IMDb > Bucky Larson: Born to Be a Star (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Bucky Larson: Born to Be a Star
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 65 reviews in total 

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

The Wayward Fart.

1/10
Author: Crazy_Gibberish from United States
10 January 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

There's a scene in Bucky Larson that kind of sums the whole thing up. In the trailer, there's a scene where Bucky catches bugs in his teeth while riding in a convertible. When that scene appears in the film, someone involved in the production said "hmm, that looks like a good place for a fart. Stick one in there if you can." So while the driver is smiling at Bucky's amazement over being able to stand in a car, there's an arbitrary "FLERNT!". You can't tell who farted or even where the fart came from. It sounds like it came from in between them in the back seat. Like Sandler was lying on the floor of the car with a whoopee cushion.

That's pretty much all there is to say about Bucky Larson. It's just painfully, tragically lazy. There aren't any real "jokes". Jokes have a setup and a payoff. They have to conform to even the loosest of rhythms or structure. Presenting Bucky's hick appearance, Fargo accent and tiny penis as "jokes" doesn't qualify. There just kind of there, pointed out endlessly to no real comic effect. His prosthetic teeth also look so cheap and fake you want to rip them out of his mouth, smack him on the back of the head and bellow "Swardson! Go to your room!"

That's really it. Don't bother picking this up even for Bad Movie Night. It's insufferably childish, lazy and boring. It marks a new low for Happy Madison, which I didn't think could be achieved. It was so depressing, I had to turn away after Bucky bursts in on Kevin Nealon when he's on the can. I had to try and find funny in the world again.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

They don't get it, recommended only for specialists

9/10
Author: Jose Cruz
11 March 2013

This is extremely heavy stuff, made for specialists in comedy. Most people will not get Tarkovsky's The Mirror and in the same way most people will not get Bucky Larson. There are few that get The Mirror and a few that get Bucky Larson and these two groups of people do not intersect easily. I rated The Mirror, 10/10, and Bucky Larson, I rate it 9/10, the same ratings I gave for Citizen Kane, The Godfather, Rear Window, Fanny and Alexander and Vertigo.

I personally think that Bucky Larson is vastly superior to most comedies. Take another random comedy, House Bunny, that was a plain bad movie but this is much more than that, if you are able to get it, of course. One needs to be able to fully master the art of watching crappy comedies before trying this kind of stuff which was made for the specialists. I have already watched hundreds of bad comedies and about 20 Adam Sandler movies and this operates on another league of greatness.

I would say that I got a lot of fun from watching this impressive work of art that defies convention and goes where no other movie has gone before. It was a "bad movie" done entirely on purpose by the director and writers. Just like the porn movies Bucky made in the movie, this is innovation and film critics, people who were brainwashed in film school to like 1940's stuff, cannot simply understand the genius of this film, as did the people on the porn business which were shown Bucky film's.

My ratings would be:

9/10 - Specialists 0/10 - Most people

I wouldn't recommend this movie for regular people. They will not understand it.

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 60 people found the following review useful:

THIS Movie made me cry

1/10
Author: Emmanuel Ortega from Staten Island, New York City
8 January 2012

This movie was digusting and unfunny for most of the part. This movie is about a red neck,bucked tooth,goofy kid name Bucky who dreamed of being a pornstar in California after realizing his parents were famous pornstar during the 1970's.He soon became famous for his really small microscopic penis.

