IMDb > The Human Centipede (First Sequence) (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Human Centipede (First Sequence)
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 41:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 403 reviews in total 

320 out of 491 people found the following review useful:

After watching it I wanted to kill myself

Author: SeverianBlackfyre from United States
29 May 2010

This movie is trash. It's a sick fetish-fueler for some weird cult to get off to. The plot is non-existent. If you want to know what this movie is about in a nutshell, here are some key plot points - mouth sewn to anuses, swallowing feces, and humans turned into slaves without dignity. People will say it's an original idea, but OF COURSE IT IS. It's never been done before because NO ONE HAS THOUGHT OF SOMETHING AS SICK AS THIS YET. After watching, I felt like I needed counseling, or something to make me forget the entire concept. On top of that, there is pathetic dialogue, acting, and directing. The movie literally ends without anything resolved and you just think "What was the point of this?" There's no greater idea, or hidden metaphors. The movie is about swallowing feces. DO NOT WATCH IT.

Was the above review useful to you?

281 out of 421 people found the following review useful:

100% medically inaccurate

Author: hupke89 from Belgium
22 May 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Starting from a good idea, the director/writer totally screws it up, in my humble opinion. I started watching this because of the '100% medically accurate'-marketing, as I'm a student in medicine. It was far from accurate or realistic.. Not medically, not in any way. I'm only a student and still see some big mistakes. Obviously they hadn't even a nurse on the set.

-The odds that two random persons are compatible to each other are quite low (that's one of the problems with organ-transplant). How lucky is he that the two girls match! And since the third guy isn't, he just go grab a random Japanese guy out of his backyard, who apparently hasn't a clue what he's doing in Germany(let alone Europe). He doesn't speak neither English nor German nor any other language except for Japanese.

-Girl number 2 shows rejection signs at the end of the movie. Which shows that: a- the doctor hasn't worked sterile (he scratches his forehead during the operation, an error a regular surgeon would never do) or b-he didn't gave immuno-suppressing medication, a real doctor would never oversee such a thing or c- they didn't matched (but as you can see prior to the operation, he had them tested).

-About that test: as far as I know, it's not the kind of test you can run in your basement, and I really doubt that you can make a lab do that from anonymous people for someone without a practitioners license anyway. As he is 'retired' (most likely fired for his dog-experiment), it' s very highly likely that he hasn't got his license anymore (= no professional secrecy possible).

-By far the most hilarious error is when he has his stethoscope in his ears.. He has it in the wrong direction!!! A stethoscope should be worn so that the ear-canal and the branches of the stethoscope are in the prolongation of each other. Like he is wearing it, it makes a small angle. This is something anyone with paramedical knowledge would see right away. (please feel free to search the internet for proper stethoscope wearing instructions if I didn't made myself clear on this point)

-If I were a very sick-minded ex-surgeon, I would have connected their blood-circuit. Without it, survival is impossible from the start. First: you can't survive eating excrement from just one person, second: as the urinary tracts are not connected either, the second and third subject would die from dehydration even before they'd die from hunger and third: connecting the rectum with the mouth makes it possible for bacteria from the lower gastric tract (f.e. E.Coli) to infect the upper gastric tract of the second person resulting in diarrhea in the first place, probably followed by generalized infection and death later on. There's a reason why the intestinal tract is segregated.

-And my last point is the following: the second girl dies -apparently- from generalized infection. If that's the case, the first girl would be evenly infected. You should also be aware that dying from generalized infection is quite a slow death involving very high fever and tissue necrosis, which she doesn't shows symptoms of.

Except from the medical point of view there are other illogic things: the police's behavior towards the doctor, the neighbors hearing screams(but not another house in sight, and the police shows up very late compared to when the screams might have been heard). And how the hell did the doctor managed to plant the scalpel in the first policeman's neck while unable to do anything else but crawling?

Furthermore, there is nothing innovating compared to other horror movies. (See colleagues' reviews) I think I made my point clear, but if realism doesn't bother you, you might like it. Although I really doubt it.

Was the above review useful to you?

236 out of 360 people found the following review useful:

Great Premise, Crap Film

Author: monkeygland69 from Australia
5 May 2010

Wow, what a pointless and redundant film.

It would seem word of mouth has spread into the anus of the internet and shat out this crap film.

Despite the hype, the Human Centipede does nothing interesting with its premise or characters - its almost as if Six thinks the *concept* can do most of the leg work for him.

And apparently those taken by the original concept require little else from a film - like working through the implications of its own premise or delivering an experience that can stand on its own feet.

Take away the striking *image* of three people turned into a human centipede, and you are left with an indistinct film with few thrills.

The mad scientist trope barely transcends hackneyed cliché, and the film completely squanders a great opportunity for subtext: what (for example) is the meaning of a male Asian as the head of the centipede and/or what does two American women following him mean?

