IMDb > 18-Year-Old Virgin (2009) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
18-Year-Old Virgin
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
18-Year-Old Virgin (V) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 31 reviews in total 

17 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

I had horrible expectations and I was pleased at being let down - This is actually a pretty funny movie!

7/10
Author: Raglan22 from United States
11 March 2009

I had read other's reviews and had low expectations going into this movie, but i decided to watch it anyway and I am glad I did! It started slow and I initially wondered if it was indeed a complete waste of time - the opening scene was pretty much a low rent 1 for 1 rip off of American Pie, but I stayed the course like a true republican and after the first ten minutes it got WAY better. The plot revolves around relatively the same idea we've come to expect from all these sex comedies - hot girl in love with a hot guy who's in love with someone else, all the while hot girls best boy bud has been secretly lusting after her for years and a lusty friend (who happens to be female in this movie (and who happens to be quite hot)) who pushes her prudish friend into situations in which comedy ensues. Pretty straightforward but the fun comes from watching the actors try their hardest to make the outrageous plot points seem realistic - both the male and female protagonists here have some pretty hilarious scenes.

Overall I'd give this movie at least a 6, maybe even a 7 just because I was so pleasantly surprised by how fun it was. It also had ample nudity if that's your boat and the girls are all hot. If you have an hour and a half and you wanna see a fun movie then go ahead and watch this.

Was the above review useful to you?

why

1/10
Author: hanna-221-113420 from Germany
27 March 2016

I do not know what the makers of this movie intended to tell us with it, how they convinced anyone to participate in their project and why it is on Netflix and DVDs of it exist? doesn't anyone watch movies before they get published anywhere? I have to say, this is the worst movie I have seen so far but weirdly I still enjoyed it a little bit. If you watch it ironically with the one-star reviews in mind it could be seen as 10 out of 10, because it's too bad to even be recognized as a real movie which is worth it to even get reviews written, so I don't really know why I did it. Whether this movie is recommendable or not is questionable to me.

Was the above review useful to you?

Less is more?

3/10
Author: kosmasp
26 May 2013

The less is more comparison goes for quite a lot of things. Since this is an Asylum production, this means they don't have that much money to begin with. They also like to make knock offs off Hollywood Blockbusters or at least movies with a funny premise. In this case "40 year old virgin" was clearly their target. But even that was too much, so they made it "less" years.

One thing you can't fault this movie with is trying. It tries to create something and the general storyline is not that much worse than any other teenage movie out there. They also have less clothing than some of them. But even if you give them that benefit, the movie never really takes off. It's too predictable and unfortunately not as much fun as you might imagine it to be (if you like and support independent movies that is). Not a complete waste of time, but also nothing you will remember for long

Was the above review useful to you?

One of the Asylum's better-looking movies, but everything else is lost in translation as a result

2/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
19 May 2013

18 Year Old Virgin for me is not one of The Asylum's(notorious for their movies being awful, but there's something about their awfulness that intrigues me into seeing if anything of theirs is tolerable) worst, though a lot of the commentators here probably will disagree. Unlike their bottom-of-the-barrel stuff, 18 Year Old Virgin is one of their better-looking movies, the way it is shot is not too slipshod and the house looks great. However, 18 Year Old Virgin is also one of those movies where effort is made into making it look good but at the same time it forgets about bringing anything funny, original or as much as a story. I will say before moving onto what was so bad that the soundtrack is not too bad, it wasn't inappropriate and it sounded nice, it was just that it was also on the generic side and it was one of those soundtracks that I'm not going to remember in the long run. Moving on to the many things that was wrong with 18 Year Old Virgin, I found absolutely nothing funny about it. I like comedy just as much as the next person, but the humour here was crude and tasteless to the extent that I felt uncomfortable and that my intelligence had been insulted afterwards. And before anybody defending this movie gets condescending saying I have no sense of humour, I do love comedy and I knew what sort of comedy to expect having heard the kind before many times, it just isn't my kind of humour and I imagine that's true of others as well so you do have to accept that while you may find it funny others are not going to. 18 Year Old Virgin also has nothing original about it, everything seems heavily borrowed from other movies that have done the humour to much funnier and less predictable effect. As for the story, what was it again? It just jumps around with no order or sense of structure, and seems just an excuse to string along many scenes of sex and nudity, which just seemed to be there for the sake of it. Everything just gets thrown at you at such a pace that you aren't given time to breathe or relax, and each scene is more irrelevant than the one before it. The characters are just obnoxious stereotypes and seem to be just there with seemingly no reason and not adding anything to what little there is of the story. The acting indicates a lot of inexperience with everybody, especially the lead, looking lost and going through the motions. There is little chemistry and personality, and they look awkward as well. All in all, doesn't look too bad but everything else just got lost in translation. 2/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The audio editing is so bad...

3/10
Author: eliasbats from Tripoli, Greece
23 February 2010

Let me get this straight: I gave this movie a 3 because of the boobies and stuff, otherwise it's so lame it doesn't worth even a review. The only reason I write one is to curse all the people involved in the recording, editing and mixing of the sound (SOUND DEPARTMENT PEOPLE: you could make the film not to suck so badly, but you failed this too.)

OK, clearly the sound guys either are NOT professionals (scratch that, they are not even enthusiast amateurs) or they have serious ear damage. These are the only reasons to justify the horrible, horrible sound.

