IMDb > 18-Year-Old Virgin (2009) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
18-Year-Old Virgin
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
18-Year-Old Virgin (V) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 30 reviews in total 

155 out of 200 people found the following review useful:

Just horrible and horribly unfunny: it will make IMDb bottom 250 (If it gets enough votes)

1/10
Author: intelearts from the big screen
16 January 2009

Imagine taking movies with some genuine quality and humor and copying everything and making it all flat,turgid, and OTT, welcome to the horribly titled 18 Year Old Virgin.

Full of the kind of humor that makes even 9th graders groan rather than laugh and without any smarts whatsoever this is one of the most unenjoyable films I have seen in a long time.

Every opportunity to flash some T&A is taken, but my reaction was so what, and it is a movie that aims to be the most sexist, and definitely not the sexiest, movie of all time.

Of the 117 votes cast as I write this 33.3% gave this 10 (err... note to publicity department, flack is OK - but let's keep it less blatant next time...OK?) and a stunning 30% gave this a ONE.... ooops!

I'm sure there is an audience for this, who knows maybe it'll be someone's favorite ever movie - but more than a horrible, horrible plot and a dreadful script is the damn awful acting where lines are delivered without any attempt to get us involved.

It all looks like an attempt to steal your money though oooh isn't it sexy, believe no it's not, avoid like the plague.....please.

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

A How-To on enjoying '18 Year Old Virgin'

5/10
Author: jabberttp from United States
20 January 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

***some possible slight spoilers below***

(and no it has nothing to due with being high or drunk or regressing back to your pubescent or prepubescent inner child to enjoy this movie)

1) Do NOT view this movie as a spoof. It's not a spoof of "40 Year Old Virgin", "American Pie", or any of a dozen teen sex comedies where the guy is running around trying madly and inanely to lose his virginity for **insert plot reason, however lame, here**. If you think it's a spoof, you'll be horribly disappointed, although it does contain some elements of the afore-mentioned movies I mentioned.

2) Do NOT view this movie as a substitute for porno (if you're into such a thing). If you think it's a porno, you'll be horribly disappointed, although it does contain some elements of porno, including LOTS of T & A, both male and female frontal nudity, simulated male and female masturbation situations, as well as sexual positions and situations, hetero and homosexual alike, as well as simulation of fellatio (don't remember simulated cunnilingus though).

3) Do NOT view this movie as a full-throttle laugh a minute comedy, although I believe it tried to be. If you think it's a full-throttle laugh a minute comedy, you'll be horribly disappointed, as there were too many jokes that misfired and/or were lamer than lame. In fact, during the first 30-35 minutes of this movie, I felt the attempted humor was SO lame that the Director and/or Writer would've been better served to simply ask the vast cast of young (and young looking) actors and actresses to merely tell them a funny sexy raunchy joke, and just mash the best of 'em together.

***Then a strange and wonderful thing happened. At about the 35-38 minute mark, I actually audibly laughed at a joke. It was a wonderful turning point. And then I found myself laughing at a couple more. Then I found a couple of the humor situations VERY similar to American Pie (the first one - the good one). Then I found myself audibly laughing a couple more times.

***Then I even found one sick joke that even sickened me (something I thought was near impossible to do). Later that joke's sickness was a bit mitigated, but...

***Then I remembered that even in GOOD comedies like American Pie (the first one - the good one), 40 Year Old Virgin, and Superbad, they had some jokes that fell flat and/or short of the mark, too (admittedly not as many though). Heck, some of the American Pie sequels (won't mention which ones) were actually lamer than this movie in toto.

4) Do view this as a comedic drama, much like the ABC Afterschool Specials of yore that I used to watch as a pubescent or prepubescent youth. Just the dirtiest most raunchy Afterschool Special that you can imagine.

5) Do view this as a movie with a message (yes it's there), much like the ABC Afterschool Specials of yore. The message isn't necessarily rocket science or horribly deep, but neither were many of the Afterschool Specials' messages, either.

6) Do view this movie as educational. Believe it or not (and I'm a 44 Year Old Non-Virgin ;-) ) I learned a new sexual position! Thus saving me from having to read the Kama Sinatra, or whatever it's called - lol. I'm eager to try it out, I just need to find a female partner my age that's limber enough to assume said position. ;-)

And finally...

7) Try to find in this movie an actor or actress of the opposite sex (or same sex if you're homosexual) that reminds you of someone you know, or used to know. It makes it quite a bit more interesting. The Rose character (Lauren Walsh) reminded me of a younger version of a someone I know. In some actions, but mostly her looks and especially expressions at times. This certainly helped the hour and a half go by pleasantly for me. ;-)

Thanks for reading and now go ahead and enjoy the movie!

(for what it's worth, I rated it a 5 ;-) )

Was the above review useful to you?

54 out of 84 people found the following review useful:

What kind of movie is this??

1/10
Author: syedatif from Seattle, WA
1 February 2009

I think the movie is made with nothing in mind. I don't know how can anyone think that stuff would make someone laugh. The budget of the movie looks awfully low and thats not the point which is giving the movie the worst comment ever. The story is literally nothing, that kind of movie can be done by anyone and seriously this kind of a movie is not at all suitable to any age. That movie has nothing to offer, no lesson, no comedy or anything for instance. Besides the movie is even banned in some countries people in these countries are lucky that you're not watching this horrific and disgraceful movie. And i feel sorry for those people who want to escape and refresh their mind with a good movie and after seeing this its rather corrupting it.

