IMDb > Dream Home (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Wai dor lei ah yut ho
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Dream Home More at IMDbPro »Wai dor lei ah yut ho (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 31 reviews in total 

28 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

a high rise with a killer view

8/10
Author: K2nsl3r from Finland
20 September 2010

This film is a fresh, entertaining, stylish and beautifully staged gore fest. The bloody mainframe of the film's structure is accompanied by an interesting side-story that serves to justify all the bloodshed and also to provide some social commentary, but all this is secondary to the rivers of blood. And God saw it was good.

Ho-Cheung Pang's "Dream Home" proves that well-made genre pictures satisfy a basic human need: they can focus our attention, for a while, to a sequence of events that entertains because we know, roughly speaking, what to expect, what kind of experiences are in store for us. Well, Dream House is an honest splatter. Victims are lined up to be slaughtered in the most inventive ways for our viewing pleasure. But the film also has elements of human drama, and these two aspects - gore and drama - play each other in and out very well. The overall result is an impeccably paced, brutal but surprisingly uplifting story, beautifully shot against the backdrop of Hong Kong's endless arrays of high-rises and apartment blocks.

The main character, played by an air of focused innocence by Josie Ho, has been saving up to buy an apartment with a nice seaside view, and she is working very hard to realize her dreams. Then things don't go exactly as planned. Lots of drama ensues. People die. Blood is spilled.

There is nothing much more to the plot than a general arch to justify the gore, but it all works out very well, and doesn't feel dragged out or phony or needlessly second-rate; in fact, the acting in this film is actually quite good for the most part, with the exception of the actress who plays the main heroine: she is VERY good. In addition to the action, there is some merit to the drama itself. It carries some weight, or, at any rate, enough to make the film seem interesting all the while. None of the social commentary is especially realistic or intelligent, but the splatter format can function as a kind of primal scream therapy, and thus bring some aspects of our repressed social anxieties to the bloody daylight.

Finally, one aspect of the film deserves special attention: the cinematography, editing and directing. The shots are beautiful, symmetrical, rich in detail. Whether inside or outside, the camera captures some beautiful scenes (and, let us not kid ourselves here, some beautiful people). Each frame could almost work as a photograph; each outdoors vignette of Hong Kong cityscape is hauntingly beautiful; each spewing of blood is swiftly and surgically captured on the screen.

The script is tight and the acting is sufficient. The editing is inventive and the staging rich in detail. Even the drama succeeds in never becoming boring and no single scene, or theme, overstays its welcome. The director-writer Pang has given us a good splatter film which is also a good film even outside its (criminally under-appreciated and depreciated) genre. I was pleasantly surprised by the craft involved. Did I mention it's also funny? Just wait for the moment when the... oh, never mind, just go see this bloody film already.

Snap judgment: Rivers of blood make for bloody good entertainment.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Very gory satirical slasher.

8/10
Author: HumanoidOfFlesh from Chyby, Poland
6 February 2011

Cheng Lai-sheung(Josie Ho)is desperate to buy a flat in the famed Victoria Harbor in Hong Kong.He works two jobs and is already in debt.Not enough money for her dream home prompts her to spill the blood of the rich."Dream Home" is one hell of a gory slasher.The killings are extremely vicious and insanely bloody.The murderous rampage of the main character leaves nothing to imagination.The cinematography is stylish,the acting is fantastic and the score provide some chills."Dream Home" paints an ugly side of corrupted society with some of the bloodiest murders ever captured on screen.8 blood sprays out of 10.A must-see for horror fans with an iron stomach.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

A view to (a) kill (aka Do not try this at your future home)

9/10
Author: kosmasp
7 November 2010

Wouldn't it be nice to have a really good apartment? An apartment you always dreamed of? Of course not many of us could really afford our dream home, now could we? So what could we do about it? Other than work night and day (and the other way around) to really get enough money for it? Is there anything we can do?

According to the movie there is. But then again, you might not want to try that at (your future?) home. You could call this a social parody I guess and it is very well done. A very wicked sense of humor, great effects and an intercourse that is even more outrageous than the one that can be witnessed in "Hatchet 2" (though I'm pretty sure neither of the filmmakers were aware of that "similarity", maybe still aren't). If you like horror that also has something to say, but can also just be watched as entertainment, this is for you!

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

I want to sleep with this woman. With one eye open, of course.

6/10
Author: Boloxxxi from United States
2 November 2010

I couldn't help but notice that there were some really nice looking women in this movie and--. What's that you say? Get to the damn review? What's this film about? Okay, okay.

