Perfect Sense (2011) Poster

(2011)

User Reviews

Add a Review
112 Reviews
Sort by:
9/10
A beautiful film that won't be for everyones' tastes.
Don A.7 February 2012
I won't spend a lot on the synopsis since most have already explained it. Simply put, this movie is a story of two people who fall in love just as an epidemic spreads across the world ridding people of their five senses, one by one.

Personally, I loved the film! It is a beautiful film to look at, even in the most devastating of scenes. I felt multiple emotions throughout the film, of which I felt the movie accomplished well. There are scenes that may make you laugh, scenes that may make you feel tense, scenes that may make you shed some tears, scenes that may make you feel more appreciative of what you have in life.

Now like I said in the title of this review this film is not for everyone. Some will find it silly or weird such as the symptoms that precede the loss of each sense (an example includes a massive consumption of everything in sight, from flowers to lipstick to a whole can of mustard). Some may also feel the movie is too optimistic in an end-of-the-world-scenario. You will either go with the film or you won't. I went with it and was thoroughly moved.

I've read multiple reviews on this film, and it seems that many people take different things away from it. That is what I think makes a great film, when people are left to discuss after the credits roll. This is definitely one of my most favorites films in a while, and I wouldn't hesitate to watch it again.
67 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A very simple review
Steve B9 December 2012
There's no point rehashing what many of the other reviews say. I will tell you the one thing that matters: I've only ever cried over 3 movies, 1st when ET died (I was like 8), 2nd at the end of Ice Castles (again, I think I was 8 -- bad year), and finally at the end of this movie. I cried for 30 minutes. Then my wife wanted to watch the ending again because she missed something and I cried again. I don't know why this movie touched me so deeply but it did. You feel for the characters, you fear for what happens next. When the screen goes blank at the end, you fear for what will become of them. This was a powerful film and I highly recommend it.
46 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Strong film
Eva S.30 December 2011
I wouldn't want to say a lot about the story. Perfect Sense is a film you have to see, taste, smell, listen. It's not a Contagion - like movie, it's not a zombie one either, but it could definitely be a post - apocalyptic reality check.

We could, but we wouldn't want to imagine something like that happening, yet again "what if". How strong is the human heart and mind and how could we adapt in such a massive change? This film might suggest a hint.

Ewan McGregor plays a chef that somehow gets involved with Eva Green, a scientist. Then, all that matters is how these two characters cope with an epidemic that bursts, depriving people their senses.

I found this film quite enlightening, the performances intense, the music appropriate and, last but not least, the photography/ filming magnificent. Great work from the director David Mackenzie. The end was mind blowing, for me.

Keep an open mind, look at the big picture and it'll be worth your time.
128 out of 161 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The Most Terrifying Film I've seen in Years!
giggedyguy29 December 2011
Yes, it's a romantic film. There's a lot of light-hearted stuff in the mix. But the concept of what inevitably will happen and the events mapping the way were frightening to me. I had a very present fear that the same thing could happen to me, silly as that sounds. I felt like I'd been punched in the stomach at the end.

My roommate and I watched this and Contagion on the same night. Compared to this, Contagion was a let down and almost boring--not denying that it was a really good film, it just wasn't as polished. Perfect Sense had so much STYLE and kept us glued to the screen. It was so entertaining! I think it's my favorite "world might be ending" movie of all time. I've never been so satisfied by a film of this genre before.
112 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Quite an Eye opener
tharun mohan27 September 2011
I don't know where to start, but it was quite an eye opener, since civilization began there are certain things that we take for granted, The basic things like our senses you will only realise it when you lose them.... as they say "Perhaps only in a world of the blind will things be what they truly are".. To understand the true beauty of life, you need to know what being alive is all about. After watching the movie I felt that it answered some of my questions... I think everyone should watch this movie... you might find it a bit slow phased but believe me it's a ride worth going for.... Ewan McGregor has done a marvellous job and so did Eva Green, the direction is flawless and it moves like poetry. Please watch this movie....
112 out of 153 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Richer Fabric
Stephen26 January 2011
When I read the synopsis for _Perfect Sense_, I was expecting an apocalyptic romance. I was wrong. Such a description is too neat. This is more than escapist entertainment. It is an experience to be savored.

