IMDb > Going the Distance (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Going the Distance
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Going the Distance More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 10 of 12: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]
Index 115 reviews in total 

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Finally, a romcom that appeals to both sexes.

7/10
Author: filmbantha from United Kingdom
7 September 2010

After a recent resurge in successful and critically well received romantic comedies such as (500) days of summer and the brilliant 'Bromance', I Love you man, I was less sceptical about Going the distance than I would have been two years previously, hoping that Nanette Burstein's directorial debut would continue the trend with a fresh, original take on the genre that would be equally entertaining for both sexes.

Going the Distance is not quite as good as the aforementioned films but still remains fairly enjoyable, despite being overcrowded with clichés and featuring the obligatory story arc that fans of romantic comedies will find all too familiar. Soppy love scenes aside, there were a number of humorous moments that prompted howls of laughter from a number of audience members and even brought a wry smile to my face, which is an impressive feat for any Rom-com.

Drew Barrymore is Erin, a lonely journalist who encounters Garret (Justin Long), a talent scout for a record company, on the night he is drowning his sorrows after splitting up with his girlfriend. A few drinks later, the singletons find themselves in bed together, with Erin unperturbed by the thin walls separating Garret from his room-mate, despite his attempts to find the perfect soundtrack to accompany their evening, in one of the films more inspired moments. Fast forward six weeks and Erin is due to head back to Los Angeles, putting their relationship in jeopardy, and testing their powers of resistance to the limit.

Whilst the storyline is far from original, the characters and situations feel fresh, with the actors making the most of their roles and breathing life to an otherwise run of the mill story. The pairing of Justin Long and Drew Barrymore was an inspired decision, their on screen chemistry transforms Going the distance into a believable romance, with a supporting cast that enhances their performances by providing the majority of the humour.

Although nowhere near as iconic as the famous scene in When Harry Met Sally, Going the Distance ups the ante with a number of risqué moments guaranteed to offend the more reserved members of the audience. Presumably, this is a clever ploy to make the film appeal to fans of comedies such as Superbad and The Hangover, which are both well known for their vulgar but hilarious comedy. The solid mix of romance and comedy proves that when combined with panache, the genres can be perfectly matched, enhancing a films appeal by providing interests for different crowds and broadening the target audience.

Going the Distance is far from groundbreaking but is still a welcome entry to a genre that often sells utterly dire films purely on the inclusion of crowd-drawing big name actors. It definitely surpassed my expectations and is worth a look if you get the chance, fans of romcoms would do well to check this out.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A Comedic Long Distance Romance

9/10
Author: jonnyhavey from United States
6 September 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

See It Now! My Critical Perspective: B+ Personal Perspective: A

A Comedic Long Distance Romance

A Romantic Comedy about the struggles Justin Long's (The Mac Guy) character Garret and Drew Barrymore's character Erin go through while trying to maintain a healthy long distance relationship. The film does not follow the clichés of a typical RomCom in its genre. It isn't just another teenage or college love story. Instead it is a grown up film about a serious topic that affects all relationships: having to be apart for long periods of time.

The Good: The characters are the most important part of this film. Consequently the film develops its leading and supporting characters of the film very well. Garret and Erin are both portrayed leading very different lives through their actions and scenes that get right to the core of their character identity. Their different lives coincide with where they live (Garret living in New York and Erin living in California) and the immobility they both have from their life styles. The supporting characters of Dan (Charlie Day), Box (Jason Sudeikis), Corrine (Christina Applegate) and Phil (Jim Gaffigan) act as both Garret and Erin's support system throughout the film and also help bring out the adult comedy of the film. The comedy in the film opens the film up to a larger demographic outside the usual RomCom audience to attract males as well as females and couples. Alongside the comedy in the film is a lot of drama as well. However, the drama found in the film is real and has a point to it.

The Bad: The last scene in the movie itself is probably the only 30-second clip that does not have anything to do with the rest of the film and will leave you thinking that it could have been done without. It is a joke that is touched on throughout the film and does not impact the outcome. There is also unnecessary cursing throughout the film as well that does not add to the dialogue as much as it does in other scenes. The biggest problem in the film is (without spoiling the film) that there is a third option that Garret and Erin have that is overlooked in the film. They could both move and live in a different state together.

