IMDb > "Parenthood" (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Parenthood"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Parenthood" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 79 reviews in total 

49 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

Flawed characters making hard choices.

8/10
Author: treedcub from New York
24 April 2010

Not everyone is going to "approve." The characters make mistakes, sometimes behave irresponsibly, and are full of self doubt. In other words, this is great storytelling. Even if this show is slow to get its start, I hope the network has the foresight to keep it running, because programming of this emotional and moral complexity is a rarity.

Beyond the top notch writing, the acting is superb. These roles are demanding of actors. There are moments of comedy mixed in with real pathos, which requires a cast that has range and depth. Every single casting choice is pitch perfect, and creates a wonderful dynamic on the screen.

This series is well worth watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

53 out of 60 people found the following review useful:

Hits every nail right on the head

9/10
Author: bloggergirl from United States
5 March 2010

I actually was very skeptical of this show- at first glance, I didn't see how all these different people were possibly going to mesh with one another on screen (the last time I was this skeptical was seeing the teasers for 30 Rock... that should have been a clue!). After watching the first episode, I was impressed. Granted, there was a lot covered in the pilot, but that's how it is: they have to introduce everybody and what their story lines are in the first 60 minute episode. The "too much" feeling will undoubtedly calm down as we get wrapped up in individuals instead of the mass family group.

Each individual family deals with their share of parenting problems, including Grandma and Grandpa, and they hit every single parenting problem right on the head. We see good teens, bad teens, a kid with a developmental disorder (my son was diagnosed with a developmental disorder in 2009, and I gotta tell you, they absolutely nailed the feelings during the first 48 hours after the diagnosis), single parents, working parents, etc.

It's a good show, and you WILL see something of you or your family in it somewhere.

Was the above review useful to you?

55 out of 70 people found the following review useful:

I hate that Ron Howard

10/10
Author: deemo31 from California
16 March 2010

Actually, that's not true. This guy seems to turn anything into gold, and he does it with subtle style and class that you just do not see very often. This show is classic Ron Howard. It's very difficult for me to really "get into" a new show. Usually takes me several episodes or more. I was hooked on this show from the very first scene. The cast is just incredible. The acting is just as incredible. These actors seem as if they've been doing this show for years. You know how it is. Sometimes they have to ease into it together. Not so here. Or if they ARE easing into it, I can't imagine what's going to happen as the show progresses.

The plot is somewhat typical. Family matters. Adults moving home. Kids behaving badly. Or sometimes very well. Some tragedy. Some comedy. Lot's of people dealing with everyday problems from all different angles. I do not want to give anything away. All I can say is that if you watch this show, you are going to fall in love with or find you hate some of the characters right away. I already started hating one of them. But now I'm not so sure. It's just that kind of show.

Watch it. Trust me, you'll like it.

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Well worth watching

9/10
Author: schnappi_croc from Nova Scotia, Canada
31 March 2010

I wonder why this program hasn't received the Emmy or Golden Globe nominations it deserves. The family members aren't perfect, which is one reason I love this show so much.

Even the "good guys (or gals)" make mistakes, just like we all do in real life. Each of the story lines is interesting, and every week I wonder where the writers will go with each story.

The younger actors in this series are impressive. Their acting is often subtle, which must be difficult for those who are so young to accomplish. The way they are portrayed is realistic, in that they are all likable in some way, but not so likable in others. As a mother, I appreciate the parenting difficulties which come along in this series, but I can also relate to the teenagers as they try to make sense of life. The character "Max" is truly remarkable.

Others who have commented have mentioned the high quality of the adult cast. I agree that they are all good, but I particularly like the work of Dax Shepard.

Stick with this show. These multi-dimensional characters will only get better with time.

