IMDb > Riddick (2013) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Riddick
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Riddick More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 33:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 326 reviews in total 

288 out of 424 people found the following review useful:

Riddick Returns to Darkness

9/10
Author: ninjaeatingataco from Texas
6 September 2013

There have only been a few time this year that I have gotten to leave the theater with a giant grin on my face, Riddick was one of those times.

I spent a little bit of time reading others reviews before I started typing this up and, I won't lie, they kind of ticked me off. Riddick is a movie that took its 40 Million dollar budget and stretched it to the absolute MAX, I also feel like this is one of Vin's best performances to date. There is no sexism in the film...There is no horrible see through acting...there is no moment during this movie when I was bored...It's a thrill ride. A brief summary

Act 1-Riddick is stranded on what might be his home planet and has to re-man up after becoming soft while leading the Necromongers (Riddick being the only person hard enough to ever soften up when taking over a galaxy dominating army) There is a dog in act one but it plays very well into the story and I personally got attached to the pup...think of Will Smith's dog in "I am Legend"

Act 2-Mercs are brought to the planet and the fun begins...for the next forty five minutes the story is about the Mercs and Riddick becomes what we all love...a monster in the Darkness.

Act 3-It starts raining...I'm going to stop there on act three because I want to spoil nothing... The End-Was exactly what I wanted and had me leaving the theater with a giant grin on my face.

WARNING: This is not a happy sing along movie with a perfect hero who saves the day in the end…this is also not "A Piece of Art." This is Riddick it's Muddy, Bloody, Painful and as always FUN!

Was the above review useful to you?

166 out of 249 people found the following review useful:

More than a fun sci-fi flick

8/10
Author: LumpysFriend
4 September 2013

I wasn't expecting much. When I heard of the sequel I assumed it'd be a bigger and "better" chapter in the Richard D. Riddick series. Then I saw the trailer and thought that going back to the basics of Pitch Black felt like Twohy didn't know how to go bigger and was reverting into his safe bubble. I was wrong. This is by far Twohy's strongest script with a surprising range of fleshed-out characters. The first ten minutes of the movie has no dialogue and right from the get-go I was pleasantly surprised. It begins to feel like an appropriate direction to take the character. There are jokes that don't work but most do. While Riddick's monologue is a little... quaint (and a cgi dog companion that feels a tad out of place; but i get why it's there) i really think it's important that 'Riddick' is a success at the box office -- to help open the way for genuinely fun, inventive sci-fi narratives with a budget.

Was the above review useful to you?

220 out of 364 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie

10/10
Author: sayia-784-667020 from United Kingdom
5 September 2013

This is a genuinely good movie, it follows on from the previous Riddick movies and doesn't leave anything to be desired. Richard B Riddick is up to his old tricks again, and if you're a fan, you won't be disappointed, definitely a must see.

Vin Diesel is great as always, playing a character that never ceases to enthral me, and the rest of the cast is great too.

You know a movie is good when it makes you watch the previous movies when you get home from seeing it.

The music is also exceptional I found too, fitting in very well with the action scenes.

I've always found Riddick to be a movie that is very rich in its universe, it pulls you in without really telling you much, and this movie does exactly the same, worth a watch even if you're not a fan.

Was the above review useful to you?

129 out of 188 people found the following review useful:

Great to see him back

8/10
Author: moby1974 (moby1974@hotmail.com) from ENGLAND-carlisle
6 September 2013

OK big fan of the 1st one, and I do like the 2nd one (directors cut though) and I can also see why some did not like the 2nd, it has some issues but the main one was the ALIEN 3 problem, that been after Aliens and all its army and guns, ALIEN 3 was no guns no army......people wanted more of the same, which in this case its funny to see that a 3rd Riddick film which gives people Riddick vs monsters is getting "its a rehash" Not sure what people want from a film like this, its pure comic book action, and I loved it, but you have to see what they were playing with, less than half the budget of the 2nd film and half as long to shoot, this is a labour of love for the Director and Vin, by today's PG13 Hollywood standards its a miracle it was made as a R/15, as for the film itself they seemed to make good use of the low budget, some very nice setups and yes in parts the low budget shows but as a whole its good, and that about sums up the film...GOOD, I rate it higher than most of Joe public but I am a fan and get more of a kick out of it, and going by the others in the cinema the feeling was "a good action film" while fans came out "great, been waiting ages for this, now give us a 4th, finish the story" I will go see it again and look forward to the BluRay

Was the above review useful to you?

122 out of 178 people found the following review useful:

I really wanted to like this movie but it just wasn't good

5/10
Author: lschouder-329-467894 from United States
8 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I actually didn't hate the Chronicles or Riddick as much as other people did. I didn't think it was that bad. And of course, Pitch Black was great. Out of the three films in the series, this is definitely the worst. First of all, it's almost exactly the same plot as Pitch Black. Riddick teams with people that want him dead and vice versa to kill deadly creatures and escape the planet they're stranded on. I just don't know why they made the same movie twice. The action in the movie felt uninspired and dull. Plus, for all his legendary skill, Riddick find himself near death as a result of situations that should've been a cake walk for him. The ending was also very abrupt and strange. Two ships ascend, one with Riddick the other with the mercenaries who now admire our hero; they exchange stupid sentiments, screen shot Riddicks' face and then cut to black. What?!!! That was it? The movie stopped but there was no ending. It would've been smarter to see him on the first step of his next adventure. Did he find Furya? Maybe his ship could be flying towards the planet while adventure music plays. But nope. Just Riddicks's face then credits. The movie was very hollow and it felt like nothing really happened. Very poorly done.

Was the above review useful to you?

155 out of 255 people found the following review useful:

Loved it !!

