IMDb > Bridesmaids (2011/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Bridesmaids More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 37 of 47: [Prev][32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [Next]
Index 470 reviews in total 

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

It's different, if you can stand for more than 30 minutes at the beginning, you'll enjoy it.

Author: dung0301 from Vietnam
7 October 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I did not view the trailer of Bridesmaids before watching the full film, and hoped to watch a deep film, expected a little joke, a little romantic, a little classical sex - maybe, and a hidden meaning - must be. Not all things gained, but overall, it's a good movie, I have to say it's about 8 over 10.

I read some previous comments, some said that this film is kinda amazing, lots of humors, laughing - what watchers all expect, and was partly contained in Bridesmaids. However, "most of the "funny" scenes were either involving sex, about sex, about poop/vomit/farting/burping", and the first scene is a real one "porn" - which subtracts some points. In addition, about 40 minutes at the beginning, you can say this film is pointless, and some long scene, I think the director could cut off, as the length is over 2 hours, which, in my point of view, should be 90 minutes, more or less. What makes this film worth watching is after the scene that the main character - Annie, hit her bottom. Yet, I still cannot understand why Annie doesn't want to bake cookies or run her Cake Baby again while she is only good at this (on the film, after she was fired, how does she live?). Another annoyance is the asshole, who slept with Annie and just wants to not be serious. This happens but it's a little confusing why she hangs out with him why she knew about him.

Good things about this film? I must tell you a quotation: "You're your problems, and your solution". Moreover, there were some romantic, deep and sweet moments that bring some credit: the romantic love about the official who loves Annie, a remarkable "tough & strong" guy , the story of Megan about bullying stuffs, and joke scene's involving her. Ultimately, this is a good movie, I must say. It would be better if cutting off the first sex scene and shortening some scene. If these things cannot bother you, it's worth trying an 8/10 movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Good thing cops like pastry

Author: p-stepien from United Kingdom
7 October 2011

Annie's (Kristen Wiig) life spirals into chaos through a cascade of events spurred by the announcement that her best friend Lillian (Maya Rudolph) is to get married and she is to be her maid of honour. After failed business investments and a love-life in self-inflicted permanent hell (punctuated by masochistic nights spent with her egocentric prick sex buddy) she seems to have already hit bottom. Only to be proved entirely wrong, when Lillian's work associate, the sumptuous Whitney (Jessica St. Clair), collides head on with Annie in trying to fulfil the bridesmaids honours. The remainder of Lillian's ragtag team of the Brides little helpers is made up of foul-mouthing mom of three rascals Rita (Wendi McLendon-Covey), goodie-two-shoes Becca (Ellie Kemper) and tomboy Megan (Melissa Mccarthy), the movies very successful response to Alan from "Hangover". The entourage is however secondary, as the movie really and truly focuses on Annie and her debacles with only limited time offered to the supporting cast.

As chaos reigns laughter ensues. Sometimes in droves, but more often with a little smirk of enjoyment. The movie in the end does turn out to be a bundle of fun, but it does have a very weird mix of conversation based humour, subtle absurdities and situational comedy with immature fart and anal jokes coupled with people thinking that swearing equals being funny (both these points punctuated by the appearance of Matt Lucas of Little England ignominy). In the end not everything works in this slightly chaotic comedy unsure of which direction to best take. Add to that some some of the key jokes in the movie just dragged on beyond their expiry date replacing a good laugh with an internal suggestion for the editor to recut the movie. But after an uneven start our girls in pink really get going and break inhibitions to force out a tirade of laughter. The dramatic side of the story is also very well written, so you feel strongly drawn to sympathise with Annie, whilst simultaneously screaming at the screen for her being such an emotional moron. However irritating she is as a person, you somehow end up gunning for her and happy she found a pastry munching Irish cop to get romantically involver with..

The ending left me slightly disappointed. Rushed and lacking the warmth of the build-up it really would have done better with some more minutes to prepare for the big resolution.

Definitely up there with recent comedies such as "Role Models" or "Hangover", but for brief issues with pacing and bad jokes. The movie also feels way too engineered and sincere for its own good. Being the response to "Hangover" doesn't help it one bit in this regard.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Melissa McCarthy made this movie!

