IMDb > "Identity" (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Identity"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Identity" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 11 reviews in total 

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Great concept to bad only six episodes

8/10
Author: boobookitty17 from Canada
12 July 2012

Stumbled on this show and was curious from the start. Although it took a few episodes to give the main characters some depth I did like the fact that it doesn't play off the Police = good, and criminal=bad routine. The balance that all characters have good and bad in them appeals to me, without giving to much away lets just say some lines get murky and even crossed but its where it ends up that counts according to this series. It would have been nice to see what would of happened in the second season as there were many directions the show could have gone.

The acting is pretty good, just the right amount of office politics and antics to make it interesting but not enough to make it sickly soapy. One thing some of the American cop shows should learn.

Well worth a watch and with only six episodes it moves quickly and is entertaining.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Superb and gripping British TV mini-series

9/10
Author: robert-temple-1 from United Kingdom
29 June 2011

This is an example of British thriller series at their finest. The scripts, direction, and acting are all top-notch. The six episodes are all largely self-contained but do have an underlying thread of a story which continues throughout, and which culminates in the final episode. It is the story of the character played by Aidan Gillen, who has had a past working undercover for many years for the police. As a result of this, he has become entangled with a web of criminal intrigue which he tries to handle in his spare time, though such awkward aspects as having a dead body in the back of his car keep arising and interfering with his new job. The main basis for the series is the creation of an 'Identity Unit' at Scotland Yard in London, set up to investigate the increasing numbers of cases of identity theft or identify confusion. There are some really thrilling and hair-raising stories here, which constitute a lively variety of cases, all interesting in their own ways. The series is never repetitive or dull for a moment. The head of the Identity Unit is played by actress Keeley Hawes, who does a brilliant job. She has to keep the traditional stiff upper lip (in her case one with bright red lipstick) whilst juggling with enormous stresses, tensions, and emotions. She is excellent at doing this, and is best of all at the end when things come to a head for her. Exercising such intense self-control and betraying her desperate feelings only by means of tiny twitches of facial muscles is no mean feat. Only a British actress could manage something like that so well. She clearly takes her inspiration from all those old British movies and stars like Trevor Howard and Celia Johnson. It is strange that such an old-fashioned girl who is a master of pre-War mannerisms (and she comes from an East End family of cab drivers, who are probably the last of the passionate traditionalists left in London) can be the lead in a series made in 2009. Surely she really belonged in 1939? She would have done well in the S.O.E. But all this really works, that is the main thing. As for Aidan Gillen, he resembles Richard Gere facially, but has a slender body and a slightly mincing walk, and if it were not for his physique and body language, he could easily be one of those Hollywood action stars. In other words, he talks the talk but doesn't walk the walk. However, none of that matters here. He is very compelling and watchable at all times. In this series he is meant to be an enigma, and he certainly succeeds in being one. Both Hawes and Gillen dominate the series with talent and charisma, and help to make it a stunning success. I can find no mention of any Series 2 being made, which is a serious production miscalculation by the producers for ITV. The supporting actors are all very good, the production values are high, and there is nothing to complain of. One merely wants to say: When do I get to see the next series, please?

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Can the lead character be trusted?

8/10
Author: Tweekums from United Kingdom
9 August 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Being a fan of police dramas and having recently enjoyed Keeley Hawes's performance in the BBC's excellent 'Ashes to Ashes'. This was nowhere near as good as that but I still enjoyed it. Keeley Hawes plays DSI Martha Lawson, the officer in charge of the department investigating identity theft. In the opening episode a new officer who has spent a lot of time working undercover joins the team. This man is DI John Bloom, played by Aidan Gillen, the rest of the team doesn't know it but he hasn't fully left his undercover life and it appears that he is still in far too deep. He even goes as far as to hide a body after the woman he was sleeping with; the sister of a man he sent to prison kills him, ironically the convict thought John was his friend and had asked him to kill the person he thought turned him in. While he is dealing with his undercover life he is also trying to deal with cases for his new unit although his absences are raising suspicions, especially after a prison officer calls DCI Lawson to tell her Bloom has visited the prison under two different names.

