IMDb > "Glee" (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Glee"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Glee" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 13 of 16: [Prev][8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 157 reviews in total 

1 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Amazing

10/10
Author: colguy92 from United States
1 September 2010

It's one of the most amazing shows I have seen. There is the main plot of the new directions, but there are so many sub plots that give the audience a ride. The characters each have their own personal traits that make them who they are and how they develop. The different twist and turns that keep you in edge of the seat make it such a well written show that many of the national audience cant wait for the next season to start and be once again glue to their seats during the hour show. Also the amazing vocals that each of the characters posses make it an even great advantage to them because they are songs that people know and can sing along and look back at how its compared to now. This show is amazing and its worth the time of watching and looking at how their hard work pays off and how there is a hope for second chances and you can be better than what people think of you.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Let your inner Gleek run wild

8/10
Author: Jules from United Kingdom
22 May 2010

Never being a fan of the plotlessly embarrassing Step Up films or the head bangingly corny High School Musical's, a television series seemed like the next step for an equally camp, seen-it-all-before singathon (or a reason to make you undergo Saw trials which offer more enjoyment and laughter).

Then as if God noticed how I was trying to subdue my boredom by lazily flicking through channels, Glee appeared. Throwing me so unexpectedly but sweetly off guard, watching an oven and fridge try to do the Karma Sutra in sixty seconds would have been less shocking.

After taking the role of leader for the Glee club, Will Schuester attempts to revitalise Glee to the standard of when he was in school. Throw in a few nutters, some cheerleaders and football players and Hey Presto you have the Gleeks. Rachel, Finn, Mercedes, Kurt, Puck, Quinn, Artie and Tina along with the other four members lead this ensemble through a series that massacres any limitations with the ever varied choreography, talented tantalising teenagers and remakes of songs that will have the folks reminiscing about the glory days and the younger audience updating their iTunes library.

Out of everything Glee is great at, the surprise factor is Glee's strongest aspect. Not just because you will have picked out your favourite character by the first couple of episodes - personally Kurt is mine, simply because he is so likable that Bunny Rabbit's look like regurgitated squid compared to him; but also that the simplest ideas have such impact. Example, the 'Hairography' episode might seem daft at around the thirty minute mark but it's actually one the best moments out the whole series (even Rambo would have probably made a slight sniffle).

If Rob Marshall and Baz Luhrmann could have made a television series for the teens, it's Glee. If anyone could have played Sue Sylvester funnier and more perfectly than Jane Lynch then they would have to be some type of deity, since she really plays the part like it was meant to be. And ending on a final 'If'. If this doesn't make compulsive viewing then it's unlikely anything ever will. Ever.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Like eating icing from the jar

7/10
Author: overzeetop from United States
20 April 2010

Disclaimer: I watch very little episodic TV, so it's rare that I will follow any series for more than the occasional episode. I just finished watching the first half of the first season, and I didn't consider it time wasted. It's a lot like eating icing directly from a jar - it's sweet, empty calories and it's just the thing you want sometimes. You'll probably hide this little foible from your friends (unless they're icing eaters, too) as it's certainly not for everyone.

There are, sadly, lots of things to hate about it. The concept is not novel, and the series plays on the resurgence of vocal-oriented shows (Idol, etc.) to gain popularity. Nearly all of the side characters are one-dimensional, and several of the main characters are, too (or are bi-polar, which can be a little disconcerting). There is nothing subtle about the story or character development. Love triangles (quadrangles) are numerous and add a great deal of tension to the story which is, honestly, a bit distracting. Without the production numbers, the show would be horrible - it's like porn, but with music in place of sex.

