IMDb > Movie 43 (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Movie 43
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Movie 43 More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 8 of 36: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [Next]
Index 353 reviews in total 

10 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Movie 43 Is Cheap, Obscene & Highfalutin Claptrap!

Author: Tejas Nair from the Entertainment Capital of India
30 April 2013

The star power cannot save a movie if the script, plot, story, dialogs or any other film-making factor don't meet up at least to the minimum requisites. Movie 43 is not at all enjoyable & if you are tired of reading the same negative reviews everywhere, I will directly say - "DO NOT WATCH IT UNLESS YOU HAVE FREE TIME, NO MIND, NO CS & FREE TICKETS!"

The anthology made me grow inquisitive and boy, was it funny? Nope. Not at all. Rather, the short stories don't make any sense at all, and they don't quite make you laugh unless obscenity is your thing. There reached a time in this movie when I actually thought, "have we lost it? Have we lost the humor, here?" Jokes were vague, clichéd & partially porn- related. I seriously see how Wikipedia terms it to be one of the worst films ever made. Touche!

BOTTOM LINE: Movie 43 should've been named Unmovie 43! Not recommended!

Can be watched with a typical Indian family? NO

Language: Strong | Porn: Strong | Sex: Mediocre | Nudity: Critical | Alcohol, Smoking or Drugs: Mediocre | Violence: Mediocre | Obscenity: Infinity | Gore: Mild

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

What Some Actors Will Do for Big Bucks

Author: danew13 from United States
30 March 2013

What amazes me about this utterly pointless and unfunny film is how so many reviewers have no much to say about it. It just isn't worth the time and energy to write a long review on such a absurd film. I have never given a film this low a mark.

Most of the jokes were unfunny and the various plots lower than juvenile. Yet, there was apparently no logic to the episodic nature of the production.

This is possibly the worst film I have seen since Plan 9 from Outer Space...but at least that was amusing. You can see how mercenary Hollywood is when major actors will work in this rubbish, even demean themselves such as the Hugh Jackman bit and Anna Faris bits.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

The true story of my viewing of 'Movie 43'

Author: shadow051
15 February 2014

My friend begged me to watch this film. And I mean begged. He'd apparently been desperate to see it ever since the trailers first showed in cinemas. The idea of Emma Stone, Hugh Jackman, Halle Berry etc. all in one film had him drooling at the mouth apparently. The all star cast intrigued me, so I quickly looked up some reviews on Rotten Tomatoes. I was promptly told "RUN" by these reviews, so I refused to watch the film. However, after persistent nagging, I caved in, having nothing better to do.

I knew the flick would be near unbearable, seeing as this friend of mine is a lover of such classics as "Meet the Spartans" and "Disaster Movie" (Which literally was a disaster by the way), so I smuggled a bottle of vodka into the theater to get me through with less confrontation. And by god, was the movie terrible. Maybe crude humour isn't for me, or maybe this movie just straight up blows. I can't pass a straight judgement seeing as I never get along with these kind of films anyway, and by the end I was a little out of it (I had unintentionally finished the bottle), but I walked out of the cinema with a wretched taste in my mouth. (Once again, that may have been the vodka, not the film)

Every scene was redundant and unfunny, and the jokes were made early in the sketches, and then drawn out until they were painfully unfunny. The way they roped so many a-list actors into this utter tragedy is downright appalling. It tried to be offensive from start to finish, and believe it or not, being offensive does not equate to being funny. Although If you told the director this, I'd expect he'd collapse in paralytic shock. Actually this should be "directors" because each section was directed by a different person, which makes this even more shameful, seeing as 28 writers and 13 directors couldn't see how redundant and unfunny this thing is. Avoid with your life.

I then stumbled home and vomited my guts out.

The End.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

So shockingly unfunny and fundamentally misguided, I almost suspected it was aiming for "Anti-Humor", before realizing it wasn't smart enough for that, and is just awful.

Author: MaximumMadness from United States
8 February 2014

Comedy- A work intended to be humorous and/or to bring about laughter from the observer/audience.

