IMDb > Rampage (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Rampage
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Rampage More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 13:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 124 reviews in total 

103 out of 138 people found the following review useful:

Is it because I expected so little that I found this movie so great?

8/10
Author: the_real_Doc_Justice from Paris, France
6 September 2009

The only movie I had seen from Boll was House Of The Dead. It was a lot of fun because it was so bad. I read reviews of other movies he made, and I suspect they weren't much better. I was infuriated with what he did with the Alone In The Dark franchise, with guns and bimbo scientist and all.

I went to see Rampage (at the L'Etrange Festival) with a smirk on my face. I missed the 15 first minutes and I'm almost glad I did: the lousy messages, the jump cuts, the ad lib dialogue were about to get me out of here. But the actors weren't bad, things kept moving, so I played along.

Then started the said "rampage". There is not much to tell about it. It feels like Boll wanted to stick the nose of GTA players into their own *bip*, asking "So you thinks that's funny? See what it's like, is that so much fun anymore?" The movie gets better every minute. By the end of it I also wondered if the beginning was playing on the fact that we expect something stupid, illogical and aimless from his movies.

The logic is not without faults, but nothing that couldn't be discussed, the humour is great, scarce and surprisingly witty, overall, for me it was a success. If you get a chance to watch it, stick with it, at the end you might find yourself surprised at how it got there, from where it started.

As a side comment I would like to add that Mr Boll is a very nice person, on the first day of the festival he stood in the middle of the multiplex for hours (without boxing gloves) just to talk with people. I'm familiar with festivals and you don't see a lot of directors doing that.

Was the above review useful to you?

87 out of 121 people found the following review useful:

Bloody Brilliant Film!

9/10
Author: Jonny_Yahoo
1 June 2010

Saw this on the web last night and couldn't have been more impressed. Everything about it was top notch which was a huge surprise considering it's a Uwe Boll film.

Brendan Fletcher was absolutely excellent in the very difficult role of portraying a brutal mass murderer who also happens to be a very sympathetic character. At several points in the film, he reminded me of a young Christian Slater, the Slater who used to pour everything he had into a role.

Kudos also to Shaun Sipos who, oddly enough, reminded me of a young Brad Pitt from Twelve Monkeys, especially in the chicken restaurant scene with Fletcher. I hope both these guys get much more acting work as a result of what they accomplished in Rampage.

My only question is how on earth did Uwe Boll pull this brilliant movie out of his ass after a career full of crap I wouldn't want my worst enemy to have to watch?

In any event, this film, as shocking as it is, is a warning that the worst is yet to come. In fact, Columbine and the Virginia Tech mass murders may soon pale in comparison to what the next "Bill" ends up doing with a rage that can't be quenched.

Was the above review useful to you?

85 out of 120 people found the following review useful:

Did Uwe find his marks?

10/10
Author: Sébastien Colmant from Belgium
15 April 2010

This movie will most probably be panned on the ground of the director name. But don't, i just saw t at the Bruxelles Film Festival and the movie has nothing to be ashamed of, nor his director; This may not be the best movie of all time, but Uwe Boll deliver us a tightly packed action movie, with echoes of a more profound reflection behind it. It's intelligent, the script is actually a more evolved than most people will think at first and the photography is not bad at all (aside for maybe an abuse of shaky on the shoulder camera-work). The director was on stage to intro the movie and i ll give him credit for standing up to what he believes in and his no-hold barrel style.

Give the man a chance, and give this movie a chance.

Was the above review useful to you?

74 out of 99 people found the following review useful:

Good?

8/10
Author: werewolfgal13 from Canada
9 November 2009

I saw this at the Candian premiere at DEDfest and honest to god vowed to sit through some of Uwe Boll's other atrocious films to try and catch the exact moment when he became competent. From House of the Dead to Seed to Rampage his next film could well be a bona fide masterpiece! Granted there were some problems but most films have problems and compared to the complete trash he's produced in years past this was his Shawshank Redemption. Brendan Fletcher really keeps this movie up and his eerily dopey presence adds all the more to the ensuing violence. Smart but not too smart somewhat believable. One scene however stands heads and shoulders above the rest and it involves old people and bingo. enough said. Thoroughly enjoyable not too much film school editing and slick over all. If you only ever watch one Boll film let it be Rampage.

Was the above review useful to you?

54 out of 76 people found the following review useful:

Say what you will about Uwe Boll...

7/10
Author: Heislegend from United States
1 June 2010

Everyone has their opinion of Uwe. The man's made some horrible, horrible movies. But it seems like when he's working with his own material (i.e. not a video game) he can do some good work. Look no further than Postal (which, granted, is based on a game but is mostly original) to see that he is capable of doing good stuff that is criminally underrated just because he's Uwe Boll. I fear that may happen with Rampage as well.

