IMDb > Alabama Moon (2009) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Alabama Moon
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Alabama Moon More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

It's a sweet little drama nothing less,nothing more...

Author: OliverGbyrne from Neverland
26 December 2010

This film was exactly the type of film I guessed it would be from the trailer , a very simple family drama and there is nothing wrong with that , in fact I do like that sort of films for time to time. The story is pretty straightforward a kid living alone with his environmentalist father has to learn to go back to civilization once his dad dies of an infection of the leg. The kid goes into a jail for children were he makes his very first friends , bust out with them , fight the creepy sergeant who's always after him and learn to let go of the burden his late father had inflected upon him. All in all this film is pretty much 50 per cent drama and 50 per cent kids film, seriously , if it would have had the Disney logo attached to it , it would have been a perfect fit for the studio.The film is absolutely harmless.It shy away from how serious this peculiar subject could have been to favor more of a kids adventure format. There are scenes that are quite far fetched and the villain of the piece (Played by Ron Howard's brother) feels like he came out straight from a cartoon. At no time during that film I felt that something bad would happen to young Alabama and I just sat and enjoyed watching his journey unfold. It's not Oscar worthy by any stretch of the imagination, it's just a cute little film that you would have fun watching on a rainy day with your kids (whom I believe would love it). There are nice little touches like John Goodman (Always great to see him),the character of Kitt who's quite endearing and the young Jimmy Bennett who does a decent job as Alabama even if it's not as strong of a performance as the one he has given in "Trucker" ( By the way if you are really looking for a real serious drama who pulls no punches I would recommend this film instead). All I can say is I liked it , I don't think anyone who will watch this film will dislike it because there is nothing to dislike. The only problem I have with the film is the last 5 minutes is a bit much on the corny side and feels like it was taken from an episode of "The Waltons" but at the same time it fits the rest of the film. My Verdict : Kid friendly Drama that entertain without offering anything major to think about for adult viewers.Your kids (especially boys , will probably love it for it's adventure element) 6 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

A simple, not simplistic family movie

8/10
Author: luis-miguelde from Spain
19 December 2010

Alabama Moon is a lovable movie, as long as you can remember what's being a child and dreaming about a grand forest adventure, living off nature, standing by yourself, dodge bullies, defy all odds and make some great friends in the process.

It is, as well, a film about dead, losing and moving on, in life. So fun? yes, simple? ditto, addressed to children? spot on, simplistic? no, I don't think so, the answers Alabama Moon gives to the great questions of life might be simple, perhaps too simple for an adult, but in a world who dodges anything related to death and loss a film that raised this question should not be easily forgotten.

Watch with your 11 years old heart on.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A great great storyline! One of the best film based on a book!

10/10
Author: ugi-supriatna from Bandung, Indonesia
26 November 2013

Simple but sweet. First phrase I mention about this film. For the family film, this film have lack of comedy and it's gonna be unusual for its kind lover. But in the fact, the film successfully bring us to its story, to feel the sadness, emotion, friendship and its drama. You will find the dead tragedy, a losing, to survive and to moving on. Moreover, center of view from this film is about a kid and his survival and adventure, and it really increase the power of drama. One more time I mention, this film is lack of comedy, the power is placed on the drama. This film is right to all peoples, especially for kid. It's simple. The message is easy to understand. It's fresh, nothing less, nothing. Suggestion: Watch it with your kid-heart position.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Good heart-felt family entertainment

7/10
Author: maritza-15 from South Africa
29 October 2011

I got the job of picking the Friday night movie for us to watch with our two boys. Alabama Moon turned out to be a great choice.

Although our youngest drifted off about halfway through, our 9 year-old was enthralled with the adventure story. Moreover, although the themes of death, anti- government sentiment and the realities of survivalism were treated fairly lightly, the movie triggered a few insightful questions from the kids - an indication that the level of the movie was perfectly pitched at their level of understanding and ability to deal with serious issues. A bit like Moon himself, really.

Of course there was corn and humour bordering on slapstick (the Constable is a caricature of the mean lawman), but it's right at home in a gentle family film like this. And if you want your kids to gain some deeper insight into what real friendship means, look no further than Moon and Kit.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

lovely, simple, family

7/10
Author: mikialama from United States
13 August 2011

"Alabama Moon" is a lovely little film about a young boy who loses his only parent and then must figure out how to make it on his own. If you have ever read any of the teen survival literature like My Side of the Mountain, you have a fairly good idea of what the film is like. Will this film win any awards? Probably not, but it's refreshing to just relax and watch a film that is good for the heart. Another reviewer complained that this film was reminiscent of the Waltons. That's true, but let us not forget how long the Waltons ran and how extremely popular it was. A great film for a bowl of popcorn and the kiddos gathered around the TV!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Excluding those few flaws the movie was very pleasing

8/10
Author: Reno Rangan from Somewhere in the Cosmos
28 February 2014

I don't know how I missed it, I should have watched it earlier when it came. This is the movie, kinda my style, I love to watch without time barriers in any given time. As a children and emotional movie fan, I love it when both of them come together. Yes, I enjoyed this movie a lot than my friends who saw with me.