In the dictionary, "Movie 43" should be an example of an antonym for comedy.

"Movie 43" is one of those special kinds of bad movies. One of those rarities that doesn't just fail... it fails so spectacularly on such a grand scale that it actually sort-of makes you angry as an audience member. It gives you the same sort-of sinking feeling and rage that you used to feel when the schoolyard bully would make fun of you and then beat you up on the playground. And the same sort-of embarrassment you'd feel afterwords, when you realized that everyone saw it happening.

Except here, the rage and sinking feeling isn't from a bully, it's from your intelligence being insulted. And the embarrassment isn't for you... it's the embarrassment you feel for the actors on-screen.

Produced by Peter Farrelly and directed by a fairly large group of filmmakers (each handling a specific scene or scenes), "Movie 43" is a failed attempt at making a sort-of classic "sketch/anthology comedy movie" along the same lines of "Kentucky Fried Movie" or "The Groove Tube." It puts a primary focus on scatological, crude and sexual comedy . Which can be done well and humorously in some cases, but here, it falls flat and feels uneven, undeveloped and contrived.

Encompassing around a dozen-or-so sketches, we are "treated" to some ghastly stories, inexplicably starring some of Hollywood's biggest names, including Hugh Jackman, Halle Berry, Elizabeth Banks, Justin Long and Kate Winslet. Sketches range in focus from a man who unfortunately has a piece of male anatomy growing from his chin, to a woman with a Coprophilia fetish (don't google that, please), to a man capturing a leprechaun, to tampons. And while I will admit one or two of the more tasteful sketches do supply the occasional and very demented chuckle, on the whole, it's a completely humorless and frustrating experience. (Those occasional chuckles are few and far between... maybe three instances during the entire 90 or so minutes)

The thing with comedy is that the joke needs to make some semblance of sense, and needs to actually make an effort to have development and pay- off. Here, the filmmakers (including Steven Brill, Brett Ratner and James Gunn among many others) are so eager to prove that they can make over-the-top gross-out gags, that there's no real attention paid to the actual comedic set-up or timing. Each scene feels like a punch-line with no set-up, robbing them of their impact. And the overall adult-oriented crude humor combines with this to make the film just feel overly exploitative and aggressively unfunny. Simply seeing Hugh Jackman with male genitalia on his chin on its own is not a joke. Simply seeing human feces on its own is not a joke. Etc. Yet this film treats these sort-of scenarios as though they are fully developed gags, even though they clearly aren't. And that's where the film delves into the angering and embarrassment that I mentioned earlier.

At one point in my viewing experience, I paused the film to contemplate whether or not this film was actually a cleverly disguised example of "Anti-Humor"- a concept in which the jokes are purposely so unfunny, that they become funny as a result in a very ironic way. (Almost like "So bad, it's good", but on purpose) However, upon resuming the film and really paying attention, it becomes clear that this isn't an attempt at "Anti-Humor." These performers, directors and writers are honestly trying to tell good jokes. And to be blunt, I don't think they would be clever enough in these circumstances to even attempt purposeful "Anti- Humor."

"Movie 43" is one of those bad films that you won't soon forget. It's painful to watch and even frustrating. And it really is something I believe everyone involved will leave off of their résumé in the future. I know if I was making a movie, I wouldn't hire anyone who listed this film in the credits.

"Movie 43" is easily a 1 out of 10. One of the worst comedies of the decade.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 21 people found the following review useful:


Author: Minichili
26 March 2013

Worst thing i have ever seen, the only thing i could actually stand watching was the Halle berry segment. I did not find this movie funny or even slightly entertaining.

How could anyone in their right minds use so much money on this garbage, and with these great actors.

Don't waste money on this, not to encourage piracy but if you really want to see what the fuzz is about then go watch it there. Or walk out of the movie theater when you can still get your money back.

(Random filler so i can post this review and prevent future time waste).....

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

disgustingly horrible!

