IMDb > The Presence (2010) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Presence
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Presence More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 49 reviews in total 

51 out of 76 people found the following review useful:

I'll stare you to death.

3/10
Author: Boloxxxi from United States
23 January 2011

Woman with personal issues goes to a remote place in the woods somewhere to spend some time alone in the cabin she spent her summers as a child. What she doesn't know is that there is some guy (which we the audience can see) who looks like something between a department store mannequin and crew member of the starship Enterprise haunting the place. He does this by standing and staring or sitting and staring. Maybe about 20 minutes in, or so, he swivels an eyeball to the side. Then about 40 minutes in he becomes less like a mannequin and more like crew member of the Enterprise looking for a way to get back to his ship.

I was intrigued when the movie started and I saw the ghost sitting or standing staring. --Right off the bat; just like that; no preamble; as is usually NOT the case with most ghost stories. "Hmm.....this is a different approach", I say's to myself, "Let's see where it goes". I believe I already told you where it went for 40 minutes. The only thing of note in that time is that the woman's boyfriend shows up a little over 20 minutes in or so. Apparently this woman has issues with trusting men due to the sad examples in her life, her grandfather and father. Anyway, the guy shows up, says he hopes he's not intruding, or something. Then some more stuff that was apparently the right thing and that led to a little huggy-huggy and a little kissy-kissy.

After the 40 minutes --hell way before that-- I began to feel this movie wasn't going to be scary. Why do most people love ghost stories? --Because they want to be spooked, of course! Well you will not be scared by this. If you want to be scared you're better off waiting 'till tax time. This movie is a "relationship" and "personal issues" movie hiding in..er..ghostliness. The ghost business was just a backdrop for it. All it did was make a RELATIONSHIP and PERSONAL ISSUES movie "a little unusual". That's it. Now if you don't mind your ghosts being non-scary and being just a background and vehicle for people sorting out their domestic problems, then this is for you. Just add 3 stars to the 3 I'm giving this thing and run out and go see it. However if you want your ghost to freak you out --like I do, then add 0 to my 3 and go do something else. Love, Boloxxxi.

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Wonderfully original ghost story

10/10
Author: sallymom34 from United States
13 April 2011

I recently caught this beautiful film at the Dallas Film Festival. The response of the crowd was certainly different from some of the reviews here. The audience loved the movie, which was evident not only by the response during the movie but during the Q&A after the movie with the director. I went with three other people and while our reaction in some ways was split - two of us loved the opening, which is very quiet, very still and two were not as fond of the opening section as they were the rest of the movie - by the end all of us found the movie very creepy and thought-provoking. Some people in the audience, including one of our group, cried at the end. We all had different interpretations of what was going on. We found the ambiguity in the movie very refreshing. Finally a movie that asks the audience to participate and think! Subsequently I am befuddled by some of the reviews here. I guess some people were expecting a horror movie but the movie is not a horror movie. The director, while noting that the production team has had a hard time labeling the movie, given it is so different from the norm, did call it a Gothic romance. One of my friends thought it was a twisted fairy tale. It certainly is lushly photographed and the score we all thought was incredible. I don't want to give away too much but if you are in the mood for a creepy, tense yet someone romantic twist on a traditional ghost story, and you don't mind being asked to think, this is an excellent film. People always seen to complain about Hollywood making the same type of movies over and over. This definitely is not the same old thing!

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 58 people found the following review useful:

Genre not totally accurate.

4/10
Author: TheDelBellos from United States
23 January 2011

I watched this movie yesterday and was very disappointed. It is definitely not a horror movie, so don't waste your time if your looking for that. Somewhat a thriller, but definitely a drama.

It started out very strange...and boring. I made myself sit and wait to see if it got any better. The first 5 minutes was a waste of time. Still shots of the inside of the house...each room...and they lasted for eternity. It finally found it's way into a "movie". Yes, the acting is great as well as the scenery. I loved the old cabin. It had it's potential to be a very good, scary movie, but it simply lacked that.

There were so many empty holes at several intervals of the movie. The storyline didn't share what was fully going on. No explanation of certain events.

I did watch the entire movie but I could have turned it off at any point as I knew I wasn't going to miss much. If you have nothing else to watch, it's watchable. But if you have an option for another to watch, do so. I would skip this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Beautiful and unsettling

10/10
Author: Bill Thorton from United States
21 March 2011

Some of the reviews are wildly different from the reactions on the Facebook page. I'm not sure why some of the people were expecting horror, it doesn't seem to be billed as such. At any rate, I found it very captivating and pretty unsettling at times. My girlfriend thought it was less scary but romantic. We both loved it and thought it was cool we reacted to it in very different ways. It is unlike anything either of us have ever seen, which was a plus for us. The acting was top notch and the score is incredible. It is definitely not the same old thing anyone has seen before. I'm not even sure what you would call it. I've read it is scheduled for some kind of release in the fall. I'd encourage people to check it out.

Was the above review useful to you?

