IMDb > Khatta Meetha (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Khatta Meetha
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Khatta Meetha More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 30 reviews in total 

12 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

This film is definitely under-rated!

10/10
Author: Hunky Stud from China
17 April 2012

I am rating it a 10 because it is under rated.

First of all, it is very funny. Those actors know how to be funny. There were two funny scenes that I had to watch more than once. The father's painting got blackened, and the guy who got all mixed during his two phone conversations. I also laughed hard when the road roller was running backward. The chicken music was also funny when it was used during the bathroom peeking scene.

It is amazing that even though the Indian economy is not as good as China's, but their filmmakers are making impressive realistic films about bureaucracy than any Chinese directors can ever make! I am certain that these kinds of things are happening in mainland China right now, bridges collapsing, roads that need to be fixed constantly due to corruption, etc. However, Chinese film directors can never make any films like this one due to communist censorship. This is another film which Chinese directors should all watch, and make one of their own.

Here are a few famous quotes that I wrote down.

1. So if you are benefiting from it, then let us reap some benefits as well. If we benefit the country will progress, who cares about the country's progress? We are the country.

2. Only dishonest and cheat people can lie peacefully in this country.

3. I am allergic to bullshit. Minister's lecture.- bullshit. He'll give food to everyone. bullshit. We will drink clean water, bullshit.

We have the power in our hands and legs. We are not less than anyone. O thorn of the country listen to me. Why do you fill your pockets? If he gets a chance, he'll sell the whole country.

New roads and bridges will be built, bullshit. We won't get stuck in the traffic, bullshit. The work will be done on time, bullshit.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

the real sweet & sour

10/10
Author: M MALIK from Pakistan
12 December 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

please don't go with expectations when you watch a movie please don't. Khatta Meetha is a story of a man who,s luck is so bad that everything he does goes wrong,he takes money from people and never returns back & so much high on debt that a lot of people comes asking for their money daily to his house,his own family is in trouble because of his wrong doings. he and his workers does insane things together and the output is hilarious.Rajpal Yadav was funny when he does funny stuff,Urvashi Sharma was looking good. Trisha made her entry in Bollywood nicely.the soundtrack was good and the whole team of Khatta Meetha did a good job.& Priyadarshan(director) makes good movies.he is amazing.the movie is about the corruption.Akshay Kumar is great in the movie.a lot of people says that he only does movies for the money.well who does not?. i don't know about the other critics but i enjoyed this movie and it was funny.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Funny bone of corruption !!!

Author: suresh-vinay from India
23 July 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Akshay and director Priyadarshan are back. Not a remake of the old 1978 'Khatta Meetha' in which Ashok Kumar and Rakesh Roshan portrayed. Its struggling road construction contractor, Sachin Tichkule ( i.e. Akshay Kumar) who dreams much Big and Dooms Big. There is almost no chance ever that his doom dreams will come true, its for reason because he has no money for bribe! and so that's the reason for his backwardness in his work and area, after this problem the one bigger problem is there and that is, the new Municipal Commissioner turns out to be his ex- girlfriend (Trisha Krishnan) who hates Sachin Tichkule. (This movie is Trisha's Bollywood Debut) Khatta Meetha will go you taking from one disaster with Sachin Tichkule to another and another. In a light hearted way Khatta Meetha reveals the badness and corruption of the government sector, the extent of corruption and bribery which is just stuck in the system. (The scene where the road roller bumps into the house reminds me of the Malgudi days episode where the lead character wins a road roller as a bumper prize in lottery). The comedy revolves around the circumstances of the Sachin and his firm will.

7* for good laughter and the serious topic showcased in a comical way.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Nice Priyadarshan flick

8/10
Author: ketaki-dutta from United States
27 July 2010

I don't know why people gives such low ratings to this kind of a plain simple movie which raises a voice about the ongoing vices in the society. To be honest this movie is FAR better than some star- kid starer monotonous love story. I liked this movie. Short,simple, yet carries a message. Light-hearted yet enjoyable, this movie is one of the good comedy flicks in Bollywood. This movie has veteran actors like Manoj Joshi, Kulbhushan Kharbanda,Milind Gunaji, Aruna Irani, Asrani and our very favorite Akshay Kumar who is a great comedian himself. This movie reminded me of the very famous series of Pankaj Kapoor starer Office Office. I think if you like satirical comedies, this movie is definitely worth a watch. Watch it with your friends and family and chips and drink and enjoy to the core !!!! Cheers to good comedy !!!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Incredibly Underrated, Indians have very bad taste. shame

7/10
Author: Jarlie Rao
30 January 2014

Today i was sitting in front of TV. so i saw this movie. i didn't expect that i am gonna complete this movie. since i saw a low rating. in starting it has some lags. but later its become interesting. the story of a young man struggling with his career. and surrounded with corrupt peoples. the comedy of this movie was okay. but the thrill was great. i enjoyed the movie. though, despite the bad direction. i enjoyed the movie. since its a remake. can't except much. but there are other remakes in bollywood which are very very stupid. and they are hitting cinema's with name of BLOCKBUSTER. then why don't this movie. this is because of the lead of actor of this movie has lower stardom.