Even if you move past the script and character depth, there are incongruities throughout. I've learned to mostly ignore them, but the first time you watch two backup singers sing a three part chord, it's disconcerting. Some production numbers like to add several tens of thousand of dollars of props to a group who is functioning on $60/mo budget. And then, of course, there is the groups ability to hand out a new chart and turn it into a vocally sync'd, fully choreographed number with band backup in one run. I'm all for suspension of belief, but some of it is really nuts. (a side note: I laughed my butt off when both pregnant women went in for a first trimester ultrasound and got the jelly-on-the-belly treatment...those of use with children know better) So at this point I should hate the show, but I don't. The musical numbers are well done, and the voices are generally very good. Most of the characters have some reason to watch or listen to them. There is just enough love or hate for each to have you be for or against them, and much of the acting is well done, if intentionally campy at times. In particular Jane Lynch (Sue) plays the love-to-hate psychotic exceptionally well and Chris Colfer (Kurt) has a tenor voice that will make your heart melt. Individual gags (Sue's one-liners, Puck and cougars, voice-over interactions) have good smile value, too.

Once you accept the show for what it is, and leave most of reality behind (as you must with all network dramas), you can happily sit down with your jar of icing and a tablespoon, and just savor the one dimensional sweetness of the music and rags-to-riches overall story arc. I'll be watching the second half of the season.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Friends fan

8/10
Author: Bulletproof39-55-879612 from United States
16 May 2011

"Pilot" is the name of the first episode of both Friends and Glee. And there is a Rachel name reference in a previous episode as well. I'm thinking the writers of Glee were major Friends fans. I love the show, besides the fact that Lea Michele really needs a nose job. Very confusing actor choices though, while many actors in the show exceed expectations character development- wise, a few are just plain awful. The writers have a knack for comedy however, fast moving plot as well, keeps us on our toes. Some of the songs are awful, such as "Friday" and they do ruin really brilliant songs from Christina Perri and Florence and the Machine (some of my personal favorite artists), but they still seem to keep me watching every tuesday. I'm addicted to the nostalgic high school drama.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

memories of a dream deferred

8/10
Author: ruthann-renaud from United States
10 December 2009

I finally got a chance to see an episode of this show all the way through last night (everything seems to happen in my apartment and my roommate wants to keep it that way). All in all, it's a good show with great characters and great story lines. All the classic high school types are here (music geeks, jocks, supportive and non-supportive parents, supportive and non-supportive teachers, big and small kids, straight and gay kids, etc., etc.). This hits home for me because I was part of a musical act in the mid 1960s with my sisters (older and younger) and my twin brother. We performed in the South Bay area of Los Angeles and did moderately well until a school administrator made us stop (they said something about child labor laws, but I think somebody got jealous of what we were doing). From there we wanted to get into school music programs (choir and glee clubs) but were told we couldn't because we were professional musicians and couldn't become amateurs again! There were several child actors in the various school systems and they couldn't take part in the school drama programs (Butch Patrick of The Munsters went to my junior and senior high school and couldn't take part in drama class...just one example). My siblings and I were then told we couldn't continue our music careers because of some legal technicality...??!! We tried later in the 1970s but we had lost some of the fire we had in the 1960s. Back to the series...it is very true to life, very accurate, well written and certainly well played. The way Fox is presenting it (as a lead-in to American Idol) is to be commended...they can show the reruns during the summer leading into Season Two. Again, this is a very good series even if it did bring up some memories of "a dream deferred."

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

A unique, funny, happy, sweet show with brains

9/10
Author: Naomi from Belgium
11 April 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The first episode I saw of Glee, I wasn't all that enthusiastic. But something was intriguing. The songs, the amazing Lea Michele and Kris Colfer, the stereotypical high school bullies and cliques but slightly different... it's a recipe for something wonderful. I'm well aware of the fact that the characters in the show aren't that consistent when it comes to their personality but hey, it's still a show about teenagers. Teenagers are trying to find themselves, trying to create their own identity so it isn't all that weird if you ask me. We can all be hypocrites and inconsistent at times. I know I can be.