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

Challenge in the sense of watching it till the end

1/10
Author: srbasket
19 April 2009

Out of tons of the movies of the same thematic, this one is the far worst I have ever seen. Very bad acting, sound synchronization is also disastrous (I was expecting to see the microphone at some stage, but I couldn't, so that's plus). Conversation is worst then in the majority of adult movies, same accounts for the script globally. Humour is copy/paste from different movies, so it's not worth commenting any more... My recommendation is: JUST SKIP THIS, don't waste your time Rating: Sinjce 0 is not allowed ps. I finished it after 3 days (my friend recommend it to watch it, and I don't understand if he was joking, or he was in the weird mood)

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

For sure not like my childhood

3/10
Author: Nick A from Belgium
19 June 2009

I want to write something intelligent, but I assume that I should choose another movie for that. Oh well, I've seen this one yesterday, so let's see what my inspiration brings me.

I could write about the actors. There's not that many of them (low budget; the same people appear in different places of the house all the time), and they generally don't display much talent. This being said, it could also be the script, making them speak or behave in a very unnatural matter. However, I did like the fact that at least the leading ladies were capable of facial expressions. I truly regret that some highly acclaimed actors miss out on this field. It's one thing to passionately say the lines, but it's another thing to express it visually. I refer to that horrible thing called Zoolander, and the 'look' that means everything (actually the best part of that movie).

I could write about the plot, and then one sentence should do the trick: a girl wants to get some, and for some strange reason it's problematic. No plot worth mentioning, but hey, if you see this movie, it's probably because of the title, not because of the contents.

I could write about the setting. It's a house, and it's a damn big one. Amazing how many bedrooms are allegedly in there, and how many people manage to make out undisturbed. And only one tiny bathroom. As a European I always wondered ... do people actually go to someone's house and soil every bedroom? For sure they don't do that here.

I could write about the camera-work. Not HD, more like a professional attempt to use a handycam, but it only disturbs in the beginning.

I could write about the nudity. Ah, here's the thing, the girls look good. Again I refer to the two leading ladies, who are hot. They should seriously be offered chances in bigger productions, and not only because of their physique, but also because I believe that there's actual talent present. As for the guys in this movie, please don't bother.

Okay, I had my fun writing this. I watched the movie, didn't find it good, but I kept watching because of the leading girls. Also, I admit that in the second half, there were some good funny scenes. I don't regret seeing it, but I would advise the use of alcohol and male friends as company.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

I loved this movie....do I need help?

Author: findtara-t from United States
6 March 2009

I didn't recognize any of the actors and the beginning took me a little while to get into, but honest to god I laughed my ass off at certain parts. I completely got into the fact that it was a female point of view. My favorite part was disgusting and outrageously funny at the same time. I don't wanna give it away but believe me all my girlfriends can relate.... MY girlfriend told me about this movie(so obviously some else liked it) and I rented it not knowing anything and now I've read some of these comments and I think they are forgetting the kind of movie they rented! If you want Braveheart, go get Braveheart. For what it was it was pretty darn entertaining.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Eugh

1/10
Author: ice-102 from United Kingdom
3 October 2009

This is the single worst movie I have ever had the displeasure of seeing. I'm Glad I did not pay to see this, Even then this is a complete money grabbing wh**re of a film, and I feel ripped off.

Nothing was remotely funny, entertaining, interesting, sexy, dramatic. It is a pathetic excuse for a film, and coining the title from 40 year old virgin, is just sick, expect nothing like that film, expect 1.5hrs of brain numbing garbage, that physically hurts your head its so bad to watch.

The script is just cut and paste of every major teen sex movie, such that there is no transition or filler, it just jumps from extract to extract, pure laziest way of script writing possible.

The lead cannot act and does not have any realistic reactions to the situations presented to her.

In-fact there's not one thing good about this film, except the DVD case can make a good paperweight, or a spare case for a free newspaper movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Nothing New.

1/10
Author: veeshman from United Kingdom
8 December 2009

A regular(lees than regular) teen movie. Boobs, Tits, Pubic Hair, Penis, Kundalini(yoga), Group sex, Gay, Lesbian, A party & Complete nudity IncludeD.

A college girl (18 years old) who tries to get the attraction of her dream, soul mate. but he hates "Virgins"(Odd :P) so during a party she tries to loose her Virginity! In this quest she finds her real soul mate.

Acting - less than average(*Lauren Walsh{Rose} was bit good) Story - huh, no story at all Music- nothing special. Humor- 5/120 mins u can show your teeth

Rating- American Pie 01- 10/10 >>>>> 18 year old virgin - 1/10

If u r really free of work like me.. no harm Watch

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Gross...why did i even see this movie..!!!

1/10
Author: donot_forget-remember_me from India
31 March 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Yes, this movie is awful. It has no story line just a girl who is persuaded by her friend to lose her virginity. Her overnight experience is shown in so not funny way. There is not a single scene where I laughed. I certainly need my one and a half hours back. It's a low budget movie with a no interesting plot. I mean why don't you go ahead and watch a porn movie there is nothing new you would find here. I would suggest you rather sleep in bed than fall asleep while watching it. Do not compare this flick with 40 year old virgin. It was far better than this. Okay I would give 1 out of 10 and guess what I am feeling generous by voting even 1.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Awful; Only one reason to see this movie, Self education

1/10
Author: A.J. from United States
17 May 2010

The only fun this about this DVD is the first time special on the Special Features section. It is a great extra of that cast talking about their first time having sex. Bring back some good memories. Not worth watching (i.e. renting, downloading, buying) the movie. If you can find the extra somewhere online, watch the extra feature. Do not waste your time with it. There is only one reason to see this movie (DO NOT BUY THIS MOVIE, rent it), to see what not to do if you are making a movie; i.e. writing, directing, or producing; on a low budget. The music is good for a extremely low budget movie. This movie has two lessons in it, 1. What not to do when making a movie. 2. That Hollywood still knows how to make really bad movies.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history