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Best Show

10/10
Author: bruce-714-141570 from United States
16 April 2010

As a 50 something with grown children this show is so right on. The episode when they found out Max had a real problem was exactly how it went for my wife and I when we got similar news, and the reaction of the grandfather was also spot on. This show is happy, sad and everything in-between, just like real life. It is so good it will probably be taken off the air so that we can be exposed to more of the trash which makes up a lot of todays TV. I also think the brother and sister interaction is great, they can be mad and blow off steam without it becoming a federal case. The marriages are real as well, with different definitions of a good marriage and whats involved. My favorite part though is the relationship between the aunts and uncles and the kids, you treat your own children one way while watching out for the nieces and nephews. Great stuff

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

One of the few shows ever I'd class as "authentic"

10/10
Author: ToddTee from Southern California
26 May 2010

A new show with Peter Krause and Craig T. Nelson in the cast demanded at least a look, though if it weren't for the DVR I might have passed on it since it's on at the same time as the excellent "The Good Wife". Fortuitous indeed that I did because it strikes me as pure genius in writing and casting.

This show makes me laugh. This show makes me weep. Most important, it makes me smile in recognition of so many scenes that I recognize as things that happened to or around me. Of particular note along this line are the times in family "discussions" when everyone is talking and no one is listening. I don't recall another show that has done this, and it's sooo true to life.

The casting matches the writing so well that I can't imagine another actor in any of the parts. This show is definitely in my all-time top 10; maybe even top 5. Do yourself a favor and watch "Parenthood".

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Pilot Started Slow

10/10
Author: Mary Jane from United States
24 April 2010

The pilot started slow . . . but I stuck with it and now it's one of my FAVORITE shows. I LOVE the characters and I actually watch it twice a week. I know . . . I'm a weirdo. I make my husband watch it.

I think the writer did a very good transition from the movie Parenthood to the TV series. Although they have some similarities, it does contain the spirit. It's just a charming and funny family drama. I relate to the circumstances between the siblings. Reminds me of the challenges my sisters and their kids go through. This group of actors have incredible chemistry. This is sort of like the OUR THIRTYSOMETHING.

My only fear is every time I love something it gets canceled.

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 50 people found the following review useful:

Maybe THIS time...

10/10
Author: Aldo Renato from United States
9 March 2010

The other reviewer (RobNels2000) needs to do his homework. "Parenthood" was originally conceived as a TV series, became a movie and then became a TV series! The 1990 series (Ed Begley Jr., Jayne Atkinson, William Windom, etc.) didn't work despite having some great talent behind it (Ron Howard and Brian Grazer plus at least five others credited as executive producers). Now it's back...new cast, same situations. Three generations and lots of subplots. A truly great ensemble (Craig T. Nelson and Bonnie Bedelia, Peter Krause and Lauren Graham, etc.). Many people are going to compare this to "Modern Family" but "Parenthood" was around first...as a movie and TV series. Lauren Graham is doing very well stepping in for Maura Tierney...she got her training on Gilmore Girls. Craig Nelson, having been an military pilot, football coach and police chief, now gets to play a tough dad/granddad (although my dad could've given him some lessons). The venerable Bonnie Bedelia (many movies and TV series) has aged well to play the mom/grandmom. Add in Peter Krause ("Sports Night," "Six Feet Under," and " Dirty Sexy Money") and there's four solid actors right up front. The big difference between "Parenthood" and "Modern Family" is that "Parenthood" is more drama than comedy. Ironically, I've never been a parent myself but grew up with parents similar to Mr. Nelson and Ms. Bedelia. Let's give this series a few weeks and see where it goes. One suggestion...if and when Maura Tierney gets better, bring her on in a guest role as another daughter. I gave this a 10 for the ensemble and the plot lines!! NBC can go home again!!