Its story is deceptively simple. It weaves a richer fabric than any casual touch will detect. Those who think its central device capricious (the disease and its development) give themselves too much credit for discerning the logic of their own lives. An illness may seem to follow no obvious or satisfying plot, but who can say whether any "misfortune" fails to follow a narrative too subtle for the prejudice of those who feel injured by it? Those who require every story to have a tidy, forensic resolution, with an indictable perpetrator for every ordeal, on whom they can unleash their outrage in order to achieve "closure," are the victims of their own narrow interpretation. Most pain is not conspiracy. The shared affliction of this story is poetic metaphor; however, like most good art, this film is about its characters, not its literary devices.

The cast's performances are not only authentic, they are illuminating; particularly Ewan McGregor's and Eva Green's central couple. Were they mere victims, their story would be hopeless tragedy. Instead, theirs is the account of an ordinary and vulnerable man and woman with extraordinary resilience, who attack, then embrace each other, stumbling over their circumstances as they learn to transcend them.

**A Brief Response to ArizWldcat's One-star Review**

If those at the premiere who asked questions after the screening (during the Q&A) are a representative sample of the audience, few of Mr. Mackenzie's viewers got the "point" of his film. One person asked the director what message or meaning he hoped we, his audience, would take from his film. He looked nonplussed at this question. He responded that the viewer had to answer that for himself.

It seems that Mr./Ms. ArizWldcat was one of those who expected this film to be easily categorized and to reaffirm a specific, pre-determined view of the world, such as a feel-good romance or a psychological thriller. The guy gets the girl and they save the world in the process, all portrayed through a predictably formulaic sequence of events. Everyone lives happily ever after. By those prerequisites, we would also be forced to give _Hamlet_ or _Citizen Kane_ one out of ten stars.

_Perfect Sense_ is a film whose "point" is not to make its audience comfortable or to provide the adrenaline buzz of a "thriller." Its purpose is to portray authentic human experience in an impossible situation. It did so admirably. It is one of the most hopeful films I have ever seen.
218 out of 313 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
brilliant, artistic & cinematic..
Perfect Sense turns out to be a flavor-rich drama with absorbing performances from the lead pair Ewan McGregor & Eva Green. And I would categorize it as a perfectly made scifi drama, alongside the likes of Eternal Sunshine & Children of Men.

The narrative style and the evolving storyline makes it an enjoyable drama. It doesn't shoulder the burden of a beginning or an end, the genesis of an epidemic or an apocalyptic vision. Instead its all depicted in the background, thus making the movie enlivening. And never ever did i get a dark vibe, for with each phase it moves on just the way its shown in the movie. And then finally we don't pity, rather, we empathize and be part of that world.

Thankfully, we don't have surreal gimmickry or plot viagra's in the movie - as its common and indispensable in scifi & romantic flicks - which makes it artistic and cinematic. Loved every bit of this extraordinary movie experience.. :)
49 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
darkness falls
CountZero31330 July 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Of all the senses, smell most strongly connects us to memory and the past. Taste locks us into the present. Hearing and sight help us navigate through the world. It is touch, however, that connects us intimately to each other.

"Perfect Sense' presents a pre-apocalyptic event, the loss, on a global scale, of the senses one by one. Michael and Susan are flawed individuals, a chef and a doctor, carrying their scars and regrets through Glasgow's world of bright young things, two individuals who find each other just as the world loses everything.

Eva Green as Susan is instantly charismatic, a strong-willed, demanding woman who sets high standards because she knows she deserves it. At the same time, she fears no one can live up to her demands. McGregor gets to test his range as Michael, going through women like short-orders in his kitchen, with just as much attention and interest. When he meets his match in Susan, he has to face that he has found what he has been looking for all his life, and now a pandemic will take it away. His loss proves the most profoundly moving element of the film.

McKenzie films Glasgow in glory and decay, making wonderful use of water and reflected light as he did in Young Adam. The hard jar of the camera on a bicycle sans steadicam is a brave choice, but it draws your attention to visual sense and foreshadows the losses about to fall. Before each sense is lost there is a brief intense burning of that sense. This is most effectively portrayed in a canny use of sound when Susan stops the car, winds down the window, and the cacophony of sound in our world, starting with church bells and extending to screeching parrots, rushes in on the two silent, fearful lovers.

There is one missed beat, when Susan takes the huff because of what Michael says in his virus-induced rage before losing a sense. With the world coming to an end all around you, it stretches credulity to think she'd throw a strop over some bilious comments - especially as a medic. But it does set up a beautiful denouement, the lovers desperately searching for reconciliation as the world gradually, then suddenly, stops functioning.