A couple of things I'm very happy about in Glee: The fact that they don't shy away from topics about homosexuality. Same sex relationships, gay bashing, accepting your own sexuality and the troubles that follow those. I can't tell you how important that is, in this day and age. A lot of people think it's not an issue anymore, after all, it's 2011. But it is. Go scroll through the IMDb forum board and notice how many topics involve "enough with the gay already!". Being gay is, according to a lot of people, not the same as being straight. But it is. And a show like this, reaching out to young people, is the perfect way to encourage some girls and boys out there to show who they are, to not feel ashamed. Maybe even sing a song about it. :-)

Another thing I was pleasantly surprised with is the fact that they mentioned feminism in a couple of episodes. Especially the "Madonna" episode was awesome. Also a subject people think of as unnecessary. But people say things like "you throw like a girl". Because girls can't throw worth a damn, because they're weak. Right? This is also something great for young girls watching a show like Glee. It makes you happy, but it also makes you think. I hope young women feel empowered by a popular TV show like Glee acknowledging the fact that we're not quite there yet, when it comes to equality.

And finally, the music. Yes, it's auto tuned. But that doesn't mean the covers aren't brilliant. I love Old School rock like Journey, The Beatles, AC/DC, Elton John, Aerosmith, Bon Jovi and Queen. So for their songs to be used in a modern TV show that attracts a crowd that might have never heard of them and through Glee becoming familiar with those golden oldies is a huge plus. On the other hand, I started loving Lady Gaga, thanks to Glee. :-)

Just go watch a couple of episodes. You won't regret it. Even if you don't feel as strongly as me about the subjects mentioned above... it's still a hell of a lot of fun!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Amazing. Must watch if you're into music.

10/10
Author: lestatlove19 from United States
22 February 2011

I absolutely love this show. I got introduced to it a few months ago through a friend & family member. Now my mom & I are watching it together. The musical numbers are phenomenal. Anyways, my mom & I tune in to this show every week. We just love it . . . except for Sue Sylvester (Jane Lynch) being so mean towards the glee club . . . but hey, she's a character you really love to hate :) This show really reminds me a lot of how passionate I am about the arts. There should be more people like Will Schuester (Matthew Morrison) in the world . . . I've met a few of them. This show will make you think, laugh, sing, dance, & all around express yourself & your heart out. There are moments that will have a person think plenty of themselves, and the people around them, meaning "I've been there. I definitely know what this character's going thorough . . ." So check this show out if you haven't watched it yet . . . you are 100% in for a real treat.

Update: The writers have not slowed down ONE BIT! Love the new characters and story lines. Ryan Murphy and the entire team behind Glee are so creative. Keep up the AWESOME work on the show, guys!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

I think this show will be remembered for years to come.

10/10
Author: jash5678 from United States
2 September 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you want to talk about how great this is,it's just one word.Excellent.This show has the drama,the comedy,and of course,music.One thing to keep in mind,the song choices in this show are perfect,with Don't Stop Believing,Don't Rain On My Parade,Faithfully,and much more.I love the story lines in this show also.Quinn and Finn with the baby,increasing relationship with Rachel,Will and his wife,where will that go?Also the performances in this show will give you goosebumps for how well Lea Michele and the others sing.But the star of this show has to be Lea Michele.Her voice is just absolutely amazing,and you'll get goosebumps every time you hear her sing.The rest are also great.

This show is like Degrassi,and High School Musical put together.I'm telling you,this show has only been on for just at least a year,and this has fans like hell,originally called Gleeks.Glee is a show that will be remembered for a long time,and will continue to add more Gleeks to their squad.10 out of 10,awesome show.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Mark 3:16 ...life would not perish but give head lice on'which head'?!

9/10
Author: mkahwaty-598-222111 from United States
7 October 2010

The only criticism I can find about this 'Mona Lisa' is that it is not always consistent or perfect, but it sure is the type of show that may become seen as the Archie B./Roseanne/Jerry S.-show of the 21st century. It really puts all 'us' players in the same ER at the same time, and makes our audience almost forget what time we are living through.Glee is amazing and perhaps the best show in the history of TV! With myself declaring that selfishly, I must say in defense with a love for Shakespearean breadth that Glee is Comedy, Tragedy, and completely dark 'mystery soup'.

