Bad Teacher (2011) Poster

(2011)

User Reviews

Add a Review
302 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
1/10
This is where we are as a culture
Steve28 June 2011
Warning: Spoilers
How many millions of dollars went into this which could have been used better in some other venture? Sour premise of a dope-smoking, opportunistic junior high school teacher who skates through her job, looking for a way to fund her breast augmentation job so she can land a rich boyfriend. Ends up committing several felonies & getting a stuffy but honest co-worker blamed for everything (including drug use on school grounds) while she wins the day. The redemption is her hooking up with an angry gym teacher when he proves the affluent guy she's sharking for is a shallow imbecile.

Now, I'm not the sort of person who demands a moral message in every piece of cinema, but really? Who is the target audience here? To whom are the filmmakers attempting to appeal? This is just vile.
197 out of 298 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Funnier than the reviews
darklydreamingrahu6 August 2011
Bad Teacher is funny in ways it shouldn't be. Cameron Diaz owns the role of Elizabeth as the foul-mouthed, pot smoking, trashy blonde teacher with a twisted outlook on life. Obscenities and bizarre sexual innuendo roll off her tongue perfectly. Justin Timberlake is hilarious and awkward as Scott. His character is complex and....well he's just awkward....there's no other way to describe it. Lucy Punch is the perfect counterpart to both Diaz and Timberlake's characters as Amy Squirrel. Her over-the-top performance is one you will remember. Jason Segel steals every scene he's in as Russell the equally foul mouthed and dirty gym teacher. Phyllis Smith is an adorable and strange addition to the movie as the confused Lynn Davis, bringing her own brand of corkiness to the plot. All in all, the casting of Bad Teacher is flawless and is really where the movie shines. The punchlines are delivered with punch and the characters are decently developed and complex in their own ways.

There are some setbacks to Bad Teacher which stop it from being a great comedy. The plot devices used to move the story along are unconvincing and overplayed. Character transformations are equally unconvincing, uninspired, and rushed. Some scenes feel forced for the sake of cheap laughs or shock value. None of it though is shocking enough for this to be an effective method of comedy. Sometimes the characters feel a bit too weird even for the universe of strange the movie sets early on. Jason Segel's Russell is the most interesting character in the movie and yet for some reason is greatly underused. He pops up in pointless scenes simply to interject a laugh and then disappears for long stretches of time.

Bad Teacher is a funny movie. The critics have not been so generous with their reviews, but who listens to them anymore anyways? If you are into dark comedies or a raunchy brand of humor, you will find yourself laughing with this one. While the plot devices are forced and some of the humor could have been better with a more subtle approach, overall this is a decent flick to chill out on the couch and laugh with. 7/10
80 out of 119 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Not a perfect movie, but much better than some reviews suggest.
xyz726 November 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Let's face it, the reason many people call Bad Teacher the "worst movie ever shot" is not rational, it doesn't have to do with the movie itself in any way. From the reviews I have read on here the main problem seems to be the moral values in this film leading many "oh so shocked" viewers to give bad reviews, question people's sanity for producing this movie and hate everything about it - whether they admit it's the reason they dislike it or pretend to hate everything about an objectively well crafted film. But this movie is not supposed to teach anyone life lessons, it's not supposed to have some big, moral message about how to live your life in a good way. This is a film for adults. And films for adults do not have to follow certain morals because an adult is expected to judge morals on their own without needing guidelines. An adult can enjoy movies with main characters doing things they would never find acceptable because it's not about agreeing with the character's actions.

Normally, I would rate this film 6 stars, but I rated it 8 to keep some of the irrational reviews on here from bringing the score down too far. It has solid jokes, a mostly good cast, OK direction but also some really bad moments and the main character goes completely out of character towards the end to achieve the usual Hollywood "we need a kiss! FAST!!!" Happy Ending, but overall a good comedy I would watch again with a great performance from Cameron Diaz.
44 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Let's hope they paid the actors more than the writers.....
diac22824 June 2011
Bad Teacher is a great concept that resulted in a style of humor like most of the Adult Swim cartoons you see today: When the jokes hit they hit well, but when they miss, they miss quite badly. The cast was delightful, but could only go so far with the material. As a matter of fact, it was the cast that saved the movie from being a total disaster by providing their comedic chops, their charm, and their good comic timing that you don't see enough of nowadays. Despite all that however, Bad teacher is a shiny apple with a few rotten parts.

