IMDb > Sleep Tight (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Mientras duermes
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Sleep Tight More at IMDbPro »Mientras duermes (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 59 reviews in total 

63 out of 79 people found the following review useful:

A must watch for fans of psychological thrillers

9/10
Author: James C from Canada
18 May 2012

Without the use of gratuitous violence and gore, this movie manages to find it's place at the top of it's genre.

It is incredibly uncomfortable to watch, and part of me wanted to stop watching at several points. It is truly amazing how the movie manages to evoke such a feeling of suspense and, well, awkwardness from the audience.

Movies like 'Funny Games' and 'The Strangers' attempt to provoke the audience in similar ways but fall short, while other films like 'Martyrs' use over-the-top gore to aid their attempts.

Despite the disturbing content of the film, the difficulty I had in viewing it, and many of the characters' actions being difficult to relate to, I recommend it highly and consider this movie a great success as it accomplished what it set out to do - impact the viewers psychologically.

This is a must-watch for any fan of psychological thrillers/horrors.

Was the above review useful to you?

54 out of 62 people found the following review useful:

Good and unsettling Spanish thriller by expert filmmaker Jaume Balaguero

7/10
Author: ma-cortes from Santander Spain
9 June 2012

¨Sleep Tight¨ is both an intense , intriguing and an exciting portrait of subdued madness . ¨Mientras Duermes¨ (the official English title is Sleep tight , but the correct translation is "while you sleep", which to me is far more creepy) lives up to Jaume Balaguero's reputation . This interesting film deals with Cesar (Luis Tosar) , a lone man being incapable of happiness . The residents of the building where Cesar works as a concierge are not aware of the overtime he has been putting in . Apparently, he is at their service both day and night . Before the sun even has a chance to get its morning coffee , César is climbing out of bed , the sympathetic Clara (Marta Etura) still sleeping deeply beside him . When we meet César, he is lying in bed next to the gorgeous girl . He says as much in Sleep's opening voice-over as he stands at a rooftop's edge . He's a sad doorman at an upper crust apartment complex , but , despite he cannot be happy , Cesar goes about his work with dignified class . The adorable Clara is César's polar opposite , she is full of happiness . She is a likable tenant in the apartment building and her gladness is insistent and contagious . But when her boyfriend (Alberto San Juan) arrives in the building the events go wrong .

While Balaguero earlier films focused more on family , social situations , religion and weird creatures , his latest introduces the audience to the worst monster : the human being . This suspenseful movie was produced by the successful Catalan producers Julio and Carlos Fernandez from Fantastic factory ; it displays relentless thriller , intrigue , shocks , hard-edged drama , plot twists , creepy images and some gore when crime takes place . Director Jaume Balagueró (Rec, Rec 2, Fragiles , Darkness , The nameless) uses that uneasy non-knowledge for both horror and introducing brief touches of black humor . ¨Sleep Tight¨ is a motion picture that balances precariously over the dark comedy , ¨Psycho¨' Hitchockian intrigue , Michael Haneke's ¨Funny games¨ invasion genre bins and Michael Powell's ¨Peeping Tom¨ style . The overall result is chilling proof that Balagueró can take us back into an apartment building while delivering a completely different scare . Extraordinary performance by Luis Tosar , he plays a real tour-de-force in one of his best acting of his important career as a solitary and unhappy psychopath and an attractive , enjoyable Marta Etura , both of whom are a happy couple in real life . The picture packs a thrilling and intriguing musical score by Lucas Vidal . Furthermore , a colorful and appropriate cinematography by Pablo Rosso , Balaguero's usual .

'Sleep Tight' demonstrates director Balagueró's versatility , resulting to be a sublime thriller that every genre buff should be excited for . Rating : Good , better than average . The movie will appeal to thriller and suspense fans .

Was the above review useful to you?

57 out of 76 people found the following review useful:

It's not the bed bugs

9/10
Author: kosmasp
2 June 2012

This movie is wicked. Really wicked in an awesome way. One of the guys responsible for REC is also responsible for this one. It's the one who also did Nameless and Darkness. And this is closer to those movies. In that it is more of a thriller than a straight horror movie that is. Awesome acting on hand, terrific story (literally) and overall a great movie to watch.

I won't tell you anything about the movie, because it works wonders when you watch it without any previous knowledge of the story. And while I knew where some scenes were heading (like the "wake-up" scene at the beginning), I had to guess quite a few things. Don't forget though: This is evil and will put you into a position you might not like. And that's the point of it all ... Brilliant!