The worst part was that this movie had a lack of storyline.It had no climax.It wasn't exciting. It was goofy and it made my grandma cry also.She had only 2 hours left to live and she watch this movie leaving her only 25 minutes left of enjoying her life.

lease save your money for a better movie than this.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

OK it was bad but not a total waste

5/10
Author: Pau Evo
23 June 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie is terrible in the sense that it sorta makes you cringe at times. I think it depends on your sense of humor. For me, I will never watch this movie again but i might put it on if there were nothing else on TV. The lead character's crush in the film is beautiful (Christina Ricci). I actually thought Swardson did OK in this movie for the role he was given but the premise of the movie was not well thought out, a dumb idiot in porn business and the idea that somehow him coming early before sex even starts would set some kind of trend in the industry and make him a star of porn. There were some very funny moments with Bucky's landlord (Kevin Nealon) and it was sort of romantic in the end how this idiot from Iowa hooks up with a babe waiter in Hollywood but the ultimate result for this movie is a failure because its just time consuming blather if you don't find Swardson's thick midwest accent amusing. Personally, this movie reminds me of Dumb and Dumberer, the wretched prequel to Dumb and Dumber, in that there were some rather funny scenes and i was able to watch the entire film but my intelligence took a hit and it was really, really dumb. 5/10 There are some occasional laughs throughout, if you make it to the end.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Worst Movie Ever Created

1/10
Author: cconnors19 from United States
25 June 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I guess I should begin by letting you know that I created an IMDb account just so I could warn people against watching this "movie". This is honestly the worst movie I have ever seen. It is one of those movies that you are embarrassed to watch even if you are alone as though it is partially your fault that it sucks so bad. I have tried to think of a movie that is equally awful to compare it to, but I honestly cannot think of one. Imagine waking up late for work, running out of gas on the side of the highway on your way to work, getting hit by a car on the highway as you wait for a tow, and then getting fired for not showing up to work because you were in the hospital. That would still be a better day than the day you watched this movie. If I could give this a "0" instead of a "1", I would. He screeches like a monkey for what is an uncomfortable amount of time when he ejaculates from simply seeing a naked woman. This happens many times throughout the movie. One was too many, but I guess Tom Brady likes to stab a dead horse. And please note that I am a 29 year old male, and I highly enjoy raunchy comedy so that is not why I did not like it. I was not offended by the material, it just was not funny in the least bit. I find myself wishing that I could meet Nick Swardson just so I could slap him across the face and ask him what the hell he was thinking when he made this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Best Worst Movie Ever

1/10
Author: MrRed87 from United States
6 March 2012

I just watched Bucky Larson: Born To Be a Star primarily because I've heard that it is one of the worst movies ever made. This is a rarity for me as when I hear that a movie is bad by several people, I avoid it like the plague. However, I was curious as to how bad it would be, so I gave it a try.

The movie is pretty terrible, but it's definitely an exercise in the "so bad, it's good" category. The movie concerns the titular character (Nick Swardson) and his "destiny" to enter the porn industry after discovering that his parents were porn stars in the 1970's. He moves to Los Angeles to pursue his dream. Along the way, he meets Kathy, a kind waitress (Christina Ricci), Miles Deep, a washed-up porn producer (Don Johnson), Dick Shadow, a porn star that lives up to his name (Stephen Dorff), as well as various other characters. Bucky wants to be "a star" in "nude movies" but he has trouble breaking into it because of his small penis.

The humor is childish, at best,(there is an endless amount of tiny penis and big teeth jokes)It qualifies as "stupid funny". Personally, the only times I laughed were during the scenes with Kevin Nealon's "roommate from hell" character, and the facial expressions of Nick Swardson. Acting wise, nothing to write home about. Nick Swardson's role is at times annoying and over the top, but the fact that he put so much dedication into it is worth applauding.

Overall, compared to other movies that I've given the dreaded 1 star to, Bucky Larson has to be the best. If you're looking for a stupid movie to watch and not think too much about, this is for you. But if you want a more high-brow comedy, I advise you to stay far, far, away from this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

tisk tisk Mr. Sandler

1/10
Author: Ynotmod from United States
13 September 2011

Simply put not a good movie. Nick really put me back on this film, with bad writing and really bad acting this flick could not hold my attention. I believe this was a twenty minute short film that was drawn out. In some scenes it seemed as if they added pointless situations to pass time. Bucky's roommate wasn't funny and was a huge buzzkill. This movie had a lot of promotion which put my hopes higher than the result, a lot higher. If you cant tell already i didn't enjoy myself. Adam Sandler has made an excellent array of comedies in his career but lately it appears he has lost his touch. Maybe we'll truly know when his new film Jack & Jill premiers. Till then.

