Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

30 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

I want more!

Author: nunemkh from United States
7 March 2009

I saw this incredibly hilarious short film today at the LA comedy shorts festival and it was the best of the day! The concept was perfect, the spoofy-ness of it was extremely funny and so were all the other jokes.

After watching it, my friend and I got to talk with the director and actors and we had a blast because they were very nice and their movie kicked ass.

I would love for this to be a full length picture someday, I simply couldn't get enough of it. I even saw that the director of it was wearing a T-shirt for this film and I wanted it! Great job to all of the folks involved with this film, keep it up and please make this full-length someday!

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 35 people found the following review useful:


Author: Graham-joey from United States
28 October 2008

I saw this short at Fantastic Fest, and me and a friend of mine could not stop laughing. And did not until the end of the next short, which was a bit rude I suppose, but we couldn't help it. The concept reminded me of the Family Guy system of joke, in which you beat it to death (literally) until it's funny again...only in this, they go further than anything I've ever seen with that concept, and it just keeps getting funnier as they come up crazier scenarios that would obviously have to take place over the course of a 10 year murder.

If you are anywhere and this is playing. You need to make it a priority.

I need a copy of it!

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Incredibly funny and extremely efficient...:)

Author: endofthelinefilm from Canada
10 July 2009

A hilarious short that is not to be missed, with many laugh out loud gags.

Following his other excellent short CRITICIZED, The Horribly Slow Murderer with the Extremely Inefficient Weapon, takes it's one main gag and finds ingenious ways to keep the laughs coming...

It is also very well shot, and shows that a lot can be achieved with just sheer imagination and hard work instead of money (the film was made for under $1000, which is amazing!)

I hope to be seeing Richard Gale's twisted sense of humor in a feature very soon.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Great Short

Author: Jack Daniel Stanley from United States
10 August 2009

As of this week my film A LITTLE MOUTH TO FEED will have screened in two shorts blocks with THSMWTEIW, Philly's DANGER AFTER DARK and TORONTO AFTER DARK.

Great short.

It's a great concept that goes for the jugular by not going for the jugular. It really works because the filmmaker goes so far with such a simple ridiculous concept. I mean it mean really, really goes for it beyond the realm of all sanity or reason and the result is brilliant.

I think horror filmmakers are less competitive than other filmmakers, but still, if I'm a "rival" shorts filmmaker screening alongside THSMWTEIW but I'm compelled to go hunt for a bootleg version of it on the internet months later, meaning I'm still thinking about it, then you know it must be a great short.

Excellent concept. Excellent execution. Excellent short. I'd see it again and again ... and again ... and again ... and again, and again, and again, and again, and - those who have seen it know what I'm talking about.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Great, great, great short film experience

Author: azisnomarsa from Latvia
26 December 2009

I was suggested to watch this movie by a friend via internet, she said how funny it is, but when I heard the premise I started thinking that this might be something along the lines of "Epic Movie", boy was I wrong. From the get go I was surprised to see that the movie has a beautiful cinematography, and when it came to special effects I was once again surprised it had really really god FX for such a small film. And the main character was so awesome, Paul Clemens did an outstanding job portraying this troubled person who is chased by a Spoony himself.

I would honestly recommend this movie to anyone who loves fun experiences, and is not a afraid to try something new. And I really really hope that Richard Gale has some big projects after this, I think he has the directing chops to make a lasting impression in Hollywood.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

I'd watch this again, and again, and again, and again, and again, and again, etc..

Author: JaredGilman from United States
13 May 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was just looking at some movie news stuff when I saw the link to watch this short film. I had no idea what to expect since I had never heard of this hilarious short film. Luckily I clicked on that link and later, I found myself laughing my head off during and after watching The Horribly Slow Murderer. The plot is so simple yet, since it is made to be so exaggerated, it is so funny. I also love the little extras on the YouTube channel and website too, especially Spoon vs Spoon and Save Jack Use a Giant Magnet and Wear Protective Clothing and the Save Jack intro. I waited the entire 19 minutes that the intro took to play and there was not one second where I wasn't laughing out loud. It was just that funny. I would recommend this to anyone who likes horror movies, parodies, comedy, and people who can take a good joke again, and again, and again, and again, and again, and again, and again, and again, and again, and again, and again. You'll know what I mean when I use all of those again's when you see this hilarious short film

Was the above review useful to you?

Absolutely hilarious and well-done, dragged on a bit

Author: Asten Culloski
28 November 2015

This short was hilarious, it covered all of the horror movie clichés and poked fun at them in clever ways. From start to end I was at least chuckling; laughing out loud a couple times. Horror is my favorite genre and I'm also a huge fan of comedy, so trust me when I say this is a really well-done and funny short that makes fun of all of the tropes surrounding horror nowadays. This did a much better job than Killer Kart.

Though it did drag on a little bit, which I suppose was the idea but it got to a point eventually where it kind of got boring towards the end; they should've cut a few minutes off and condensed a few scenes a bit and it would've been perfect. The casting and special effects as well as the cinematography and writing were all on-point. It's definitely worth checking out if you're a fan of horror or comedy, as it's only 10 minutes long anyway, but that 10 minutes is chuck full of well-executed comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

And I thought spooning was fun

Author: Thomas ( from Berlin, Germany
12 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I never thought a movie on one person beating another permanently with a spoon could be so compelling. well.. I was wrong. I watched it the second time today and, admittedly, it lost a bit on rewatch, was far more entertaining the first time I saw it, but it's still an entertaining ten minutes.

A strange, immortal emo character that remotely resembles the killer from the Scray Movie franchise keeps hitting a random guy with a spoon. Attempts in seeking help from other people, such as police, doctors or girlfriends end up equally unsuccessful as brute force. Shooting the follower does nothing and neither does cutting his throat. He travels to deserts, ice deserts, underwater, but the culprit stays relentless. So, all he can do for the terror to stop is wait until the spoon breaks to end the misery. Or will it? This short film has turned into some kind of cult movie over the last 5 years, so I'm a bit surprised the director hasn't made a full feature yet, obviously not on this matter (that would really drag it), but some goofy stupid comedy on any other issue. And he could always use a cameo to include the horribly slow murderer with the extremely inefficient weapon.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Extremely "Inefficient" Weapon

Author: SIRavecavec from Czech Republic
19 July 2009

This movie its great, and even if the time of it its limited to 10 minutes, you can really enjoy it, and the story its based on hard work to obtain what you will see in those 10 minutes, a must see movie! If you think that in 10 minutes not many can be done in a movie, You are wrong, in this movie in 10 minutes you will see all steps which a normal have in 90 120 minutes! The work done i can say, it is a great work, and even if it seems to be 10 minutes, you feel that in 10 minutes you see a whole 90 minutes movie, because the action its very good proportionate'd! Good job they did! I may expect a new movie from same producer and for sure it will not disappoint me, or you!

Was the above review useful to you?

Add another review

Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history