IMDb > Bitter Feast (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Bitter Feast
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Bitter Feast More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 19 reviews in total 

28 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

An excellent thriller/horror/revenge movie!

8/10
Author: Matt Kracht (krachtm@yahoo.com) from New York
4 January 2011

Apparently, this movie is low budget, but I couldn't tell. I wish I could say that about every independent movie I see! The other reviews are spot on: this is a very good movie, with a tasteful, somewhat fresh spin on the revenge movie, bucking the recent trend of gross-out, "torture porn" films. There's no actual torture in this movie, though it's implied and almost certainly is happening, off-camera. Some might be disappointed by this. Myself, I find it somewhat refreshing to watch a revenge movie that focuses more on psychological horror, story, and pacing, rather than buckets of fake blood. Don't get me wrong; I like buckets of fake blood as much as the next guy (I liked the first Saw movie, for instance), but much of that genre is based on titillating people who get off on graphic displays of violence, frequently with a strong misogynist subtext. I'm glad that the genre horror has more life to it than that.

Everything in this movie was quite good, though I might have tweaked the story here and there, to highlight certain themes a little stronger and to give a little more time to the very interesting conflict between the two leads. Overall, though, I liked it quite a lot, and I recommend it to anyone who likes darker dramas, revenge movies, and/or independent cinema. There's so much to like here, that you'll easily overlook any flaws.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Damn Good

8/10
Author: chicagopoetry from United States
2 January 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This one ranks up there with Primer in that it demonstrates that a film can be powerful on script, acting and directing alone, without a ton of money to spoil it with boring special effects. This one is an original twist on the slasher slash torture porn industry delivering a somewhat mild but intriguing version about a famous cook taking revenge upon the critic who ruined his career. I would have liked to see some more original spins here and there, like the victim actually cooking a steak to perfection as challenged, for example, which would have made this tale of demented revenge much more believable, but whatever: it kept me alert for nearly two hours which is more than I can say about most Hollywood blockbusters, so I say spend your couple of bucks to rent it and enjoy.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

An 8, only for the budget

8/10
Author: pahaake from United States
3 January 2012

First, I am a huge fan on Kitchen Nightmares, Hell's Kitchen, etc. I also consider myself quite the food snob. I love to cook, but would never, ever, consider doing it as a career.

All of that said, this movie is extremely clever. Not terribly original from a revenge and torture perspective, but I love the "challenges".

The low budget nature of the film makes it unlikely to ever get a major viewing; however, anyone that is a fan of food and Gordon Ramsey will truly enjoy this film.

Final thought, for a cost conscious film, the acting is actually quite good.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Bitter Feast - Compelling, entertaining

8/10
Author: winickj from Montreal, Qc
1 January 2011

I have seen one of Joe Maggio's previous films, Virgil Bliss, and his style of story telling appealed to be then as it does now.

Hollywood spends millions, yet Mr. Maggio can put a film together for $6,000 apparently. Wonder what they really spend the money on.

James LeGros is excellent, supported by a strong script and a good story. I liked this from the beginning until almost the end (don't want to spoil it).

Lots of interesting dialog and James LeGros' cool intensity won me over.

I don't like a lot of movies, but I certainly like this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Refreshing horror movie

7/10
Author: scoup from United States
6 June 2012

It's nice to see a horror movie that is not a hollowed out skeleton of mass produced clichés; and how many can boast Mario Batali as a cast member (I'm not saying he was awesome).

James LeGros had his acting mojo going on many years ago. If he was in it then I was fairly confident that I would like the movie or could at the very least depend on a good performance from him. Somewhere along, he seemed to have hit a rough patch and each movie was a crap shoot.

I am happy to say that he is back. I had a warm fuzzy feeling in a cold bloody horror movie.

Bitter Feast is more psychological than the average horror flick, but it has nice undercurrents and satirical commentary on society today.

