IMDb > Bitter Feast (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Bitter Feast
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Bitter Feast More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 19 reviews in total 

28 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

An excellent thriller/horror/revenge movie!

8/10
Author: Matt Kracht (krachtm@yahoo.com) from New York
4 January 2011

Apparently, this movie is low budget, but I couldn't tell. I wish I could say that about every independent movie I see! The other reviews are spot on: this is a very good movie, with a tasteful, somewhat fresh spin on the revenge movie, bucking the recent trend of gross-out, "torture porn" films. There's no actual torture in this movie, though it's implied and almost certainly is happening, off-camera. Some might be disappointed by this. Myself, I find it somewhat refreshing to watch a revenge movie that focuses more on psychological horror, story, and pacing, rather than buckets of fake blood. Don't get me wrong; I like buckets of fake blood as much as the next guy (I liked the first Saw movie, for instance), but much of that genre is based on titillating people who get off on graphic displays of violence, frequently with a strong misogynist subtext. I'm glad that the genre horror has more life to it than that.

Everything in this movie was quite good, though I might have tweaked the story here and there, to highlight certain themes a little stronger and to give a little more time to the very interesting conflict between the two leads. Overall, though, I liked it quite a lot, and I recommend it to anyone who likes darker dramas, revenge movies, and/or independent cinema. There's so much to like here, that you'll easily overlook any flaws.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Damn Good

8/10
Author: chicagopoetry from United States
2 January 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This one ranks up there with Primer in that it demonstrates that a film can be powerful on script, acting and directing alone, without a ton of money to spoil it with boring special effects. This one is an original twist on the slasher slash torture porn industry delivering a somewhat mild but intriguing version about a famous cook taking revenge upon the critic who ruined his career. I would have liked to see some more original spins here and there, like the victim actually cooking a steak to perfection as challenged, for example, which would have made this tale of demented revenge much more believable, but whatever: it kept me alert for nearly two hours which is more than I can say about most Hollywood blockbusters, so I say spend your couple of bucks to rent it and enjoy.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

An 8, only for the budget

8/10
Author: pahaake from United States
3 January 2012

First, I am a huge fan on Kitchen Nightmares, Hell's Kitchen, etc. I also consider myself quite the food snob. I love to cook, but would never, ever, consider doing it as a career.

All of that said, this movie is extremely clever. Not terribly original from a revenge and torture perspective, but I love the "challenges".

The low budget nature of the film makes it unlikely to ever get a major viewing; however, anyone that is a fan of food and Gordon Ramsey will truly enjoy this film.

Final thought, for a cost conscious film, the acting is actually quite good.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Bitter Feast - Compelling, entertaining

8/10
Author: winickj from Montreal, Qc
1 January 2011

I have seen one of Joe Maggio's previous films, Virgil Bliss, and his style of story telling appealed to be then as it does now.

Hollywood spends millions, yet Mr. Maggio can put a film together for $6,000 apparently. Wonder what they really spend the money on.

James LeGros is excellent, supported by a strong script and a good story. I liked this from the beginning until almost the end (don't want to spoil it).

Lots of interesting dialog and James LeGros' cool intensity won me over.

I don't like a lot of movies, but I certainly like this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Words may actually end up hurting you.

5/10
Author: Michael O'Keefe from Muskogee OK
17 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Joe Maggio directs this wickedly and somewhat comical story of torture. Peter Gray(James LeGros)is an arrogant, self-absorbed celebrity chef that has had one bad review too many. A pompous influential food blogger JT Franks(Joshua Leonard)writes another scathing review of Gray's show and cooking abilities. Gray finally snaps and his hatred of Franks becomes obsessive. In a way, JT's words will come back to hurt him. The TV chef kidnaps the blogger and shackles him in the basement. On the menu is a full course of witty tortures. But alas, the beaten up JT is far from being helpless. Next up is a tactful battle of gigantic egos. Rounding out the cast: Amy Seimetz, Megan Hilty and Food Network's Mario Betali.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Refreshing horror movie

7/10
Author: scoup from United States
6 June 2012

It's nice to see a horror movie that is not a hollowed out skeleton of mass produced clichés; and how many can boast Mario Batali as a cast member (I'm not saying he was awesome).

James LeGros had his acting mojo going on many years ago. If he was in it then I was fairly confident that I would like the movie or could at the very least depend on a good performance from him. Somewhere along, he seemed to have hit a rough patch and each movie was a crap shoot.

I am happy to say that he is back. I had a warm fuzzy feeling in a cold bloody horror movie.

Bitter Feast is more psychological than the average horror flick, but it has nice undercurrents and satirical commentary on society today.

It's a good day when you turn off the movie and wonder if you can find another one just like it...not perfection, but very satisfying.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Another torture movie that felt different until the end. Acting and plot were decent. Ending was lame. I give it a C

6/10
Author: Tony Heck from United States
6 January 2011

An uptight cooking show host and head restaurant chef (LeGros)loses his jobs and takes his revenge on the critic (Leonard)that caused his downfall. After a scathing review from food critic JT Franks causes chef Peter Grey to lose his job at his restaurant, and the cancellation of his show, Grey kidnaps Franks and the torture begins. It sounds pretty cheesy but Grey reads reviews Franks has given and forces him to do better in order to eat the food he is preparing. The movie is slow moving in parts but overall a pretty good movie to watch. I was going to give it a B- mainly because the torture movie genre is all the same, but the last 20 minutes strayed away from the aspects that made this seem different and into "really, they are doing this??!".The ending brought the grade down, it could have been so much better. I give it a C.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Right label

5/10
Author: kosmasp
16 September 2012

This is a tough sell. A movie where both hero and antagonist are despicable (but not in that cute animated movie you may know). Of course some might have trouble choosing who the protagonist is for them. But it doesn't matter who you choose, you will have a hard time rooting or really feeling for one of them.

