IMDb > Going the Distance (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Going the Distance
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Going the Distance More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 9 of 12: [Prev][4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]
Index 114 reviews in total 

9 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

The Language throughout sinks it

1/10
Author: (bob-rutzel-1) from United States
19 December 2010

Erin (Barrymore) and Garrett (Long) enjoy a summer fling that turns into more than a fling, but now they have to settle for a long distance relationship.

Here's the thing: there were a lot of very good funny lines in here and if they kept the F-bombs and other smutty language out of it, this would have become, with a major exception, a very funny film you could share with your grandparents. Why? Because the F-bombs and other smutty language didn't need to be in here for comedic effect. The dialogue itself was funny, but the raunchy language put an uncomfortable edge to it all. Do people who are just about to know each other really talk this way or am I on the wrong planet?

Is holding a conversation with others in the living room ,while on the toilet, with the bathroom door open funny? Is having sex on the dining table funny? Is cleaning that table? Is talking about masturbation to a old lady using a walker who is trying to cross the street funny? What has happened to us?

Chemistry? I didn't see it. That was the major exception noted above. All I saw were people having fun with raunchy language and hoping nobody noticed. You want to call that good chemistry, fine. I don't. But, we really didn't care about the main characters and when they broke up for a little bit, did we care? Not at all. And, speaking of chemistry, the dark make-up around Erin's eyes made her look a lot older than Garrett.

But, to be honest even if the raunchy language wasn't there, we would not have cared about the main characters who were really too weak to be leads. The story also is too weak to allow any caring to happen. We still would have had some good dialogue, but no caring. When the dialogue is good, why mess it up with raunchy, annoying and out of place language? All they had in common was the language they used. Perhaps one or two sub-plots may have helped. But, it was the language that got in the way of a one-plot and possibly pleasant story. Didn't happen. I need to find my real planet.

Violence: No. Sex: Yes. Nudity: No. Language: Throughout

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

A very unromantic, not funny, but a truly forgettable film.

1/10
Author: MovieChamp from Canada
14 September 2010

This film is a wast of time. Its nothing but a mix of stupid jokes with no substance what so ever. To make things worse, theirs no romance in this show. With that stated I must also stat the effort that has clearly been put in to the writing of the script is puzzling. Dose the screenwriter think he is something or do the actors and actresses manage to mess up extraordinarily. My opinion is both are a mess including the director.

A very unromantic, not funny, but a truly forgettable film. Don't see this movie. It dose not work on any level. Going the Distance really goes no place. Forget you ever heard of it. That will be doing yourself a favor.

My over all score 1/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

I'm not really into this movie

3/10
Author: jan_valjen from Istanbul, Turkey
19 June 2014

Just to be clear, I am a fan of romantic comedies and teen movies. I have no problem with clichés or predictable/expected endings. Actually I prefer these movies because they're predictable, and it makes me happy.

However, I really do not like Going the Distance. I just look for comedy and romance in a romantic comedy, naturally. But I couldn't find them in this movie. Firstly, I have to confess that I definitely dislike Justin Long. Of course it is not the reason why I'm not into Going the Distance. It is not even romantic. To kiss each other on the mouth during all movie etc. is not romance. Where are the strong/effective lines and scenes that show the great love? Trust me, if people want to see a soft porn, they do not prefer a Hollywood movie so stop it. Also it is not fun enough.

No doubt, this movie is worse than I expected.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This movie is about a long distance relationship and it is very well put together and easy to relate to.

8/10
Author: (burnettejr@appstate.edu) from United States
24 January 2011

I recently saw the movie Going the Distance with my boyfriend when he came up to my college for the weekend. I really enjoyed the movie because it was really relatable to us because we both go to different colleges and also live in different cities.

The main characters, Garrett and Erin, are very realistic and make the movie very enjoyable. It is nice to be able to watch a movie that doesn't have a completely unrealistic plot line. this movie really sparked my interest because it was relatable, and I'm sure that many other people could relate to it as well. Drew Barrymore and Justin long did very well playing the parts. I really like Justin Long, but I have never really been a huge fan of Drew Barrymore. Probably the reason why I am more hesitant about liking her is because I relate her to too many different movies. Honestly, I probably would have liked it a bit better if someone else would have played Erin.

Overall the movie was better than I expected it to be. I was very entertained by all the humor. I didn't expect it to be as good when I watched the trailer, but it really exceeded my expectations. I would definitely recommend this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Has a good core of a story but mostly ruined by unnecessarily dirty sexual references.