Elizabeth Hasley (Cameron Diaz) is a foul-mouthed, bitter, and quite nasty teacher that is keeping the job only to pay the bills after her rich fiancée dumps her. Facing debt, aging, and loneliness, Elizabeth starts setting her sights on a boob job and on a new (rich) teacher (Justin Timberlake), whom has also captured the attention of a manipulative rival (Lucy Punch). The script was helmed by two veteran writers of The Office (Gene Stupnitsky, Lee Eisenberg) as they use their non-television ratings boundaries to mix plenty of vulgar and raunchy humor with even some tidbits of cruel humor. Unfortunately, their lack of boundaries led to a mediocre script.

This film's biggest falters come in the form of the script. Despite the promise in the premise and the cast involved, the script was convoluted, and didn't have much structure until the second half. As a matter of fact, the film switches up the pace very unexpectedly when the next act approaches. Pretty much almost all the crude and vulgar humor failed to draw laughs, with one notable exception involving one of the odder "sex" scenes in recent memory. The movie was a great idea not exactly explored upon, and was full of smaller ideas that were not utilized. Many good smaller characters did not get enough time in the script; most notably the students, the gym teacher (Jason Segal) and the main character's roommate (Erik Stonestreet).

Despite the writing being a fickle mess, the cast was superb, from the small roles to the big ones. Cameron Diaz I can honestly say is one of the most underrated talents in Hollywood, because she rarely ever delivers a mediocre or weak performance. She has this aura, this energy that can save the worst of films (See: What Happens in Vegas) and it is no different here. Despite her smoking/drinking/vulgar/manipulative/cynical/cruel/superficial ways, we still secretly root for her to succeed in reaching her goal. Very few actresses can pull off this type of charm.

Lucy Punch, despite having a bit of questionable material, delivers as Diaz's rival. Jason Segal could have helped the movie a lot more if he was in it more often, as he delivered the laughs every time he was on-screen with his wit, sarcasm, and I-don't-care attitude. Television staples Phyllis Smith and Erik Stonestreet were hilarious in the far-too-few moments they were on-screen. The movie does indeed have its laughs, but the potential was so much greater considering all the talented actors involved.

Jake Kasdan as a director doesn't have much of a resume, but he does have the comedic chops and timing, and he proved this with the underrated Walk Hard. With Bad Teacher, he did not have as much good material to work with but could have still helped the movie if he had tightened the first third of the movie better. There was a lot more unnecessary fluff in the first half of the movie compared to the second half. Smaller plot lines were never resolved, certain jokes literally fell off without a punchline, and certain situations were brought up but never explored. Many concepts were also never explored: especially that of how shallow and shady we all become towards each other in the workforce.

Bottom Line: Bad Teacher was a great idea, poorly executed, but relentlessly saved by the energetic cast. This movie could have mixed the dark charm of Bad Santa with the subtle workforce ridiculousness humor of Office Space to become something very, very special. But neither style of humor was dwelled upon deep enough. The first half had its laughs, but was far too convoluted and was salvaged mainly because of the hilarity of Cameron Diaz. The movie definitely picks up later, but by then its too late, the potential was wasted. Either way, you will certainly laugh, you will remain entertained, but will also be bothered by what it could have been.
132 out of 220 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Bad Teacher ?? Maybe. Bad Film? Absolutely
mmccord912630 June 2011
I know others will disagree with me, but this has got to be in the running for the pick for the Razzies this year. What a pathetic piece of crap. The storyline was boring and the jokes either over-the-top, or, worst, not even close to funny. It never fails to amaze me when really bad ideas not only get to be screenplays, but they actually wind up getting produced. And...Timberlake's character...what was he thinking when he took this role??? Yeah, Diaz is still a hot body and all, but even that couldn't save something so downright dumb. I won't bother with any spoilers; it's not worth the effort. Save your money. This one will simply insult your intelligence. I would give it a minus one if I could.
219 out of 375 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Execrable
evening19 July 2011
Warning: Spoilers
What was the point of this movie? Cameron Diaz has been in some great stuff. Why would she humiliate herself with this pathetic script? Perhaps she liked the idea of showing off her body for an hour and a half. Because she is exceptionally hammy here in that respect.

Every single character in this movie is unlikeable, with perhaps the exception of the school superintendent, who occupies about three minutes of screen time. Diaz plays an obnoxious character who uses and abuses others, children foremost among them. Jason Timberlake starts out being a refreshing contrast to Diaz, but after awhile he's as unpleasant as all the rest.