The faculty, students, and peripheral players are all equally important to this masterpiece as Rachel/Finn/Mr. Shue are not the only brilliant talents waiting to be discovered. There is a stunning darker-skinned woman named after a fancy car that is the golden girl who is often over-shadowed perhaps due to the color of her skin. She becomes best friends by an orphaned child that the audience may very well expect to leave the show when it ends in the future with more sequins and pianos than Liberace himself. 'Those people' ironically become aligned with the tramp/air-head who frequently suggest a slutty all-woman show only ends with a ditz of a golden hair making fruity milk treats together while parading around the football team each with her own man. And along with them are the Korean-Jew and the handicapped boy in a fancy vehicle convincing everyone that Seoul and Mecca are mutually exclusive only in Hell. Wow, bridging the gap between animals and refined mammals may fool us in the end as life can put the Kim in the 'chee' and the cat in his or her bag after all.

Music is central to the show only in the way it illustrates that tunes and words are only amazing and stunning at the same time when interpreted by the proper audience. Journey is quite possibly only the theme rider in the sense those writing the book together used that particular group as a basis for creating a program that makes everyone remember that no one person is responsible for anything and all of us together create life, humor, and what happens when the two are not aligned. Not stopping to forget, in essence, is what makes perhaps every walk of life make bad decisions, and the chart toppers of the Journey group are often not the songs it's favorite fans are happy to hear. I, in essence, enjoyed Journey, and did not even realize 'Faithfully' was their song until I listened to the season-ending stage play of that hit and fell in love with it again after 100 rewinds back to hear it again the last time as sung by the players.

The supporting 'backdrop' of the show's stage also includes elements that individually show viewers that people behind the scenes may be the missing link in any understanding of a theatrical hit. The character of Kurt's father, is an amazing soul that protects his son's opposite, the jock, by becoming a father/husband to the main Male lead and marries the woman widowed by war who is also amazing as a mother and a partner to the lonely man previously devastated by loneliness. The Sue Sylvester character appears named after a drag queen, an administrative and hateful paralegal who screws her boss by being smarter than he, and ultimately shows viewers that the biggest champion of the Special Olympics may perhaps be the one putting the poison in the Tylenol bottles of all those who were needlessly altered many years before the drug itself was seen as unsafe. Ultimately, will anyone really be able to say an answer will definitively become that itself when we will not all be around in the end together anyway? Season 1 began with those coming of age in the 70's/80's/90's realizing that there were an awful lot of references to all the bands any of us 'boys' remember throughout the cycles of that time period. The season in the middle found all watchers wondering how the winning team could ever avoid taking the title and swaying the entire audience into thinking one particular way. By the end of that season, I am quite positive all viewers stepped away from the open casket with joy in understanding that winning, losing, and tying are just the way life is. And I am pretty sure the rest of 'us' running away from lower Manhattan on the Eleventh many falls ago can testify that all of us often find out at the most ironic moment. People are just damn people and loving everyone or thing is perhaps what our breathing is all about. So laugh, cry, and sing to the bank that may be owned by the Murphy/Falchuk mafia as the non-believers may very well show up in a block of cement near Asbury park by the next wave of Martians in the next life I will put myself in...Don't stop singing or believing y'all cause it is all 'coming out' if you focus on the right eye!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

I'm a Gleek now...

9/10
Author: movie_buff37 from Canada
22 July 2010

When I first heard about this show, I brushed it off. I didn't really have any interest in musical type shows and not enough time to squeeze in another show. The season finale was on at a family gathering and I couldn't help but watch. To my surprise I absolutely loved the music and although I didn't really know what was going on, I really enjoyed it.

So, I started at the beginning and watched the entire season. The characters are people we can relate to. It is quite a different perspective of high school then most shows on television these days. The music is amazing and the cast is incredibly talented. Mr. Shu and Sue's bantering is quite entertaining. Jane Lynch plays the perfect villain, and she has this ability to say the most ridiculous things and get away with it.

It is one of those shows that will make you laugh and have fun. The drama that's there is matched with humour. The show incorporates modern music for the younger generation and older music for those of us who are way past our high school days. This is a great show to just let go and have a good time. I am glad I got sucked in, I'm definitely a Gleek now.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 13 of 16: [Prev][8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history