As per my analysis i saw Indians taste. so horrible. go watch this movie. its good.

Comedy: 6/10 Thriller:9/10 Acting:7/10 Music:6/10

Overall:7/10 . do the math :p

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Khatta Meetha is excellent and delicious fare.

10/10
Author: sameer_chan007 from India
19 August 2010

Khatta Meetha is an excellent film made by Akshay Kumar & Shree Ashtavinayak Cinevision Ltd,., directed by Priyadarshan. It is the movie for the common man, who will enjoy watching it. It will be enjoyed by every Indian who knows and has some experience of the government and the beuraucracy. Akshay Kumar is fantastic and truly transforms himself in this film. He has breathed life into Sachin Tichkule, his character in the movie. It will be remembered as one of his best movies. The film did not do better business, though it is an average hit because the critics had run it down. I am increasingly feeling that they are anti Akshay or have lost touch with what the Indian audiences like. Those who have missed it in the theaters will I sure love it when they see it on TV and will then know that it was more pleasurable watching it than other so called critically acclaimed movies released during that period. They will know how not o trust those critics. These critics are very seriously a confused lot who give an amateur fare like Tere BIn Laden a f star and internationally acclaimed movie like Red Alert, a 2 star. The movie is a satire and has its happy and sad moments. And the director has done an excellent job of putting everything together and getting a good work from all actors. The movie has a good story, a family an honest retired judge whose children and in-laws are just the opposite and are corrupt And one of the children happen to be Akshay who is corrupt but has a conscience. The actors Akshay , Rajpal Yadhav, Jonny Lever, Kulbhushan Karbhanda, Aruna Irani, Asrani ... have all done an excellent job. Wish Trisha could have had more spunk. But even that does not affect the move. The songs are good and are not out of place. All in all it was an enjoyable experience and had the audience on that first weekend rolling with laughter.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

4.9 rating for THIS amazing movie? Indians should be ashamed of their taste.

10/10
Author: Mukesh Bhojwani from India
17 October 2014

This is an amazing movie that shows what really happens in the Bureaucracy and how this nation is being looted by unholy public private alliance. It has perfect blend of comedy, drama, romance, and hundred percent succeeds in telling us how the honest people have to suffer. Priyadarshan has succeeded to include comedy to not make it a serious plot and hats off to him to get the message through in a light way. I'm at a loss of logic why this movie should not be a hit. In my view this is a world class movie and brilliant acting done by all and of course Akshay has proved he can handle any kind of role thrown at him.

And shame on Indian masses for liking the useless rubbish of srk, salman, and aamir but not this gem of a movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Priyadarshan's fault.

8/10
Author: k-karnavat
9 August 2010

The reason why the movie didn't work like other Akshay Kumars flick is because, Priyadarshan called this movie a funny flick. The movie is pretty serious and deals with the corruption in India.

The movie is funny too, the reason why other critics don't get it, is simply because they lack sense of humour.

Anyway, The movie was really well made from the proper contractor look given to Akshay Kumar, who portrays it brilliantly with his comic timing, to Rajpal Yadav's expressions.

The movie has gives a social message as well as entertains you.

The negative part about the movie is that it's too long. It could've been short and simple. The actors are loud too plus Asrani is really annoying at times.

The film is really good.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious movie!!!

7/10
Author: livyatnair from United Arab Emirates
11 March 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I think this is one of the few movies where Akshay Kumar is absolutely hilarious and in his element in a comic role. He has acted really well, playing the middle class contractor in a small time Indian town. Another character who is priceless in this is Rajpal Yadav. As the sidekick to the contractor sahib, he is a riot with his comic timing. With the two of them in the lead roles, this movie keeps you laughing for quite a bit. Yes, the movie tends to get a bit long, but that is not unlike any other Hindi movie. Trisha isn't very convincing in her role and does look a bit artificial. The first half of the movie has most of the laughs when the character of Akshay Kumar is introduced to the film goers. One sees how he is a struggling contractor, made fun of at home by his elder brothers. He however refuses to give into all this negativity and realizes that his brothers are not doing the right thing and are crooks. The second half of the movie is a bit more serious where one sees Akshay come to his senses and do the right thing by his father and his sister. Overall a nice watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Pot-Holes Full Of Slapstick Comedy