The plot is exceptionally poorly constructed. We're supposed to care about how a psychopath drums up the $9,000 necessary for breast implants? Admittedly, I'm older than the target audience of this film. I admit I felt a bit of justice when the acne-faced teacher (unfunnily named Squirrel) caught Diaz at her game. But the plot disappoints again when Diaz out-cons everyone anew. The unlikely ending seems as if it were slapped on because the writer couldn't think of any other way to release the audience from its misery.

This movie is pure detritus and I'm really sorry my family wasted $38.50 (including food) to see it.
89 out of 145 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
mildly amoral, refreshingly different.
RetroRick7 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Am reviewing this to counter-balance the far too many negative reviews out there. This is a funny, not hilarious, but funny and sometimes cruel film about a bad teacher, who is funny because she is bad. Just like bad santa she isn't being held up an examplar for teaching or a role-model for young women (actually I'm not too sure about that). What she is is an anti-dote to the righteous, touchy-feely, moralising lesson preaching,heart-in-the-right-place films that normally dominate this genre, or at least do whenever there is a female in the lead. God knows the world would suffer if every film was like this, but a little bit of gentle cynicism is good thing in a world that is full of fraudulent fictional xmas cheer. Spoiler: As for the sensitive little boy not getting the girl, isn't about time that movies stopped lying to teenage boys that being nice & sensitive will get you laid.
29 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
One of the worst movies I've seen since long
Warning: Spoilers
I wanted to watch this movie because I got the impression that it could be a new kind of "High School Rock" or something similar. Simply a "bad" teacher who discovers that she really wants to do something good for her students and actually helps them in getting good grades and self-esteem. But unfortunately, there is NOTHING of that in that movie!

I don't even know how to begin my review of how bad this movie is. The only good thing about it is the cast: Cameron Diaz, Justin Timberlake, Jason Segal, Lucy Punch, Phyllis Smith... This movie almost SCREAMS for wanting to be a big funny comedy! The cast, including Diaz, is doing an amazing job fitting their roles. Especially Timberlake, who is showing a rather odd kind of roll as the hot hipster new age idiot. But nonetheless, all their effort doesn't save this movie from falling on its knees.

Because this movie gets nothing right. The jokes are harsh, nasty, dirty and political incorrect. Some may find them interesting and funny because of that fact. I just find them typically MTV-generation bad. The story and the pace in which the film develops are horrible too! It starts out by introducing how "bad" of a teacher Diaz is. She clearly shows that she has no interest in her students and their future, lets them watch only movies each day and forces them to do national tests without them having learned anything. And when the students fail (of course), she yells and threatens them to do a better job. And what's more, because threats don't work either, she lets them stand in line at the gymnasium and throws basketballs at each kids face if the kid doesn't answer correctly to one of her questions. Seriously?? What is this movie telling us? That the education system in the US is messed up or that you can teach students better with corporal punishment? All that attitude is so unrealistic, you wonder how she got her teachers' license in the first place.

But sadly, Diaz is never getting away from her attitude. She is never really growing or changing in that movie. She sleeps, drinks, smokes, steals, takes drugs, is violent, cynical, lies and betrays all people around her. And gets always away with it. Right from the beginning of the movie until the end. What's worse, she even gets a colleague of hers to be forced to move to another school AND gets the guy in the end who was chasing her through the movie the entire time. Wonder what he sees in her?

There are only two scenes in the movie where you think that Diaz finally will change, or at least show her "real" nice self. The first one is when she is smoking pod in her car and one of her students is giving her home baked cookies. For the brink of a second, Diaz is softening up and gives her student the advice to loosen up a little ("stop acting like you're racing for congress"). But she immediately finishes with "You're hopeless, kid." The other scene is after one of the boys in her class openly confesses his love to his crush, gets rejected and runs away in his misery. Diaz chases him, and when they finally sit down to talk about what happened, she repeats herself: "I told you so many times, a guy like you will NEVER get a girl like her. Take that ugly hat off your face!"

