IMDb > Plan B (2009/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Plan B
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Plan B More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 31 reviews in total 

52 out of 60 people found the following review useful:

This film needs much wider exposure

9/10
Author: ruthlmex from United Kingdom
28 October 2009

Just seen this at the London Film Festival and highly recommend it. Was fortunate enough to be able to see the Q&A with the Director and his team afterwards in which they said this has no distribution yet even in it's own country. I hope this situation changes as it is a film I think a lot of people worldwide would enjoy. If it comes to a cinema near you then go see it. I certainly hope to see a more of this director and his cast. Absolutely excellent.

I love cinema but this is the first film that I've ever felt so strongly to post on the internet about in the hope that more people will have the pleasure.

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Don't Cry for Me, I've Plan B...

8/10
Author: NJMoon from United States
31 October 2010

Plan A is 'make a great film that runs under 90 minutes'; PLAN B is 'make a great film'. By all rights Director Marco Berger's tale of an Argentina man's plan to win back his girlfriend by wooing her new love interest should have had me hitting the FF with its long, extended takes and silent montage sequences. But the acting by the two leads and Berger's bravado in not rushing his tale of unlikely romance pays off. It takes the full 100 minutes - so stay with it - but I found this film genuinely compelling - sometimes irritatingly so. I wanted to say 'who cares' and hit the OFF button but the guys are so truthful and down-to-earth that even the implausible premise seems perfectly likely. Mark PLAN B a success.

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

Touching examination of friendship and sexuality.

10/10
Author: adamsoch-1 from United States
6 November 2010

Plan B is a captivating movie about feelings and the struggle to be honest, at least to yourself about them. An amazingly complex matter we all go through many, many times in life. Skillfully directed and edited by the Argentinean first timer Marco Berger, the film is an emotional statement of sexual confusion, artistically created by a team of young dedicated and intelligent friends. Two other amazing films comes to mind after watching this extraordinary work of art; Alexander Sokurov's Mother and Son and the young and talented Romanian Corneliu Porumboiu's Politist, Adjectiv.

This film is not for everyone, but bright heterosexual people will find it very honest and even valuable. You just do not know what will they do next and will question why are these two nice straight guys get it on? Because sexuality is complex by nature and societies made it even more difficult for them to express what they are feeling and Marco Berger knows that. It seems like the Kinsey Scale is hard at work in this film, where the numbers they belong is keep shifting, but as a spectator, never for a moment lost interest or joy in the beautifully composed scenes especially when they are at sleep or just standing and waiting for something to happen naturally. Your finger might be on the fast-forward side of the remote control, but if you are a true film lover "you will not! touch that button." The joy and artistry are coming from these long, beautiful and important takes and cuts. The film takes its time to let those feelings and expressions do the work, so we the audience get into the characters and almost feel their pain or joy.

One has to be very ambitious and a fanatic Tarkovsky fan to be able to make this stunning expressionist film and Marco Berger, I suspect, is both. I only recommend Plan B to hard- core film lovers and open-minded beautiful human beings, because the film will ask you to participate, will give you the space to be there with them and even examine your own feelings about this complex subject matters as sexuality, society and honesty.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Love goes beyond gender

10/10
Author: anthraxtrash
21 August 2010

I literally stumbled upon this movie and ,unlike all the movie trash out there this is worth your time. I do not even think it is fair to label this a "gay" film. To me that genre should simply be erased, and changed to a love story like any other- whether it's between two woman, two men, a man and woman. Although I digress... I like how the film dealt with the two characters coming to terms with feelings never confronted before, where the friendship line is crossed. It does not get moody, it portrays very realistically how two people may deal with loving a friend. Although the dialogue is pretty minimal, it is very poignant and direct. The scenery of Argentina is shown throughout, and the little things in this film matter. If given the chance to watch this film...do it! You will not regret it.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Boys can't decide whether they have bromance or romance

10/10
Author: Alan Jacobs (alanjj@gmail.com) from Greenwich Village, NY
7 June 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I loved this movie. Shown at the NY's LGBT festival. It's a serious take on male bonding, which goes over the usual line and becomes romance. Outstanding acting by the two male leads. The director has an usual style, especially nowadays when everything in cinema comes rapid-fire--he believes in SLOW. So his camera will focus on a room before anyone is in it, and then the room will become occupied. He focuses a lot on the two actors' faces, as they ponder, decide, ponder some more, dream, think some more, decide, and ponder. It could get tedious with lesser actors, but these two guys are good. The leads are nice-looking guys, easy on the eyes, but certainly not models. They don't shave much, don't take care of their hair, have lots of body hair, good bodies but not pumped up: they look real. This romance is not glamorized, no swelling music, your emotions are not heightened by any cinematographic techniques. I guess this might be considered a Dogma movie--and it works splendidly.