This is a moving film, a thought-provoking one, about love, connection, and all the things we take for granted. An antidote to bombastic, finger-wagging fare such as Day After Tomorrow, it earns your tears at several moments. Quite possibly Mackenzie's best film to date.
56 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
I felt fear of illness
little-greenmen2 October 2013
Susan, expert of infection is dumped by her boyfriend, so she spent lonely time. When she was working hard without thinking loneliness, she meets Michael who looks frivolous man. At first, she doesn't have interest in him, but they attracted each other gradually. One day, the illness that takes away the five senses broke out around the world suddenly. The people who infectious act the strange action, for instance, become furious, become too hungry and eat anything. What will they become?

I felt fear of this illness and people's behavior. Especially, people feel starvation, and they eat oils, soaps, animals, and other things what is not foods. The other scenes, people act the abnormal behave, and made me feel a fear. If this illness exists in this world actually and we become lose our senses, I would not know what to do. Susan feels happy with Michael at last, but their relationship about to be broken for many times, and it made me sad. However, we can see their bond.

After watching this film, I thought we have five senses is very happy. It told us the blessing of good health.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
It's something between "The tree of life and "Blindness"
eduneto4 January 2012
Even after watching it, I still don't know if it's brilliant or pathetic. It's something between "The tree of life" and "Blindness". For those who managed to watch it till the end, it will be definitely disturbing. Photography is amazing. Some disgusting scenes that could have been cut, some great ones that will make you remember your own past.I enjoyed specially Eva's "Blade Runner style" narration, with all those thoughts about love and the meaning of life. Maybe that's what the movie is all about, love is the only thing that makes sense in our lives. Anyway, at the end I realized that a movie who brings us such controversial feelings, is a far from being pathetic.
44 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Impressing and awakening!
Catutz893 January 2012
"There is darkness. There is light. There are men and women. There's food. There are restaurants. Disease. There is work. Traffic. The days as we knew them. The world as we imagine the world." That's the epic intro.

After watching the movie, you will start to realize the things we do and the things we don't do. The conclusion will be to start taste the joy, hear the colors and see the sun.

The acting by Ewan McGregor and Eva Green is fitting very well to the plot. I think 2012 will be a good year for BBC films.

A perfect way to start 2012!
48 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Has a lot going for it initially but loses a lot due to plot-holes, etc.
Brainpiercing18 March 2012
Warning: Spoilers
First of all: This movie has a lot going for it. Powerful imagery, good acting, generally good pacing, as has undoubtedly been discussed before. However, after watching it I was mainly annoyed by the gigantic plot-holes and strange idiosyncracies the movie contains. What happened to cell phones, sms, or even the internet? Why antagonize the viewer with the overly stupid behaviour exhibited by the main protagonists when the disease starts looming in on their relationship? And the final annoyance to tip the scales was the **SPOILER** superbly corny reunion scene, using so many over-used "near-miss" techniques, compounded by the characters' inability to hear, all of which could have been avoided by a single sms. These people were using cellphones before. ***/SPOILER***

So in the end the weird mix of realism on the one hand and a strangely unrealistic string of events didn't leave me convinced. The movie felt like the script writer had a few distinct scenes in mind which were to happen at various points in the script, and then somehow forced everything to fit together. This has NEVER worked well. A good scene that is made to happen by contriving some obscure constellation of events ends up just as contrived as the rest of the construction.

***SPOILER*** And finally the movie leaves you with a profound feeling of "So what?". It's really an apocalypse film that focuses on dealing with the inevitable consequences, but the final outcome really IS the end of the world, in spite of the final words of the narrator. It would have been more powerful if the movie had ended with a less catastrophic final phase for the disease. As is, you are now left to imagine how everyone stumbles around until they inevitably starve. ***/SPOILER***

The only way this movie sort of works is as a strange moral piece on taking things for granted and coping with the loss of them.
17 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
World Premier review
Zac26 January 2011
Warning: Spoilers
A global pandemic is about to shatter the world and irrevocably change the human race. It starts with an emotional breakdown- the brain responding to the first stages of infection by frying receptors in the Limbic system. Those infected flare up with overpowering grief, sadness, despair. And then their sense of smell fails. It is this touchstone moment of emotion before the loss of one of the five senses, which brings the two main characters together and it is their shared experience of a planet-wide neurological disorder that brings us into the film. One by one, emotions rage, and other senses fail. Taste, followed by, hearing… and finally in the last crushing blow to a society struggling to hold on- sight.