I became so frustrated by those small moments when it seems like Diaz finally will show us her nice self, only to prove once more what kind of a sad and mean psycho she really is. This movie gives you nothing and is not rewarding to watch in any way. You will get no interesting story, no plot twists, no philosophical depth, no moral message, no happy ending. It's really one of these movies where you have to ask yourself how the script got past the producing rights in the first place. I can simply not recommend this movie to anyone.
15 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Politically Incorrect, Brainless but Hilarious
Claudio Carvalho11 January 2012
The gold digger Elizabeth Halsey (Cameron Diaz) quits her job as a teacher at the JAM High School expecting to marry her wealthy fiancé. However, he calls off their engagement and Elizabeth returns to the school.

Elizabeth is reckless, incompetent, pothead and does not give any attention to the students and her coworkers, and she shows movies to her students along the classes. The envious teacher Amy Squirrel (Lucy Punch) hates Elizabeth and they are estranged to each other.

When Elizabeth meets the substitute teacher Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake), she discovers that he is very rich and she flirts with him. Further, she learns that Scott likes big breasts and she decides to have a surgery of silicone-implant. She needs to raise US$ 10,000.00 for the breast-implant, and she learns that the teacher that gets the best scores in the state exam would receive US$ 5,700.00 bonus. Elizabeth changes her attitude and teaches her students to prepare them for the exams. However, Elizabeth uses an unethical means to win the competition and Amy seeks evidences to prove that Elizabeth has cheated the exams.

"Bad Teacher" is a politically incorrect, brainless but very hilarious film. Cameron Diaz performs the most awful teacher of cinema history, the opposite of Sidney Poitier in "To Sir with Love"; Edward James Olmos in "Stand and Deliver" or Michelle Pfeiffer in "Dangerous Minds". Elizabeth Halsey is a slut, pothead, reckless, gold digger, corrupter, cheater, blackmailer and everything that is not good. But I Laughed a lot with this forgettable film. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "Professora sem Classe" ("Teacher without Class")
41 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
America Continues To Sink
donjeffries26 June 2011
Another comic "gem" to satisfy the cravings of an increasingly stupid viewing audience, "Bad Teacher" is accurately titled. Cameron Diaz, who is also a bad actress, is indeed very, very bad in this film. Her character is entirely absent any remotely positive traits. There's nothing to like about her, and yet we are supposed to root for her. A film with a title like this would once have been relegated to the porn industry. Now it's just part of mainstream "comedy," right there alongside other immortal classics like "Super Bad," "Jack Ass," "Kick Ass," etc.

Yes, it was awe inspiring to watch dear Cameron fire balls at the heads of little boys. Not little girls, of course- that wouldn't be funny. It's only humorous to watch little boys in pain. Ha Ha. Think of it- the writers are depicting an adult abusing children, and we're laughing at it! Reverse the roles- can you imagine a "comedy" where a male teacher abuses little girls, and the audience is amused by it?

Several obvious sequels spring to mind here; Bad Student, Bad Principal, Bad Janitor, Bad Cafeteria Lady, etc. The possibilities are endless. The American idiocracy apparently have an unlimited appetite for these mindless, immature "comedies" that could all have been written by 12 year old boys. I guess these "writers" never run out of ways to portray farting, male asses and men getting hurt (usually by getting hit in the crotch). Thank goodness their "talent" was recognized and is being put to such good use.

Everyone who had anything to do with this monstrously bad movie should be ashamed of themselves. The messages it sends are horrendous. If "bad teachers" start popping up in real life, they should never be held accountable for their actions, no matter how despicable they are. After all, Hollywood has told us that such creatures are hilarious, even lovable. So lighten up, it's all in good fun!
153 out of 304 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Shallow story but good acting.
Nicole C17 September 2015
This film is not so much about the story as it is about the comedy. The title itself eludes to the comedy, which can be said to be bad. However this 'bad comedy' is what makes it funny.

The story is not that interesting as it does get boring at times but it is not repetitive. The main focus is on Elizabeth and Diaz does a good job acting. You might not think her acting is good, but based on previous movies she has done I would say that this is not the type of character she is used to. Therefore I would say that she did a good job in this film as a badass foul mouth teacher. She delivered her lines convincingly and really fit into her character's shoes well. Punch does a good job of playing the uptight rule- abider, goody two shoes. I don't quite know why but it was either Timberlake himself or his character that really irked me. My friends and I were just fascinated at the possibility that Smith was probably the voice of Sadness in Inside Out (she is!).

There is not much to say of this film, except that it mainly plays off Elizabeth's appalling language (especially around children) to produce laughter. There is also quite a few scenes that I find a bit crude or stupid, but that just adds to the type of comedy this film promotes. Additionally, there are some pretty predictable plot lines and endings but all in all, it was not such a terrible experience.

