IMDb > xXx: Return of Xander Cage (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
xXx: Return of Xander Cage
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
xXx: Return of Xander Cage More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 59 reviews in total 

57 out of 85 people found the following review useful:

Mindless VFX, dull acting and no screenplay and story

2/10
Author: aphale-mayuresh from Mumbai
13 January 2017

Been cursing myself to have watched such mindless video game movie.

Deepika Padukone is completely misfit and she looks awkward for most of the screen time. Vin Diesel should stick to Fast and Furious franchise, 2002 XXX was much better. Rest of the star cast is assembled to just please the producers "Shanghai Movies".

There is no story, no screenplay, improper acting, it seems like director has wasted his most of the time in VFX labs than on actual story and screenplay.

Disgraceful start to 2017, if you want to watch mindless graphical action, better play video game. Disappointed to the core, save your time, money and if you still want to see then be ready to curse yourself...backed by big production house, critics and fake reviews will start floating soon appreciating the movie, beware.

Was the above review useful to you?

30 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

The Worst Movie. Ever.

1/10
Author: Aveek Ganguly from Canada
14 January 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I and two friends of mine spent a lot of money between us to watch this movie today on the day of its release. Apart from wanting to watch Deepika, I had enjoyed the original XXX movie (this one is a sequel), plus I am a huge fan of Vin Diesel.

However I came out of the theatre in a state of total shock! In my life I have watched thousands of movies, be it from Hollywood or Bollywood or from other parts of the country and the world. But today, and I am putting this down in writing, I got to see the worst movie of my entire life so far!! Yes really, I know what I am saying! So please please please ... try not to watch this movie ... it is so bad that it will make you want to cry. Or it will actually put you to sleep, like with the guy behind us in the theatre who was actually snoring within the first half hour itself!

The movie has no story. It is not exciting as action films are meant to be, because the action itself is very cartoonish and very boring. It does not even have a proper climax, because it doesn't actually have a real villain who can pose a bit of a challenge to the hero! Yes it has several stunts, but you get to see most of them in the various trailers of this movie on YouTube. Let me put it another way: the best action scenes in this film are very very bad copies of scenes from the Matrix movies, and the two James Bond movies GoldenEye and Die Another Day. Plus the direction too is horrible, which results in many dialogues not being properly audible, poorly lit scenes, extremely erratic editing, poor acting ... or no acting, cos a lot of guys simply standing around doing nothing is not really acting ... this list is endless!

Last but not the least: Deepika Padukone! Though I have always liked her until now, I still say it is not worth spending money to go and see her in this movie. Firstly her English sounds terrible over here. I have earlier heard Deepika speak English on TV and she sounds smart enough. So why is she speaking with a distinct South Indian accent in this movie ... when her name here is Serena Unger and not Meenamma from Chennai Express ... I mean could she not point out to the director that it would sound ridiculously out of place? Also her role is pretty small and her character is poorly etched out ... and so she doesn't really get a chance to act. And as for her looks in this movie, well, she easily looks much more prettier or glamorous in most of the Hindi films that she has starred in.

So is this a movie review? Naw, it is more of a warning! Because XXX: Return of Xander Cage is so bad that it is not even a time pass movie. I score it a 1 ... out of 1000!

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 67 people found the following review useful:

Awful Crap That You Can't Unsee

1/10
Author: Prabhat R from India
13 January 2017

How do you make a hit film? It's simple. Cast some of the biggest stars in the industry and you are halfway through, add a lot of mindless action, do some promotional stunts (like Vin wearing a Lungi and dancing on a Hindi song) and you are done. Audiences are bound to go crazy.

I have never been a fan of any of the XXX films but this one I watched for Deepika. But Oh My God, what was I thinking? This film is awful beyond measure. There is nothing to watch. I mean it's the same thing you must have seen at least a hundred times by now. Same clichéd story, same mindless action sequences and people reading their lines like they are mannequins who have been brought to life my some magic. Even the origami did a way better job in Kubo and the two strings and they are made out of paper, mind you.

People are saying Deepika was good and I completely disagree. I can say that she did a good job with action sequences but her acting was pathetic. In fact there were only one or two people who actually tried to act.

So, don't waste your money on this awful experience. If you are watching it for Deepika then drop your plans. The screen time she gets is longer than I anticipated but nothing good comes out of it. It is another of those meaningless action films that you forget the moment you walk out of the Cinema. There are better movies playing in theaters that deserve your money instead of this crap. Do something meaningful with your money.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

A Typical Money Making Entertainer with Full dose of Action Stunts

6/10
Author: Samahire404 from India
18 January 2017

xXx Return Of Xander Cage Review : Finished watching xXx in Hindi dubbed version so my review will be friendly to Indian audience may be. I have not seen previous films of this franchise so my might won't help you but that would a plus point because my views about film will be individual and fresh. xXx Return Of Xander Cage is a typical Action drama film, which entertains you but does not impress if you are looking for something different or new. Script has nothing new to offer so obviously Kick ass Action scenes, Stunts and Dialogues saves the film from being not a Crap. So many Twists and Surprises are there in the 2nd half which are predictable. Acting field had no potential so just forget about it, but want to mention Deepika here cause she has good enough screenspace in film which actually made me feel proud as an Indian. Cinematography is Breathtaking, Visual Effects are Awesome, except couple of scenes which looks animated. Action stunts are something for which you can tolerate this film. Screenplay is good, not boring at all. Direction is pretty Good, nothing impressive but less minuses helps it. Overall it is a Typical Action Drama Money Making and Box Office Friendly Entertainer which has appeal for limited i mean Mass audience. There is nothing bad in watching it at least once, after that you can decide yourself that you want to give it a repeat watch or not (I can't give it a Repeat Watch). I'm giving 6/10* to this Action Drama flick as i think with this script a better movie can't be made.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Honestly DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