If this plot sounds too much like science-fiction or derivative of a nail-biting season finale of House, fear not, it is merely the backdrop for an exploration of the human condition. What makes use who we are? We are fragile, unstable creatures even at our best- but sometimes resilient and courageous when at our worst. The science behind the epidemic is never explained and there's no pretense of curing it. So quickly do the symptoms take effect, that the film's inhabitants are left with little more to do than make the most out of the time left and strive to achieve something beyond their base- to champion their souls and fight against the crushing illness and the loss of that which has identified them for so long.

If you are familiar with Scottish Director David Mackenzie's early works, the outline of the film's premise makes it fairly easy to see why he chose to bring Danish writer, Kim Fupz Aakeson's screenplay to life. His seminal works have laid the foundations for the new resurgence of Scottish film. While contemporary and far more well known Scotsman, Danny Boyle, enlivens his films with bold color, sharp edits, and a signature kinetic energy, in an appeal to a mass audience, Mackenzie chooses instead to wash his films in the rust of the Edinburgh shipping lanes, blanket them in the heavy slate sky of the highlands, and dampen each soul within his camera's frame with the weight of the world. In films like Asylum and Young Adam his lens is a dystopian one, tackling a somber reality and exploring the depths of human weakness with an unflinching, if almost depraved honesty. Then- he went on to direct an Ashton Kutcher sex comedy. For that we can forgive him, because Perfect Sense brings him back to form.

His fellow collaborators rise to the artistic merits of this piece as well. Cinematographer Giles Nuttgens (who we can all agree owes us many more great films like this to make up for lensing the worst film of all time, Battlefield Earth) gives this film a clarity and gentle depth of field that allows the viewer to sink into the story and goes on to highlight the emotional and psychological pay-offs of the dynamic plot. Composer Max Richter, one of the unsung stars of his craft, brings about a gentle piano score- it serves the story in the best possible way: never intruding, only elevating. Star Ewan McGregor also puts forth some of his best work to date. His previous collaboration with Mackenzie brought us Young Adam, and with the same visual tableau on display here, it could have been easy to start seeing shades of that unsettling character when this particular story deserved a much subtler approach. McGregor shines in a difficult role and helps guide the audience through the strange tale. Eva Green is perfectly cast. Her striking features and cool, collected demeanor can sometimes be so visually arresting and emotionally blunt that she distracts. But here she plays to her natural strengths as an actress and serves as a bellwether for the societal apocalypse to come.

We follow these two characters, McGregor a chef, Green an epidemiologist brought to Scotland to study the mysterious illness, through the stages of breakdown, the loss of senses one by one. We see the world spiraling out of control through their heroic struggle to hold on- to enjoy a meal without smell or taste, to take the time to appreciate a church bell's ringing or a child crying, knowing it may well be the last time they hear anything at all. Around them we see the slow breakdown of the human condition for some: rioting, chaos, the loss of will. But we also see reminders of our strengths. People dining out just for he pure experience of buying someone else a drink and being waited on. Or later in the film, lone citizens walking the streets after a riot, resetting bikes on their racks or stridently sweeping up glass shards- refusing to let the gradual loss of their senses define who they are as people.

The film itself makes bold choices. When the pandemic begins to affect the sense of hearing, the sound drops out, and yes when the illness finally takes away one's sight, the screen goes dark as well; but the film plays on. It's a bit tough to describe any further, as that would be giving away too much. Remember, this is not about a film about curing disease; it's about who we are as people. And rather surprisingly considering his previous films and the dark subject matter of this film, David Mackenzie seems to think there is a lot to champion about humanity. That despite all our imperfections, there is a little spark of something pure and almost holy within each of us that isn't defined by how we interpret the world, or, quite literally, how we feel. It is defined and strengthened by what we do. When everything else is going wrong around you and the world is slowly fading to dark- what one does in that exact moment is what defines a soul.
35 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Beautiful, I was enthralled.
Yvonne Sandoval17 December 2012
This film was so beautiful and I took away an appreciation for love and family and the closeness of my friends and lover. I wept for the two main characters at the end, not because of how sad it was, but because of how beautiful their love was. Sorry my review is not as eloquent written as some of the others here, but I felt I owed it to review the movie and give it some form of support and allow the world to know how much I appreciated the message as I interpreted it at the end. The beautiful French actress I had never heard of, but she was lovely to watch and Ewan came across as so real, as did the entire cast. Glad I stopped to watch this one on Showtime last night, it left me in deep thought and I slept like a kitten afterward.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A Perfect Sense of reality
dellis_0122 December 2011
The one thing I can say about this movie is that it is consistent with the pessimistic view of the human race when presented with something out of the ordinary. For all of the movies with apocalyptic themes, the only consistent factor is that humans are generally evil, and all we need is one small bump in the universe to turn us all into raving lunatics.