Was the above review useful to you?

I enjoyed it

8/10
Author: Michele from Australia
27 August 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I enjoyed the movie. It's lighthearted, and gave me a few giggles. I thought it was well cast too. With all the negative reviews I was expecting to hate it, and not even finish watching it. But I was pleasantly surprised.

I thought some of the ideas in the film were clever, especially when "Kathy" improvised and made a condom for "Bucky".

The movie had a nice message too. Suspension of disbelief is needed if you are going to enjoy the movie - yes parts of the plot are unrealistic. But does that matter - no. It's a comedy, it's a bit silly; it's not a movie based on fact.

The movie is "different", watch it for what it is, and not for what you want it to be.

Was the above review useful to you?

Bucky Larson: Born to Suck!

2/10
Author: Seth Landers from California, United States
17 February 2016

I'm a huge fan of Adam Sandler's films and for the most part, I like Nick Swardson. However, this was very bad. I don't have anything against movies with sexual content or gross out stuff, it just has to be funny. After watching this, I know that Nick Swardson was NOT born to be a lead.

He gives us a semi creepy performance and all the jokes fall apart fast. For example, he says "Miles is getting an eight ball, I don't wanna play pool" or something like that. Just stuff that makes you cringe. The whole movie lacks an actual story, it's just a bunch of bad penis jokes and "point and laugh at the freak" jokes as well. A lot of great actors wasted (Christina Ricci, Mike O'Connell, Don Johnson) and the humor doesn't work here. It tries too hard to mix sentimental and mean-spirited stuff, which both fail. When Bucky gets a roommate, the dude (Kevin Nealon) is such a jerk that you wish he hung himself and left the poor guy alone.

The entire film is predictable and Stephen Dorff looks like Bret Michaels, which isn't a good thing. I smiled several times but didn't laugh at all. I don't understand why they couldn't put more effort into it. Making Bucky into a wimp who can't even perform correctly in these adult movies just shows you the thought that went into making it. Skip this one, you'll be glad you did!

Was the above review useful to you?

Nick Swardson: Born to Be Bucky Larson.

4/10
Author: Python Hyena from Canada
24 September 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Bucky Larson: Born to Be a Star (2011): Dir: Tom Brady / Cast: Nick Swardson, Christina Ricci, Don Johnson, Stephen Dorff, Kevin Nealon: Aimed at the lowest common denominator yet it references the fact that everyone has a purpose in life. Bucky Larson is met with the reality that his parents were porn stars decades ago, and he is so excited that he sets out to Hollywood to seek stardom as well. Tom Brady whose The Comebacks is a misfire does so again with pathetic semen jokes. Nick Swardson plays the buck-toothed Bucky whose unappealing physical appearance and small manhood render him a star in the adult film industry but what is interesting here is what Larson will find truly important and how he renders stardom upon how others see you. Christina Ricci is way too talented for her cardboard role of waitress whom Bucky befriends. Her dish tray trauma is stupid, and her liking of Bucky is not convincing. Don Johnson steals scenes as a porn director who seems tailored after Burt Reynolds in the superior Boogie Nights. He was eliminated from a party but discovers Larson and renders him a star through his shortcomings. Eventually Johnson owns up to his own mistakes and misjudgements. Stephen Dorff as porn star Dick Shadow is the predictable rival whose award record will be challenged. Bucky's teeth are an obvious bad prop, and the whole ejaculation joke is pathetic especially with its poor comic aims. Vulgar yet observant take on the porn industry and our trust in physicality, results in a comedy devoid of humour and leaves more shame on anyone involved in the industry. Score: 4 / 10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history