1/10
Author: stuartboyd-92108 from England
19 January 2017

I cannot believe I actually paid to watch this utter tripe. It is possibly the worst film I have ever seen in my life. If you've any sense do not waste your money like I did. Some of the scenes are just ridiculous. Donne Yen must have been totally desperate for the money considering some of the great films he has made in the past. The female characters are as you would expect very attractive but do not make up for the awfulness of this film. Vin must be sat at home thinking OMG why on earth did I actually make that film as he probably doesn't need the money. The only good part of the film was near the end. The best part of the film was when it had finished and I could get out of the cinema. Honestly I repeat DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Lame attempt to be a multi-hero blockbuster like Fast & Furious

5/10
Author: yc0615 from United States
21 January 2017

Okay. The director wants to make it another F&F franchise with more heroes. But The cast is a mess. Why put an old white man who can't even drive, a computer geek ugly Betty and a DJ baller who can't even fight? Besides Vin Diesel and a few Asian stars who can secure Asian market, others are B-list cast from Hollywood. If you gonna make more XXXs, make all of them count please. Cheap XXXs make no difference! The fight scenes lack imagination too. We saw the stunts like skateboarding and plane fight too many times. Why don't figure out something new? The competition between two XXX teams could have been more fun and intense. But it was short and ended right before I got intrigued.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

waste of time and money

1/10
Author: jaghorima from AUS
21 January 2017

just out of cinema, such a waste of time and money. there is literally nothing right in this movie. all casts are acting the worst, no connection, no action, extremely over exaggerated.

most characters tried to be funny but they really acted bad, although they are good actors, specially Donnie yen and Tony Jaa. fan of xxx series will definitely get disappointed, it is not even one/tenth as good as previous ones.

I do not recommend it to anyone. I think they put so many famous movie stars for the cash only. don't waste your money, more importantly your time on this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Mindless action movie with no real story

5/10
Author: fatelovesthefearless from Brisbane, Australia
19 January 2017

I will start by saying i didn't hate this movie. It was entertaining enough however there wasn't much of a story and no character development. It felt like a inferior clone of the fast and furious franchise, Vin Diesel basically plays the same character but without the family feel of the team that fast and furious has.

The supporting characters didn't have as much screen time as i would have liked which might have made the movie better as this was pretty much the Vin Diesel show. Toni Colette's character and acting was horrible and i feel she was a very bad miscast as i do usually like her acting. I would have preferred to have seen more of Nina Dobrev's character as she was actually a bit interesting and comedic.

The stunts were unrealistic but that is to be expected in today's action movies. It's an OK movie but should have been a lot better as the original XXX i quite enjoyed but i found myself almost bored in parts of this. If you are into action movies its still worth watching but just don't go in expecting it to be great.

I give it a 5/10. It's not horrible, it's just average and forgettable.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A poor action film that is pretty messy

3/10
Author: alindsay-al from United Kingdom
20 January 2017

I haven't seen any of the xxx films, but I thought I would give this film a chance and this film really let me down. The premise of the film sees a group of extreme criminals going after a piece of technology so the government enlists the help of xander cage and his team to stop them. Vin diesel returns to the role of xander cage and he does an okay job, the guy is in great physical condition and you buy him in the action scenes and some of his line do work. However, even though he tries his best his performance comes across as very wooden and stoic. His one liners just aren't delivered very well at all and his character is just not interesting at all. There is a large supporting cast in this film with the best being Donnie yenn and Rory McCann, Donnie yenn is becoming one of my favourite action stars in films at the moment and he was great in this film. He is great in the action scenes and his character was actually the most interesting character in this film even though that isn't saying allot. McCann plays the hound in game of thrones and he is a fun addition to the film in his role. But everyone else in this film is just a massive cartoon whether it is the romantic interest you don't care about or the athletes who are bad actors or the character of Becky who is one of the worst characters I have seen in recent time. The story of this film is incredibly cliché and dull, all the twists and turns are incredibly predictable and you will guess them within the first 20 mins of the film. Yhere is nothing really interesting in the storytelling of this film when they even try to and it just fails. The script has incredibly cheesy dialogue that just doesn't work, mainly due to the poor delivery by the actors and because of how poor the script is written. The style has some hard hitting cool action scenes but there is nothing incredibly special in the film. Also there is some weird editing decisions involved in some of the action scenes that does make it hard to watch. Overall this is a really poor action film that isn't worth a watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 47 people found the following review useful:

This movie made no sense

1/10
Author: Sauradeep Paul
16 January 2017

This movie was awful and a massive waste of time. Physics is apparently non existent. The NSA guards are worse than storm-troopers at shooting. A huge cast but no character development at all. You get no idea of there names as well. The plot makes no sense at all. The acting is all over the place as well. Flying planes, flying cars, flying people and even a goddamn flying boat. Then there are people who definitely should have been killed but still they stay alive and then there are people who died and I don't know how. Overall, one word that perfectly describes this movie is 'pretentious'. It tries to define what's cool and what's not but fails miserably. I wanted to write a sarcastic post about this one, but this stupid movie doesn't deserve that. I hope everyone sues the crap out of the producers for creating such a godawful movie.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history