Was the above review useful to you?

39 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

Wow! This film will creep the hell out of you

9/10
Author: williamarfondavies from United Kingdom
8 May 2012

I had no idea what this film was about before I saw it, and boy was I pleasantly surprised. From the same director as REC and also set in an apartment block. This Spanish gem has a great cast, especially the lead 'Luis Tosar' who plays his part superbly, filling you with an ever increasing sense of unease and shock at what you're witnessing. It's very beautifully shot too, making the most of it's apartment block setting. By the end of the film I was left thinking "this could actually happen".

It's by far one of the creepiest, most twisted tales I've had the pleasure of watching in a long time.

Highly recommended!

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

Well done and creepy

8/10
Author: daniellenash82 from Spain
28 February 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A great thriller from Spain starring Luis Tosar who gives an exceptionally creepy performance. This is not a horror flick so for those who are longing for gore and jumps keep searching however if you're looking for an original story that is deeply disturbing on a psychological level than look no further.

The main character's motive, or lack of motive, in this movie is what gives it such a chilling effect. Being incapable of happiness himself he only feels content when he can secretly destroy the happiness of those around him while outwardly appearing concerned and helpful (all the better to watch their worlds crumble). He has no connection to his victims and is not seeking revenge or retribution. He's not interested in killing them either because physical destruction is not his goal. He seeks total mental and emotional destruction resulting in a broken life, prolonging the person's suffering and unhappiness.

Both the atmosphere and acting creates a feeling of total violation. The most private and secure parts of one's life, (the home, bedroom, bathroom, even one's own body) are all broken into and corrupted without the victim's knowledge creating an incredibly uncomfortable experience for the viewer who is placed in a voyeuristic role.

The ending will give no satisfaction to anyone looking for justice or even for a deeper explanation of motive. Basically there is no deeper explanation, he does what he does because he is a psychopath. For people with insect phobias there is one particular scene that will have you crawling out of your skin.

I highly recommend this movie to people who are looking for a well done, original, skin crawling thriller. You will think twice before brushing your teeth again.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Expertly crafted and genuinely unsettling

8/10
Author: MoodyB84 from United Kingdom
22 March 2013

Firstly, I feel it is important to state that though the marketing says everywhere 'from the director of Rec', and I understand why, this is nothing like Rec. I personally thought that Rec was an excellent film, and despite being an addition to an over exhausted genre, at the time it brought something new to it. Sleep Tight is however, though a 'horror' by genre, much more subtle and psychological. For me, this it to its credit and what is produced is a master class in psychological horror. It is very hard to describe the plot to Sleep Tight without giving too much away about the developments in the plot, as it are these constant developments that are central to the psychological and emotional impact of the narrative. I also feel it is important to say that from what I described in the plot that it is not a film that is brutal or horrific just for the sake of it, or is torture porn. Sleep Tight is a far more intelligent film that in fact has very little blood or gore, and the horror lies simply in the atmosphere, psychology and emotional impact of described plot developments.

I personally found that one of the shocking aspects of this film was the personal revelations that our revealed about our own sub conscience. César commits some quite despicable acts that any moral human being would never consider doing; however we do feel sympathy and understanding towards the protagonist. We almost feel a part of his actions due to how the story is told from his point of view and when there is a risk of him getting caught I genuinely felt nervous, despite the fact he should obviously be in prison for what he is doing. I am of course only speaking for myself here, and the viewing experience of this film and emotional reaction to what goes on within the narrative may differ between viewers. I was however relieved to read that other reviewers have said similar things. Our emotional sympathy for the protagonist is most definitely partly down to Luis Tosar's magnetic performance as César. He strikes up feelings of fear and disgust, yet also evokes sympathy, in a similar way to his stunning performance in the excellent Cell 211 (Daniel Monzón, 2009).

Sleep Tight is a film consisting of some deeply unforgettable moments that stay with us for a while. The feelings we often get from these moments may not be good ones, but it is due to the expertly crafted psychological horror with images that are often only described that lies in what makes Sleep Tight such a deeply effecting experience. Many horror films tend to have far-fetched concepts which take away some of the effectiveness, however what happens within the narrative of Sleep Tight is perfectly believable and it is not beyond the realms of possibility that this can happen to anyone, possibly without us even knowing. The shocks never get boring, leaving to an extremely compelling experience, leading all the way up to unforgettable ending that will haunt for days. Also adding to the horror is the extremely effective juxtaposition of there always being bright sunshine outside and having an up-tempo swing soundtrack, despite what is happening within the narrative leaving an extremely disconcerting feeling even during the day when everyone is supposed to be safe.