As I was watching, I was reminded of 'The Happening'. Wonderful idea of a world taking revenge on its inhabitants, and this movie could have been following the same theme, but it's done differently.

I love the progress of the character development, especially when Michael experiences the same selfish narcissistic tendencies (or so he thinks) in his new love interest that he has portrayed in the past. The blatant exposure of self when the loss of sensory perception shows how transparent and weak we actually are really brings a perfect sense of reality to those watching.

True, the character acting is superfluous, but with the actors available, what else would you expect (I was completely ready for Eva Green to die of consumption whilst Ewan MacGregor sings an Elton John tune at the top of his lungs... COME WHAT MAAAYYYY).

True, the plot has holes, but being caught up in the emotion of each of the tragedies, and anticipation of the arrival of the next, provides an escape from the rigors of perfection of plot (and, honestly, if they wanted to fill in all of the holes with Tom Clancy-ish type descriptions, the movie would have to be 4 hours long... this story could have been done as a one-hour special on TV).

This one was definitely worth the 88 minutes, and I would be open to watching it again.
36 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
It All Makes. . .
Cinnyaste20 December 2011
Warning: Spoilers
"Perfect Sense" offers multiple layers within a love-conquers-all story set against a seeming pandemic/Armageddon backdrop. While it can be construed solely as that, "Perfect Sense," a quite extraordinary film, offers far more. This is a tale of man's indomitable spirit and true nature... and a trip down a much needed evolutionary road.

Stripped one-by-one of the five senses, mankind, represented by unlikely lovers McGregor (a sensualist chef) and Green (a pragmatic epidemiologist), bravely soldiers forward with, "life goes on," after a series of cathartic events precede the loss of a sense: deep grief effects smell; wild, ravenous hunger kills taste; rage causes hearing loss. The lovers, she reluctant, he uncertain, hit all the requisite beats in the filmed love story play book, and comfort each other as the world as we know it falls apart.

While the quite clever script successfully juggles a lot of balls, it is the underscoring of man's true nature that is most appealing. Without the senses (all but touch are lost within the film's tight 92 minutes), we are doomed to physically die. Yet, "life goes on." Everlasting life. Without being preachy, "Perfect Sense" points to our spirits as what's deep underneath all the needless pain and suffering we blithely mete out through our fallible senses. "Luke, your eyes can deceive you, don't trust them." So warned Obi-Wan. So too say these filmmakers.

Neither new-agey nor trite, the final loss, sight, is prefaced by peaceful acceptance - a golden enlightenment. Humans see into the souls of others. The recognition brings deep acceptance and unconditional love. The lovers are blissfully happy, "to (simply) kiss and feel each others breathing." Every catharsis/loss lays the groundwork for the enlightenment.

McGregor is a chef who requires senses. He must learn to create cuisine for those without taste and smell. (As life does go on, there's a bit of comedy when a reviewer who's lost his taste posts a restaurant review focusing solely on textures.) Green struggles down blind alleys to quantify the virus for eradication. The lovers are polar opposites - intellect versus emotion. They find common ground as they 'catch' the contagion from each other.

There's also a nod to the Kübler-Ross model, commonly known as The Five Stages of Grief. It's a fitting template for humanity's physical death.

McGregor's performance here is understated as is Green's. Strangely understated. Yet they indicate how, at times, our closest relationships are shallow. In the opening scenes McGregor asks a sexual conquest to leave as he can't sleep with another sharing the bed. Green later does the same to the perplexed, protesting ("Is it something I did?") McGregor. Shoes on different feet.

"Perfect Sense" is thoroughly engaging and delightfully thought provoking. It is not a tragedy, but a celebration. It is not a race-against-time-to-save-humanity film a la "Contagion." It is a serious drama; a Glasgow gem. "Perfect Sense" gently and courageously points to a world in turmoil and asks, 'is this what must happen for us to truly see, hear and love each other?'
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
lose yourself to the full extension of your senses
zuzic10 July 2014
Whenever you're lost just slow down . Stop and for a moment just stand still. Don't move just breathe... Take a deep breath and let your mind wander away.

