IMDb > Whores' Glory (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Whores' Glory
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Whores' Glory More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 12 reviews in total 

27 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

Powerful, but misleading

8/10
Author: hellhound8 from United States
25 January 2013

The film is interesting and powerful, albeit depressing. No idea how the director got access to give us such a candid look, but this is a dark side of the world you won't see anywhere else. The subject is self explanatory, if you're at all interested about the lives of these women in Thailand, Bangladesh, and Mexico then you should experience this.

My one critique is thematically, the movie is about prostitution in abject poverty, not prostitution as a "job", but does not make any distinction. The prostitutes in Bangladesh and Mexico he shows were in absolutely horrifying conditions - they were forced into it, threatened if they tried to leave, and barely paying for food. Whereas in Amsterdam, Germany, and even many in Bangkok treat it as an occupational choice. They can get other jobs, but choose to do this. Those are two VERY different circumstances that can have very different effects on people physically and emotionally.

That would be my critique to keep in mind while watching. The movie is not so much a commentary on the evils of prostitution or even the lives of prostitutes, as it is delving into the darkest depth of what desperate conditions can bring.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Amazing fly-on-the-wall documentary

7/10
Author: evening1 from United States
4 May 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

What is it like to work as a "fish-bowl" prostitute in Thailand? Here you'll get to eavesdrop on the girls as they don their number tags and sit demurely behind a window as guys in suits drop in after work to ogle them, ask whether they provide "full service," and narrow their choices.

This incredible documentary tracks prostitutes not only in a glitzy Thai club but also in a Bangladeshi bazaar and along a dirt road in Mexico as the women compete for johns, talk about how painful large penises can be, and dicker with low-ballers.

As the Village Voice reviewer points out, this film deftly juxtaposes the misery of the prostitutes with the self-satisfied braggadocio of their clients.

Some things I learned about foreign prostitutes: Work isn't as plentiful as you might think; johns are often shameless cheapskates, prostitutes are frequently repelled by the men who paw them, and they may resort to superstition, black magic, and crack to make it through their workaday routines.

The movie gains unbelievable verisimilitude as it focuses on a Mexican prostitute ("If you don't come it's not my problem") and her easy-going john, who pays his tariff without ejaculating and tries in vain to learn his partner's name.

The intimacy and honesty of this film are its greatest attributes. I won't soon forget it.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Depressing, Highly Effective and Great

9/10
Author: anchovyd from United States
19 February 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect when my wife picked out this movie to watch but man was this movie ever thought provoking and interesting. What makes the film unique is that there is no narration or cuts to "experts" and hardly any interviews. The camera is more or less a fly on the wall. The only negative this is that the depressing music is cranked a little too high in the mix and is really obtrusive at times.

The movie covers prostitution in Thailand, Bangladesh and Mexico. The documentary in specific looks at a midrange operation in Thailand and a sad and depressing filthy brothel in Bangladesh with young girls, and a low rent operation in Mexico. The movie is very effective.

Some complain that he isn't painting a fair picture of prostitution leaving out the nice clubs in Amsterdam and Nevada. In fact in the Mexican town you can see a big building in many scenes with the word Lipstick on it. This is a nice strip club with good looking girls who you can take upstairs for about five times what the girls who make it into the documentary charge, but instead he shows a sorry strip club with very disturbing looking girls and the low rent section of the Tolerance Zone with crack ladies of the night.

If he just showed the glitzy brothels, this movie wouldn't have nearly the same impact as it does. The Thai joint is the only glitzy joint here with hairdressers and makeup people dolling them up before the night. The Bangladesh and Mexican places don't even have running water and the girls are lucky if they even have a mirror.

Bottom line: this movie is really great. Even my wife liked it and she usually hates documentaries and anything with subtitles... I am glad that she picked it out. Only the music detracts from this moving documentary.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Good movie

8/10
Author: David Langston
17 February 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I liked the movie because it appears to share honest/authentic conversations with prostitutes around the world.

Comes off as a lament for prostitution, culture and humanity, although some of the ladies appear to be OK or even happy with their lifestyle. Not sure it impacted my opinion much but seems like the type of film that I will remember.

Ultimately, it leaves the viewer to ask all the whys, and in that way it comes off more like a piece of art work than journalism, which I like.

I get bothered by people blathering about propaganda and neutrality. I have read few books and watched few movies that came across as truly neutral. I'm not sure it's even possible if I were nitpicking. Easiest solution is for someone to make a case, make a point, weave a message, create a propaganda piece and let someone else counter it in their own film or book. The more potent the message, the more it will take into account counterpoints and other perspectives anyway. The artist, write, filmmaker always has to leave something out, which means he has to make choices, which means it's always biased. I prefer biased. I added this paragraph because IMDb won't let me publish without at least ten lines, so I had to add something.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Spoiled....

5/10
Author: ryanrmoos from United States
6 February 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is a wonderful film, it's truly dark, and quite frankly disturbing.

However, The reason I am giving it lower marks is the music. The music is so distracting, I find myself muting the audio just to avoid it. I would have liked the film a great deal more without the music. Musical taste, is, however, highly subjective.