One criticism is that some of the few things that César does without getting noticed are perhaps a little unbelievable. However, maybe I thought this because I know he is there. If you are not aware of his presence then maybe you indeed would be less likely to notice. Proving that less can indeed be more; Sleep Tight is vastly more effective and genuinely haunting than any big budget horror film that Hollywood tends to produce these days. With some unforgettable moments, Sleep Tight is genuinely guaranteed to haunt your sub conscience for days.

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

The superman

9/10
Author: Ricardo Fernandes from Portugal
4 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

No one seems to be capable of seeing the full depth of the concierge's brilliant and twisted mind. Those who surface his dark mind are unable to deal with it. Those who ignore him are affected by his wickedness too.

This is a film about the impossibility of happiness, or at least happiness in a conventional way. It was a treat to the senses to see how the protagonist's mother suffers with what his son tells her, and to see the old neighbour being psychologically dissected, till there's no illusion on her pathetic solitary existence.

Raw and mean, accurate on life's complexities, this is a superior film in terms of acting, direction and superb script.

Luis Tosar is the superman, who never sleeps, and whose obsession feeds him and fills the emptiness of a life.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Creepy and Original-Powerful thriller

8/10
Author: Ajit Tiwari from India
19 March 2012

Spanish thrillers are always original and different, I have been waiting for this movie after Rec(2007)& REC 2(2009).

It is an original thriller which has its values intact and will haunt your inner-self upside down. The story is about a person who is calamitous and he strives for a transcendental happiness through other people related to him.

It is an enigmatic movie with bleak intentions (being Ironic here) culminating a character, which has cruel intentions for his ecstasies.

An impeccable performance by Luis Tosar, story is first rate and screenplay is amazing.

Recommended for everyone who like thrillers

My 8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

While you were sleeping... examining the dark sides of the seemingly harmless.

7/10
Author: Nitzan Havoc from Israel
6 December 2012

As a Horror fan, I like watching at least one Horror film every day (when I get the chance), and recently I've noticed a certain pattern in Thriller Horror films: they're mostly Thrillers with some touch of Horror and not basic Horror. Mientras Duermes (Sleep Tight) is a perfect example.

The real horrifying part of this film is that it plays on the small fears that regular people have, even if only at the back of their minds subconsciously. Having someone bluntly invade your privacy without you knowing it, being blackmailed for something you've done, getting old alone and becoming the gray figure neighbours pretend to be nice to - these are only some of the examples.

The story is original and clever, and unfolds only towards the middle. The acting is right on the spot. Everything is done just the way it should. This film takes the audience to the darker places of their emotions and thoughts, but not in an obvious blunt way like most Horror films, but in a deceptive and clever way. Very artistic.

There's an old saying - "there are no bad people, only people who have it bad". This film truly examines that statement, both philosophically and physically. I don't know if I could truly say I enjoyed watching it, but I'm glad I did, and I think so would you!

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Masterful Perversion

9/10
Author: Lavrentish from Greece
23 May 2013

I 've seen "REC" some months ago and I just wasn't sure... I mean, how can you tell if there is a visionary director or some random guy who just got lucky? REC wasn't so demanding by concept and it all worked out fine.

So I had to check another one by and this time I found out that Jaume Balagueró really is a visionary director plus ...I just got lucky! Because Sleep Tight was a real treat for this messed up part of my mind (we all have this, no? It's just me? Whatever...).

Yes, it is a thriller all right, but not the horror-jump scare kind of thriller. The horror element here is actually a poison more than just a scare. It will slowly get into you and when this film is done with you it will extract a portion of happiness out of you for the pleasure of César.

César is the main character and he is suffering from pathological unhappiness. He have an urge to kill himself every single day but his survival instinct driving him to find a reason not to. But what can you do to feel better in this absolute unhappiness especially since you realize that you are just not capable of happiness? Well, misery loves company. And the only way is to make the others unhappy too.

That's the whole story actually, but the way this story unfolds itself before our unsuspected eyes is masterful. I was stand up alone clapping my hands in the first twenty minutes. I was on the edge ever after and before the very end I was filled with sympathy AND repulsion for the same character, soaked into despair of what a man can do.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history