IMDb > Bloodstained Romance (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Bloodstained Romance
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Bloodstained Romance More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

no redeeming qualities

1/10
Author: MasterCreep from United States
23 June 2009

I would have liked to offer a different opinion but there is no other conclusion: this film is terrible. A very pedestrian attempt at a serial killer/obsessed psychotic film. "Bloodstained Romance" has nothing original to offer. It's predictable and has some serious pacing issues. It is indeed a low-budget movie, but I can live with the student film quality. I can't, however, forgive the lack of story or compelling characters. After watching the first hour I turned it off. After some consideration I returned to see the ending because I've seen many movies redeem themselves in the last act. But, alas, there were no redeeming qualities to be found this film. Bad acting, poor script, and an awful music score. A failure at every attempt. If this genre intrigues you then see "Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer".

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

I couldn't bear to watch it all, so I passed it fast with the seek

2/10
Author: elie-md from batroun, lebanon
24 November 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Music Effects SUCKS. Very disturbing, not in a horror way, but more in like "Sucks" way.

I was bored because killing starts out of nowhere, I wasn't prepared for it, I didn't bond enough with the characters to care. he likes her, poof, he starts killing. whatever.

Story made me curious enough to seek the movie till the end, but I just couldn't care abt the actors dying.. Not at all..

yes u can't judge a movie that's made with 1000$ budget like u judge a multi million production, but it's a goddamn "92" Minutes full of slacking. it could be done in 50 min or less and get u the idea. if u want it to be 92 minutes make us care abt the characters at least.

btw, I couldn't find a subtitle for the movie. I watched it without 1. During the movie I knew why I couldn't find.. it's just that the whole "dialogue happening in the movie is 15 min combined, and the dialogue in itself sucked.

the movie did hurt my eyes, bcz the cam shoot makes u think like u are on the actor's shoulder the whole movie, u cant see but faces, which honestly sucks.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

a slow starter

5/10
Author: trashgang from Midian
1 September 2010

By now everybody knows that I am also into independent stuff. Mostly i try to contact the director to get it signed, you never know what will become of him/her later. Travis B. Miller was also contacted by me and he replied. Sadly he never send me a signed DVD due to restrictions between the US and Europe. I thought that I never would see his film but it has been released uncut in Europe from now on. Not signed, but okay, I was glad that I could watch it. Is it all worth waiting? For me it's mediocre. it takes a bit too long for it all gets loose. Yes, I know, you have to learn the killer but for a movie clocking in at 93 you really have to give something to the viewer. Luckily, it goes from blah blah to action. I could say that you could say that it is in the style of "Henry, portrait of a serial killer". What we get is a normal guy falling in love with a girl but she refuses him. But he is really madly (what's in a name) addicted to her so everything in his way has to go. It starts with a hit here and there but quickly turns into a killing frenzy. Once unhinged the red stuff flows frequently, the only thing were you can see that it is low budget is the fact that you never see the knife going in...only the blood flows around. When he slashes his own arms, again, you only see the blood flowing in the air or against the mirror. Once that the killer goes mad it's a nice thing to see that he thinks his victims are still alive after killing them. They talk to him. So after all, well done, a name to watch...

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Everything I was expecting it to be.......low budget and FUN AS HELL TO WATCH!

8/10
Author: Brent Ober from United States
19 February 2010

First of all people need to understand THIS IS AN INDEPENDENT LOW BUDGET FILM, so don't be expecting Grade A effects, make-up and cinematography, everyone needs to go in this with an open mind expecting a pure and simple grotesque horror film. This is raw horror, not a thriller, not a murder mystery, but pure gore and horror. If that's what you expect then that's what you will get and it will meet and/or exceed your expectations all of the way! I am a VERY big horror fan myself and I will admit, the story could use some tightening up, and it is fairly cliché, but how many true horror films are original anymore these days? I thought this movie was brutal, gory, and fun in a twisted sense. I'm very excited to see what Travis Miller can do once he gets investors, a budget and polishes his writing and directing up a bit. I mean come on, James Cameron is an extremely respected and accomplished writer/director and his first movie ever directed was Piranha 2, and it wasn't all that recognized or great! Travis Miller has a lot of potential and I can't wait to see more!!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Fantastic Next Generation Horror Masterpiece!!!