Final Thought: In every RomCom movie there always is a dramatic fallout sequence and a lot of the time this sequence is very irritating and overly dramatic because it is obvious that it is going to be resolved very quickly making the sequence pointless. However, in this film you will not feel like you have wasted any of your time in the theater because of unnecessary drama. Instead the film leaves a refreshing feeling in the air with its resolution. Going The Distance takes the form of a kind of un-Hollywoodized love story of 500 Days of Summer and combines it with the humor of Knocked Up creating a very enjoyable film. This is the best RomCom to be released in 2010 up to this point and is definitely worth buying a ticket to See It Now! In Theatres!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Waste of time movie

3/10
Author: trish-63 from United States
19 August 2011

Poor chemistry.

Bad script. Bad acting. Overuse of potty humor.

Overuse of 4 letter words. Overuse of sexual references. There are some movies that are really raunchy AND hilarious.

This isn't one of them, at all, though it tried. The potty humor and repetitive sex references just got irritating. I'm glad we rented it (instead of seeing in theater) so I can do other things like load the dishwasher and answer emails.

The only bright spot in the movie was Jim Gaffigan! The scene where he meets Gareth is pretty funny!

Skip this movie!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Not crap at all! A Rom-Com that was actually funny! I liked it...

9/10
Author: bopdog from Great Pacific Northwest
6 September 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I went to this film because I was bored out of my skull, and had seen everything else at the cineplex. I like rom-coms, but usually have to feel a bit more interested in the actors, characters, and plot to find them enjoyable. I dreaded this one, sure I would walk out in half an hour.

I was pleasantly surprised to find I really liked it. I found myself laughing at times- which made me realize that I hadn't actually laughed at a rom-com in years. Drew Barrymore, while not my "type" (and who cares, I suppose), was once again utterly charming. Her costars were equally good. Justin Long plays a sad sack nerd so well one forgets he can also be upbeat and normal. Here he was a bit of the stereotype male, clueless in relationships, but as with all happy ending rom-coms, he learned his lessons and bliss ensued.

Christina Applegate is a mystery- she just keeps getting better and better the older she gets. Here she was a delight. And the tertiary character, Dan, was also a hoot. If you had described him to me I would have cringed, but I liked his comedic bits throughout.

Well worth the time. Have a night out and enjoy!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Good and funny romantic comedy. Proves timing is everything and long distance relationships are tough to make a go at.

6/10
Author: Danny Blankenship from Petersburg, Virginia
3 September 2010

The cute and sweet Drew Barrymore is back once again in another romantic comedy and this one rightfully titled "Going the Distance" is a very funny and touching one. It shows just how hard a long distance relationship is to maintain, and timing is so important. It involves two thirty year old's in New York Barrymore as Erin a newspaper reporter and Garrett(Justin Long)as a record producer who both meet at a bar and have a one night stand. Then love and romance both blossoms as both are big pop culture fans of the 1980's. Only it gets complex when Erin tries to head west to San Francisco for a new life and she works her way waiting tables while doing grad school at Stanford.

Yet this romance stays alive with text messages, emails, phone calls, photos sent by mail and computer plus even funny crazy phone sex. Then when cross country visits happen both realize what they are missing that's one another. The film being a comedy doesn't try to dig into much drama yet the script and love making scenes are laced with vulgar words and done in a Judd Apatow obscenity manner. Still the film focuses on the real life matters of decision making such as job placement and settling into the right geography location.

In the end like most romantic comedies things work for themselves, overall "Going the Distance" is a very funny and humane obscenity treat in which Drew Barrymore is as cute and sexy as expected and Justin Long shows some good skill as an actor. And a good wild card treat was Charlie Day's performance as Garrett's lonely and horny friend. Most of all this romantic comedy proves timing needs to be right to give love a chance and long distance relationships are possible.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Goes the distance

9/10
Author: Stewball from Arizona
24 August 2010

This is not a Rom-Com or a chick flick. It's actually a movie in 2 parts: the first is one of the most effective, gut busting, lightning paced comedies to come along in a long time. One instant classic line in particular was a show stopper that had people WITCL (Writhing In Their Chairs Laughing). The second part was a drama that deals with the title malady--relationships at a distance. It had none of the sap or pathetic turn-off contrivances used in typical rom-sit-com "plots". No projectile vomiting or potty humor--except for one scene that actually uses a potty which sort of worked. There is one bong scene near the beginning which seemed totally extraneous, did nothing to further the plot, and is the most likely reason for its R rating (it may not be in the final cut). But the sex & dialogue probably had it there as well.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

I would have been perfectly comfortable watching it with a bunch of dudes

7/10
Author: WHYeat from Los Angeles
4 September 2010

In Going the Distance, Garrett (Justin Long) and Erin (Drew Barrymore) meet while arguing over a lost game of Centipede. Video games turn into beer bottles. Beer bottles turn into bongs. Bongs turn into sex. Their apparent one night stand turns into 6 incredible weeks. Unfortunately, 6 is all they have. Erin's internship at the New York Chronicle is over and she's headed back to San Francisco. Unwilling to call it quits, Garrett suggests that they have a long distance relationship to hold on to what they believe is a good thing.