10/10
Author: Hasan
5 September 2013

I really don't get some people. Everyone was saying how Chronicles was so much more different than Pitch Black (which personally I don't find a negative thing)and they should have stuck to something more like Pitch Black. Then Riddick comes out and people are saying its like watching Pitch Black again. Make up your minds people !

Second, if you're expecting this movie to win an Oscar, please don't watch it. It's a sci fi movie with action, killing, fighting and blood. If you got any problem with any of those I don't know why you paid for a ticket really.

The movie itself was very good. I've been waiting a looong time for this movie to come out. I've watched the other two Riddick movies waaayyyy too many times for me to remember. If you're a Riddick fan or feel like watching a kick-ass movie then I would recommend going to see Riddick. You don't really need to have watched the first two movies, but I would recommend seeing them anyway if you haven't.

Was the above review useful to you?

115 out of 176 people found the following review useful:

Riddick - just as bad-ass as the previous ones!

8/10
Author: bobbo204 from United States
6 September 2013

Just saw the movie and loved it. I greatly enjoyed the first and second films so I've been looking forward to this since it was announced. It's a great sci-fi bad-ass action movie. Plenty of cheesy one-liners and good action scenes set in a sci-fi world.

The story wasn't anything spectacular, no breaking new ground here but it does set the stage for the next (hope we get a next!!!!). Graphics were well-done, alien life wasn't anything unique but were suitably scary.

If you liked the 1st and/or 2nd film you'll enjoy this. It pays more homage to the 1st than the 2nd. Vin Diesel does another great job acting as Riddick and you'll be cheering for the anti-hero as usual.

I personally am hoping the series continues, can't get enough of this! hope you enjoy!

Was the above review useful to you?

101 out of 150 people found the following review useful:

You have already seen this movie

3/10
Author: suzzie526 from Ohio
6 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If this weren't another Riddick movie, I would have walked out.

If you're a huge Riddick fan, and you've already seen Pitch Black, then you've essentially already seen this movie. Except "Stay In the Light" and "Stay Out of the Light" are now "Stay Out of the Wet." There's a lot of recycled content in this movie, from the concept to the music and even some of the alien monster noises. The monsters themselves even resemble those found in Pitch Black, though without the awesomely gnarly protruding eyes.

But now Riddick has a dog. And suddenly he's concerned about right and wrong instead of being the classic anti-hero from all previous movies. Nothing is solved. Like Pitch Black, the entire movie is about him getting off a planet infested with alien monsters bent on eating him. The huge mass of predatory aliens only come out into the world when it rains, which apparently, judging from the desert-like conditions is extremely rare. Sort of like another certain planet, also desert-like, whose creatures only venture out when it's completely dark, another uncommon event.

I was surprised that Karl Urban got such high billing considering he's on the screen for about two minutes. If you were seeking resolution concerning Furya and the necromongers, forget it. Instead, you'll get Vin Diesel and his CGI canine. He almost manages to eek out a tear when it inevitably dies. A softer, kinder Riddick.

Save your $10 and just wait for the video if you HAVE to see it. But this movie was such an obvious ploy for money without regard to the Riddick series that I'm going to black it out of my memory and pretend it doesn't exist.

Was the above review useful to you?

98 out of 149 people found the following review useful:

I'm really disappointed...

3/10
Author: bartekb81 from Poland
8 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I love Pitch Black movie. In fact, it is one of my beloved movies and one of the best sci-fi movies I've ever watched. A perfect mix of horror, action movie and a drama, with colorful and interesting characters and same anti-hero. Chronicles wasn't so good but still was entertaining and fun to watch. So I'm even more disappointed now... Riddick was to be expected as returning to the roots; simply being a better Pitch Black, and proud continue of this great franchise. Unfortunately it isn't half as good as Pitch Black is. Moreover, it is really bad, BAD movie, so bad that I can't understand how David Twohy managed to do that. Riddick sucks in almost every way; it is a truly boring experience most of the time. Script is bad, dialogs are weak, like written by 10 years old. Characters are dull and empty - including Riddick character(Sorry, Vin). Only neurotic Santana seems to be at right place and feels somewhat interesting. Besides of Riddick, I'm truly disappointed in Dahl character - thought she would play a greater role than a plaything to our anti-hero. Not to mention Luna guy who brought to the movie simply nothing. Weak, weak, weak. Riddick is still a tough guy like he was expected to be, but this time he is just unconvincing with his cheesy lines and strange behavior. The only good thing is his bond with a dog, and really, NOTHING else. There is no tense, no dynamic in this movie. Riddick was supposed to be a predator so I thought he would be a real bad-ass finishing off his opponents one by one. But no. There's no single action with him worth to mention. And this one with Santana is a 'bit' awkward... I'm heavily disappointed in this film, in David Twohy and Vin Diesel. Sorry guys, but you totally let me down. Not recommending it.

Was the above review useful to you?

92 out of 148 people found the following review useful:

Very entertaining popcorn flick!!! Not for young ones!!!

8/10
Author: jvg37 from United States
6 September 2013

I saw Riddick last night and enjoyed it very much. No, it wasn't a perfect film, but I knew going in that I wasn't going to see an Oscar contender!!! The action and special effects were great, the story is nothing we haven't already seen before though it was well done, and the acting was as expected for this genre. What it does lack in originality, it makes up for in intensity. It is a violent film, but it is action violence and nowhere near "torture porn". Yes, you will have to suspend a good deal of belief, but no more than in any other action film. If you are looking for a heartwarming tale of humanity at it's best -- skip this one. If you are expecting a modern retelling of 2001, than forget this one. If you are looking for mindless entertainment with a lot of action and a plausible storyline, this is for you.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 33:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history