IMDb > The Bill Collector (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Bill Collector
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Bill Collector More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

9 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

a great disappointment

3/10
Author: Floh-Ruehle from Germany
16 May 2011

First the positive things: The main actor does a solid job, the musical score did not bother me, and not me but my friend paid for the rental DVD... :o) Okay, the story isn't great but it is not as idiotic as some blockbuster's storyline when broken down. But I don't think anyone expected Hollywoods next genius behind this script.

Apart from that, I was downright shocked by how badly this movie fails in many places. The acting of many supporting roles was hurtful at times, as was the script. The latter can be explained by trying to balance between the two genres of Comedy and Drama. This is a very hard path to take, even for more gifted movie makers, and this movie is neither a drama nor a (funny) comedy.

The biggest problem I had with the movie though, is, that is seems like a genuine Hollywood movie, with known actors in the cast and some marketing. But it looks by far worse than most film school graduate films. It is poorly acted, poorly directed, and very, very poorly edited. In any one minute of the film I (as an amateur) could probably point out a no-go for a professional movie.

I was lying in a hospital bed and really had nothing better to do, but I switched off the DVD 15 minutes before the end, and I really try to give movies an honest shot by watching them to the very end.

Don't waste your time watching this one, not even on TV! There are so many better movies around!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Took forever to get nowhere...

3/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
28 April 2011

The movie "The Bill Collector" was labeled as a comedy and drama, but the movie was sort of stuck in between the two, not really punching through in either genre. The movie wasn't funny enough to actually be a comedy, nor was the drama in the movie believable enough to land the movie on the drama shelf.

The storyline is simple enough, Lorenzo is in a heap of money dept to Frankie, and have to the end of the month to come up with the amount. Nothing new here, and the story seems plausible enough. However, the movie is portrayed in a way that you never really get yourself fully into the story, because there weren't any laughs along the way, and the drama in the movie was very poor and almost non-existent.

As for the cast, well they had a good enough cast on the list. And Gary Moore (playing Lorenzo) actually did a good job, as he have this weird charm to him. And, of course, Danny Trejo (playing Frankie) is always a good face for a bad guy in movies. And the rest of the cast also did good enough jobs with their roles. Of course, don't expect any award-winning performances here.

Personally, I never really bought into the storyline because I was bored out of my mind. I was expecting more from the movie, especially because it was labeled as a comedy and drama. But as I said above, it was hard to get into those two genres, because the movie failed in both aspects.

There are far better comedies available, and "The Bill Collector" might be good if you have absolutely nothing better to do on a slow evening. The low rating I am handing "The Bill Collector" is because it took forever to get nowhere, and it failed to entertain while trying to get you there.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

this movie was painfully unwatchable

2/10
Author: lanancy from United States
19 May 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was perusing the new release section of my video store when I came across this title. It had a big picture of Danny Trejo on the cover, and his name is above the title and above the other names. From the cover and the movie description, it looked like it was going to be a fun, 'Machete' style movie. The reality could not be further form the truth. Danny Trejo is NOT the star, he only has a handful of scenes. When he is not on the screen the movie is just painfully bad. Bad acting, bad direction, completely unfunny, and boring. The reality is, it's a Christian movie with preachy, Christian themes. However, it doesn't seem very 'Christian- like' to use Danny Trejo's image prominently on the DVD cover to lure people to this listless, horrible movie. False advertising! The only reason I hung in there for ANY part of the movie was to watch Trejo. Once his character was killed off, there was no further reason to watch. I am mad I was deceived into renting this piece of garbage movie by a completely misleading cover and movie description. I am only giving it a '2' because Danny Trejo was in it.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A pearl in this hard world of today

9/10
Author: Tord S Eriksson from Gothenburg, Sweden
30 November 2013

I didn't expect anything about this film, having a 3.2/10, but what a gem!

Haven't cried while watching a movie for a long time, but this really gripped me, totally. After reading about some of the actors, who do work trying to help the poor and homeless, I think it is a really bad choice to use Trejo, wielding two guns, on the cover of the DVD/BluRay, as this is the most heartwarming movie I've seen in ages.

The scene where Lorenzo (Gary Moore) dreams about his death is the only really bad scene (superfluous, totally superfluous), but the rest is really, really, good, bar a goof, or two.

The actors, and the direction, is just superb, and I have nothing to complain about the supporting cast, cinematography, or the lighting. In short a superb movie, but sadly, with the wrong sales promotion!

In many ways this movie reminds me of the Danish movie "Blinkende lygter", one of my favourite movies, and that's praise indeed!

A superb movie the 'Bill Collector' is, far better than the 'Hobbit', which we saw recently! And I really liked that movie, but didn't loved it like this one!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I can't believe how bad this film is. 1/10

1/10
Author: leonblackwood from United Kingdom
30 June 2013

Review: I got totally conned with this movie. After seeing the poster for the film, I thought that it was going to be about Danny Trejo, going around kicking ass, but he is hardly in the movie. Its about a very terrible actor who is in debt with Trejo and it shows him doing different things to get the money. The whole film seems like it was filmed on a cheap camera and all of the actors are REALLY bad. The storyline was badly written and the director was clearly making it up as he went along. Trejo was obviously used for the distribution. This is definitely the worse film that I have seen this year.

