IMDb > Bucky Larson: Born to Be a Star (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Bucky Larson: Born to Be a Star
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 7: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 64 reviews in total 

18 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Bucky Larson: Born to Be a Star was funny and stupid all in one.

Author: My_Opinion-245-920801 from United States
5 January 2012

I thought Bucky Larson: Born to Be a Star was funny and stupid all in one. To clarify when I say stupid, I mean stupid funny. It is a rare feat when this combination in a comedy is pulled of but it worked well here. Yes, some of the humor was off or one could even say stupid without the funny, however for the most part this was a better then average comedy.This movie made you laugh because of the above mentioned absurdity of the subject matter. The acting was solid for a comedy and I really thought the jokes the writers inserted were spot on. Kudos to the director for keeping this a light subject it worked well in my opinion.

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 65 people found the following review useful:

This was not as bad as everyone is saying it is

Author: miketaylor2007 from Canada
1 January 2012

I understand the movie is ridiculously stupid, but Nick Swardson is hilarious in this. I think it has to be his funniest performance hands down. I couldn't stop laughing when I first saw his face and the bucked teeth with bowl cut. Coming in to this movie you knew it wasn't meant to be taken seriously. If you can't handle comedies that are stupid and funny you should avoid them. I think the people giving Buck Larson a 1/10 were the same ones giving Warrior 10 and comparing it to Rocky, but let's stick to the review anyways. With Happy Madison movies it's either always a hit or miss. I think Sandler gave us another great dark comedy that will be loved by a small group of people, and hated by most. The dark humour in Bucky Larson is very dirty, so be prepared for that. I think it appeals to mostly men who are 18-35. If you saw Grandmas Boy that would be the best way I could describe the very dark humour of this movie. I was disappointed Allen Covert didn't have a bigger role in Bucky Larson but im sure Sandler has other plans for him. At the end of the day this was Swardson at his absolute best. Christina Ricci also did a great job with the role she was given. Stephen Dorff was good as always, but Kevin Nealon (bull dance guy from Happy Gilmore) had me in tears. I have never heard him swear before so when he goes off it's priceless and unexpected. I think Bucky Larson Born To Be A Star deserves an 8/10 and it's unfortunate that people these days can't handle a great comedy just because it's dirty. No dirty isn't the word for it, this movie is filthy. I am laughing again just thinking about the concept. At least Sandler gave us something really filthy for a change, finally back to his roots.

Was the above review useful to you?

Bucky Larson: Born to Suck!

Author: Seth Landers from California, United States
17 February 2016

I'm a huge fan of Adam Sandler's films and for the most part, I like Nick Swardson. However, this was very bad. I don't have anything against movies with sexual content or gross out stuff, it just has to be funny. After watching this, I know that Nick Swardson was NOT born to be a lead.

He gives us a semi creepy performance and all the jokes fall apart fast. For example, he says "Miles is getting an eight ball, I don't wanna play pool" or something like that. Just stuff that makes you cringe. The whole movie lacks an actual story, it's just a bunch of bad penis jokes and "point and laugh at the freak" jokes as well. A lot of great actors wasted (Christina Ricci, Mike O'Connell, Don Johnson) and the humor doesn't work here. It tries too hard to mix sentimental and mean-spirited stuff, which both fail. When Bucky gets a roommate, the dude (Kevin Nealon) is such a jerk that you wish he hung himself and left the poor guy alone.

The entire film is predictable and Stephen Dorff looks like Bret Michaels, which isn't a good thing. I smiled several times but didn't laugh at all. I don't understand why they couldn't put more effort into it. Making Bucky into a wimp who can't even perform correctly in these adult movies just shows you the thought that went into making it. Skip this one, you'll be glad you did!

Was the above review useful to you?

Nick Swardson: Born to Be Bucky Larson.

Author: Python Hyena from Canada
24 September 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Bucky Larson: Born to Be a Star (2011): Dir: Tom Brady / Cast: Nick Swardson, Christina Ricci, Don Johnson, Stephen Dorff, Kevin Nealon: Aimed at the lowest common denominator yet it references the fact that everyone has a purpose in life. Bucky Larson is met with the reality that his parents were porn stars decades ago, and he is so excited that he sets out to Hollywood to seek stardom as well. Tom Brady whose The Comebacks is a misfire does so again with pathetic semen jokes. Nick Swardson plays the buck-toothed Bucky whose unappealing physical appearance and small manhood render him a star in the adult film industry but what is interesting here is what Larson will find truly important and how he renders stardom upon how others see you. Christina Ricci is way too talented for her cardboard role of waitress whom Bucky befriends. Her dish tray trauma is stupid, and her liking of Bucky is not convincing. Don Johnson steals scenes as a porn director who seems tailored after Burt Reynolds in the superior Boogie Nights. He was eliminated from a party but discovers Larson and renders him a star through his shortcomings. Eventually Johnson owns up to his own mistakes and misjudgements. Stephen Dorff as porn star Dick Shadow is the predictable rival whose award record will be challenged. Bucky's teeth are an obvious bad prop, and the whole ejaculation joke is pathetic especially with its poor comic aims. Vulgar yet observant take on the porn industry and our trust in physicality, results in a comedy devoid of humour and leaves more shame on anyone involved in the industry. Score: 4 / 10

Was the above review useful to you?