10/10
Author: nocturnal1999 from United States
17 February 2010

As far as independent films go, this is a must see! Film maker Travis Miller has put together a literally eye popping piece of horror fiction that puts the viewer right in the shoes of the killer. Chris Burchette was made for the role. His extraordinary ability to display the emotions of a psychotic obsessed killer is beyond just plain good. It was some of the best acting I have ever seen in a horror actor. Burchette tapped into the core being of emotional psychology! I would recommend this movie to any and all fans of horror. Sadly I must wait for the release of Mr. Millers current projects. I must say Miller is going to usher in the dawn of a new horror generation. Out with the old, in with the new!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

very well done indie horror flick

9/10
Author: shuizmz from United States
13 February 2010

I really enjoyed Travis Miller's Bloodstained Romance. I felt it went far in story, acting, and plot with the amount of money they had to work with. The film is character driven and although some may consider it "torture porn" (a genre tag that I abhor), it goes beyond what some would consider that label to entail. The film dives into Holden's character and shows just enough gore, violence, and blood to appease gore-hounds, but a solid story and acting to satisfy general film viewers. Burchette (Holden) gave a very realistic and organic performance that went off very naturally. Burchette really carried this whole film with his character. A film about an obsessive stalker really rings true to life especially in this day and age of violence and bloodshed. Bloodstained Romance is stark realism at its finest.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Great Indie horror movie!

Author: Rosietoes from United States
31 January 2010

I really enjoyed Bloodstained Romance! Chris Burchette was amazing as Holden. He was very scary. I can wait for Travis' new movie Bad Girls Burn in Hell. Chris will be great as David Shepherd. I can't wait to see Lloyd Kaufmans scene! Travis is a director that I will keep my eye on for sure. His style of film-making is very realistic. If u are a fan of low budget movies this is one to watch. The kill scenes were brutal. The storyline was really good and well shot. I'm a fan of horror movies and this one really surprised me. If u haven't seen it, u are missing out. Forget the low budget part and check it out for yourself. It's a powerful mind trip. Check it out on Netflix.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Low budget but very good and exciting!

9/10
Author: jralthouse
27 July 2009

I found this movie to be exceptionally good considering it was very low budget and used local actors. Holden was portrayed very well by Chris Burchette and his acting really made the movie. The editing and music score seemed to blend the movie together perfectly. I rate this movie very high and would suggest this movie to everyone I know that are in to underground indie horror. Bloodstained Romance was exciting and a very good debut film from Travis B. Miller. The only cons I can think of would be that it is a very low budget movie, so there are a lot of things that could have been better had there have been a budget. Also, some of the actors weren't great but like I said considering they were all local you can't really make that a con. I can already tell that Travis is a very good director and will only continue to get better. I can't wait to see what Travis has in store for us with his next movie!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Bloodstained Romance

10/10
Author: pughdog7927 from United States
26 May 2009

This movie was amazing! I couldn't stop watching it the first time or anytime since! Chris Burchette does an amazing job! He had me setting on the edge of my seat from the opening title to closing credit! Mudd Miller Productions set the bar high for up and coming producers and directors! This movie was easily one of the best movies I've seen! Like I said, Holden will keep you on the edge of your seat the entire movie and keep you wondering every second what is gonna happen next! I have seen all the works from Travis B. Miller and this is the newest, and best addition to his works! Expect to see great things from him in the future! I personally cant wait to see how he could possibly top Holdens creepy character in Bloodstained Romance...but I guarantee it will be very difficult to top BR!

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history