It's a good day when you turn off the movie and wonder if you can find another one just like it...not perfection, but very satisfying.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

gr8 revenge movie

10/10
Author: jeffans from AZ, USA
22 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you like movies about revenge, then this is THE movie for you. James Legros plays Peter Grey, a famous successful reality chef whose career is destroyed by Franks, an online restaurant critic. Grey captures Franks and sort of makes him see what its like to be a chef and have every little thing get criticized only with severe punishment. The ending was fairly predictable. I highly recommend watching this and no, I am in no way affiliated with the production or making of this movie or any of its cast. I liked the cast and didn't care that it was a low budget movie. Certainly the best "revenge" movie I can think of. Similar in some ways to "misery".

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Words may actually end up hurting you.

5/10
Author: Michael O'Keefe from Muskogee OK
17 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Joe Maggio directs this wickedly and somewhat comical story of torture. Peter Gray(James LeGros)is an arrogant, self-absorbed celebrity chef that has had one bad review too many. A pompous influential food blogger JT Franks(Joshua Leonard)writes another scathing review of Gray's show and cooking abilities. Gray finally snaps and his hatred of Franks becomes obsessive. In a way, JT's words will come back to hurt him. The TV chef kidnaps the blogger and shackles him in the basement. On the menu is a full course of witty tortures. But alas, the beaten up JT is far from being helpless. Next up is a tactful battle of gigantic egos. Rounding out the cast: Amy Seimetz, Megan Hilty and Food Network's Mario Betali.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Well done.

8/10
Author: Nico from United States
16 October 2012

I dislike "blood and guts" movies, and only saw this one because I was channel surfing, thought it was about a guy and his cooking show, and was drawn in by the time I realized its genre.

For a low budget movie, I'm surprised at how good the lead actors were, and that even though both characters were impossible to like, they had strong chemistry together and there was palpable suspense over what would happen next.

Surprisingly, the dialog was well-written, and there was some very dark comedy in there. The tasks that the captor demanded were not complicated nor incredible, but rather simply creative ways to make the critic "eat his words." Some of the negative reviews in here lament that there was not enough blood and/or guts/gore, but there was enough intensity and thrills created, without having to show every bloody detail.

I found this to be a suspenseful, well-acted independent film.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Right label

5/10
Author: kosmasp
16 September 2012

This is a tough sell. A movie where both hero and antagonist are despicable (but not in that cute animated movie you may know). Of course some might have trouble choosing who the protagonist is for them. But it doesn't matter who you choose, you will have a hard time rooting or really feeling for one of them.

Of course, the movie will wake up feelings in most of the viewers. Because we all have been mistreated in one way or another. And most would have wished to get back at those who don't respect them or the work they've done. This concept can be put on many other section of life or art. Even commenting on movies, you could go like: well do it better, if you can.

The actors do their best (with an interesting cameo by chameleon Larry Fassenden), but the story does not seem to know where it is heading or what it really wants to tell us (a "side" story being part of that and the alternate ending confirming, that the test audience might have been confused too). The basic idea is stronger than the end product, it still might satisfy you, if you like small budgeted movies

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Original Suspense and Horror!

9/10
Author: rchoyle from Canada
28 July 2012

The only reason I didn't give this film a 10 out of 10 is because that is saved for a movie I haven't seen yet! With that being said, Bitter Feast is a masterpiece original in suspense and horror. Starts off good enough as it draws you in with the urge to want to see where this movie is taking you. A very original story line as we've all seen hundreds of movies of this genre that are simply produced from a cookie cutter and quite predictable! This film is nothing like that and without going into detail about scenes I liked more than others, their was one aspect to the movie that really made it great to watch and that was the music of the movie especially the sound of the "drum" beating periodically thought out the movie as although it was more of just a sound effect, to me it was what really pushed the movie over the top and obtain the high rating I felt it deserved. Great beginning, middle and ending!! Three very important components for a movie to be successful.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history