1) There are so many overdubs (voice overs) in the film, that I'm starting to think that the original recording must have been very crappy. But suppose that we are generous enough to forgive the (drunk) recording guy -- mistakes happen, so OK, the production phase did not work out. 2) So let's go post-production: I understand that the overdubs are recorded in a super "dry" environment, like a studio, so you NEED TO DIRT THE OVERDUBS SO THEY CAN RESEMBLE AN ORIGINAL RECORDING. Is this really so difficult? Really, it seems that some dialogs are suddenly interrupted by a third person voice, sometimes it's even creepy. I caught myself several times thinking "What? Where the hell did that voice come from???" 3) The mixing is freakishly bad. Period.

But you can give this film a chance! Yeah, if let's say, you are an amateur cinematographer and want to understand which lethal screw ups you must avoid when you make your film. Am i fair or what?

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

More than you expect from a B-Movie

7/10
Author: Martin Onassis from United States
15 January 2010

This movie is a strange combination of a typical teen party b-movie with gratuitous topless nudity, and the second half is almost entirely a string of sexual situations. It really pushes the envelope in a couple places with its raunch and yet has two competent likable actors in it, especially the lead female, Olivia Alaina May, without whom this movie probably could not have been released. She manages to be both the sex object and yet the innocent character at the same time, convincingly playing a total innocent among the more perverted. This movie is a strong R, so parents and the prudish should have no illusions about its content. It's almost beyond American PIe, close to Woody Allen's Everything..Sex except nowhere near as good.

It manages to have a point to it, and some serious things to say about coming of age in the middle of a lot of over-the-top scenes. It also has a sweet ending to it. I would say it was a brave film, but I think more likely it was obligated to be a b-movie softcore teen American Pie-style film, and the director, writers and lead actress managed to salvage something more.

It's not often you see an actress get nearly nude on multiple occasions and yet still respect her acting ability. I hope industry people see this in the film and don't tar her for it. She reminded me of a young Susan Sarandon. There are a fair amount of technical glitches, and it is clearly low budget, but I found it original, funny and charming. I think its main lead actress May has obvious star quality, and the lead actor isn't bad either.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Not the best film... But still funny

5/10
Author: Massimo7 from Australia
23 June 2009

Before watching the movie, i actually checked it out here... i had an expectation that the movie would not be all that great (Due to all the comments and low rating) however after, i didn't think that it was all that bad. It may not be the best film this year, but a few funny parts did lighten up the mood. A rather average cast, however i did think that Todd Leigh performed excellently, making the movie actually bearable. Hope to see him in many more films... hopefully next-time alongside a more experienced cast. To any one thinking of watching this film: Its funny in places, however the lack of experience is quite visible...in both the cast and crew fun to watch 5/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Terrible...Nothing Funny Whatsoever

1/10
Author: miked6022 from United States
5 May 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Let's just say that the overall story is stupid and simply not believable. There is your basic "masterbation to a friend's mother" scene lifted from the "American Pie" cutting room floor. A shaving scene which really seem to serve no purpose other than to make the movie longer and more intolerable. There is the accidental fellatio on a corpse which, I'm pretty sure, I saw in the movie "Clerks." Won't waste my time on the plot anymore, but I think you get the idea.

The characters are so derivative that they are practically stolen from other films. There's the constipated face making Stiffler wannabe, there's the slutty best friend who offers advice, and there's the closet freak goodie two shoes. Watching this film, you get a sense that theses "actors" are playing the same characters from "The American Pie" franchise (and doing it poorly)instead of creating characters of their own.

This film was made by The Asylum. Every time I think the film company can not go any lower, they seem to find some sub-level of garbage. There is nothing original about this movie....nothing.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This review is for Mature readers only

Author: Michael Collins from Perth, Australia
8 November 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This could almost be a National Lampoon movie, The story line is week, the acting could be much better, BUT...... you see boobs. There is a sort of love story to follow and if you have a girlfriend that isn't too stuffy about nudity, then this isn't too much of a chick flick that you will be bored out of your mind. On the other hand, if you just want to have a good look at some rather nice bosoms, then this will do nicely. It reminded me of the old Rus Myers movies where the gals get there gear off and the guys only get there tops off (thank goodness). But as I said, this story about a collage girl desperately trying to give he virginity away and failing terribly, is just a silly movie. I will definitely be watching it again :-)

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Cheers to sticking to its nature. Fun to watch.

6/10
Author: kodae-152-864923
5 September 2011

First of all, the most important but also quite obvious thing about this movie is that, it's a movie that's NOT to be taken seriously, seriously.

It doesn't take an Einstein to know what this movie's all about by just watching the trailer and looking at the title and cover. And the director knows that. It's actually smart of them for not trying to be anything else. I personally would pick a stupid movie being itself over a 'serious' movie failing to be smart anytime.

Now about the nudity, for all those wonderful people out there who's watched terabytes of porn like I have, you'll know that this is some very nice teen nudity that you don't get to see a lot, so, kudos for that. ;)

Overall, it was quite fun and cheerful. The lame jokes, the somehow familiar plot, the chaotic party, and the T&A, all made out this nice ride.

I would've given it a 3, but I really liked its sincere-stupidness, something the world lacks today, so a 6 for that.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history