Author: TxMike from Houston, Tx, USA, Earth
14 January 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The three of us watched it and laughed many times, but also were very uncomfortable many times with the abundance of F-words from both male and female characters, and the juvenile guy discussions about self-pleasuring and other unnecessarily dirty references, all totally unnecessary to the plot of the movie.

Drew Barrymore is Erin, still in journalism graduate school in San Francisco, because her career got sidetracked by 'following a guy.' She is in New York for a summer internship and while there meets...

Justin Long as Garrett, who works with bands, discovering new talent, etc.

They fall in love over the summer, she tries to get a newspaper job in NYC, but the paper isn't hiring. So she and he are faced with carrying on a long-distance relationship, he is NYC, she back in SF, waiting tables to make ends meet until she can find career work.

Christina Applegate is her married sister, Erin lives with them temporarily.

SPOILERS: After the difficulty of the NYC and SF relationship, there is a mild blow-up and they quit 'dating.' But eventually he shows up at a show, a band that he now manages, and he lives in Los Angeles. Their long-distance problem appears to be solved.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A pleasant surprise

8/10
Author: Argemaluco from Argentina
18 September 2010

I cannot believe it...a romantic comedy which made me laugh.Well, they may not were constant laughters, but I certainly laughed enough to have a good time watching Going the Distance, at the same time that helped me to ignore some of its clichés.And I have to mention that I also found an unusual level of honesty and realism in this romantic comedy, with which I ended up taking a pleasant surprise.

Going the Distance is not a great film; however, the standards from romantic comedies tend to be so low that even the slightest effort to surpass them brings good results.In Going the Distance, I think the effort is on the details.The screenplay roughly covers the attraction between the main characters, and the obligatory conflict which puts their happiness in danger.But the screenplay complements that with various dialogs and unexpected moments which almost feel improvised, and which fit in the story very well.As for the fails, besides of some clichés, there are some elements which feel a bit out of place in the story.

For the rest, the performances are adequate, and the film finds a good balance between vulgar humor and honest emotions.In conclusion, as I said on the previous paragraph, Going the Distance is not an excellent film, but it made me have a very good time, something which is very weird for me to happen with a romantic comedy, so I think I can recommend it.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Lovely!

8/10
Author: Jerique (kris.hopson@hotmail.com) from Canada
18 September 2010

Perhaps one of the greatest things to see in this outrageously funny romantic comedy is the fact that they don't sugar coat anything. All the Hollywood dialogue has been removed and real lines from a real relationship are heard. I didn't buy into the Drew Barrymore and Justin Long relationship in the trailers, but they have incredible chemistry.

I thought that it was great to watch realistic scenes like the guys just talking about dumb stuff and irrelevant things. No dressed-up dialogue like all nice and friendly. Guys don't use nice kid-like language when we talk. We're vulgar, we're dirty, and we're raunchy. I disliked one scene, specifically the use of marijuana smoking, but that's just a personal bias.

I thought the comedy was impulsive and random. I laughed a lot. It was a really funny movie. At one point I wasn't able to breathe from laughing so hard. Above all, I was intrigued by by the romance. I guess, this movie speaks to me most of all due to the long-distance relationship. I've been on both sides of long-distance relationships.

I bawled my eyes out during one scene and I guess, it's due to the fact I've felt the pain of the characters. I've felt that kind of love between the characters, and I think that's why this movie speaks so loudly to me. If you've never done the long-distance thing, I doubt this movie will be such a masterpiece in your eyes. However, even without the experience of that, I think the movie still performs well in the comedy and romance aspects.

It's not the best picture of the year, at all. It's not even a masterpiece as far as cinema goes. I think though it does what it's purpose is: gives a couples a good date movie to watch. You'll appreciate your boyfriend or girlfriend as the movie wears on and progresses. You'll grasp their hand more and more during the traumatic and overly romantic scenes.

As far as I can tell, this movie has no flaws nor holes. I enjoyed the movie entirely and loved the film in whole. It's definitely a great film for older audiences and especially anyone who has had a long-distance relationship. I definitely recommend it.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

An audience pleaser

8/10
Author: Neil Welch from United Kingdom
15 September 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Erin (Drew Barrymore) and Garrett (Justin Long) start a casual relationship knowing it will only last 6 weeks until she has to return to San Francisco from New York. But as they separate, they both realise that they want more, and what follows is a romantic comedy chronicling the problems they encounter in trying to conduct a long distance love affair.

This comedy is very much in the modern tradition ie. lots of bad language, and pretty frank about sexual matters. Yet at the heart is a touching relationship between nice people which you want to succeed. And, to be fair, some of the sexual material is extremely funny (there was lots of genuine audience laughter, mostly from young women).