Author: Pocketplayer from Middle TN
4 October 2011

Not since Tommy Boy did I laugh out loud so hard. Melissa McCarthy made this movie. Kristin Wiig is excellent and has more talent than most. She is confident enough to know not to overplay her character. Most comedy's today are a string of lousy sketches with the hope some type of theme will emerge...which rarely happens.

Bridesmaids scores here with a decent little movie to boot. The director could have let Maya Rudolph show more of her comedic chops. She played things well under the radar. Jessica St. Clair nailed the beauty queen well with fine acting.

See this movie...laugh out loud! If you are reading this director (and you really should) there is NO excuse for a bad movie today. Learn from the masters...craft a good story and allow your actors to make magic. We need good comedies in this world!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Ladies leveling the playing field.

Author: st-shot from United States
30 September 2011

Why should guys have all the ungoverned gross out laughs in films seems to be the intent of Bridesmaids a very funny response to the men behaving silly Hangover franchise. What amounts to a girls road trip picture is filled with some gut busting moments.

Annie's (Kristin Wiig ) lifetime buddy Lillian (Maya Rudolph) asks her to be her maid of honor. Cash strapped Annie just coming off the failure of her cake business is honored but also perplexed on how to keep the cost down but remains determined to give her friend the best she can afford. A well heeled other maid (Rose Byrne) however attempts to assume Annie's duties with the two tight rope walking a precarious civility and developing a fierce competition. Out gunned Annie's attempts to keep things under control with disastrous but hilarious results.

Bridesmaids is filled with comic moments of shockingly funny scenes with the diffuse group of maids and bride to be all pitching into the laugh pool. Wiig does a fine job of embarrassing herself in scene after scene while Rose Byrne as her poised nemesis does an equally fine job of stoking her insecurity and fostering havoc. In the role of the requisite funny fat guy ala Zach Galifinakis, Jack Black etc. Mellissa Mc Carthey fits the role perfectly with the same self assured dead pan flare.

While the cast and the situations do hold there own in the zany department with guy versions Bridesmaids begins to drag with time outs for melancholy reflection and heart to hearts stretching the film beyond two hours resulting in diluting the full comic thrust and while it prevents Bridesmaids from becoming the bride of all comedies there are more than enough belly laughs for a good time to be had by all.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Raunchy and Raucous, Bridesmaids Can't Shake its Feminine Core

Author: Sean Lamberger from Bradenton, FL
29 September 2011

A genuinely funny script that didn't really need to go the gross-out route, it doesn't suffer for choosing to do so anyway. At its best during a rapid-fire first hour, the humor cools off noticeably when the drama llama rears its head during the home stretch, like it suddenly decided not to fully commit to any one specific identity. Though it occasionally presses too far over the line separating awkward humor and legitimate discomfort, the flick's lively, personable cast is never far off, life preserver tucked under one arm. Loaded with all-stars from every corner of the comedy spectrum, the jokes are delivered with predictable credibility, with many cast members also showing a surprisingly strong set of dramatic chops to boot. Despite a sappy, lovesick ending that seems to stand in contrast to its initial character, this is a witty, charming, raunchy little bundle of joy that's as good as you've probably heard, no more and no less.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Entertaining (maybe some spoilers)

Author: comicman117 from United States
23 September 2011

Bridesmaids directed by Paul Feig, written by Annie Mumolo and Kristen Wiig.

Starring Wiig, Maya Rudolph, Rose Byrne, Wendi McLendon-Covey, Ellie Kemper, Melissa McCarthy, and Chris O'Dowd.

Let me start by saying expectations for this film were pretty high, and they were met to a certain degree. Bridesmaids is a fairly entertaining film, with several funny moments but also several WTF one's as well.

The basic plot is that of Annie a woman who lost not only her boyfriend but also all of her savings. She then finds that she has been picked as her best friend's maid of honor, where she finds herself working through some weird rituals alongside a group of bridesmaids.

This film has some nice direction (alongside other things) and some funny moments. It's pretty impressive considering the fact that this is Kristen Wiig's first leading role (I don't think she's very funny on SNL), and there's some funny moments from other members of the cast (especially Jon Hamm in a cameo as Ted a man that Annie has a sexual relationship with).

