IMDb > Sinbad: The Fifth Voyage (2014) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Sinbad: The Fifth Voyage More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 49 reviews in total 

45 out of 67 people found the following review useful:

I would rather watch paint dry

1/10
Author: stephanfourie6 from South Africa
14 October 2014

All I can say is this film, if you dare to call it that takes the "Sin" out of "Sinbad". Do yourself a favor and skip this one, this should go straight to DVD and then die.The acting is very poor and also the special effects are sure special, costumes aren't bad. I felt like I was watching something akeen to a bad remake of pulp fiction with all the jumping around between scenes and time line, I think the editor was asleep when cutting the scenes or maybe was watching pulp fiction at the time, then we get to the sound, the score isn't bad but once again poorly executed.So all and all someone's wasted a lot of money on this submarine of a film.

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 63 people found the following review useful:

Unbelievably, laughably, terrifically bad . . . .

1/10
Author: dan6-1 from United States
13 October 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was seduced into watching this movie because of Patrick Stewart's involvement. I'm certain that once he saw it (if he even did — he wanted to crawl into a small dark hole.

This movie is unspeakably awful. I'm a huge fan of all the Harryhausen-era versions, and I had turn this off at the 30-minute mark. The effects looked like they were done by a high-school class, and the actors were unspeakably horrible. To give you some idea, the Caliph's guards were pudgy, pasty-looking guys that looked like they were pulled from their mall security gigs to hold spears and look bewildered at how they had ended up on a film set.

Sinbad himself looked like a grade-Z extra from a terrorist film. And then you have Patrick Stewart narrating over the whole mess in a state of total ignorance at the travesty transpiring on the screen.

I can only believe that previous reviewers had some involvement with the production of this "movie" because it is so obviously terrible, terrible, terrible. (Did I mention that it's terrible?)

Please stay far away from this stinker. Otherwise, it will haunt your memories. I would give this a rating of "0" if I could...

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Possibly the worst I've ever seen

1/10
Author: schwicked
29 November 2014

There are several fake reviews for this movie, attempting to counter the 1 stars with a bunch of 10/10 reviews. Be warned, this movie is one of the worst ever made. It's not subjective, it's just a fact. There have been worse movies but they were all made in the 70's about workplace safety.

There are several aspects of this movie that are terrible.

The acting is on par with that which you might find in a play put on hastily by teenagers, who forget to make a script... or a plot.

The script, if one exists, is the kind of thing that makes the likes of 10,000 BC or Cats & Dogs look like masterworks. It mostly consists of one character telling everyone what is happening then another saying "oh yes, that is happening", to which a third character will exclaim that "I have also noticed it happening, and this is how I feel about it." Which may or may not be accompanied by an expression, which is supposed to convey an emotion but somehow doesn't.

The story was clearly not story boarded. That's the only conclusion I can come up with as to why giant swathes of the plot are skipped over from scene to scene. I have actually advised several film students to watch the movie as a warning, to illustrate what happens if you try and make a movie without properly planning it beforehand. You end up with missing scenes. In the case of Sinbad, you are missing at least 20 minutes, since the movie purports to be 89 minutes long but is actually only 69.

Editing. It's one of those jobs that is utterly thankless. If you do a good job, nobody notices but if you do a bad job, you ruin everything. As an illustration of what you can expect, we have a scene in the movie where, not once but twice, the camera has a slow, lingering shot of what we're told is a honey comb (people who have seen a honey comb know that they rarely look so much like a throbbing member though), the shot is accompanied by tense, combat style music. It is surreal. As if to compliment that, we have combat scenes, scored by gentle, Sunday strolling music.

Effects. Much has been made of the effects by the fake reviews but they really, really shouldn't. The effects are just plain bad. They are bad, to the extent, that the 1958 Sinbad movie, which featured the stunning work of Ray Harryhausen, is leagues ahead, not 50+ years behind. The idea of paying homage is fantastic and certainly stop-motion, with the modern tools available can really be brought to the next level, it just hasn't been here. It has dramatically missed the next level, fallen short and landed in a vat of angry alligators.

In short, the movie is a disaster, the likes of which most will be lucky to never see. For everyone else, watch this movie, only so that you might warn others.

Please insert your own sign-off pun, based on movie quality, containing the words 'sin' and 'bad'................................. ...............here.

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 55 people found the following review useful:

Ray Harryhausen Would Turn In His Grave.....

2/10
Author: barry-steers from Planet Earth
14 October 2014

I've been a big fan of Sinbad and Ray Harryhausen movies since I was a kid. These movies were some of the first I ever saw at the cinema and later in life I've introduced my 10 year son to them and he loves them too. When I saw what I can only describe as a 'remake' of a classic I decided to watch this with an open mind. Well within the first few minutes you could see what a crock of s*** this was. The FX were supposedly a homage to dear Ray but it completely lacked any soul or peril that the originals had. This movie was a hollow, amateurish attempt to recreate a classic and it failed miserably. I think my main gripe is the atrocious editing. It really was appalling and what could have been a barely passable film ended being cringe-worthy such was the terrible way it was put together. Yes some of the acting was creaky and the cast and extras only just about made it to double figures but the whole thing really is spoiled by the lack of care in post production. For the people giving this movie high praise, well we all know they are either part of the movie or associated with it somehow. Ultimately their high marks just make them look like morons. As a point, there are in fact 3 reviewers in a row giving this pile of steaming crap 10 stars but looking through their review history they joined IMDb at the same time, have all reviewed the exact same films at the same time and with the same or similar remarks so are in fact must be the same person giving multiple entries. This is probably an industry insider giving an inflated score to compensate for the real and honest low ones. Do yourself a favour and do not watch this, just go watch the originals as they are infinitely more appealing.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Bad and amateurish

1/10
Author: sashairk from United States
11 December 2014

When I see many 1- and 2-star reviews along with 5-star reviews my conclusion is that the movie is really bad and the 5-star reviews are written by the friends, family members and the people who made it.