The plot is threadbare and takes the path of least resistance - the pointless film leads from point A to point B. Despite the 'logical' (linear) approach of the 'narrative', the characters motivations generally defy logic and rational explanation.

Unlike great horror movies, this film literally has nothing to say about modern culture, gender roles, human fears or scientific hubris.

Even worse, the cheap thrills are standard fare. The only thing that can be said in its favor is that some of the images (creep in the car, the centipede itself) are perversely funny.

The film fails to suspend disbelief or encourages identification with its own protagonists either. Instead of (say) feeling sorry for the two female characters in the film, you pity the two female *actresses* playing bare breasted women on all fours and eating crap in the form of Six's 'script'.

Dieter was typically creepy as the mad scientist, but he can do this stuff in his sleep. Anyone familiar with his work on Lexx knows how remarkable he can be - his Mantrid is amongst the great scifi villains. And the image of Mantrid's floating head on a jar remains much more incisive than anything on display here.

Was the above review useful to you?

151 out of 214 people found the following review useful:


Author: baz111 from United Kingdom
10 July 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The entire point of this film was to shock, but the way it shocks is more by giving you the image with no point and no reasoning. Of course the film never sounded like it was ever going to be remembered for its script but this is beyond bad.

We're first introduced to the two American girls, who pretty as they may be seem to lack any form of intelligence or general common sense. They are driving to a night club (as you do) when they take a wrong turn and end up getting a puncture. Now this is where things get bad. So the girls are stranded failing to know how to operate a jack and attach a spare wheel the girls decide to look for help. Cue a three minute pointless piece of film making where a randy German man gives his thoughts about the girls in German. Laughable honestly. So the man drives off and the girls decide the best thing to do is to go and look for help.. By walking through the woods and coming across a house in the middle of nowhere with a man that answers the door with the most evil face in the world who's first question is are you alone? Welcoming.

See the film goes on with its rather pointless set ups like these which just make you think who would do that? I mean there is one moment in the film that really grabbed my attention, the girls are tied to the patient beds and the doctor goes out to bury the truck driver in the garden. He then goes out and gets the Japanese man from somewhere. The doctor then tells them all his dastardly plan then goes off. Later he comes back to start the procedure by injecting them to put them to sleep. Now only at this moment does the one girl decide she can undo the one wrist with her teeth and get out. I understand you have to make the film but bloody hell thats just ridiculous, I mean he'd buried a man and found a new man before the girls even tried to escape? They could have boarded a flight back to the US or even tried to find that night club if they'd have just stopped crying for however long they had been.

So we come to the birth of the centipede and things go from bad to worse I'm afraid. See the purpose of this film is just to make you feel sick. There are no scares, no moments of suspense and really there is just no point. Worst film ever!

Was the above review useful to you?

184 out of 287 people found the following review useful:

Intriguing or repulsive? (likely both)

Author: Simon_Says_Movies from Toronto, ON, Canada
10 May 2010

It is very difficult to review a movie called The Human Centipede (First Sequence). There is little chance one will be lured to a viewing under false pretences so if a movie delivers what you expect, is it not then an undisputable success? Yes and no as the film is a struggle between concept, execution and nausea but what is admirable, in addition to its fearless boundary pushing, is its restraint. Yes you read that correctly, restraint. Contrary to so many of the torture porn films that try to punch up the shock value through sadism The Human Centipede has almost no blood and lets your imagination fill in the horrific blanks.

If you know nothing about this movie, allow me to enlighten you. The film revolves around a deranged surgeon who propels the old hallmark of a 'mad doctor' to delirious extremes. He kidnaps people and sews them together mouth to anus (yes you also read that correctly). Through that procedure which involves removal of the teeth and stitching together the skin of the forward and rear victim, the gastric system is thereby connected. This combined with slicing ligaments in the knees to prevent erect walking and you got yourself one human centipede.

Likely, your mind is already made up on if you want to see this movie; you are either intrigued or repulsed (likely both). What elevates The Human Centipede from its high concept is the tension, the elements of pitch black humour, the subtle skewering of horror conventions and finally the performance of the main villain. The good Doctor Heiter is played by German Dieter Laser (or as I like to pronounce in a bad Arnold Schwarzenegger impression, 'Deeder Lazer') and he is truly terrifying; icy, ruthless and completely unsympathetic towards his captives. He has no motives behind his motives. His drive to create this abomination stems from the death of his '3-dog', which I'm sure you can fathom what that entails, but his desire to attempt anything in this realm to being with is never explored.

The Human Centipede is directed by Tom Six and the man knows how to terrify and disgust in unison. The movie does lose some of its momentum around the ¾ mark but bursts back to life at the finale. The final scene is perhaps the most powerful and affecting in the entire movie and stayed with me far after the initial shock had faded. The slogan for this movie reads '100% medically accurate' and while I'm unsure of the validity of that statement it really stands as a moot point; plausible or preposterous, The Human Centipede does its job the best since the original Saw.