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

A good film that develops a believable sexual tension between the central characters, culminating in a believable ending.

9/10
Author: holliston67
11 November 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I loved this movie - I was really happy I stumbled on it. The performances were amazing and I loved the pacing of the film. I agree with a couple of the reviews in regards to the repeated cut-aways to shots of buildings/city scapes. I thought that, as a conceit, this could have been pared down a little. I did, however, appreciate and like the introduction of ambient sound between and within scenes - it worked with the pacing and created then built up an incredible tension that mirrored the developing sexual tension between the 2 main characters.

I disagree with the bro-mance comments. My interpretation of the story is that Pablo is predominantly gay and uncomfortable with his sexuality. The film starts with a shot of Bruno playing with a kitten - we then find out at the end that Pablo photographed Bruno doing so, before the 2 really met each other, and that Pablo kept the photo in his wallet. Putting everything together, it seems that Pablo's glances at Bruno in the gym were less about curiosity and more about yearning.

And don't forget that at a certain point in the film, Pablo lies to Laura, saying that he has had a sexual relationship (or at least an encounter) with another man. When Pablo later says to a friend that, in reality, he was only "thinking" of having a sexual encounter with another man, it indicates to me that this is something that Pablo is coming to terms with - people who are not grappling with their sexuality don't create such fictions.

Bruno's sexuality, however, is the one that is more ambiguous. He seems comfortably hetro yet at the beginning, when he sees Pablo with his ex girlfriend, his eyes go down to Pablo's crotch. Is this action motivated by a possessory feeling towards Laura or a sexual curiosity? The movie hints at something buried within Bruno but it is never didactic: what inspired Bruno's jealousy? Is he genuinely in love with Laura or is he motivated by wounded pride? In the end, though, the filmmaker succeeded in creating a scenario that was completely believable. There was nothing dishonest about Bruno's declaration of love at the end of the movie - thinking back through all of the subtle hints in the film, it all made sense.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Great, great, great movie

10/10
Author: Axel Fritzler (aliens8755@gmail.com) from Argentina
23 August 2010

This title skips every cliché in "gay" cinema, and it all comes down to a beautiful "bromance" story. The guys don't look flawless or run into a promiscuous gay club to dance shirtless, do drugs and get wasted, as soon as they realize they enjoy...male company. This movie also brings you back to puberty, a time when one probably wouldn't do weed, but one can talk to a friend for hours, goof around and innocence is still allowed.

There's something kinda annoying on the building shots, with some kind of a background huming sound that could've been avoided, but is not that much of a big deal. It just makes no difference if they're there or not, and it would actually help with the pacing of the story.

The guy playing Bruno is just awesome. Do watch this movie, over and over again.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Loved It!

10/10
Author: (lakenyc@aol.com) from United States
7 November 2010

WOW! I loved this gem of a movie. Two alleged "straight" guys discovering some feeling between them might seem like the plot of a good porno film but this is handled with such realism that the audience can't help but feel drawn in.

At first I wondered why there were lingering shots of the buildings' exteriors, but then I started to like the (what I'm guessing anyway) was the symbolism of imprisonment of feelings,coldness,loneliness, austerity.

I also loved the style of leaving in background noise during great moments. Isn't that the way real life is? I want to see this movie again and the actors were excellent! I especially liked Pablo, who has one scene of internal pain that is not forced in any way and is totally believable.

I'm going to watch it again!

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Worth it for the last 4 minutes alone....or I'll..........

Author: arizona-philm-phan from Arizona
20 September 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Yo.....let me get something out of the way right up front. If you don't think the ending 4 minute scene makes your viewing time more than worth it, then I'll eat my ticket stub, AND tell you that you're not the gay romantic you'd like to think you are.

The Big Question addressed by this movie is....Will "Plan B" backfire? Since we're given seemingly "Dyed in the Wool" Hetereos as our 2 leads, it's a valid one. But, listen up now, you should know at the start that in viewing this film lots of Patience is required. Hey, IF good things are going to happen, normally time is needed, time to let things GROW.....first you gotta become Buds.....and then.....maybe more. Also, don't forget about taking time to realize who and what you really are, and seeing if you'll fit with someone. So, Viewers, don't rush this; your Director intended for you to be as patient as are his 2 leads (even if it does result in confusion along the way---a big part of this story).