Author: Hanane Rahme from Lebanon, Beirut
23 May 2013

I bought the DVD judging from the cast that it would be an "acceptable" movie... but no! I must say that the most disappointing part in this movie is the actors... I thought I could trust their taste. I can't believe they actually accepted to be a part of this yuck movie! I mean Kate Winslet, Gerard Butler, Hugh Jackman.. what were you thinking? do you realize that you disgusted us with those unfunny pervert sketches? yes pervert! I could not even smile I had this "yuck" expression on my face all the time! I watched it through just to find out who are the lame actors who participated in it... this is the last time I'll see them on screen I guess. very disappointing!

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

One of the worst movies I have ever seen

Author: vss1-91-21167 from Prague
29 January 2013

This movie urged me into writing a review, hopefully by helping the rest people not to fall in the same trap and waste their time. While watching it in the cinema you could actually see people walking away halfway through the movie and I don't blame them at all. Bringing together all these famous actors in a movie was not enough. It starts with a kid searching through the net to find a movie named 'movie 43', and keeps finding random videos of the 10-minutes stories it shows. The key points let's say from the first video was a boy being home-schooled, bullied and harassed by his parents. His first kiss was his funny. All in all, a pointless movie without any sense of actual humor.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

My p**p has better taste than this movie.

Author: patrickdafunk from holland
2 March 2013

Hello. This movie is really bad.

It's by far the worst experience I had in a cinema. I didn't have any expectations for this movie, but I didn't know it was going to be this bad. I'm not even going to tell you what this movie is about, because it's just not worth your time. Sometimes a movie is bad, but it's actually fun and entertaining to watch. This isn't one of them. It tries to be funny, and it seems all the budget went to the 'high profile big cast'. This isn't the way to go if you want to make a movie. Either, spend more time and energy in better writing and better jokes. I don't care if the cast isn't high profile actors. Shame on you 'VIRGIN PRODUCTIONS'. Whatever that is. I don't care actually.

High profile cast vs bad writing = still a bad movie.

The story is a pile of p**p that's too big to flush. They tried to create this frame story that starts with some teenagers. Which eventually leads to a collection of stupid 'shorts' with high profile actors. And it's really a big waste of these actors talents to be in such a movie without any taste in humor. It's like the people from Virgin Productions (seriously who are these guys?) relied too much on this 'cameo surprise' tactic to make a good movie. Well they failed big time. I don't care if you cast the queen of England, President Obama or James Brown back from the dead. At the end of the day, a really bad movie stays a really bad movie whether you have a high profile cast or not. Hopefully this will be a lesson to other movie creators to not spill money and budget to a big cast and just take more time to write a movie worth making.

The jokes in this movie: If you are a teenager with a certain taste in p**p, urine, genital related jokes than you just might find this entertaining. But even in this genre of jokes, it's still really, really bad. I actually can enjoy these kind of jokes because I am a perverted old guy who can laugh at a fart or two, but Movie 43 relies too much on the same p**p over and over again.

So in a nutshell: my p**p has better taste than this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 25 people found the following review useful:


Author: lee_ross_1996 from Wigan, United Kingdom
2 February 2013

The film was rubbish it just three boys watching videos all the way through, and if I wanted to watch clips I would go on Youtube as it is free. Watching it was boring and I thinking of walking out after 10 minutes of the film. Some of the big name actors in this film were stupid to even take part in this film as it could end their careers from how bad it was. The film is a complete mess, and the plot is horrendous, I think this was possible because there was 9 writers. It was not even funny, and it was so bad that I felt like my IQ were dropping from how retarded it was. I would never recommend this to anyone, it was a COMPLETE waste of money and I would never watch it again.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Registered just to save you from this garbage

Author: Ellenbroek_paul from Netherlands
15 February 2013

I registered just to save you from this garbage This is without a doubt the worst movie I have ever seen.

I never saw so many people leaving the theater during a movie.

After half an hour the theater was half empty! The only reasonable part of the movie was after the credits.

Do not watch this crap it is a waste of your time.

They tried to make a controversial movie but didn't succeed one bit.

How can anyone think this is funny? Even do we had some drink we still didn't even chuckle at the "jokes" in this film.

I was flabbergasted that this movie even scored this high.

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 8 of 36: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history