A cute story with the bunch of cute kids who gave their soul to fill the fictional characters they played. This movie was based on the book of the same name and crafted by the director of one of my favourite children movie 'Secondhand Lions'.

The movie had some flaws, I mean some serious flaws. In the opening where the Moon's father was trapped in a fallen tree that was leaning across the river was looked clearly a fake. Like that there were many others in the movie that resists us not to believe in what we see. Despite those defects rest were very pleasing to watch especially those location of Alabama.

This movie was good as the recent 'Standing Up' unfortunately both of them were not recognised largely. All I say is don't miss if you get a chance to see it, especially with your niece and nephew. If you are a children movie fan probably you would love it. I heard there was a book called 'Dirty Road Home', a sequel to this movie (book) was written by the same writer. The movie based on it is in production now, I could not wait so long for it.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

A simplistic little movie

6/10
Author: lectureral from France
13 December 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

At the time of writing this movie has an IMDb rating of 8.1 I guess those most closely associated with the movie (and their Mums) tend to get the first votes in and rating slides thereafter. By rights this should settle in the low 6s. The storyline is a little misleading - Moon Blake's father is a survivalist and he does die but Moon does not then "learn how to make a home in the modern world" but rather is captured by the law, imprisoned, escapes and goes back into the wild before beginning the process of making a home in the modern world. The law, in the form of Constable Sanders, is poorly played - anyone who ever saw the Dukes of Hazzard will know what to expect. It is fun to see John Goodman, albeit in a slight role. All in all, a very forgettable movie. My 3 year old daughter was quite caught up in it though.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Nice family movie, the tale of a forest boy resisting being tamed.

Author: TxMike from Houston, Tx, USA, Earth
17 June 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Set in Alabama but filmed in and around Covington and Mandeville, Louisiana, just north of Lake Pontchartrain. Also some in Fair Hope, Alabama. I saw it via Netflix streaming movies.

Jimmy Bennett is the title character, Moon Blake. As the movie opens we see him pushing a wheelbarrow with a body in it, and digging a grave to bury his dad, 'Pap', who had just died. Then a short flashback scene shows how his dad was distrusting of everyone, particularly "the government" and taught Moon to never take anything from anyone, that way you'll never owe anything to anyone. They lived off the land, with a small cave on public land as their home. But one day while fishing Pap fell and broke his leg badly, with a broken bone protruding. His only option was to die soon from the infection.

So the movie is really about Moon and what will become of his life now that he, maybe 11 years old, is now on his own. His dad had told him to go somewhere else to live his life in isolation, maybe Montana or Wyoming, or better yet, Alaska where a man could still get homestead land. So that becomes Moon's plan, Alaska once it warmed up. Moon was very resourceful, but had no idea what a journey to Alaska would entail.

Out of the forest Moon's first encounter is with John Goodman as Mr. Wellington who does what any responsible adult would do, call the authorities. Moon ends up in a home for boys, surrounded with razor wire like a prison, but he is determined to figure out an escape. And he does.

The mean guy in all this is Clint Howard as Constable Sanders who picks up Moon and sees that he gets to the home for boys. After Moon escapes there is an other scene where Moon outwits Sanders and the tracking bloodhound, eventually making the dog his pet.

Not a great movie but young Jimmy Bennet carries it well. It ends with a good dose of family values.

SPOILERS: As Moon meets other kids, including the warden's cute daughter, and some of the adults, he begins to have doubts of his dad's advice, to remain alone, hiding out, avoiding social contact. Mr Wellington turns out to be a lawyer and helps Moon with his issues. And in the end a family in Mobile, his dad's kin with two kids already, come to get Moon and take him in as part of their family. Moon hugs each, he has made the transformation and now accepts family and friends as a desirable state of life.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

This Moon Needs a Total Eclipse

3/10
Author: Mad_as_a_March_Hare from Alabama
21 March 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was extremely disappointed in this film. I have not read the young adult book, but I am familiar with the storyline. I was expecting something along the lines of Where the Red Fern Grows, in the sense of contrasting Moon's subsistence existence with modern life (much like Billy's country life in Where the Red Fern Grows is contrasted with town life). Where the Red Fern Grows is full of beauty and truth and genuine emotion. Alabama Moon is cheap and trite. The sentiment is nauseating at times. The scene where Pap dies is case in point, irritating rather than moving.

Other than the writing, the main problem I have with this film is the atrocious acting. Even John Goodman was unconvincing, and Clint Howard was positively cartoonish. The children were very unnatural. None of the actors were convincing as real southerners, which is astounding considering Goodman lives in New Orleans and was the perfect crazed Bible salesman in O Brother, Where Art Thou. I think the inauthenticity of the actors' portrayals is probably attributed to the director.

I would have rated this film lower, but there were a few touches of authenticity: namely, the boys spinning doughnuts in the clay pit, the raggedy trailer, and the scenes of the boys picking blackberries and setting traps.

I have no idea if the source material is much better, but I sincerely hope so. Save your time and watch Where the Red Fern Grows, instead.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history