IMDb > Cedar Rapids (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Cedar Rapids
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Cedar Rapids More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 9: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]
Index 85 reviews in total 

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Cedar Rapids is an excellent comedy

9/10
Author: Argemaluco from Argentina
25 August 2011

At first sight, it might seem that Cedar Rapids is another vulgar modern comedy about immature men behaving like idiots...and that description might be appropriate to some point. However, screenwriter Phil Johnston and director Miguel Arteta achieved something much more inspired and entertaining, which starts in a similar line to the "Judd Apatow style" in order to eventually become an honest and very funny film about personal growth, whose lack of excesses reflects a narrative maturity. Besides, Cedar Rapids offers excellent performances from the whole cast and a thematic deepness which is not very common to find in a comedy. In summary, this film has enough material to make us laugh, but its biggest value resides on its emotional background and on its observations about the insurance salesmen.

Cedar Rapids is kinda like a light interpretation of two classic films about salesmen (Tin Men and Glengarry Glenn Ross), because it employs the same strategy of putting the matter of the sales on the background, in order to focus into the contrasting personalities from the salesmen and the different attitudes with which they face that difficult activity. But the main subject of Cedar Rapids is the "awakening to life" from a repressed man who ignored the complexities from the "real world", including the contradictions of friendship, the temptation of sex without any compromise and the religious hypocrisy. This kind of stories is usually reserved for teenage characters; the fact that the main character in this case is a thirty-something man makes Cedar Rapids funny, emotive and irreverent.

Ed Helms makes a brilliant work in the leading role, because not many actors could have interpreted such a sincere and naive character without making him look like an idiot of an improbable ignorance. John C. Reilly also brings a perfect performance, because of the humanity he brings to his character. And I also liked the performances from Isiah Whitlock Jr., Alia Shawkat, Kurtwood Smith and Anne Heche very much.

The premise from Cedar Rapids might sound a bit dry and banal, but that is part from its charm. We are accustomed to see complicated screenplays at the Hollywood style, where (for example) a reporter investigates a missing bike and he ends up discovering a conspiracy to assassinate the President of the United States, or something like that. On the opposite, Cedar Rapids seems to delight itself with its puerility, and the importance that the characters put to things which might seem trivial and absurd to many spectators. However, this film's big achievement is making us understand why those things are so important to them, and making us share the suspense for the main character's triumph or failure. In conclusion, I very enthusiastically recommend Cedar Rapids as an excellent comedy which is simultaneously intelligent, very funny and hugely entertaining.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Fast times in the "big city".

7/10
Author: lewiskendell from United States
4 July 2011

"Making love to you was super, super awesome."

Cedar Rapids is an amusing dark comedy with a darn fine cast. The reliably funny Ed Helms stars as Tim Lippe, a small town insurance agent who's as straight-laced as straight-laced gets. He travels to the "big city" of Cedar Rapids, Iowa for an insurance convention, in the hopes of securing a prestigious award for his company. 

A lot of the humor of the movie originates from the clash between Tim's naïveté and the surprisingly seedy reality of the insurance convention. He meets a few more worldly agents (including John C. Reilly, Anne Heche, and Isiah Whitlock, Jr.), befriends a prostitute (Alia Shawkat), pines for his once teacher, now girlfriend back home (Sigourney Weaver), has a lot of his illusions dashed, and generally just gets in way over his head. The best part is, most of those events are all pretty funny. 

If you're a fan of Ed Helms' style of humor, by all means, check this out. I enjoyed it. It never really crossed over into "classic comedy" territory, but it's got more than enough laughs to justify a few hours of your life. 

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

lovely enjoyable comedy.

7/10
Author: khan2705 from Pakistan
16 June 2011

To call insurance agent Tim Lippe (Ed Helms), "naïve" is a gross understatement. He's never left his small hometown. He's never stayed at a hotel. And he's never experienced anything like Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Sent to represent his company at the annual insurance convention, Tim is soon distracted by three convention veterans (John C. Reilly, Anne Heche and Isiah Whitlock Jr.) who will show him the ropes and push his boundaries. For a guy who plays everything by the book, this convention will be anything but conventional.

wow guys you have to see this smartly funny movie. i really enjoy these Sundance comedies. this movie was good but not great but still watchable. its a quirky comedy that when ends it wins your heart. i must say it looked pretty mediocre to me when it started but i found my way in it after a while and i loved it. i laughed in many scenes, smiled and was impressed by the work of everyone. its a movie with a big heart and a gem.

its directed by Miguel Arteta who i think directed Youth in revolt which i want to watch and some episodes of The Office. i liked his work in this movie. this movie has a charm and a lovely feel to it, you just like it in the end. he did a good job. good cinematography and other stuffs. i liked the visuals of it, the hotel was so good. screenplay is well written trips a bit in the start and somewhere in the middle but is not flawed. its a well written movie, a nice feel good story. you will love it.