One note of interest is that this is Jill Clayburgh's final film (the actress that played Annie's mother). Not the best way to end your career, if you ask me.

Overall a pretty good time.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Funniest Comedy of 2011

Author: estebangonzalez10 from Ecuador
16 September 2011

¨You're like the maid of dishonor¨ Bridesmaids isn't your ordinary chick flick, and I wouldn't necessary call it the female version of The Hangover either, because this movie works very well for a male audience as well. Kristen Wiig and Annie Mumolo managed to write one of the funniest scripts of the year in my opinion. I hadn't laughed so hard in a movie for quite some time. This is definitely the best comedy I've seen all year. Kristen Wiig not only co-wrote the script, but she also played the main character of the film; and she was absolutely hilarious. Mumolo also had a small cameo as one of the passengers in the plane that sat next to Wiig. After watching Bridesmaids all I can say is that I hope that these two actresses continue to work together because they managed to deliver a lot of laughs and it's a movie that both male and female audiences will enjoy. It is probably the best SNL film I've seen in a long time. This is a really smart comedy which at times reminded of Tina Fey's work in Mean Girls. Paul Feig was also the right choice as the director, although he was mostly known for directing TV series like The Office, Nurse Jackie, and Arrested Development. Judd Apatow's name is also attached to this film as one of the producers and that is always a good sign because Apatow is usually synonym to a funny comedy. This is my favorite comedy of the year so far.

Annie (Kristen Wiig) and Lillian (Maya Rudolph) have been best friends all their lives; they've shared the best of times and the worst of times together. Lillian seems to be going through a great point in her life and she has a healthy relationship with Dougie (Tim Heidecker), while Annie is pretty much at a low point after losing all her money in a bakery business that went bankrupt. She also has an unhealthy relationship with Ted (Jon Hamm) who only calls her for sex and then basically kicks her out of the house. Dougie asks Lillian to marry him, and of course Lillian asks Annie to be her maid of honor. Annie decides she is going to give Lillian the best wedding ever, but things don't turn out as expected. Lillian introduces her other bridesmaids to Annie and she finds a rivalry with Lillian's new wealthy friend named Helen (Rose Byrne) who seems just perfect. Helen seems sweet and nice, and Annie becomes jealous of their friendship. The other bridesmaids: Becca (Ellie Kemper), Rita (Wendi McLendon-Covey), and Megan (Melissa McCarthy) all seem to love Helen's ideas as well. As everyone begins to favor Helen; and things continue to go bad for Annie she becomes more and more jealous and pretty soon this might affect her friendship with Lillian. As a side story Annie is pulled over by a cop named Nathan (Chris O'Dowd) who ends up being a neighbor of Annie's and soon they begin a nice friendship that can turn things around for Annie if she doesn't blow it likes she's done so many times before.

The movie began a little slow for me and I didn't have as much fun with it until the bridesmaids show up and the rivalry begins. I really loved Melissa McCarthy's (star of the TV series Mike and Molly) performance; she was truly hilarious and stole every scene she was in. Wiig also is great in the lead role and she had good chemistry with her SNL co-star Maya Rudolph. There are also very memorable and laugh out loud scenes like the one in which the bridesmaids go try on their clothes, or when they all get on a plane together to fly to Vegas. There are really great moments in the movie and I had a great time with it. I laughed really hard and loved most performances from the cast. Guys shouldn't doubt on seeing this film because it isn't an ordinary chick flick, it doesn't follow those same formulas, it is much more than that and the scenes work in a true comedic fashion. This is a really funny movie and one you won't want to miss.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

It's not what you think it is!

Author: Diet Bacon Cola from Thailand
11 September 2011

It doesn't happen often that I would give 10 stars to a movie just like that but this one deserves it because it got balls, balls on what many viewers hope to be a chic flick which it is not to my satisfaction. If I knew what to expect I would rate this movie probably with 8.5 stars but after reading how disappointed the romantic comedy fraction is about this movie, who expected another boy meets girl, boy falls in love, they have a have a break up and get back together in the end kind of movie it deserves the whole 10 points. Haven't we seen them all? Haven't we seen them enough? I sure did and this movie kept surprising me the entire 2 hours. I didn't really know where it would go, I didn't know why it is going where it is going, and while it was crossing several lines of good taste it was surprisingly touching.