A woman goes to extreme measures to get her dream home after greedy sellers back out of a deal to sell to her. No doubt she had some inspiration from her childhood when developers were forcing people out of their homes in her neighborhood by using underhanded and criminal tactics. Her tale is told alternating between her murderous present and the years and days leading up to it so that we understand her motivation and see her transformation.

What can I say?

If you're squeamish make sure you eat your lunch AFTER you see this. --But then again, you might not want to eat anything after either. The solution for you may be to avoid this altogether. On the other hand, if gore does not particularly bother you, or you are a gore hound, this is your movie.The instigator of all this horror is a woman who just flipped.

Right after the sellers turned her down, you knew by the way the camera was used to shoot her walking on the street that here was a woman who had just lost everything; she feels numb; she hardly sees, hears, or feels anything around her; her heart's desire (since she was a child) has been snatched from her when she thought it was so close.

Imagine the intensity of the anger and desperation that must eventually have taken hold of her later. First disbelief and hopelessness. Suicidal thoughts might naturally have followed (after all, her dream was dead). This woman however, decided she wasn't going down without a fight. But we saw indications earlier with her father that this woman could be ruthless; that she wasn't so innocent. Still we are not prepared for the "helter skelter" sadistic cruelty she unleashes.

Lastly, let me say that it was hard to feel sympathy for this woman because of her sadism (some of it, it seemed to me, spiteful and gratuitous) towards people who had nothing to do with thwarting her dream except maybe they were able to rent where she wanted to live. So I found I was always rooting for her victims. Sadly, in vain (the bitch is a killing machine). Nice looking woman though and some others as well. If I could manage to take that big-ass knife away from her and all her other implements of terror I think I could.... Okay, okay, I got you. Boloxxxi out. Love.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Murderously entertaining

7/10
Author: Maz Murdoch (asda-man) from United Kingdom
31 December 2012

I sort of see Dream Home as a thinking man's slasher. What I mean by that is that it's a slasher film with a point, as it contains all the outlandishly kills from famous slashers like Friday the 13th (it probably goes further actually) but all the excessive blood and violence has a point, and a very valid point about the current house market in Hong Kong. Dream Home is also supposedly based on true events, I don't know how many of the events are true but I'm guessing not that many! Still, it illustrates the point of the film further as the age old issue of money has seriously taken its toll!

Dream Home has an interesting structure which I don't know if it entirely worked. You see it cross cuts from her current murder spree to her past, including early childhood, right up to the events that led her to do it. In its favour it did add a nice layer of mystery to the film, and also helped to balance out the drama-heavy scenes with the horror-heavy scenes, allowing us to take a break from the last gruesome massacre and look forward to how it's all going to pan out! However, I can't help but wonder if the film would've been stronger having the events be shown in chronological order. It may have built the suspense and the final killing spree would've been doubly intense! It certainly worked for May, although the characters were much stronger in that than they are here. It's an interesting thought, but I'm satisfied with the unusual cross-cuts.

Now horror fans are not going to be disappointed with the horror-heavy scenes! Dream Home showcases some of the most inventive kills I've seen on screen for a long time. Some of them are also quite heavy to watch, by that I mean distressing, which makes us feel less empathy for the character, making her well rounded. However, I think there could've been more evidence of her snappy psychological state in the past as she doesn't appear violent until she suddenly snaps. It does seem a bit over the top, but I suppose we can forgive it. There's plenty of blood and not only that, some scenes were actually quite suspenseful and thrilling rather than just a simple slash and dash.

The drama-heavy scenes are also not as boring as I've labelled them. I found it really interesting to find out how she got so fixated on that apartment she wanted, and her journey getting her. They really help to flesh out the character further so we can feel for her and her motives (occasionally). However, I also think that a little background on her victims could've been nice as well, so we get to see them as humans too rather than just prey to feed off! The film is also beautifully shot and directed which I didn't expect. There's some lovely cinematography of the high-rise buildings which could also be metaphorical as it seems so out of her reach!

Dream Home is a highly successful slasher and one that I'd be happy to revisit again. It doesn't hold back and also brings up various themes which have a place in today's society. I really enjoyed its entertaining violence and strong character build-up. You do care what happens to her in the end and it also makes a refreshing change to have a slasher film from the killer's point of view. I'd definitely go and check this one out as it doesn't seem that a lot have!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Legitimately shocking

8/10
Author: zetes from Saint Paul, MN
6 October 2013

Josie Ho plays a young woman desperate to own her own flat. She makes the perfect deal for her dream home, but then the owners decide that the property is too valuable to part with. Ho decides to take matters into her own hands and lower that property value - by killing the crap out of everyone who lives next door to that place. I've never quite seen anything like this. The structure, which moves back and forth in time, is a bit confusing at first, but it all comes together in the end. The film is most notable for its violence. These are some of the nastiest, most disturbing murders I've seen in a long time. I can't remember the last time I was actually shocked by a movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Stylish and interesting. A well done slasher flick.