Round-Up: Gary Moore, who is the main actor in this movie, hasn't been in any movies that anyone would recognise, which is not surprising after seeing his acting skills in this movie, which is full of Z Class actors. I was hoping for a bit of action, judging by the poster, but I was terribly disappointed. Danny Trejo either took the movie for the pay day or as a favour to the director, who shouldn't put this film on his filmography out of shear embarrassment. stay away from this film.....

I don't recommend this movie to anyone because it is totally rubbish. 1/10

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Seriously lame and pathetic! Should never make it to the Red Box

1/10
Author: computerserviceu from United States
23 April 2011

Friday night - kids are out on town for some fun and wife has gone to bed early and being bored I picked up a movie for myself.

Found "Mr.Machete" on the cover and expected some action and good relaxation to some snacks and a beer. Didn't expect much - but halfway through the movie I wondered why this movie was released in September 2010 and there was not more than one more review until today.

I found out pretty soon as I was dozing off and took breaks to the bathroom and loading up on some more beer.

Is this some covert promotion for what is a scam anyway? "Jesus". The movie had not even finished and I was typing these notes as it was ending. It was so boring and lame that I wanted a refund from Blockbuster! The actors are all B-actors and the owner of the company can not even fake a cry when he pretends that his wife is going to leave him, why he needs a 3 weeks vacation to turn his marriage around. The manager of the office who is doing well is hated by all the employees gets to run the office while the boss is away.

"Mr. Machete" - Mexican scarface B-actor comes along and wants "his money back" that the manager owes him from having skipped town years ago when he started a restaurant that failed.

Being the boss for 3 weeks - he fires all the regular crew and takes in a bunch of homeless people that he finds on the Jesus freak mission. They can not even read or write and magically they learn that over some days and turns into a success! Collects the $150,000 in pennies to the dollar collections and takes the cash to the gangster who he owes the money. He gets killed by a drive by shooting and . . . .

What is wrong with this director? Are they smoking crack in Hollywood and then make a movie of some fantasies? Or is this what America is heading for? "Rebuilding America with homeless people who runs Wallstreet when it has all crashed"? I didn't expect anything out of this movie but it just really got me upset thinking that some fake Jesus activity is going to set everything straight. The first review person needs to wake up and not be so lame. The movie was "released" 6 months ago and first now it was out on DVD? Oh boy! It should NEVER been have released and those actors should PAY for letting us sit through such meaningless Jesus brainwashing crap! This flick wasted 90 minutes of my life!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

I was so disappointed I decided to make something positive of it

1/10
Author: ramdi from cosmic grain
21 May 2011

This movie should be categorized under a new category(together with some others): Religious. It is not even so inspirational as others try to be (e.g Fireproof/2008). The story line is not believable and full of holes. The continuity is lacking. The acting is horrendous. I have seen first year acting school students do better. Even Trejos appearance is not managing to elevate this movie to the appropriate C level. This will never be a B movie. The best moments of the movie are in the last minutes when AFTER all is said and done, they take the plot turn in such exaggeration and let the actors be as corny as possible. Some of them might have justified the money they were paid for this gig trying to resemble a wannabe live stage company production. I was so disappointed so quickly, that while the movie was still running, I logged on and started reading the reviews. I realized whose review it was that made me consider watching this movie. I did watch it to the end! it was painful. But one good thing came out of it. I discovered IMDb's ignore list. You have to go into the review, click on the person's name and then click again to see their profile. Then you can put them on your ignore list and never see any more reviews from them ever!

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

real feel good film

8/10
Author: cliff-201 from Spain
22 April 2011

I didn't know what to expect from this film and had never heard of the lead actor, basically watched it because had nothing else to!

The film definitely has a moral undertone to it in a good way and is played out in a well acted and well written plot.

It kind of reminds me of a Mike Judge style of film where it's really quite slap stick in places but get's away with it! There are several really cringe worthy scenes in a funny kind of way.

The supporting cast are excellent, the film was really enjoyable and moved along at just the right pace.

As i said it's definitely a feel good film and a great ending.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

A Cheerful Comedy/Drama that made me Cry for JOY

9/10
Author: tonydragna from Santa Monica, California
15 June 2011

First, I viewed this movie to see Danny Trejo, who grew up in my Neighborhood of Venice, California and who is a great friend of a friend. What I found was a Fantastic movie about a man with terrible problems who is blessed by other people with problems and in the end, they all benefit.

Gary Moore is One Great Actor, Ron Kenoly, well, what can I say, he is a Great Gospel Singer and this Rachel Watkins, Well, Well, watch the movie and see why this young woman is going to have a great career in "GOSPEL SINGING", look out Mahalia Jackson and Albertina Walker.

Overall I give this movie a "NINE". This is a film that the Whole Family can watch and will leave you feeling good about life.

Thank You Cristobal for giving us this wonderful film

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history