i loved the character of Lippe in this movie, played by Ed Helms, its been a while i actually saw or liked a character like him. his character is just lovable. performances are really good by this ensemble cast, Ed Helms, John C. Reilly, Anne Heche, Isiah Whitlock Jr., Stephen Root , Kurtwood Smith , Alia Shawkat , Thomas Lennon , Rob Corddry , Mike O'Malley , Sigourney Weaver. i liked how seriously good work Ed did. Reilly's character may annoy you as it did Lippe but towards the end you like him, the whole pack actually.

i RECOMMEND you this movie, do watch guys. its a lovely movie. pure enjoyable and interesting take. i love the charm of these 4 friends, they just grow on you.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

See? THIS is where it's at!

8/10
Author: rzajac from Taichung, Taiwan
10 June 2011

Folks asked me if I planned to see The Hangover, Part II. My reply?: Heck, man; I hated the original! Why would I want to see the sequel?

Cedar Rapids is all the things that a real comedy is supposed to be. Real character development, real plot elements, people laughing, crying, maturing, becoming fully human before your very eyes. Seeds of heroism blossom into manhood, and bogus, artificial boundaries are justly savaged. And for their trouble the savages find themselves in a wondrous land where actual love is possible.

How very, very, very gratifying to see Helms in a role where he gets to properly channel this kind of fine theater into our lives. Yea verily: There is life after The Daily Show!

Now. All that said, I'm not blind to the facts of pop culture. It may well be that Cedar Rapids will not be your cup of tea. I can only encourage you to be ready to be deeply touched by a comedy. This is the mark of great comedy; that underneath it all is a great, human-dimensioned heroism. And be ready to have Helms convince you that a nebbishy insurance rep can become a mighty Samson; albeit one who lives to tell the tale, with a winsome smile on his saintly lips.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

High risk but the returns were reliable.

7/10
Author: john-matthews-2 from Ireland
10 June 2011

A bit of a slow burner but I warmed to it with time. Ed Helms was wonderful as the shy sexually sober sales man with a crush on his former teacher, Sigourney Weaver who had long since given him homework. Sowing his wild oats,( and not the type Cedar Rapids are famous for) provided interesting bedfellows such as Anne Heche and Inga R Wilson For me the star of the movie was John C Reilly as the loud/foul mouthed sales man. What a wonderful performer he is. The pot smoking party scene was hilarious

Insurance selling in Cedar Rapids is high risk but the returns were reliable.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A little funny, a little cute, thankfully quite short....

5/10
Author: altquark from Jacksonville, Florida
20 June 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

First of all, I like Ed Helms - I think he was brilliant in The Office and Hangover. I'm not an Ed Helms fan though. Watched this last night - in effect, this is about an insurance agent from a very small town who goes on a trip to Cedar Rapids to an insurance conference.

This could have been hilarious. The idea of a small town guy taking his first ever business trip is actually a pretty good basis for what could have been a "business hangover". Unfortunately, this movie fell short of the mark - it wasn't THAT funny, there were several parts in the movie that really didn't need to either be in the movie, or made sense. There were a lot of stars playing bit-part roles - again, was this the studio making the movie sound as if it was a "business person version" of The Hangover ? Because it certainly wasn't.

However, somewhere along the road, the director realized that the movie didn't have that many jokes - so they cut it down to 1'26" in length. Just long enough to be a movie. Barely.

A very forgettable movie for everyone involved. But it was a cute story and could've been a much bigger hit...

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Enjoyable

8/10
Author: cB391 from Canada
30 May 2011

A classic case of the small town guy being taken in by the big city, small minded forced to open his mind to the harsh realities. This movie wasn't great, but it had some good scenes, nice acting, and was an overall enjoyment. It's not a movie that you'll remember after a few weeks but it provides a good time-passer. Don't go in expecting too much, but the transformation of Tim Lippe from a small town man into the man he was taught to hate, is funny at times and John C. Reilly definitely brought what was great about him in Talladega Nights to this one. 8/10 because there wasn't anything that was really original, that I've seen in some other movies.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

A peculiar comedy for a sheltered guy from one slow town

7/10
Author: napierslogs from Ontario, Canada
23 June 2011

"Cedar Rapids" is slow. And by that I mean, the humour in the film progresses slowly. Cedar Rapids, Iowa, the town, is not slow. At least not to Tim Lippe (Ed Helms) because he's from Brown Valley, Wisconsin. He lives in a world that even those of us from similar towns don't believe that it's really that sheltered.