Read more movie reviews at: championangels.wordpress.com
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
HIGHLY underrated!
kdishron13 July 2011
Warning: Spoilers
So, this movie was released in theaters around the same time as Bridesmaids. ALL anyone could talk about was "Omg Bridesmaids is amazing! Bridesmaids, Bridesmaids, Bridesmaids!" So, I ventured to the theater and bought a ticket for Bridesmaids. It was funny, but not incredibly so. Kristen Wiig is one of my favorites but I found her character lackluster and felt she could have done it better. ANYWAY, later, I decided to go see Bad Teacher out of complete boredom. I didn't know what to expect, I wasn't a Cameron Diaz or Justin Timberlake fan. Actually, I only really was excited to see Phyllis from The Office.

This movie was hilarious! Oh my gosh, how could I ever dislike Cameron Diaz? My view completely changed about her! She doesn't hold back, she delivers and has perfect comedic timing and brings insane positive energy to the movie. If it wasn't for Cameron, this movie may have been so-so. I say this because her character is very unlikable and shallow and rude on paper. Cameron brings charm to this character and doesn't necessarily make her likable, but just makes her hilarious! So funny!

The other actors are great as well, especially the woman who plays Mrs. Squirrel!

Go see it! Ignore the bad reviews! Decide for yourself!
15 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Meh...It's Good for a Few Laughs
brando64712 December 2011
First Santa, now a middle school teacher. I feel as if we're on the verge of a new trend of bad *insert occupation here*. Bad toll booth operators, bad samurai deli clerks…where will it end? Anyway, this is the latest from comedy director Jake Kasdan (WALK HARD) and a decently funny movie with some great moments but finds a major problem in its main character. 2011 hasn't been super strong with comedies; there have been some real good ones (BRIDESMAIDS) but most of them have been pretty forgettable (PAUL). This movie is pretty funny but it still ends on the low end of the spectrum. Cameron Diaz is Elizabeth Halsey, a gold-digging narcissist who has somehow made a career of being a middle school teacher. She believes she's found her way out with a rich fiancé to tend to her every need, but it falls apart when he finally realizes she's using him. Elizabeth is forced to return to her teaching job, where she proceeds to care even less than before. She fends off the advances of gym teacher Russell (Jason Segel) and focuses her attention on landing the new substitute teacher, Scott (Justin Timberlake). Elizabeth realizes that the only way she'll snag Scott's attention is a little self-improvement. Not becoming a decent person or anything, just a breast enhancement. From then on, she lies, cheats, and steals her way to the money she'll need for the surgery; and the only one who suffers is the good teacher (Lucy Punch) who just wants Elizabeth to do her job.

In A CLOCKWORK ORANGE, young Alex (Malcolm McDowell) robs, rapes, and commits horrible acts of violence but maintains a charismatic personality that allows the audience to root for him. Elizabeth Halsey in BAD TEACHER, does not. The "protagonist" in this movie also happens to be the least likable person in the film. As a result, the movie comes off as a little backwards. The character we're supposed to support (Elizabeth) is just a horrible person with absolutely no redeeming qualities presented until the final act of the film. And I mean none. She was a gold-digging fiancé, she's perpetually drunk/high on the job, and she coldly dismisses gym teacher Russell's advances without a glance in favor of stalking the new substitute with the massive bank account. It would almost make more sense if the film focused on Ms. Squirrel (Lucy Punch) living out her dream teaching career when trouble-making Elizabeth comes along and steals her thunder in underhanded ways. Punch should be the protagonist, and Elizabeth the antagonist. But it's not; instead we watch as the film's "good guy" punishes the "bad guy" for nothing other than doing her job and doing it well. Oh well, whatever…it's just a comedy after all. Antiheroes can be fun and it works as long as the film is funny, which it mostly is. The movie is good for some laughs, though it's tough to be anything but distant as you watch everything going down without ever really being drawn into the story.