Of course, the movie will wake up feelings in most of the viewers. Because we all have been mistreated in one way or another. And most would have wished to get back at those who don't respect them or the work they've done. This concept can be put on many other section of life or art. Even commenting on movies, you could go like: well do it better, if you can.

The actors do their best (with an interesting cameo by chameleon Larry Fassenden), but the story does not seem to know where it is heading or what it really wants to tell us (a "side" story being part of that and the alternate ending confirming, that the test audience might have been confused too). The basic idea is stronger than the end product, it still might satisfy you, if you like small budgeted movies

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Really good thriller but ruined by horrible ending

6/10
Author: sedativchunk from United States
8 July 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I really enjoyed this movie, it was entertaining and worth a watch! A celebrity chef gone hell bent on torturing a guy who wrote many bad reviews on his finest cuisine. The story line is simple and the camera work in this movie was awesome!

The main characters were all great, the only person I wasn't crazy about was the private investigator who seemed weird and out of place in the movie. He looked like someone who went into a coma in the 80's and woke up 20 years later. Other than that everything was very suspenseful without being too over the top. But for what was an 8/10 movie for me quickly flopped near the end.

Before I go on, I say the movie IS worth a watch. I'm not a thriller fan at all but I actually watched this on TV because it was interesting. Below I explain the ending though and why I gave it a negative review. It contains spoilers so I recommend you watch and judge for yourself and unless you really don't care.

* SPOILERS BELOW * The ending in my opinion is pretty horrible which killed the movie for me. Near the end the food critics girlfriend gets kidnapped and taken hostage by the insane chef. The movie went downhill from there. First off when he kidnapped her there was the horror movie forced nudity, they just had to show the girl topless in the bathtub! Second he played a silly hunting game with the critic and ended up killing him in the end. The girlfriend breaks free and she ends up killing the insane chef. We don't know how she copes or survives because the credits kick in. I thought it was because they were trying to show things from the chef's perspective but that's not true, the story in the beginning went between both characters and into the girlfriends life a little. It just didn't work.

Why did I think this was a bad ending? The whole point of the movie was the chef wanted to bring pain and misery to the food critic for criticizing his food. When he kidnapped the girlfriend, I was expecting him to kill the girl right in front of him to make him upset and then I thought he would make him cook her or something sick like that. It would have tied into the story and showed how sick and twisted he was. Instead he just ties her up and plays a hunting game with the food critic. There were so many better ways to have done the ending, I just didn't like it.

Was the above review useful to you?

Got Served a Bitter Feast Disappointment Par Excellence

1/10
Author: Sarah C. from Prague
17 November 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Why am I even here expressing my opinion on this movie as it is as pointless as watching this movie? The movie left a blank trail in my mind, absolutely not moved with me at all. That particular feeling about the overall atmosphere of the movie reflects my score not the fact whether I liked the movie or not. I liked certain aspects of the movie (the psychological aspect) while simultaneously hating the other (the premise which was plain simple dull). It's just the amount of things from the latter category was *slightly* higher.

I tried not to take the movie seriously, just switch off my brains and let it take me to an eighty minutes journey but instead it just took me to the woods and that's pretty much it. I hate the woods. It's like if the producers intended this movie to be an anti-organic food propaganda that will make you hate anything organic because the movie probably makes you associate it with an arrogant psychopath with unresolved issues from childhood, or that's what they believe. The cook wasn't one, you know, but the storyline pretty much turned him into one. I guess the director didn't really have a clue how to conclude the movie leaving you (and the director) pretty much confused. But what did I expect, Hollywood blockbuster type of three dimensional story? Michael Bay? The movie promised a bitter feast and I (expletive) got my bitter cold feast so maybe I should give it ten stars instead. As you see ratings are very arbitrary and relative.

I would go even further to expand on the variety of topic this movie points at, like all media-approved and supported society faults, consumerism and all the like blah blah, all of it to justify "snap outs" but all aforementioned examples were presented in a very shallow manner and don't mean a thing.

(SPOILER) WHY even make JT Franks' wife a victim when she had nothing to do with that? Why that scene with her taking a bath trying to make a suspension out of nothing make it look like some kind of horror when the scene did not fit the movie's pace at all? Completely pointless scenes just for the sake of the genre only. That's not how I like my movies. (/SPOILER)

The power of internet 2.0 is way too strong to be extinguished which would reflect the humorous side of the movie basically telling that everyone is and can be JT Franks when they write a displeasing comment and some people 1,000 miles away get upset to the point of desiring to murder you. Is that the green light for you to make a movie? A short story on paper yes, movie? Don't do that.

I am amused at the glimpse of thought of producers of this movie going on a killing spree targeting everyone on the internet who gave this movie a bad review (Daniel Rodrigues, Paul Andrews, Boptrax, TrukDrivr, slatromhsiloof I'm looking your way). Now THAT should be the sequel about.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history