Tom Six is already planning a sequel entitled The Human Centipede (Full Sequence). The dark cloud that looms over this project will be the tendency of directors to try an one-up their originals, usually through increased gore, instead of expanding upon the elements that worked, such as the tension and the allowed space for the viewers mind to go wild. Necessity of a follow-up aside, this is one of the single most brazen and memorable works of horror in many years; see it if you dare.

Read my review of the sequel:

Was the above review useful to you?

112 out of 155 people found the following review useful:

Who's eating more poo, the audience or the actors?

Author: fruktflugan from Sweden
27 May 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

So, they're trying to squeeze a few cents more out of the hype around the "Saw"-type movies? Sadly the ones making this movie has no idea on how to keep the audience's interest up, no idea on how to create believable characters or make a decent movie that holds up for more than 15 minutes.

It begins rather believable with the two young girls going to a party (if you see them as mentally defective and do not scrutinize their personalities too much) and getting car trouble. That's about what works in this movie...

Then there's a series of highly improbable events with completely unbelievable actors and it devolves into a simple type, really bad, SCAT-movie (search the porn shelf for those and you'll see the similarities).

* Ooohh, No cell phone reception in Germany!!! Do Americans know that Germany is an industrialized country and their cell phone system is much more advanced and has more coverage than anything in the states?

* OOOoooohhh, We cannot fix a flat tire because we have too many cromosomes going rampant. We don't even bother to check if there's something in the trunk of this rental car that can be used in some way!

* OOoooohhh, We won't even try to drive the car with the tire flat because then the entire universe will explode. Sure, it'd thrash the rim and everything, but it should hold up for at least a couple of miles when going slow.

* Ooooohhhhh, We need to walk for help. Let's NOT follow the road or anything, let's go into the dark scary woods in our high heels and no sense of direction. And let's not check if the cell phone gets some reception back either!

The movie keeps going in this fashion and if you do not shut off before the real action begins you are greeted with a couple of unbelievable characters going around on all fours with their mouths connected to each others rectums, eating feces.

Thank GOD that I didn't pay to watch this movie. Maybe I should sue the movie company for wasting my time like this.

Believe me, it doesn't get any better as the movie continues either.

100% medically accurate too... Well, then it must be good... People vomiting in theatres... Well, that's just because the movie is such UTTER CRAP that you cannot help yourself! :D

If you see it, make sure you have the option of fast forwarding through 90% of the movie and just getting to the perverted fecal-eating scenes that the movie's creators probably got a good, decent sized erection by creating!

Was the above review useful to you?

138 out of 222 people found the following review useful:

A Human Centipede? But, of course! Why didn't I think of that?

Author: Coventry from the Draconian Swamp of Unholy Souls
18 April 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm really glad and thankful there exist such as thing as Fantastic Film Festivals. Where else would you be offered the opportunity to watch sick-spirited and repulsive independent flicks like "The Human Centipede" on a big cinema screen? This is truly the type of movie that would never reach video stores or even e-bay and is directly intended for the international festival circuit. This film, commonly known already under its abbreviation THC, is everything you could possibly expect from a midnight crowd shocker/pleaser and then some! The plot and its main character are completely over-the-top absurd, the depiction of gore is gratuitous and nauseating and the tone of the movie is continuously surreal. It's the type of film where you are practically forced to think stuff like "what kind of sick and depraved human mind could possibly have come up with such a horror concept". The answer: Dutch born writer/director Tom Six.

"The Human Centipede" starts out like approximately ten thousand other horror movies already did before. Two American girls traveling across Europe get lost with their rental car in a remote German backwoods area. It's the middle of the night and naturally their mobile phones don't detect any signals. Obviously you expect them to end up in a type of torture hostel or in the dungeon of a deranged inbred hillbilly family, but no. They end up at the luxurious mansion of the highly respected medical surgeon Dr. Heiter. The good Dr. is retired but still very obsessively working on his life-long ambition: to create the very first unnatural human Siamese triplets! But simply attaching three people together isn't good enough, however, as he wants them to function as a centipede! Here's how this works in three simple steps: 1) you capture three persons and remove their kneecaps so that they can't stand up anymore. 2) You attach the mouth of the second person to the arse of the first person and the mouth of the third person to the arse of the second person. 3) You connect the obligatory intestines and organs to each other so that persons two and three nourish on the excreta of person one. Does all that sound slightly disgusting, inhuman and revolting? Well, it is actually.