Cameron Diaz really is the best person for this role. Not because she's horribly unlikeable (I assume she's not) but because she's got a decent comedic background in her films and she's still capable of pulling off drop-dead beauty. In BAD TEACHER, she's the teacher we all wished we'd had in middle school. She really drives the point home when she volunteers to work the school's charity car wash so she can pilfer funds. The supporting cast in this movie is what really makes it enjoyable. Jason Segel is always great as a lovable schlub (which pretty much sums up his gym teacher character) and Lucy Punch is hilariously eccentric as Ms. Squirrel. I've also got to give credit to Phyllis Smith as Elizabeth's friend Lynn. She's probably the funniest part of the movie as the soft-spoken conservative friend who wants so badly to be as cool as Elizabeth but can't bring herself to commit to the debauchery. Honestly, the main character may be crap but the movie does have some real funny moments. I just don't know if there's enough to save it from fading out shortly after watching it. If it helps, I find the movie is funnier the less sober you are when watching it.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Complete Waste of Time
jennessis-116 August 2011
If I could have given zero stars I would have. This movie is absolutely not worth watching. The only remotely good thing is Jason Segel but his role was so marginal, he couldn't help anything.

The story is completely predictable with no lessons to be learned from it. There is no witty dialogue and not a single scene which would make you laugh like you should when watching a comedy. Timberlake's role is supposed to be dorky or something but if you've seen him on SNL, this one does not live up to your expectations. The dry hump scene is not even embarrassing funny but utterly lame.

The only twist in the story is so expected and poorly executed, it's just another super lame scene.

If seeing Cameron Diaz washing cars in Daisy Dukes for about five minutes is your thing watch it. Otherwise, stay away from it. This movie seriously sucked.
74 out of 147 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Female teacher needs a new sugar daddy. Will it be the new substitute teacher or the slacker gym teacher?
kingownsyou10 February 2011
Beforehand I found Cameron Diaz as the lead character in a raunchy comedy off putting. I was pleasantly surprised I neither wanted to stab her or myself after seeing this movie. She pulls off the recently dumped, vulgar, Junior High teacher off pretty well.

Diaz stars as the titular teacher Elizabeth Halsey. Her fiancé dumps her very early on in an unexpected tone setting scene. She is an educator without a care of education who needs a new man's bank account to rest on. Enter Justin Timberlake as the hot, new substitute teacher with plenty of family money. Timberlake plays the dorky, yet hot teacher very well culminating in his facial expressions in a "moment of pleasure".

Jason Segel guest stars as the slacker gym teach with intent to hook up with the vulnerable Diaz. Segel albeit funny is under utilized in this smart, well written comedy. Lucy Punch is hilarious as the perky, over the top model teacher also vying for Timberlake's attention.

The film is a comedy that should succeed much better than anyone whose ever heard of Cameron Diaz would expect. It comes across very 'Apatowian'. Its smart and just keeps going further down the road of crass, yet enjoyable raunchiness. It also sports the best scene of an exploding bowel movement since Austin Powers.
54 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
This movie is very bad indeed
amosduncan_20003 July 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Another work of Hollywood nepotism, Jake Kasden's film makes perfect box office sense but utterly fails. Maybe Kasden has no feel for vulgarity, or maybe he just has no talent.

SPOILER (sort of)

There is an interesting scene towards the end. Deiz's character is a person so terrible and selfish it's supposed to be funny, or maybe we're supposed to like her because everyone else at the school is a nice guy twit. Yet all through the movie this one nice guy slacker is inexplicably interested in her. He seems to see the good in her or maybe it's just because She's so hot.

In a movie like this it's too corny to have the lead see the error in her ways and show her hidden virtue. So the nice guy slacker and her finally get together in an awkward scene because, ...well, just so the movie can end. Then we find out they had great sex all summer so he is rewarded for keeping after her. And Jake Kasden has blessed the world with his moral vision.
53 out of 103 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Worst Movie I have ever seen! **Spoilers**
cworld14-989-9917076 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Deserving of a negative star score, this isn't even a good BAD movie. At least a bad movie can be entertaining, like "Plan 9 from outer space" for instance. This movie isn't a comedy at all, its a horror movie. The only reason I made it all the way through was to see the Cameron Diez character get her just deserts. But alas, she never did, how disappointing. I agree with the other sane reviewers in that this is a statement of everything wrong with the world today. How can any normal human being see anything funny about this disaster. Bad teacher indeed, a soulless, conniving, lazy, sleazy self serving bitch. Here's a women whose only ambition in life is to get a big set of fake knockers and to score a rich man at any cost. She spares no ones feelings to get what she wants. The premise is that cheating, lying, and stealing are OK as long as you get what you want. Winners lose and losers win and be damned with normality. Here's the same basic plot line: Cold blooded killer kidnaps, torture's, rapes and then murders indiscriminately any man, women or child he runs into. Then successfully shifts blame to an innocent party who is put to death and then ends with the murderer being put in charge of the bureau of missing persons. Absolute crap is being generous as a rating. The Razzies wouldn't lower themselves to nominating this piece of garbage. Run away from this dog, it will be the biggest waste of time you will ever experience.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Cameron Diaz is an incompetent teacher who wants to get a boob job. There is a prize for the teacher whose kids do the best so she uses any means to get it.
Tariq Mahmood30 December 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Very bad film.