I could force myself to watch only first 20 minutes of this 'masterpiece.' The animation is primitive like in the school movie, the acting is bad. I was surprised to learn, actually, that this is a US- made film. It looked more like some poorly made Bollywood flick, although they can make pretty good films there. I just wonder how such a fine actor like Patrick Stewart could lend his voice to such a trash. Well, money talks, I guess.

Don't waste your time on this one unless you want to see how a really bad B-movie looks like.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

I want the 1.5 hours of my life back!!!

1/10
Author: mpooyan83 from Denver, CO
2 December 2014

Honestly this movie was SO horrible that for most of it I kept telling myself "WHY AM I WATCHING THIS!!!?" but because of Patrick Stewarts name being on it, I gave it a shot.Why would such a great actor, like Patrick Stewart associate himself with his garbage waste of time? It looked like a movie made in the 50s but with color and horrible acting. HOW!? does this movie have a 6.6 rating on IMDb? did all the Iranians in Cali get on here and give it 10 stars? Bottom line: like another reviewer here said... "I'd rather sit and watch paint dry". Don't waste your time. I actually signed up for IMDb, JUST so I could put this review here.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Would rather watch the original movies...

2/10
Author: flemtone-134-997740
16 October 2014

Sad to say but would much rather watch the original Sinbad movies as they were far more entertaining than this sad attempt.. Also, the effects were horribly done for a newer 2014 movie and the monster animation and choreography for the fight scenes was dreadful... The acting was bland with no excitement or personality placed in any of the characters, also why did the Sinbad character have an accent in the movie but the voice-over Sinbad have an English accent (Patrick Stewart) ?!?! A quite awful B-movie status for this movie which could have been a lot better given some time and attention to the original Sinbad movies...

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

Yet another useless Director

1/10
Author: mdf45456 from United Kingdom
13 October 2014

This Director is yet another crappy maker of films, who think cutting scenes every 3 to 5 seconds make you great i did not make it past the first five minutes so i can't say if he was going for" let's wave the camera about", but i think this would happen as all Directors now have the how many cuts world record in view. If any of the old film makers were alive they would be rolling in their graves at what has happened to the fine art of film making. I really do think that what story they are telling has to be ruined by unnecessary cuts and throwing the camera about, well this viewer will not tolerate crappy directors and shabby work, so if you, like millions of cuts and bouncing camera work then this is for you, or you have the attention span of a cretin then watch away, but i will be giving this a miss and any other pile of crap that comes out of Hollywood as they can't make films anymore, well not for me. Like everything in this world today having a camera does not make you a director, and anyone who finds this so called art have lived a very sheltered life. So 0 out of 10 for really poor camera work and direction as for the story Meh...

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

OMG the Worst movie ever....

1/10
Author: master-davy-jones from Alexandria, Egypt
5 January 2015

and here i was so excited and so happy with this movie thinking that i will watch an amazing fantasy movie but all what i have watched was some Super Bad Actors who cant even act i never saw such bad acting in my whole life even porn stars act better seriously and it has the worst animation ever! that must have been made by a 5 years old amateur and the whole movie was shot in a room with bad / changing decoration! if this movie was made in the 50s it would have been much better in everything even in animation i wont tell you more it's totally your call and don't let the 6.7 rate fools you it must be the actors and their families and friends This movie suck!I'm here to give you a warning (Save yourselves)it's is a huge mess and a Massive Disaster the most stupid movie i have ever watched since Demon island in 2002

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Absolutely amateurish

Author: Data-1001 from Los Angeles, CA
14 December 2014

There is not enough space here to detail all the things that are terrible about this movie.

First, let me start with the good: Uhh... hmm. Well, Patrick Stewart's voice is in it. That should count for something, right? Actually, no. It merely points out the huge chasm between his talent and the "talents" of everyone else involved in this picture. Also, he is ostensibly the older voice of the lead actor, who doesn't even have the same accent. I hope at least Sir Patrick bought himself a nice car with his salary from this awful film.

The bad: No, "bad" is not a sufficient modifier to describe the extreme low level of quality here. Abysmal is more accurate. And that covers: the acting, the directing, the writing, the editing, the scoring, the producing, the special FX, the whole business.

Here's why you should be suspicious when a movie receives a mix of 9 & 10-star reviews with 1-star reviews, and very little in-between: There is no motive whatsoever for a group of people to band together and give rotten fake reviews to a movie. There is, however, a huge motive for cast & crew and their friends & family to give massively positive and glowing reviews for the film they worked on. I'm sure an email blast was sent out to a mailing list, encouraging everyone to rate it highly and write a review. Ignore the rating. Ignore the 10-star reviews. They are bogus. Trust the 1-star reviews.

There is nothing in this cinematic abomination that is worth recommending. It's not even a so-bad-it's-good kind of movie. None of these actors, directors, producers, writers, or editors should ever make a movie again — unless they each spend another 10,000 hours studying their craft... and at that point, they might possibly be almost ready to work on a Uwe Boll film. But I'd seriously advise all of them to become hotel clerks or real estate agents, because they really have no business trying to make movies for a living.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history