It's a peculiar brand of humour. One which results from Tim's complete naiveté. He becomes friends with a prostitute, is scared of a black man, and doesn't understand common hotel and airport practices. It's an immature adult comedy involving male genitalia humour, and using marijuana for the first time and then graduating to cocaine within a few minutes. Although it has an original plot (I've never seen a movie set at a Christian insurance convention before), it's a predictable plot. But that's also exactly how the filmmakers intended it to be. You are meant to just sit and enjoy yourself with the characters just as much as the comedic situations.

As the film progressed, it does get much funnier. Tim becomes more comfortable in his surroundings (at times too comfortable) and you become more comfortable too. And it's near the end that Isiah Whitlock Jr. has uttered some of the funniest lines you'll ever hear, John C. Reilly's drunken asshole becomes humanized, and Rob Corddry makes his anticipated appearance with Ed Helms. "Cedar Rapids" takes you to a peculiar place, but a funny and enjoyable one nonetheless.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Funny at times but characters live in the gutter

4/10
Author: george_cherucheril from Texas
3 July 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I like the actors in this movie. Ed Helms is one of my favorite actors. If you have no moral code whatsoever then this movie deserves a rating of at least 8 on a 10 scale.

As a Catholic this movie offends my core beliefs. For starters, Tim is screwing around with his former teacher outside of marriage. Then, when Tim goes to the insurance convention he gets drunk and uses that as a reason to justify having sex with Ann Heche's character who happens to be married and a mother of several young kids. After this Tim hangs out with a prostitute at a drug party where he does a lot of drugs and kisses the prostitute. His friends stop him from having sex with the prostitute.

Then Tim bribes the president of the insurance association to win the coveted double diamond award. Of all these sins Tim is only sorry that he bribed the association president.

Also, in this movie there is a lot of demeaning sexual talk. Lots of gutter language. There is even a scene where Tim is taking a dump and another agent barges into the bathroom only to realize how stinky the room has become. Well, duh! That scene was not funny at all.

Overall, this movie demeans the human spirit and glorifies bad decision making.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

"Cedar Rapids" is Super Awesome

6/10
Author: jgregg42 from United States
11 February 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Do you even know where Cedar Rapids is? Can you locate it on a map? It's in Iowa, look on the east side of the state, now look a little north of Iowa City. There you got it. You might have heard of it because of some awful flooding a few years back. So, why make a comedy movie about the second largest city in Iowa?

Why not? It's a clean comedy slate; you don't know much about the town and just about anything can take place there. Heck, as far as you know it could be the next Las Vegas. With all the meth labs, same sex marriages and Indian casinos, anything goes in Iowa. Who needs Vegas when you got the Rapids?

"Cedar Rapids" is a story about a likable insurance salesman, Tim Lippe (played by Ed Helms) who has spent his entire life in Brown Valley, Wisconsin. He lives alone. He is pre-engaged to his grade school teacher (played by Sigourney Weaver). He works at Brown Star Insurance Company. He loves what he does and he loves being a resident of Brown Valley.

Tim's boss, Bill Krogstad (played by Stephen Root), asks Tim to go to Cedar Rapids for the annual insurance convention. At the convention they will award the top insurance agency with the prestigious Two Diamond Award.

Tim makes it to Cedar Rapids (via his first airplane flight, ever) and ends up rooming with two other insurance agents, Ronald Wilkes (played by Isiah Whitlock Jr.) who delivers the film's cleanest jokes. And then there is Dean Ziegler (played by John C. Reilly) who is rarely seen without a drink in hand and delivers the dirtiest jokes of the film.

Once the three meet the comedy of the film starts kicking into high gear. There are f-bombs, bathroom humor, locker room humor, sophomoric zingers, sex jokes, drinking jokes and many more lewd sight gags to keep the audience smiling, laughing or shaking their heads in disbelief. The humor was done well with a cast that seemed to click; no one single actor took the spotlight from the rest of the troupe.

Aside from the crude jokes we see a few romantic relations develop with Tim. One of the relations is with a prostitute (played by Alia Shawkat) and the other is with Joan (played by Anne Heche), an insurance agent from Omaha. It will always baffle my mind how an average Joe can meet a prostitute and an attractive red head then develop relationships with both of them all in a 24-hour period.

Tim engages in some heavy drinking with his new friends, ends up spending the night with Joan and blows the deal to win the Two Diamond Award. He digs deep inside his dark place to do the unthinkable to win that award.

Should you see this movie? Yes, it's a funny movie. It could potentially be a comedy hit, which you don't see too many of in these winter months. The foul language is intense; you should go in expecting some crude humor because with Reilly's mouth, you will get it in both ears. You might even leave with a whole different perspective on a town that you never heard of.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 9: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history