5/10
Author: caliqqqq
2 July 2014

Typical story of a pregnant teenage run away, ends up in a "Twilight Zone" small sleepy town. A older (cougar like) sweet woman who is stuck in a dead end job as a show girl in a old ghost town casino takes a liking to her and even more clingy when she herself has a history of making the same mistakes as this young woman. From there on, you kind of start to see where the movie is headed, not a bad thing, just seen it before, admit this was different and strange at the same time, but give it a chance if you like B movies & extra cheese on your story lines.

Had a great variety of old actors and the main character being in more recent movies. Loved Linda Gray, Cloris Leachman, Della Reese & even the lady who played the woman working at the airport. Gene Simmons was a hoot as well. Elliott Gould although memorable, short lived. I'm just shocked this was made in 2010, I didn't know old time movies were still possible to make in these modern, trendy times - Not my rule or standard.

Was the above review useful to you?

Beautiful movie!

10/10
Author: khayx1 from Belgium
19 January 2014

Just watched this very realistic movie. A work of art, depicting the struggle of nowadays life for so many people, yet still able to be an amazing ode to encouragement and positiveness. The actors are all fantastic in their roles. The story is not just a story, but brings wonderful messages. Messages of acceptance at many levels. The director made an effort to depict many different religions. There is the Jewish lady, the Christian congregation, the Sikh nurse, the native Indian lady. Then there is this acceptance for other alternative ways of living; showing us how we could cope with great loss in a redeeming way. Some way or another, I believe we all need this kind of movies to give us the strength to face a new day with hope and to make us understand that sometimes people are less kind because they are having difficulties struggling their own battle. I love this movie so much! It made me cry a lot for all the good reasons.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Coulda been a contender

5/10
Author: Janet Laylor from United States
1 May 2011

This could have been a great film, but instead it's only a sappy film. Great stars, reasonable acting. Story line got worse and worse as it went along, attempting to weave in additional story lines towards the end (about the time Gene Simmons came in and cemented as a grade B film with Cybil Shepard attempted to act her way out of a paper bag. Cloris Leachman was a standout, as was the young woman playing Mary. If only... if ONLY the story had stuck to it's core idea and not attempted to branch out, it could have been a hit. On the plus side, it has some potential for those of you who like sappy endings. All in all, worth a look IF it's on cable of lifetime TV.

See y'all at the movies.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Worst movie i have ever seen!

1/10
Author: shay monroe from United States
3 February 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I've watched a lot of movies in my life and i have never seen one worse than this. It is just terribe. First of all there is virtually no plot, the characters are all unlikeable and one dimensional, most of the movie makes no sense, and the girl who plays Mary is an awful actress.

Basically the movie goes: Mary is a teen she is pregnant, her mother is rich and wants her to have an abortion and return to boarding school without suffering the humiliation of a bastard child. so Mary now 8 months pregnant runs away, hitches a ride with a truck driver (Monica's dad in friends) and she is headed to LA to stay with her aged rockstar dad who doesn't know she is coming (Gene Simmons)..but before they get there, they make a quick stop in some small middle of nowhere town with one trailer park and a small casino filled with old showgirls. The truck driver has a heart attack and Mary is left in the town, but luckily one of the show girls takes her in and lets her stay with her in her pig shaped trailer. The lonely old showgirl takes a liking to Mary and wants her to stay, but Mary wants to go to LA to see her dad. The showgirl help Mary to get to LA where her father not expecting her, or aware that she is pregnant basically rejects her and tells her she can stay if she wants but he has a show to do and is going on the road. mary decides to head back to the trailer park to the show girls delight. They go to lamars class, but some maternity clothes and meet a couple who are finally about to have a baby after 8 years of trying...they have a Christmas party with the help of the not so mean old trailer park owner who cooks the food...Marys mom flys to town with her Indian husband to "rescue" Mary from the showgirls and trailer park people..Mary goes into labor, but before they reach the hospital, she gives birth outside a church in a barn (just like Mary) surrounded by the three wise men etc etc She goes to hospital where she learns her the couple she met at lamars have had a stillborn baby and the doctor tells her they will not be able to get pregnant again. she is quite easily talked into giving up her baby to them byt the showgirl who did the same thing with her own daughter years ago..with seemingly no paperwork or much thought the grieving couple leave the hospital with marys baby. Mary forgives her mother and they bond..everybody says their goodbyes and promise to visit. the end

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Depressingly bad. Sad to see good stars sink to this level.

3/10
Author: plink1-1 from United States
11 September 2010

I had heard nothing about this movie before I went today. I saw the listing on our newspaper's website and figured with a cast like this, how could it lose... This was one of the worst movies I've ever seen. A whole lot of good, albeit past their prime actors were wasted. There were a few touching moments, and it was good to see these actors, but the script was just dismaying and mostly,unintentionally horrid. As my dad would have said, somebody most have owed somebody big-time! Sometimes you don't walk out of a movie only because you don't want to have spent money for nothing. Sometimes you don't walk out because you hold onto the hope that maybe it'll get better. And sometimes you think, well, you could stay and waste your money AND your time. Suffice it to say, I did.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history