For a moment just lose yourself to the full extension of your senses .

Feel that ? That's life running through your veins, the deepest essence of your being.

It's the world around you.

Taste it , feel it, smell it, watch it as it spins madly around you and hear her as she whispers to you.

Now open your eyes. You are ALIVE!!!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Dull
madge591325 May 2012
I have never written a review before but compelled to do so today - Thank goodness we got to watch this one for free. For those who loved it, bravo - you picked it apart and enjoyed the nuances of the plot and took it all to heart. But the movie is advertized as a romantic drama...there is absolutely no romance, very little build-up between the characters, except physical release. I didn't feel that there was much acting...the dialog was weak (what there was of it) and extremely hard to hear. The music was LOUD and the dialog was SO quiet...We turned up the volume as high as we could and could barely hear it - then the music BLARED at us. We moved to a second TV/DVD player and experienced the same thing - I always hate when movies do this. I get that the movie is about loss and learning to deal with it and trying to move on...but it is SO slow. It just drags along, and we kept waiting for the tension to build and it never did. We were both glad that we only wasted 90 minutes on this film.
18 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Why
Klaas de Vos19 January 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Why ? That's the only thing I got out of this movie.

I've never had the urge to write a review about a movie, but seeing it getting such high votes I had to write this.

I just don't get it. The director had so many opportunities to give a blimp of hope at the end of the movie, but didn't.

So you spend 1.5 hours looking at people who's world is collapsing and then the movie is over. I just wonder what the, a-star, actors thought when they were asked for this film. I'm sure they asked: what is the story about ? And the the director would say: well we start with people loosing their smell, then their hearing and then they go deaf and blind and then THE END. Geez, that sounds like a great movie, please pick me !

Or is the fact that the director is English and therefore sophisticated and me as an American actor am just not smart enough to understand the deeper meaning of the film ? Whatever the reason they decided to join this movie, it was the wrong reason. They should have better used that time to spend with their loved ones in the real world instead of sending a non-hope film to the world.

Why people rate this movie high and claim it is about hope ?

It's not ! It's a depressing, ugly, movie.
25 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Perfect Sense? Perfect Mince, more like!
paulfcockburn17 June 2011
Warning: Spoilers
There's always a risk calling your film something like 'Perfect Sense'; because, sooner or later, someone's going to point at the Emperor's New Clothes and go: "Perfect mince, more like!" Especially in Glasgow.

Let's just say there's nothing perfect about this film; it's unintentionally funny; it utterly fails to make anything of its central location; it is embarrassingly pretentious; and it is horrendously scripted and acted. Except for a few small scenes, Ewan McGregor relies on his goofy smile to earn him audience sympathy, while Eva Green's one-note, we've-seen-it-all- before performance is just the wrong side of arrogance, like she feels she's superior to everyone else in the cast. I don't, for one minute, actually believe she's an epidemiologist.

The central conceit of the film is, of course, absolutely ridiculous -- an inexplicable epidemic is gradually depriving humanity of its senses, starting with smell and taste, then going straight for hearing and sight. (What happened to touch, one wonders?) This isn't, in itself, a problem, except that any suspension of disbelief is undermined by the film choosing to push this medical nonsense to the fore, rather than hide it behind some believable characterisation, recognisable plot or even some energetic hand-waving. Instead, we're left with a snail's-paced, condescending, sledge-hammer meditation on how we've all lost touch with each other. Or something like that.