Barrymore and Long have good chemistry, and both get their share of funny moments, but the movie is completely stolen by Christina Applegate and Jim Gaffigan as Erin's sister and brother in law.

This was a pleasing film.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Drew and Justin go Long and Score

8/10
Author: misterembryo from United States
7 September 2010

"Going the Distance" is a common tale of boy meets girl, but girl lives thousands of miles away. It's a surprise that this common tale has not yet been the main premise for a movie, at least not to my knowledge, and they pull it off wonderfully.

Sure the movie is formulaic. They meet in a special way (a game of Centipede at a bar) and run into a conflict (she's only in New York for a summer internship). There is no mind-blowing plot line, no epic Shyamalan twist, but Going the Distance is funny, and it has heart. I'll be honest, I wasn't in a rush to see this movie. As a fan of both Barrymore's and Long's work, it looked good, but I wasn't expecting to laugh as hard as I did, mostly spawning from simple dialog instead of broad physical gags, namely the phone sex scene. More and more comedies are leaning towards vulgarity to make us laugh, and I'm happy to say this comedy is one of them.

Funny moments also come from the support system: Erin (Barrymore, Wedding Singer) confides in her older sister Corinne, while Garrett (Long, Waiting) turns to his drinking buddies. The support isn't really support at all, as Corinne (Applegate, Anchorman) constantly feeds Erin nuggets of paranoia and logic to show her that long distance just doesn't work. On top of that, Corinne has a hyperactive four-year old who can only be tamed with the word "Statue." Meanwhile, it's impossible for Garrett to carry a conversation with his long-distance girlfriend without getting harassed and mocked by his male brethren, his coworker Box (Jason Sudeikis, "SNL") who offers completely inapplicable bromantic advice, and his omnipresent roommate Dan (Charlie Day, "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia").

Barrymore is no stranger to the Rom-Com, but while her past flings possess a more fairy-tale quality, her latest on-screen relationship is the most realistic. Justin Long is awesome at playing the awkward everyman, and given his inability to figure out how a tanning salon operates, he is a regular Ross Gellar.

The film ends abruptly, but it's not the destination it's the journey, right? I heard Justin Long interview on a morning radio show in San Diego, and he confessed his fear of this particular movie's reception. Fear not, Mr. Mac, this movie is not a PC.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Finally, a romcom that appeals to both sexes.

7/10
Author: filmbantha from United Kingdom
7 September 2010

After a recent resurge in successful and critically well received romantic comedies such as (500) days of summer and the brilliant 'Bromance', I Love you man, I was less sceptical about Going the distance than I would have been two years previously, hoping that Nanette Burstein's directorial debut would continue the trend with a fresh, original take on the genre that would be equally entertaining for both sexes.

Going the Distance is not quite as good as the aforementioned films but still remains fairly enjoyable, despite being overcrowded with clichés and featuring the obligatory story arc that fans of romantic comedies will find all too familiar. Soppy love scenes aside, there were a number of humorous moments that prompted howls of laughter from a number of audience members and even brought a wry smile to my face, which is an impressive feat for any Rom-com.

Drew Barrymore is Erin, a lonely journalist who encounters Garret (Justin Long), a talent scout for a record company, on the night he is drowning his sorrows after splitting up with his girlfriend. A few drinks later, the singletons find themselves in bed together, with Erin unperturbed by the thin walls separating Garret from his room-mate, despite his attempts to find the perfect soundtrack to accompany their evening, in one of the films more inspired moments. Fast forward six weeks and Erin is due to head back to Los Angeles, putting their relationship in jeopardy, and testing their powers of resistance to the limit.

Whilst the storyline is far from original, the characters and situations feel fresh, with the actors making the most of their roles and breathing life to an otherwise run of the mill story. The pairing of Justin Long and Drew Barrymore was an inspired decision, their on screen chemistry transforms Going the distance into a believable romance, with a supporting cast that enhances their performances by providing the majority of the humour.

Although nowhere near as iconic as the famous scene in When Harry Met Sally, Going the Distance ups the ante with a number of risqué moments guaranteed to offend the more reserved members of the audience. Presumably, this is a clever ploy to make the film appeal to fans of comedies such as Superbad and The Hangover, which are both well known for their vulgar but hilarious comedy. The solid mix of romance and comedy proves that when combined with panache, the genres can be perfectly matched, enhancing a films appeal by providing interests for different crowds and broadening the target audience.

Going the Distance is far from groundbreaking but is still a welcome entry to a genre that often sells utterly dire films purely on the inclusion of crowd-drawing big name actors. It definitely surpassed my expectations and is worth a look if you get the chance, fans of romcoms would do well to check this out.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 9 of 12: [Prev][4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history