This movie got Kristen Wiig in the lead, she is not cut out for a romantic comedy, she is weird on SNL and she was weird in this movie and the role was perfect for her. This movie isn't even a comedy or a drama it is pure satire and it shows women doing men stuff. I am sure that is upsetting a lot of men and makes them insecure. The movie provides rare insight for men what women think about us men in bed and what they dream of, it is not another Cinderella Story and that is the charm about it. It was refreshing to see Melissa McCarthy (Mike & Molly) from her dark side, it actually fits her brilliantly and even me as a guy was charmed by Chris O'Dowd in his role as officer Rhodes.

This movie features plenty of scenes with profanity which I wouldn't dare to laugh at if it was done with men but since these things happened to women I simply loved it since I have never seen it before. This was a new kind of movie to me and I can only recommend to see it if you like dark satire and when you are not ashamed to see bad things happen to good people, if you are the type of person who likes to see one of those streamlined romantic comedies you will be disgusted. You certainly need a brain for this movie because it doesn't have a dramatic soundtrack that tells you where to laugh and where to cry it has no music whatsoever, it let's the characters act it out and that suits this movie quite well, however there are people who need a soundtrack since they don't know the concept of sarcasm and satire and they will end up confused.

I quote one of the other reviewers since he analyzed it brilliantly, this is the ultimate anti chick flick. This is a love it or hate it kind of film, the reviews clearly show that, it is new and provocative and in 10 years the same people who are ripping this movie apart today won't remember why they did it. As time goes by movies evolve and cross more and more lines, this movie is a front runner when it comes to that.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly good, light hearted, and very funny.

Author: Afflock from Columbus, OH
4 September 2011

Have not laughed this much in a move for a long time.

Took my female friend, I'm a guy, to see this movie as she has been wanting to see it. Heard good things about it.

We saw it at a second run theatre and it was still very well attended.

This is a very funny movie from the female perspective, which is a refreshing take as many recent wedding movies have been from the male perspective. It is male friendly, in that the jokes are not too much inside jokes only women would get. There may have been a few but everyone enjoyed it.

It is a very funny movie. There are a lot of jokes tossed around and a few are easy to miss. The foul language was used to make a joke or a point, it was not like some films that just cuss to establish a "tough" character, here it was for comedic affect.

The ensemble cast each was a different personality that a person would have to deal with in a wedding party. The writing really worked the dynamics well to provide character development that lead to more laughs. It was over the top at times, but intentionally so and did not take itself too seriously.

Go see it with friends. You will have a good laugh-out-loud time and something to talk about afterwards. There is something to be said about experiencing a good comedy in a movie theatre with other people. It is more enjoyable when you are laughing with other people. Know I probably embarrassed my friend by how loud I was laughing and spilled our drink from a "OMG she did not just say that" moment.

There is one extra scene after the movie ends before the credits. Was hoping there was something after the credits as it is becoming more common, but unfortunately it was all before the credits and after the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A funny movie, but would have been better if I say it earlier. Did not live up to the hype. Still worth watching. I say B

Author: Tony Heck ( from United States
3 September 2011

"Why can't you be happy for me and then go home and talk about me behind my back like a normal person?" After being asked to be the maid of honor to her friend Lillian (Rudolph), Annie's (Wiig) life that is already in disarray becomes even more so. After thinking she is being replaced as best friend she tries too hard to compensate. Almost ruining the wedding in the process. This movie has what I call the "Due Date" or "Hangover" curse. Like those movies, the first people to see it, before the hype and word of mouth got out of control think this is great and hilarious. People like me who have waited a little too long and have outrageous expectations are left disappointed. Going in thinking this is the female "Hangover" I was excited. While I can see the comparisons, it was more chick-flicky then I was expecting. While this did have funny parts and I did laugh it wasn't as good as expected. Overall, this is a good movie, but because of the expectations I had I didn't like it as much as I thought. I give it a B.

Would I watch again? - I might, just to see if it's better the second time.

*Also try - Something Borrowed & The Sweetest Thing

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 37 of 47: [Prev][32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [37] [38] [39] [40] [41] [42] [43] [44] [45] [46] [47] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history