Easier said than done, but the title says it all. They really do go the distance: They talk daily on the phone, they open Christmas presents via video chat online, and they even have phone sex. Unfortunately, nothing beats the real thing. Even with a few plane rides every now and then, seeing each other every 3 months starts to wear them down emotionally. When times get tough, Erin leans on a handsome coworker with a European accent. Garrett has his roommate Dan (Charlie Day) to give him pep talks while on the toilet - under an "open door policy" - and Box (Jason Sudeikis) who's trying to bang 50+ year old women and transport them back in time with his 70's porn star mustache. Like I said - easier said than done.

Long distance relationships are nothing new in the realm of chick flicks. The story is certainly predictable and trite, but I was slapping my knee and not my forehead. Going the Distance is heavy on the comedy, so it makes for great entertainment. And even better, it's rated R! That means foul language, partial nudity (albeit male) and outrageously memorable conversations.

TSA Officer: You can't park your car here.

Garrett: I just need 2 minutes. I need to talk to a girl who's leaving.

TSA Officer: You're really chasing love?

Garrett: Yes.

TSA Officer: She got a nice ass?

Garrett: Like the wind.

TSA Officer: What the hell does that mean?

I would have been perfectly comfortable watching it with a bunch of dudes. In fact, ladies looking for a nice wholesome chick flick this weekend - stay away! If you liked 40-Year-Old Virgin or Knocked Up, Going the Distance won't disappoint. It's a chick flick a la Judd Apatow.

Bro-Approved

More chick flick reviews for men @ RatedChick.com

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Modertly Boring!

4/10
Author: james shoop from Passaic, NJ
4 September 2010

Sorry! The movie is modertly boring. I guess it must be my age--61 but I did not get most of the humor. OK there were people around us laughing but not me or my wife--she's younger and good looking by the way.

No chemistry between Drew and the guy, yet there was buddy chemistry between the guys. The Charlie Chaplin/Adoph Hitler scene, however, was outrageous! Wait for On Demand or the DVD.

And Drew--remember you are a Barrymore--descendant from stage and movie royalty. You could do better than this--a step down in your career. Oh Lionel, Ethel, and John the Profile--forgive her for she knows no what she does.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Predictable Rom/Com at its very worst

1/10
Author: Dave Wardrop from United Kingdom
17 August 2010

It is not often that you can view a film and leave completely disenchanted with the hour and a half to 2 hours that you have spent watching it.

For Nanette Burstein's début feature film this fails to deliver upon any level of originality. It follows the much trodden predictable path as so many of these type of films do today. The comedy though funny in parts has been seen before the guy friends of the lead that are anti social at best, which it tries to lend some of the comedy in these parts to that of the gross out comedy of The Hangover, it fails to do so. However you will have a chuckle or 2 at some of the jokes.

Drew Barrymore and Justin Long as the lead characters fail to show any depth whatsoever within their roles, with weak performances on both parts. I would have to question if Drew Barrymore is the best fit for the role as she seems unconvincing and lacking of real emotion. There is a level of chemistry that is obvious at points but the script clearly lets them down, with it being overworked and clumsy in parts.

Sadly this offers nothing new at all nor a fresh approach such as seen with The Proposal last year, I would recommend avoiding unless you really want to spend 90 minutes looking at your watch wondering when it is going to end.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Showed promise, but worn down by lazy writing

5/10
Author: jdinan from United States
6 September 2010

"Going the Distance" had potential, as I was intrigued by the concept of a film based on the concept of a couple trying to maintain a long-distance relationship. There was a sense of realism there, and those who have dealt with such relationships can understand Barrymore and Long as they experience that on screen.

But what had the potential of being more than just your typical romantic comedy was dragged down by several factors...

1. Profanity -- there is a role for profanity in movies, yet "Going the Distance" seemed to want to drop f-bomb after f-bomb for the sole purpose of shocking the viewer. There was absolutely no need for such salty language in this film.

2. Dropped subplots -- I wanted to see more in regards to Justin Long's job at the record company, as well as Drew Barrymore's relationship with the bartender in California.

3. Weird scenes -- one scene in particular (won't spoil it for you) seemed to only be in the film to give Jim Gaffigan a chance to show off his standup.

Overall, there is a good film within "Going the Distance." You have to hack through the lazy writing, etc., to find it.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 10 of 12: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history