The story itself isn't terribly in depth. It's basically just a frustrated young guy who's kind of a loser in the eyes of his small town who straps on a suit of full body armor, grabs some serious firepower, and mows down everyone he sees (mostly). I'd love to tell you that it's a serious look at the troubled mind of a small town guy who's pushed over the edge, but it's really not. It is, however, still quite good. Some people will probably get tired of a guy walking through town shooting random people, but I think it serves it's purpose to further the story and isn't completely mindless killing. What little story is there is pretty solid which is a hell of a lot more than you can say for a lot of Boll's work.

When all is said and done, I'd definitely recommend it.

Was the above review useful to you?

79 out of 127 people found the following review useful:

This movie will undoubtedly be misunderstood

10/10
Author: CharlesTisMe from United States
6 October 2009

In my lifetime I have only ever walked out of one film, and that was House of the Dead. I wouldn't have walked out of Rampage if the theater was on fire. This film will be misunderstood, torn apart by entire organizations, and will undoubtedly infuriate most who ever get the chance to see it. Think what you may about Dr. Uwe Boll, but this film is right and pure in the way that only Independent cinema can be; and Douglas' Falling Down never could be. This film will never get wide distribution because the level of violence and lack of easy answers will be too much for most people. I haven't bought a DVD in months and I've got this one pre- ordered for sure. Shockingly amazing from a man most people thought was only capable of churning out crap (and usually does).

Was the above review useful to you?

47 out of 71 people found the following review useful:

Great actors in a good movie with a superb twist.

8/10
Author: ai-14 from Germany
4 June 2010

The ratings would be much higher, if this movie had another directors name on it. But since it's a Boll-Movie, it can't be good, right? Rampage is basically a movie about a guy on a killing spree, but Boll really managed to add depth to it. Believe it or not: this is a pretty clever flick. There is no black and white, no good or bad. Society is just f****d up in general and everybody seems to deal with that differently.

So it's not a nihilistic vision of our society. It's not dragging you down like a depressing Larry Clark- or Lars Von Trier-flick. It's not torture porn and it's not pseudo-artsy. It's simply a good movie, with great actors and a surprising twist in the end.

The editing and the cinematography were a bit wonky, though.

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

Delightfully screwed up

8/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
6 June 2010

This movie was rather interesting and surprisingly so. I had expected a mediocre movie at best, so I was pleasantly surprised.

What made this movie have a big impact, is the fact that things similar to the events in the story actually do happen from time to time in our messed up society. Just take the school shootings from USA or Finland for example. Uwe Boll played his cards well in this movie, and delivered somewhat of a social and political heavy set movie here.

The acting was sparse, and wasn't really needed in a movie of this type. But the lead role played by Brendan Fletcher was remarkable. He put on a stunning performance with his psycho role.

Now, the only thing that kind of irritated me in this movie was the hand-held camera stuff. That was horrible. Had Uwe Boll decided to go with a steady cam instead, the movie would have been just that much more cool. Sure, hand-held cams are nice as well, but it was just a tad too much in this movie. Every single shot was shaking back and forth, often to a degree where you started to pull your hair and scream "keep it still, for the love of Hollywood gods!" But looking past the camera issue, then this movie rocked phenomenally.

This is most definitely a movie to check out. It is packed with action and at the same time taking on the gloves to punch our sick society in the face.

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 50 people found the following review useful:

Pleasantly Surprised, or Disturbed

8/10
Author: orion422 from United States
21 June 2010

I would have to say first off, I'm not a Uwe Boll fan of any kind, the only watchable film of his was Tunnel Rats. But I have to say this movie actually surprised the hell out of me. Some of the acting was a little bit sub-par but as for Brendan Fletcher, he's got some acting chops. Only thing I saw him in before was Jason Vs Freddy but he carried the lead very well in this (loved the bingo hall scene). Second thing is I really didn't think the violence was that over the top. All in all if you hate Uwe Boll films, you might actually like this one. As far as character development and plot, maybe not the best but it was worth watching. Bottom line if it was at a movie theater where I live I would have paid the ten bucks to go see it.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

I couldn't believe Uwe Boll made this film

7/10
Author: bogdanlorinc-902-953465 from London, UK
6 December 2010

I rented Rampage last night. I didn't know anything about the film but the cover looked good enough. When I saw Uwe Boll's name at the opening credits I exclaimed: "Oh no! I have just ruined my evening!!!" But there was nothing interesting on TV so I went ahead and watched it. It turned out to be one of the most astonishingly pleasant surprises I've ever had as far as films are concerned. It was an Uwe Boll film and it wasn't a piece of garbage. I was really avoiding his films in the past for reasons I don't have to explain. I never thought I'd ever write any reviews about films but Mr Boll made a film that I enjoyed watching. That is something. I don't want to dissect the film and analyse the acting, effects, camera work and all that. All I know is that I didn't regret spending neither the money renting it nor the time watching it. Will Mr Boll make films in the future that will give you some fun instead of a nervous breakdown? We shall see.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 13:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history