30 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

Beautiful, , moody, and creepy

9/10
Author: purrlgurrl from United States
20 September 2010

I've never seen a "ghost story" use a device such as this. I won't tell you what it is, but let you see for yourself. At first I thought it was kind of laughable, but during the course of the movie it got creepier and creepier for me.

Filmed in Oregon, the beautiful cinematography seems to be another character in the film as is the haunting film score that sets the mood right from the titles. The film's opening shots reveal a remote cabin on an island lake in the woods, and there's something ominous in the stillness of these scenes and what they reveal.

Mira Sorvino plays a woman who retreats to this, her family's cabin, for some serious alone time to write and reflect. But, even before her fiancé joins her there, she's not really alone, and falls under the spell of the cabin. Traumatic memories from the past overcome her (with a little supernatural assistance) and threaten to destroy her life and future happiness. But, supernatural help from another source puts things right for her . . . at least for now.

Something about this film reminded me of Passengers (which I really liked) although there's no similarity at all in the story lines. Maybe it's just the dreamy way the film unfolds as well as its supernatural elements. Also, both films effectively use their locations to set the tone for their stories.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Great ghost story

10/10
Author: Bjorn Haefnir from United States
8 February 2012

I'm not a critic or a reviewer but i wanted to say i found this film refreshing. It's a good old fashioned ghost story, it's not a teen's slash and gore horror movie. Yet it has enough contemporary elements to not bore those who enjoy a supernatural tale.

There is a dreamy atmosphere within this world and one of doubt, pain and silent restitute.

Another reviewer stated he and his family stayed up after the end of the film arguing over who the ghosts were and what the ultimate ending meant...Thats what a good film does getting those conversations going. (But I know who those ghosts were ;) )

I thought it was beautifully done and truly gave me goosebumps and chills.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Rare unique storyline

Author: soberlyf from United States
24 January 2011

I'll be brief on this one, it's just over a middle of the road film but absolutely worth one turn. Mira Sorvino does a fine job as the protagonist, well, one of 3 in the story. Shane West takes a role that would appear simple to play and adds subtlety to it that it would have fallen flat had he not.Tony Curren as a dark angel of sorts is delightfully wicked, but the guy from "Weeds" is completely milk-toast and someone we're meant to admire as a good man comes off as a "girly-man", spineless and one dimensional. It's billed essentially as a love story/ghost tale and his inability to tow the line takes the love story off the table and we were left with the ghost tale, however, Curren and Shane West make certain that aspect of the film saves the movie. It was a nice way to spend 90 min

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Different and pretty good

8/10
Author: gary-schiltz from United States
18 February 2012

My wife and I just watched it, and I thought it was quite good. It is certainly somewhat of a "chick flick", which probably accounts for many of the negative reviews (I actually don't see why so many guys don't like romantic movies). Now, if you try to make too much sense of it from a rational point of view, then you'll be missing the whole point. On the surface, it's a ghost story, but really it's about a woman struggling to come to terms with the male demons from her past and cast them out. It's kind of like abstract art - it's an emotional piece that amplifies what's inside the viewer. It sort of reminded me of "What Dreams May Come", another favorite of mine. I suggest you give it a shot.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

In the tradition of The Haunting

Author: donaldbryan from United States
21 October 2011

That feeling on the back of your neck when you're in the house utterly alone, and it's completely silent

except for

that !

That's how this movie builds on you. It doesn't use gobs of red Karo syrup, and no one flies backward on a wire in front of a green screen. It instead plays on your childhood fears when real things go bump.

The house in which the story unfolds is a character unto itself - beautiful and creepy and very well photographed throughout.

A fun and refreshing ghost story, give it a tumble.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Weird and Uneven Film

6/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
28 August 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A writer (Mira Sorvino) comes to an isolated cabin in an island that belonged to her father to spend some time writing a book. But there is a ghost (Shane West) trapped in the house stalking her all the time.

Out of the blue, her fiancé (Justin Kirk) arrives in the island and proposes her to get married with him. However, the unstable woman has a trauma from her past since she was abused by her father and she does not intend to raise a family of her own. But there is also an evil spirit (Tony Curran) in the cabin influencing her decisions and driving her crazy with an irrational behavior. Further, the fiend tries to persuade her to kill her fiancée. But an angel (Deobia Oparei) saves not only the couple, but also the soul of the ghost.

"The Presence" is a weird and uneven film, with good points but also with flaws and fake reviews in IMDb promoting the film.

"The Presence" begins with a music score that is a rip-off of "Twilight Zone" and wonderful location and cinematography. Then the film is very boring, and nothing happens with Mira Sorvino and Shane West stalking her in silence for maybe twenty minutes in a lonely cabin.

When her fiancé comes to island, the viewer leans that the character of Mira Sorvino is a troubled woman that was sexually abused by her father when she was a child in the cabin. Therefore there is a huge inconsistency: why she likes to spend time alone in a place with so awful recollections?

The rest of the film is interesting, with the fight between good and evil and the appearance of the black angel to save the woman and her fiancé from the fiend. But why that place is a sort of limbo is never explained in the story. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "A Presença" ("The Presence")

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history