The conclusion was a little over dramatic but I still found it exiting and while I thought it would work out I wasn't certain; a bad ending for a major character would have been a memorable conclusion but if there is to be another series it would be unlikely and personally I hope there is another series.

While this wasn't the best detective series I still enjoyed it; Aidan Gillen was great as Bloom, I knew I'd seen him in something before but would never have guessed it was in 'The Wire' if I hadn't checked here. Keeley Hawes was also good although her role was smaller than I had expected, also notable was Shaun Parkes who played DS Anthony Wareing, the officer who was always slightly suspicious of Bloom. The story wasn't too believable, for example I don't think a policeman would keep a body in his own fridge... although it did lead to a nice moment when a colleague visited him at home and it looked like he might go for a beer.

Was the above review useful to you?

Pretty good, though academic now...

7/10
Author: spradley-3 from United States
28 September 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I checked the DVD out from our local library as the description was an interesting premise. The first episode was pretty good - it introduced the characters and the series. I'm on the 5th episode and, while not the best as others have written, it's better than most of what's on TV. The lead character has a bit of an ego and everyone else is sort of background but the stories move quickly - there's no nodding off. He has a good way of figuring things out and reading people. That's always interesting. I was going to check additional episodes out but found out the series didn't make it past 6. There's so little on broadcast TV these days and this is a good alternative to watch for sure. Not great but pretty good.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A rare drama hit from today's ITV...

Author: Corky1984 from England
14 August 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

ITV long ago descended into a dumbed-down channel which flogged endless low-quality popstar wannabe/reality TV shows, but now and then it still comes up with a decent drama. Identity is a good series, with a strong cast and some interesting story lines. Focusing on the endeavours of the Identity Unit, which looks into identity fraud/theft etc, the show injects a bit of freshness into the well-trodden police procedural genre. The beautiful Keeley Hawes (of Ashes to Ashes fame) heads the Identity Unit, but Aiden Gillen's John Bloom is the series' key player. As a former undercover officer, he still has a foot in both worlds and is still romantically involved with a crime baron's sister. The show follows a continuous arc as he is drawn ever deeper back into his old 'undercover' world, whilst trying to reintegrate into the Identity squad. Some inventive plots keep you interested, whilst the rivalries amongst the Identity team occasionally spill over. Series 1 ended with Bloom's two worlds colliding and more or less resolved that story strand, but I'd like to see a second series made because the characters still have plenty of mileage left in them.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A good attempt at 'Spooks' style complexity.

9/10
Author: Simon D. from Woking, UK
29 December 2010

I have only watched the first episode of the first series. I normally wait until the final episode of any series before putting finger to keyboard, but for some unknown reason I felt I needed to put in an early comment or two. Perhaps it was the bizarre comments of one of the reviewers on here, concerning 'police departments' that egged me on to write this.

Firstly, and probably my biggest issue with previous comments. I really don't think it matters much which police department is being featured in a drama. At the end of the day, it's the story that is important, followed closely by scripting. This drama has fast paced dialog, with facts coming at you at lightening pace, and more than once I had to press rewind on the remote in order to try to absorb the information being spoken. The fact that it was identity theft, for me, only made the whole thing more interesting, which is why I specifically sourced this box set, purely on it's subject matter...oh, and Keeley Hawes, who for me, could be the present generation Joanna Lumley! (sorry Joanna, that's not saying that you're not still a huge star and a most engaging orator...smiles).

The series could have been about murder, rape, corporate espionage, or perhaps just burglary, and it with this kind of script, and with the acting quality on show, it would still still have been interesting. It's good to see that Aiden Gillen is doing so well since his excellent performances in 'Queer As Folk'. I have a feeling his career is going to continue to move on upwards, and it might not be too far in the distance when his name will be a household name. As for Keeley Hawes, this lady surely has a huge future. Her performances in Spooks should alone have carved out an international movie career, and why they didn't have her play Lara Croft in the movies, I'll never know...her voice will always be the true Lara! On a more serious note, I feel sure Keeley also has a big future, as her beauty and speaking voice will land her international fame before too long.