6/10
Author: Somak Basu from India
29 August 2010

After The Release of the movie, all the reviews written for "Khatta Meetha" is far different from this one. This one's a bit introvert but that doesn't mean that this review is better than other ones. Review is a series of sentences in which a critic puts down his emotions & personal thought on the film. This one's also like that. Usually, people go to theaters to watch a Priyadarshan flick only to enjoy to some good comedy(yes comedy, not humor. Humor is "Tere Bin Laden"). And when Akshay Kumar's with Priyadarshan, it always promises hilarious scenes, very funny dialogues & The Entertainment Machine "Akshay Kumar" Himself. This time not only does Akshay Kumar acts in A Priyan Movie but also produces it.

Watching the over-humorous promos of "Khatta Meetha", one will run to theaters only to experience bellyache r comedy by The most famous comedians like Akki, Rajpal Yadav , Johnny Lever, Asrani & many Others. But this one's not based on comedy only. Ya, it's not a comic caper. Also you can't believe it to be a satire by watching the video of the song "Bullshit". Then What is Khatta Meetha based on? - Khatta Meetha is a brave and honest attempt on the politics behind road construction and pool projects in our country. But the extraordinary comedy in it will also indicate it as a fultoo comedy movie. So, balancing on the two boats, Khatta Meetha starts it journey and its success surely depends on how viewers will take it as.

The Story covers on Sachin Tichkule(Akshay Kumar), A Hard-struggling Road contractor whose dream is to get pool & shopping-mall projects. He also thinks much for his work-force where the most naughty one is Rangeela(Rajpal Yadav). But the work-force being not so skillful & many impious works by Sachin results to his road to success full of pot- holes. Not only that, his college love-interest Gehna Ganphule(Trisha Krishnan) comes to town being the municipal commissioner who's payback with Sachin troubles Sachin more. Also Karodimal(Asrani) is after Sachin for his money and interest. But the main sorrow in his life is when his parents are not beside him, his brother-in-laws Trigun Fatak(Manoj Joshi), Suhas Vichare(Milind Gunaji) & his elder brother Harish always exploit him because professionaly he's a nincompoop. But The Story catches other line when Priyadarshan makes us realize that Sachin's Brother-in-law duo & Harish is terribly involved in dirty politics which has mercy for nothing. From here, the main storyline continues.

Usually, Priyadarshan movies only make us laugh too much but this one's very different from his older works because beside making us laugh beating the chair handles, it also shows the shameful politics and the ultra violence and the severity that politics involves. That's why it will be much 'Kadhwa' for many people and hard to digest.

Akshay Kumar's always the main attraction and he always keeps the respect for that dignity. His comedy timings, expressions, dialogue throwing and serious acting in some scenes - everything will make the whole cineplex whistle and clap and also beat the cuisines where the audiences are sitting themselves. Which reminds me that this film has some good dialouges which were never before heard and expected in Priyadarshan's Comic Movie Making tradition. Trisha is not bad but it fells that she is underestimated in the whole movie. She would have done better if her role was shown important in the movie. Urvashi, Manoj Joshi, Milind Gunaji, Neeraj Vora, Aruna Irani, Kulbhushan Kharbanda, Makrand Deshpande everyone were fare. But the ones who snatch the eyeballs were Rajpal Yadav, Asrani in their comic best; Johnny Lever as a cameo and Hot Kainaat Arora in the party song of the year "Aila Re Aila".

Music Was not so good except the funny satiric "Bullshit" & "Aila Re Aila". The most beautiful song the movie "Sajda" was changed from K.K. to a Roop Kumar Rathore Version. Anyway, It's disappointing Pritam.

Now if I come to the negative sides then, This film doesn't contain a straight and particular plot. Many attempts like the Road-Roller scene, Karodimal's house decoration and some more like that will make u laugh in the theaters but returning home, when u will think about the movie the foregoing scenes will feel like unnecessary. This film has many thing to tell in only 160 minute duration. But if you watch the film cool-minded then maybe it will not feel unwell to you otherwise you will be willing for the film to end not taking any more pressure in mind.

The final word for "Khatta Meetha" is that if you are a die-hard Akshay or Akshay's comic talent fan, then this one's only for you. Don't Go on its looks or promos, this one's very different than its hilarious promos and has a strong concept in it which could have been used much better. But allover, if you support my views then don't miss this one if you wanna have a good time in the theaters long after "3 Idiots".

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history