Needless to say movies like "The Human Centipede" are only intended for a very select audience. How can you possibly legitimize your motivations for watching a movie that depicts three people agonizing and undergoing humiliation for no reason other than an irrational and implausible (but apparently anatomically attainable) medical experiment? I usually say that I'm constantly looking for new horror and cult movies that go far beyond expectancy patterns and commonly used themes. "The Human Centipede" definitely fits into that category, what with its sickening footage and utterly despicable insinuations. The true star of the film is undoubtedly Dieter Lasser, who gives a marvelously grotesque performance as the dedicated Dr. Heiter. I've seen quite a bit of mad scientist portrayals in my years as a horror fanatic, but Lasser could easily be described as the ultimate stereotype for this role. He's a sneering German (obviously) psychopath with dementia in his eyes and Nazi echoes in his voice.

Was the above review useful to you?

88 out of 129 people found the following review useful:

Don't believe the hype

Author: slake09 from Silver Lake, Ohio, USA
22 May 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie got a lot of hype for how bizarre, shocking and original it is. Unfortunately, the hype is wrong. The movie is a one-trick pony: once you get over the idea of connecting a bunch of people into a centipede, there is nothing else going on.

The shock comes when the evil doctor sews everyone together. That gets old after a few minutes; before and after that you get the standard horror story you've seen a million times.

I watched this because everything I heard said it was original, shocking, and different from any other horror movie out there. There is a bit of originality, but basically the movie just isn't that good. Maybe in the sequel they can keep it going.

Was the above review useful to you?

135 out of 226 people found the following review useful:

This Surgeon Could Lose His Board Certification!

Author: shark-43 from L.A. CA
2 May 2010

Okay, American tourists with a car that breaks down - of course they go wandering through the dark German woods (you could play a drinking game and have to take a shot every time they say "Lindsay" and "Jenny" to each other - you'd be wasted) - and they come about a remote house and wouldn't you know it - just their luck - the house belongs to a complete nutjob surgeon who used to separate conjoined twins and now is obsessed with stitching people together. I'm no doctor, but there seem to be major flaws in his medical design - oh well. The film is kooky but well made, the lead guy (who looks a bit like Lance Henrickson) gives 100% and is fine as the mad doctor but the whole concept reeks of teenage boys getting stoned for the first time and playing a game - let's come up with the grossest thing that could be done to you in surgery. That's what it plays like - a teenage boy horror/fantasy/gross out. But with films like Saw and Hostel, it was only a matter of time before there was something like this and before long, they'll be other weird concepts that will try and top this one. Look out for ManBaby - see we sew a baby on the back of a guy who hates kids! It's creepy and it's funny! Hoo boy. Of course there's an itch to see something like this - the same itch that made people pay money to go see a freak show back in the day.

Was the above review useful to you?

91 out of 150 people found the following review useful:

This is a misguided comedy

Author: dschmeding from Germany
10 May 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

When I read the plot of this movie I thought this movie must be incredibly sick and sure it is but the movie has nothing but the basic disgusting idea going that you can read in the plot.

Its pretty cheap shock value in that department because the movie is a basic horror set-up with 2 dumb girls having a break down and ending up in a mad scientists house (Rocky Horror Picture Show anyone??). From here on the movie takes an incredibly slow pacing in order to fill a feature movie with one basic sick idea. Its all set in the house of the evil doctor who drugs his victims with roofies (or a tranquilizer gun when hunting outside). The doctor who specialized in Siamese twin operations soon introduces his reverse Siamese twin operation to the unsuspecting victims with an incredibly ridiculous overhead presentation using some sketches that look like drawn by a child. At this point anyone must realize that either director Tom Six is an idiot or he has a strange kind of humor. Showing these sketches in a movie with a tag-line "100% medically accurate" is a joke by any means. The previous experiment with dogs that is presented with the doc sadly watching photos of his "3-dog" and having a gravestone engraved with "My sweet 3-dog" in his backyard are a joke.

And after the "operation" which is hardly shown you just see the 2 girls plus 1 guy in the front walking through the doctors house. The front guy is Japanese and talks Japanese throughout the movie (which is stupid for a tourist in Germany)... the girls are Americans, the other actors are German and so they keep talking in all these languages with subtitles while the doc makes them sit by the pool or teaches them to fetch the morning paper.

See... this is a joke, a really bad one that seems to try to be artsy with the long use of crane shots and mixing several languages, using no music etc. Bestpart is when the polices comes watching for the missing persons and the doctor decides to also drug them to add them to his experiment... WTF?

This movie is ridiculous... the characters have no depth or motivation, the acting is often mediocre and the horror is non-existent except for the basic mindf**k everybody hooks on to.

I won't even go in the basic absurdity of it all that would leave the front guy with everyone behind him poisoned. Although director Tom Six seems rather serious in his interviews I hope for his own sake that this movie is the misguided comedy I take it for. Everything else would be a slow and idiotic horror movie, a lousy drama or an incredibly childishexperimental movie with non-existent soundtrack and entertainment value.

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 1 of 41:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history