The worst thing about this film isn't all the talent and money that went into its production; it's the question of what has gone wrong with David Mackenzie? Young Adam and Hallam Foe were startling and innovative cinematic works. Now it would seem he's had a narrative lobotomy. And whoever told him it would a good idea to strap his camera to a bicycle really should be shot. They invented steady cam for a reason.
40 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Pathetic
syanea29 January 2012
Warning: Spoilers
It could have been a great movie, it certainly had some ingredients. The main plot could have been really interesting, but instead it decided to stick to the obscure side of it, skip the science or any sense. That's right it made no sense. Why oh why, would you end the movie Ike that, it had such potential and yet, it is ruined. It could have been a great movie, but instead it is depressing, obscure, unfinished, oh yeah and forget your sense of touch, that's not on his list for some reason... Really disturbing, really unfinished, safe your time for a good movie... I like the actors, but it still doesn't make up for a poor and unfinished storyline. No thank you, I would not recommend it to anyone.
16 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
wast of time
stevefitchie19 February 2012
This is a terrible movie......Actually got to see this movie in the cinema for free and wanted to get up and walk out. Never in my life have i ever thought of walking out of a movie...Stuck it out hoping it would suddenly evolve into something half decent....Sadly it didn't. How Ewan Mcgregor and Eva Green got themselves involved in this project i just cant understand. i am a great fan of science fiction/fantasy/apocalyptic movie types ,even if there is a love theme running through the script, but this was just a complete waste of time and money.I wouldn't recommend this movie to anyone and i know personally i will never sit down to watch it again.I even heard other cinema goers on the night i seen it verbally abusing it as they left... thumbs down on this one people....
17 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
a generously subsidized high school project
Boris Todorov26 August 2012
A disturbingly boring movie on a subject of such uncompromising grandeur one wonders whether the idea came from a fourteen-, or from a fifteen-year old kid. Because first, it is usually at the age of 14/15 that authors try to reveal the ultimate light of truth to humankind (as this project does), and it is again at that age that the longing to feel each other's bodies (the "perfect sense" as we realize at the end of the show after complete sensory darkness obliterates everything else) is most pungent and dismissive of anything else human experience might have brought. Dull musical score, slow motion, redundant scenes, predictable script, banal conclusion: all too well for an art school project, yet making us watching it for the sake of Green and McGregor makes me feel cheated.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Lyrical mix of "end times" and "true love" with some dazzling results
secondtake8 July 2014
Perfect Sense (2011)

Take a whole new end of the world idea, one that's preposterous and chilling, and layer a naturally "perfect" romance into it, and you have this ambitious, lovely movie. You surely must suspend your disbelief—like when the blind people cross the tracks and step perfectly over the rails, or when everyone succumbs to a symptom simultaneously—but that's part of what makes the movie work. It takes chances, never loses touch with its heart, and has two terrific leads holding it all together.

The first of these is the ever interesting Ewan McGregor, who seems to zero in on slightly offbeat semi-big budget films. That is, he's not doing indie movies (yet), but he sometimes moves through a less obvious zone of really compelling projects with high production values, like "Trainspotting," "Moulin Rouge!," and "Cassandra's Dream." So he has a likable (some would say lovable) quality here as a regular guy, a serious chef who's selfish in relationships.

Until he meets, by chance, the other lead, Eva Green, who is distant and reluctant and gradually won over by this sweetness of this man. At first he seems like a player, but they both realize there is something special going on. And what a time to fall in love, just when the world is falling apart.

Oh, you want to know what goes wrong with everyone, worldwide? I'm not telling. Even the first instance is a nice surprise (I hadn't read any blurbs). There is a lightness to the terrifying truth of it, and to the lack of fighting back (even though Green plays an epidemiologist). It's a little like "Children of Men" in that sense, where a malady strikes and it goes worldwide and there is not clue how that could possibly be true.

Because, in fact, it's not about that, exactly. Or it uses those events to make you see what matters from the point of view of the protagonists.

The reason it fails to quite transcend, despite having all the elements to do so, is partly that the answer (to what matters in life) we already know. The movie confirms it beautifully—I recommend watching it—but there is possibly an emptiness of purpose that gets in the way. And the other plot, the illness spreading in stages through the world, is left alone, except for how it affects the afflicted. Which is everyone.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Neither romantic nor exciting
WatchedAllMovies28 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
After I read the description of the movie at the back of the cover saying it combines both a romantic and a science movie in one, I had a feeling it's not going to be good. Turns out I was right.

A strange illness/disease causes people to experience an emotional outburst and subsequently lose their sense of smell. Eva green plays a scientist who is responsible for figuring out this disease.

The pace is very slow, too slow for it to be a science thriller. There is no feeling of urgency, but rather a feeling of calmness, as if everyone has given up hope and decide to live with this disease.

On the "romantic" aspect, a guy meets a girl. They have nothing in common (ok, they both smoke), but seems to fall in love. That's not very romantic. That's just stupid lust. The only exciting thing, if at all, is you get to see Eva Green partially nude.

I don't know if she's doing this because she needs the money or because she thinks she's getting old (better strip now when people still want to see her). A good movie does not need nudity to attract audience.

Frankly, I quit watching the movie after a while because it is boring. I might go back and finish watching it eventually, or not.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews