IMDb > Identity Theft (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Identity Theft More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

7 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious and suspenseful

9/10
Author: Vincent Romeijn from Netherlands
12 August 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is a very funny movie. It's not a movie from a big shot studio, but it's definitely better than some movies you see in a regular cinema.

Overall, I thought the acting was good. I especially liked the two lead actors, James A. Ward and Laura Weintraub, because they were simply the most convincing. But, the other actors were good too.

I didn't really pay much attention to the music in general, but at the moments it is important (e.g. the montage with all the 'Palm Reader' shops), it sounds great. The screen quality was pretty good, although at some points, the clarity of the screen wasn't so high. The only thing I found strange were the transitions (i.e. when the movie jumps a few hours further). I think they were a bit too fast and out of nothing, but it doesn't really matter much.

The director called it a 'suspense-comedy' in the trailers, and he was quite right, because it does get very tense at some points. Also, the ending surprised me completely, which doesn't happen that much. Overall, I think this is a very good movie. 9/10 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie

10/10
Author: Scott McI from United Kingdom
12 October 2011

Don't normally give 10/10 for a movie but this is one of the best i've seen for along time. very entertaining and funny. Actors we're very good to sticking to the script and acting like each other which is very hard.... highly recommend buying this came from US to UK within 7 working days. The extras were very good too with the bloopers and interview with Laura (Karen Bristol body thief) was also very good too she played it well to act as the "man in a woman's body" and James Ward (Matt body theft victim) You really have to watch it to really appreciate the good work that was put into it. keep up the good work James :)

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie!

10/10
Author: purrkayla from United States
30 March 2010

I loved this movie from the very moment it started and this is one movie that I highly recommend!

The twists and turns in it will surprise you!

There were scenes which I thought would end up a certain way but the writer/director (James Ward) shows how talented he is when the twists come in and you find yourself going "omg!"

While parts of it surprised me, other parts of it had me laughing out loud!

I found the acting in it to be of high quality, even better than some of the "big screen" movies I have seen recently!

After watching it again, I realized I know some people who are like some of the characters in this movie! lol

I won't reveal any spoilers in this review but I will encourage you to get this movie!

It's one that you will watch again and enjoy sharing with friends and family!

I know I do!

I give it 10 out of 10 stars :)

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

sleeper! what a very good movie

8/10
Author: eotten2001 from United States
26 October 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

WOW! Its great to be surprised by a movie and this film is loaded with them. Not the least surprise is how much the director and his cast were able to do with an obviously low budget. Hollywood should be ashamed. Too many times I've watched a movie and wondered well in the hell did 50 + million dollars go? This film is so well written! Great set up with Matt ( well played by James Ward he's the director as well) wondering what he is going to do with him winning fifty million dollars in the lottery. Also he's wondering what people will do to try and get his money from him. That he will soon find out to his cost! His best friend calls and asks him to come to the bar and help with his bar tab. ( Michale Cole is good as the slightly sleazy friend) At the bar Matt meets a beautiful blond 'Femme Fatale' Karen ( Great performance by Laura Weintraub in the main and dual roles. Where has this beautiful actress been?) Matt is picked up by Karen Bristol and the nest morning he finds himself impossibly rolled not only of his money but of his body. Karen has stolen his body. It turns out that 'Karen' wasn't really Karen but an age old body theft who has now move into Matt's body and has taken over his life and wealth. With some glee the new Matt tells the horrified 'Karen' that this is real and gloats about stealing his body and his life. He then proceeds to throw an indignant 'Karen' out of what had been his own apartment.

The new Karen and former Matt goes to his oldest friend's apartment for help. SURPRISE Karen/Matt isn't believed! As all Brian sees is some hot chick and tries to sleep with 'Her'. Karen/Matt goes to 'Karen's address but find nothing but trouble there and has to runaway. A Funny scene when Karen/Matt persuades a lock smith to let him in Matt's old apartment. Later there is a great scene with Matt's old girl friend that has lots of laughs! Including Karen/Matt being called a bimbo. The actress playing the EX girl friend ( Rachel Hardy) also does a good job.) You will LOL! when you find out what job Karen/Matt gets to pay the bills of ordinary living.

There's a wonderful twist which I am not spoiling of what happens when Karen/Matt has gotten a magic spell to swap back.

This is a very good, exciting film, part thriller, mystery, comedy and horror. Highly recommended PS don't stop watching because after the credits comes the real ending.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Great

10/10
Author: Mike Bennett from United Kingdom
17 December 2013

Obviously a low budget film, but this allows it to explore a story a mainstream wouldn't dare consider. Usually these body swap type films involve some weak comedy gimmick and a happy ending - making them predictable and boring. Luckily this film is not bound by such constraints.

Hollywood take note and look over here for some inspiration!

This also took just 7 days to reach the UK in the Christmas post which was great.

This is the first film I have felt the need to make an account on IMDb for and rave about, so that should tell you something. Keep up the good work guys!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

James Ward's First Feature...Not bad

8/10
Author: T.J. Robert Tharp from Mayfield, Kentucky
20 March 2013

Identity Theft is James Ward's first full length feature film, and an admirable first effort. as a writer/director/actor Ward makes the most of what he has to work with in terms of production. However, he manages to get credible performances out of his actors. Laura Weintraub comes off well as a man trapped in a woman's body, and thankfully we don't see the other side of this equation. Of particular note is the ending, a shocking twist to be sure, but don't stop watching until after the credits to see the full conclusion. I'm a sucker for the body swap genre, but this is tastefully done as opposed to other entries in this genre. Keep bringing it, James.

Was the above review useful to you?

This movie is great!

10/10
Author: diva-41 from United States
27 February 2013

It's so sad that the movie "Identity Thief" with Melissa MacCarthy and Jason Bateman is hurting this films ratings. People are confusing that film with this one. When I last logged in, this film was at 8.1! I have had this film in my DVD closet for a few years now, and it is adorable, funny, and suspenseful. It's hard to believe that this was made basically by a guy with a video-cam and a lot of friends, because it is comparable to all those beloved indie movies that you love so much. I wont tell you the story, because they g over that in all the other reviews, so I'll just say that this film will entertain and charm you beyond all expectations. Watch it! And please! Will you people that are giving this film a low rating because you are mixed up PLEASE read the title more carefully??

Was the above review useful to you?

Fine Film

9/10
Author: geirvig from United States
6 January 2012

Identity Theft has a fine story, great script, and some talented acting. I won't spend a lot of time on the story, just a gist: a centuries old body thief keeps changing bodies to avoid death and boredom. In the pre-title sequence we see him wounded on a civil war battlefield, he trades bodies with a doctor to avoid death, he then flees the field and thus leaves the place without a doctor. This gives us a taste of his callus disregard for others. Fortunately the body thief is not the protagonist, instead we have Matt Walker a recent lottery winner and genuinely nice guy. He has a reliable yet lecherous friend named Brian. A long story short, Matt meets Karen (the body thief) in a bar and wakes up in Karen's body and is thrown out of his home by the new Matt (the body thief). Can the new Karen get her previous male body back? See the film, it is definitely worth it. The story is unpredictable, has a Lovecraftian weirdness, and yet makes fine sense. Lots of fine touches and good commentaries in the special features. Only two things kept me from giving it a full 10 rating, neither of which had to do with the (presumed to be low) budget: when Karen and Matt are secured to chairs it looked like it would be too easy to pull ones arms wide enough to escape the chair backs. Nit picking, but it hurt the suspension of disbelief. The other detail is that I felt we should have seen (at least) Laura Weintraub's breasts. No real nudity necessary, just some bareness above the waist. Esthetically I think it would have made the flashing and stripping scenes more scenic. Other than these nitpicking details, I think James Ward has a classic in this film. I look forward to drinking games based on Laura Weintraub's great facial expressions. She is a fine actress, and made it easy to believe Matt was the new Karen. I heartily recommend this carefully crafted weird tale.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Fine Film

9/10
Author: geirvig from United States
6 January 2012

Identity Theft has a fine story, great script, and some talented acting. I won't spend a lot of time on the story, just a gist: a centuries old body thief keeps changing bodies to avoid death and boredom. In the pre-title sequence we see him wounded on a civil war battlefield, he trades bodies with a doctor to avoid death, he then flees the field and thus leaves the place without a doctor. This gives us a taste of his callus disregard for others. Fortunately the body thief is not the protagonist, instead we have Matt Walker a recent lottery winner and genuinely nice guy. He has a reliable yet lecherous friend named Brian. A long story short, Matt meets Karen (the body thief) in a bar and wakes up in Karen's body and is thrown out of his home by the new Matt (the body thief). Can the new Karen get her previous male body back? See the film, it is definitely worth it. The story is unpredictable, has a Lovecraftian weirdness, and yet makes fine sense. Lots of fine touches and good commentaries in the special features. Only two things kept me from giving it a full 10 rating, neither of which had to do with the (presumed to be low) budget: when Karen and Matt are secured to chairs it looked like it would be too easy to pull ones arms wide enough to escape the chair backs. Nit picking, but it hurt the suspension of disbelief. The other detail is that I felt we should have seen (at least) Laura Weintraub's breasts. No real nudity necessary, just some bareness above the waist. Esthetically I think it would have made the flashing and stripping scenes more scenic. Other than these nitpicking details, I think James Ward has a classic in this film. I look forward to drinking games based on Laura Weintraub's great facial expressions. She is a fine actress, and made it easy to believe Matt was the new Karen. I heartily recommend this carefully crafted weird tale.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history