You get what you expect

Author: Arenas4812 from United States
25 January 2015

I can see why some people gave this a bad review, but honestly if it's free then why not. It actually has a few laughs in it but it really falls flat in the last 30 minutes. It really brings the movie downhill. The character of Bucky is pretty funny. Overgrown Iowa boy living in his parents basement while discovering they were porn stars lol. That was pretty good. The romantic comedy elements in it were pretty lame. It's your standard Happy Gilmore comedy, not too good but not the worst movie ever made. The comedy in it isn't that bad if you really think about. The issue is, it's almost too raunchy even for today's time. The raunch in it made it almost unwatchable at certain parts. It's almost like a junior boys movie to be honest. They'd find this as the best movie ever.

Was the above review useful to you?

Vey iz meer.

Author: bivens_joe from United States
5 January 2015

Lookit, I like Nicky Swardson as much as anyone, but, this movie f**king blew. That that I have to type out 10 lines in order to submit this review is understandable, but at the same time, it pisses me off because I intended on forgetting about this bad film as soon as I finished my review of it.

What can I tell you? While I have to animus toward Adam Sandler, I feel that if he doesn't apologize to me personally for creating this horror show, I may have to snub him, should we ever meet. My email is available through IMDb. Let's go. Make this right.

OK, so I guess that wasn't enough lines, still. Grrr. Is this enough?

Was the above review useful to you?

Crude and often painful but with a couple of funny moments

Author: phd_travel from United States
22 July 2013

An unattractive not well endowed Iowa guy travels to LA to become a porn star in the steps of his parents. One of the writers is Adam Sandler so that should let you know what to expect. It is way below the Farelly Brothers in terms of humor and slightly worse than a Rob Schneider movie in terms of crudeness. Quite a lot of it is painful to watch but it's not a total write off. There is something uplifting in the story.

Nick Swarsdon I thought was kind of annoying in 'Just Go With It' and in this movie he is annoying too but that is part of the character. He isn't a terrific comedian but he tries hard. The supporting cast is actually better than expected - quite good for what they are cast as. Christina Ricci is prettier than before and is quite sweet and touching as the girlfriend. Don Johnson is quite good as a slightly sleazy but kind porn director. Stephen Dorff is an arrogant porn star.

Overall if you are in the mood for a crude comedy then it's quite cute in parts.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Only a 'small release'.....

Author: FlashCallahan from Leicester, United Kingdom
29 August 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The titular character discovers that his parents were very famous adult Movie stars when they were young and wants to continue the family trade.

So off he goes to L.A. And begins to chase his dream. It isn't long before he is ridiculed by the most famous adult star in the world, but never fear Crockett from Miami Vice employs him, because he finds out about Buckys 'hidden talent'.

Plus he falls for Wednesday from the Addams Family, who now works in a diner.

So the film is bad, granted, but its not as bad as many make out, and I see far worse films every month than this, while not funny movie, just a sunshine movie that can be on in the background, not bother the grey matter, and raise a smile through its predictable duration.

Swardson is okay as the lead, but he's not a star, and will probably be better as support for future Happy Madison movies.

But its sad to see Ricci resorted to love interest in something as low as this. She is great, but other cast members don't seem to be taking the movie as seriously as she, but that's probably because they are all mates of Sandler.

Its highly predictable, things are going rest for Bucky, something knocks him back, but all comes good at the end.

So its not very good, there are a few funny moments, but the film is saved by Ricci and Johnson, playing way above everyone else.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Good enough

Author: James Wilson from United States
3 August 2013

I'm assuming all the haters have personal issues with their own junk. The movie was actually better than most of the comedies available. Easily a 7.0

I would say that I got a lot of fun from watching this impressive work of art that defies convention and goes where no other movie has gone before. It was a "bad movie" done entirely on purpose by the director and writers. Just like the porn movies Bucky made in the movie, this is innovation and film critics, people who were brainwashed in film school to like 1940's stuff, cannot simply understand the genius of this film, as did the people on the porn business which were shown Bucky film's.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A huge disappointment

Author: Shawn Carlstrom from United States
2 July 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Bucky Larson: Born to be a Star is complete and utter trash. First off, before I start trashing this film in my review, this film is worse then Jack & Jill! Okay, this film is about a guy with buck teeth, that finds out his parents were porn stars, and tries to be a porn star himself by moving to Hollywood. The acting is beyond awful, and didn't really entertain me. This movie is very vulgar and horrible.

Bucky doesn't even get that he isn't good enough to be a porn star, because his penis is tiny and has tons of hair there. The film tries to be funny with just being mean. The director of this film must think the subject of small penises is funny, but it's not. This film has been universally panned by critics, and well, why could blame them? This film is bland, unoriginal, and is just, bad. Stay away from this film, please!!

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 3 of 7: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history