Author: nasteen8 from United States
28 October 2011

This movie caught my attention when it was reviewed by a friend of mine and I decided to give it a go and thankfully I did!!What can be said about "Dream Home" is that it's a very well done slasher movie with a fresh approach. I really loved this movie, what can I say! The basic story is a woman becomes so obsessed with buying a home with a view of the ocean she will go to any lengths to get that home....

I'm a huge fan of ultra violent horror movies and this one did not let down on that front by any means. But what really got me was the fresh ideas about a slasher/killer in this film. It wasn't the tired "crazed man follows stupid teens to a cabin" crap that gets turned out every week but a look at a seemingly normal person getting so obsessed with a dream that they will do anything and everything in their power to obtain that dream. Her performance was spot on and quite disturbing with kill scenes that made me cringe (which is very hard to do). Seriously, one of the greatest kill scenes I've seen in a movie this year! Do yourself a favor and check this out if you're into the slasher/killer genre. It won't be a waste of your time at the very least and you may just like it, maybe a lot!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Superb gruesome horror

9/10
Author: yeltzmanmatt from Birmingham, England
2 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched this film with relatively low expectations. However I am a lover of subtitled films and the premise seemed decent enough. I was instantly drawn into the film from the fairly gruesome opening. The film follows a young girl who wishes to purchase an apartment in crowded Hong Kong and will do anything to get the property she desires.

The acting is decent throughout and you feel a certain empathy with the killer even though you know you really shouldn't. The death scenes are extremely gruesome and at times I had to look away but it was was filmed in a beautiful way, a way you rarely if ever get from a Hollywood film. The kill rate quickly escalates but is interspersed with a back story of the killers early life and her motives, which bring a little light relief to the ensuing massacre. The killings themselves though far fetched and bloody are gruesomely enjoyable.

Yes if you wanted you could pick plenty of plot holes but I don't watch films for realism just escapism. The ending for me was low key but extremely effective.

Overall this was a film that was well acted, gory and extremely entertaining throughout. If you like bloody horror and an intelligent script then this is right up your street.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Dreary exercise in sadism

4/10
Author: Leofwine_draca from United Kingdom
14 July 2014

DREAM HOME is a modern-day homage to the nasty Category III boom of the 1990s which saw Hong Kong film producers making such tasteless products as THE EBOLA SYNDROME, RUN AND KILL and BUNMAN. Sadly, it lacks the finesse and indeed interest of those films, which would have been passable without all the nastiness; instead this is a film entirely built around bloodshed.

This movie has an odd, convoluted-feeling narrative; half of the story is told in flashback, and the rest is basically one extended gore sequence. About the only thing I can recommend is the quality of the gore effects, which are exemplary and ultra-realistic, but that's all there is to it: there are no heroes or villains here, nobody to root for, just murder after murder. Before long it gets very wearying and nihilistic, worse than a cheap '80s slasher.

The set-up story, told through flashback, I found very lightweight and Josie Ho's stilted acting and monotonous delivery of her lines didn't help much. It seems to be building up to some big twist but you end up thinking "so what?". It's five minutes of screen time stretched out to an hour. Yes, there's some good subtext involving the struggle for people to get on the property market, but in the end this is a simplistic, dreary exercise in sadism and one that left me frankly bored.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

An Unexpectedly Brutal Tale

6/10
Author: Tabatha Zee from United States
23 July 2013

"Dream Home" has been a title I've been waiting to watch since it's release. Most reviews I had read pinned it as a "darkly hilarious" satirical horror film with high levels of style and gore. The style and gore are there alright, but as far as humor is concerned, I was a little let down. The film does have it's quirks and witty lines, not to mention a few "so-bad-it's-good" effects, but it didn't quite live up to the reputation that I had known it for. That being said, the film is shot beautifully and uses a wide variety of creative shots and transitions. It plays with the time-line well and develops Cheng's character at a very nice pace. Many of the deaths are drawn out and disturbing, which would make this a difficult film to watch if the effects were done with more care. Some over-the-top gore may be humorous to some, but in using characters that the audience can relate to, it is more easily said to be horrific. All in all, though it fell a little short of the hype I've been hearing, "Dream Home" is a must for any Chinese or Asian horror fans!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history