Finally, just on the first episode, I can see that this was ITV's attempt to have a 'Spooks' of their own, and to some degree it works in that respect, although 'Spooks' is definitely the superior article, and focuses on an entirely different subject matter anyway. 'Identity' does succeed though, in bringing to ITV a more involved and complex story line, together with good acting, which I'm sorry to say, ITV doesn't generally compete with the BBC on. For those of us who like their stories more complex, this should certainly appeal. I really hope there's another series planned!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Not the greatest.

4/10
Author: farmertrouser from United Kingdom
27 July 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

No middle ground on this one - it's either incredibly dull (lots of office scenes in the style of spooks and 24 with the computer experts all staring excitedly at PC screens) or incredibly interesting but completely and frustratingly unbelievable. It would also appear that if Keeley Hawes is involved, the plot line will generally involve her wafting about an office, looking ultra-sophisticated, clutching a file/paper/clipboard and not generally doing a great deal, other than eyeing up a single colleague for future romantic storyline to keep us interested.

I've managed to watch two episodes before giving up as I couldn't see where the plot could go(and yes I know there's the other storyline about John and his previous life with the dodgy gangsters that's going to come back to bite him, but given that John's character's not developed enough for me to care about his future, what's the point?) Surely no one would continue to employ someone that is THAT unreliable?? In the real world he'd have lost his job at the end of episode one having stabbed father of villain in the leg (in order to obtain vital information from evil villainous daughter - yes honestly)

Am really disappointed. Particularly given the cast list. Bring back Luther.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Just dreadful

1/10
Author: markfranh from BC, Canada
30 August 2014

My wife and I watched two episodes in this series. The first left us stunned it was so bad. There seems to be a rule amongst actors that if the script is really awful then to try and improve on it you need to overact. Well, overact these actors did and I'm afraid that only made a bad TV show with a terrible and unbelievable plot a whole lot worse.

Why we bothered to watch the second episode on the DVD a week later I'm not sure. The two of us watched in stony silence throughout. When it was over, I said something like, "that was a lot better than the first one." My wife responded with, "I thought it was utter rubbish." The sad thing is we were both right. And that will tell you just how awful the first episode must have been.

I used to like Keely Hawes (from MI5/Spooks) but I'm afraid I've gone right off her after this experience.

The DVD went back to the library after the second episode so I'll never find out how the subplot with the undercover cop gone bad turned out. Somehow I'm not going to lose any sleep over this.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Terrific idea, weak execution

3/10
Author: MikeMagi from Baltimore MD
13 June 2012

There's a great idea for a TV series here -- a police squad that specializes in identity theft. But based on the two episodes I watched, it's been mishandled. Both centered on psychos who swiped identities and committed murder for reasons that were at best murky (and at worst ludicrous.) And in both episodes, extended chase scenes filled the gaps in threadbare scenarios. The cast isn't bad. And perhaps subsequent stories will suggest...surprise!!!...that not all identity thieves are homicidal wackos. They might even deal with the frightening and fascinating way in which lives can be stolen -- along with cash, credit ratings and reputations. But from what I've seen so far, I'm not hopeful.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

OK for Criminal Investigation Film Buff

Author: kindredparadox (kindredparadox@gmail.com)
9 July 2010

Identity is a TV Series about identity theft. There are many departments in the police organization. These departments deal with specific criminal activities or way of finding the criminal, i.e. rape, psychology approach (Criminal Minds), etc. "Identity" deals with specific criminal activity that is finding the person who stolen identity of other person and use their identity and again act more serious crime.

In the first 15 minutes of episode 1 of season 1 the film rather develop slowly and nearly boring, but after that it get more excited. This film should be more interesting for criminal investigation film buff, for person who likes other genre more I recommend to not watch this.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history