How the documentarian was able to have such access, that is so "National Geographic Real", is beyond comprehension. I think that's what makes this film a visual masterpiece. The picture edit is composed, flowing, patient and poignant.

So, this is certainly a must SEE film, but thank goodness for subtitles.

Yes! I am sure some people will love the music.... :-)

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Who are we to judge?

8/10
Author: nobodywhoareyou from United States
5 August 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I had this movie in my instant queue for quite some time, but it never seemed to be the right time to watch. However, today as I scrolled through the 200+ long list of movies, I stopped over the title, and decided to go ahead and watch.

It's always easy to judge someone based on something you know nothing about. Many people seem to think that all prostitutes are crack-heads or alcoholics, they think they're the scum of the universe; this movie shows you different.

The movie gives us an almost one-of-a-kind look at the lives of these ladies, one that you aren't likely to get without going out and experiencing it personally. It shows you women who are wives and mothers, girls who are selling themselves to be able to afford to take classes in another vocation. It shows us that many of them share the same hopes and dreams many of us have; to have a good life and not have to worry about where your next meal will come from, to fall in love.

I'm not naive enough to think that all prostitutes' lives are the same, but that just goes to show that you shouldn't stereotype. If you were a young woman and your only choices were to either live on the street and starve to death, or sell your body for just enough to get by, what would you do? What if selling your body was the only way to get money to feed your children?

Overall a very poignant film which I enjoyed, I would recommend it if you're not offended easily by sexual situations.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Gripping docu about the women in various red light areas throughout the world

8/10
Author: DopamineNL from Amsterdam, NL
17 December 2013

While the chitchatting girls of Bangkok may initially make you think it's actually not that bad, the back alley brothel in Bangladesh kicks you in the stomach. Remember while watching: 100 Taka = €0,95. And while the men are reduced to (nasty, ignorant, or at least naive) animals that can't help but exert their primal urges ('without the brothel all women would get raped all the time' is a telling quote), it's the madams' treatment of their girls that will truly horrify any viewer. The documentary ends slightly surrealistic, though not unsuitable, in a drug-fueled Mexican red light area.

What probably struck me most were the small rituals, often merely casual habits, that are used by the girls to keep hanging on in their incredibly hard life.

One can argue (as I'm sure has been done) whether 'dramatic' music in such a documentary is fitting. Nevertheless, the film is gripping, beautifully made, and if it wasn't such a nasty side of humanity the images and music would be enchanting. But without a happy end.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

The Real World of Prostitution--Three Views

5/10
Author: atlasmb from United States
7 November 2013

Whore's Glory is a documentary about prostitution. There is no voice over, no narration, no script. It merely records a visual documentation of the lives of prostitutes in three different venues (located in Thailand, Bangladesh and Mexico).

Of course the film was edited, but other than that, it provides an unfiltered view of prostitution. It focuses on the prostitutes themselves, enough so that the viewer sees the conditions they live in/under. They sometimes talk to the camera. We learn of their sorrows, their problems, and how they deal with the realities of prostitution.

In Thailand, the girls do not seem as victimized. Oddly, some of them spend much of their money on the "bar boys" who entertain women for money.

In Bangladesh, these women are truly victims of economic hardship. Women bring their daughters into the business. Society is so stratified that people's choices are limited. The caste system still controls much of life there.

Because the camera is just an observer, there is no glorification of the job. In all three locations, waiting is a large part of the job. Religion and superstitious mysticism play a part in the women's lives, just as for others in their societies.

One woman in Bangladesh who comes across as more sensitive, perhaps more intelligent explains the horrible reality she must confront every day, saying "Women are unhappy creatures." Philosophically, she wonders why it is that way and how it can change.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Surprising

8/10
Author: Bluepig112
27 January 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This film was a surprise. It was quite interesting, and gave a real look into prostitution that I didn't expect to see. A very well made film. It wasn't until the end that I was disappointed. The graphic sex acts shown being performed were unnecessary, as was all the nudity that didn't present itself anywhere else in the film. The first two countries, Thailand and India, gave us honest looks into the lives of the women. I felt the last portion on Mexico further victimized these women and basically turned into a porno. The film lost some credibility when women started whipping their breasts out and allowed themselves to be filmed giving blow jobs.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Sad And Depressing

3/10
Author: billcr12 from United States
19 October 2013

Whores' Glory is told in three segments which begins in Bangkok, Thailand at a strange place which looks like a hotel with a room with long benches where the girls sit with numbered buttons and are chosen by customers looking through a window. It is all extremely depressing and sad. The camera follows the young women as they casually discuss everyday problems with boyfriends and other mundane matters. The johns talk about their wives and the need to escape the boredom of marriage. At least Bangkok is clean, whereas the next location in the City of God in Bangladesh is beyond filthy. The brothel district is a dirty and congested area where the whores are packed together in attached stone buildings which are impossible to describe. The poverty is overwhelming. The final city is in Mexico in a place called the red zone. Some of the hookers are in the street, while most are standing at the door of motel rooms attempting to lure men. There is some nudity here, and we finally see a sexual encounter which as cold as ice. In the end, the almost two hour length of the documentary is painful to watch, as no one at all will ever escape their tragic lives.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history