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

"I Want to be a Braverman"

9/10
Author: Adam Metz from United States
25 April 2011

Every Tuesday night, after the conclusion of Parenthood, my wife says to me sentimentally, "I want to be a Braverman!" NBC's mildly successful drama, Parenthood, utilizes its larger-than-normal cast (15 recurring characters) to create a realistic atmosphere that explores the deeper realities of being an American family. Each episode beckons the viewer to identify with one branch of the Braverman family tree. Do you see yourself as the successful oldest brother, Adam, who everyone in the family looks to for support and advice? Are you the single mother, Sarah, who is overcoming a failed marriage and the repercussions of the children's absent father? Or maybe you're Julia, the successful lawyer who's climbing her way up the corporate ladder, but all the while wrestling with the cost to her family? Then there's the black sheep Crosby, whose fear of commitment and settling down are challenged by the confident, aspiring mother of his child, Jazmin, whom he has fallen deeply in love with. Or, perhaps, your children are raised and now, as the patriarchs of your family you find yourself in Zeek and Camielle's position of watching your children parent and navigating the complexities of having an adult child (not to mention grandchildren) living with you in your home.

The story lines and issues dealt with in Parenthood bring the audience into the midst of some of today's most challenging issues. In its first two seasons, Parenthood has empathized with its audience's struggles in an incredible number of real life situations: job loss, Asperger's syndrome, raising a rebellious teenager, raising a teenage boy with his father absent, midlife crises, financial stresses after retirement, the reality of peer pressure, unexpected pregnancies, balancing your career aspirations with those of your spouse's, biracial dating, and infertility.

What has become a staple of Parenthood is the argument scene. Episodes of Parenthood regular contain two to three scenes of one of the families engaged in a loud, discussion/fight with multiple characters yelling at the same time. The argument scene seems so chaotic, confusing, loud . . . and realistic. Any family that has had their share of arguments will find a kindred spirit in the Bravermans of Parenthood.

In the end, Parenthood is about, well, just that . . . parenthood. The unique flavor that this particular show has brought to prime time is an honest look at the many dimensions of parenting - from the decision to attempt to conceive, to the toddler and primary school years, through the incredibly challenging teenage years, to the years of adulthood and being a grandparent. Parenthood has dealt with infertility to preschools to high school graduation and everything in between. Parenthood is about family. Through the all challenges mentioned above that come the Braverman's way, the one stabilizing force is their family.

One of the casualties of the postmodern quest for mobility and a borderless reality is the family. How very uncommon it has become to meet an extended family who all live within a short distance of one another! Parenthood offers the Braverman family to help calm that longing in us all. Zeek and Camille's house serves as the calming presence throughout the series. No matter what difficulty besets the family, when they are "home," everything seems right. It is difficult to imagine any of the Braverman's ever moving far from home.

While the verdict remains out on whether or not Parenthood has the legs of a lengthy run or not, it's first 35 offerings have proved to be a welcome addition to contemporary social commentary on the American family. While some of the specific challenges have certainly changed, at the heart of the Braverman family we see the same soothing presence that so many have seen in the past in the Huxtables, the Keatons, the Bradfords, and the original American family, the Cleavers, not to mention a host of other American television families.

Alongside my wife, we will strive to be Bravermans. Our family hopes to learn from the Braverman family as they seek to be the safe and reassuring base for everyone facing the challenges and shifting of life.

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Great Show!

9/10
Author: (sylviastel@aol.com) from United States
13 March 2010

It's loosely based on the 1989 film, Parenthood, with Ron Howard and Brian Frazer. They previously tried to make it into series when it first came out. The show has a lot going for it like casting veteran actors and actresses like Lauren Graham who I saw in Guys and Dolls. She plays the unemployed, divorced daughter Sara who returns home with her two teenage children Amber and Drew. Amber's played by Mae Whitman who was great in "Thief." Craig T. Nelson and Bonnie Bedelia play the parents and grandparents. They once played husband and wife in a television movie almost 30 years ago. The rest of the cast isn't familiar to me but they're doing a good job. They've changed the family's location from the Midwest to Berkeley, California. I like the Asperger's storyline where the ideal parents must accept and learn to cope with their son, Max, who wears a pirate costume and has unusual habits. The scene where Max's parents must come to terms with his Asperger's Syndrome was memorable. The comedy and drama are mixed together and it's a bit more realistic. I would hope this show does well in it's Tuesday night line-up.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history