And here's just a little bit of what that patience will bring you: There's a face to face profession of love.....there's a written confession of love. There's some hurt.....there's some tears. You'll witness lots of feelings expressed in just a look.....or in the stillness of their body positions during times apart from one another. Again, you've got to watch carefully for this stuff.....for emotions to grow----it's all new to these guys.....something that's never before happened to them. But, you'll be happy to know, we CAN see it.....a camera can catch it: falling in love.....oh, yes (just watch for those silly little smiles on their faces from time to time).

Not everything is perfect (perhaps part of which involves different cultures and countries from our own). There are things I think wrong with this film, but most of them have to do with a lack of resources to produce a top-grade production. This young and talented (cute, too) writer/director likely did the best he could with what he had. Foremost problem is a lack of inviting surroundings in which to shoot---especially an important waterfront "getting to know one another" scene---which takes place in an abandoned industrial area of crumbling cement, rusting metal and weed growth. Sadly, those surroundings undermine the relationship development such a scene is aiming for. Still, it does remind us that our 2 lead characters are not upscale, wealthy types (and their living quarters reflect that, as well).

Speaking of the leads (Manuel Vignau and Lucas Ferraro).....if you begin by thinking these 2 are mere eye candy, they'll have you right where they want you---squirming for "IT" to happen. What's "IT" you ask? Duh, c'mon, be honest; you came into this thing thinking, "Oooh, 2 straights falling for each other." Sure ya did, (but I told you above, Patience is required) and our leads and director are quite good at making us wonder "if" as well as "when" the big "IT" might occur. And during all the waiting you'll be doing, you may just start to notice that these guys play off each other wonderfully---which is no small thing if a film is to be memorable. (This being a low budget Indy, the DVD Special Features interviews of both actors, perhaps surprisingly, show them to be quite well-spoken and certainly well aware of what they needed to do to get the point of this story across to us).

Moving on here, let me say you'll just have to stick around to see how the big "Plan B" of this film's title works out (clue: "Retard"---I gave you a hint up above). (And see, right there is yet another clue---and from a line in the film, itself). As a closing comment on the overall production, I'll just say: maybe not the most original concept and polished execution....but on the whole, Satisfying.

PS--So, the Moral of this tale is that, yes, you can have a Backup Plan ("B") for a first attempt gone wrong. BUT keep in mind that, if the situation involves love, jealousy, or getting-back-at, and if it results in deviousness or hurtfulness toward another person, then you may find out the hard way that "B" can also stand for "B"ackfire or "B"oomerang. Which is not to say that LOVE can't be the end result.

(( I've revised this review and in doing so am adding this following comment about the film: I've come to find it strangely surprising that these 2 actors have REALLY grown on me, and that I want to watch and rewatch them. Sure, one's kind of an idiot at the beginning....until an "earthquake" hits him, and you begin to see him differently. And the other lead....well, Wow, the tears he is brought to suddenly become the tears you share. And sure, sometimes I fast-forward through scenes not mainly involving them, but that's only because I want them back. So, there you have it. ))

****

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant, quiet, well-crafted gem of a film

10/10
Author: billy_dana from United States
30 January 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Just finished watching this film for the 2nd time. This a small gift of art - a clean, articulate character study that does an enormous amount with a minimum of dialog and some excellent writing, directing and acting. The characters come to life quickly and in 3 dimensions, the tensions created between the two men are great and lend a solid strength to the movie, and it is a fairly out-of-the-box take on romance, gay, straight or otherwise.

It drags a bit in places - but that just may be a very American perspective. It is romantic, even sexy - and does so without anything more sexual than a few kisses and guys sleeping in their underwear. It doesn't preach, it doesn't beat you over the head, and (I would suggest) it doesn't give a damn whether you buy the story or not. It is a well-told tale.

I like that it calls into question the nature of attraction, and who it can happen to, whatever gender preference is articulated. I remember all the discussion around "Brokeback Mountain", and how if a guy is attracted to another guy then they must be gay. Which is of course crap. Here, decades after Kinsey and his research, we still want very much to believe that a person is either/or, when most of us, the vast majority of us, are not so cleanly labeled or boxed.

Two "straight" guys fall in love with each other. Not so wacky. Pretty interesting actually.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history