Nothing funny in this film at all. I kept on waiting for the comedy moments but they did not materialise at all.

Moral of the story seems to be to be that the only way is to lie and cheat your way through life.

90 minutes wasted.

Don't be tempted when you see that Cameron Diaz is in it. Even she can't save the film.

I have watched a lot of movies, good and bad. This is the worst one I have ever seen.

Stay away otherwise you will end up regretting it.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Bad Teacher is truly bad
M. J Arocena28 June 2011
Cameron Diaz is terrific but here she's wasted in a terribly lazy script that resorts to farting to get a laugh. She has the only redeemable moment, washing a car! But the whole thing moves from lame sketch to lame sketch. The film had a 31 million opening week-end so I fear we'll have a Bad Teacher 2, how sad, really. Justin Timberlake, who has shown the chops of a very good actor, here he just appears. Jason Segel, what I can I say, I don't get him. The filmmakers should study the films of Preston Sturges and attempt a comedy, even with he same premise, but with originality and wit. The title reminded me of "Bad Santa" an hoped for something as smartly irreverent but not such luck. Bad Santa was so much better.
41 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Bad Reviews .... Great Movie !!!
trulycanadian122 August 2011
Great film lots of laughs !

I know that after reading all these horrible reviews everyone is going to think that this movie sucks... In all reality some viewers seem to have lost track of the fact that the film is rated R. The majority of negative comments are most likely coming from the stereo typical views of those very people who in the film were made to seem ridiculous. A.K.A all the mothers who are still most likely listening to there children's poetry hahaha. Cut the umbilical people and lighten up this is an Adult Comedy Rated R so don't rate the film as if you were expecting to watch Bambi on family night.
38 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Bad Apple
kosmasp5 March 2012
There is a certain energy in that movie. Especially at the beginning when Cameron Diaz seems invincible she has the time of her life (almost literally). There is a great sequence where she kinda falls down though which sets of the rest of the movie. Unfortunately even though it does make sense for her character, it does loose quite a bit of its pace from that point on.

Justin Timberlake is good in playing kind of against character and does not care about what people may think. Jason Segel is almost underused in this one and even Cameron Diaz did not really have that many great moments overall. And for a movie that tries to stay raunchy, it does even fail at combining that with the funny elements. While deliciously evil at times (and good), it also misses the point half of the time. Not really bad, but not that good either (I only watched the cinema release and not the extended cut)
15 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
The voids of laugher speaks volumes
freemantle_uk22 June 2011
Bad Teacher had a strong premise for a comedy, a teacher is really bad and hates her job. It was marketed a raunchy hard-R comedy: sadly it was a film that was lacking, despite the best efforts of the actors.

Elizabeth Halsey (Cameron Diaz) is the bad teacher in question who leaves the profession and forced to return when her fiancé dumps her for her gold digging ways. She returns to John Adams Middle High (JAMS) and sets out to win over Scott Delacorte (Justin Timberlake), a geeky substitute teacher who is the heir to a watch empire. He particularly likes women with big breasts and Elizabeth plans to get a boob job: but needs the money. But Scott himself is attached to Amy Squirrel (Lucy Punch), a quirky caring teacher who gets the best results in school. At the same time Elizabeth has a suitor in the form a Gym/P.E. teacher (Jason Seagel). When Elizabeth finds out the prize for the best school results in the Illinois State Test is a big cheque, she sets about to ensure her class is the best.

The jokes were just lacking through the film. I was in a cinema that was 75% full and there were a lot of teachers in it and I can say with honesty that there was very little laugher, a few chuckles and no belly laughs. That says a lot about a comedy because the point is to make us laugh. I believe one of two things happened, either, that the film was originally going to be a PG-13 film and the producers thought that the film was more marketable as a R-rated comedy, or the more likely that it was cut much of the swearing out to get a PG-13 rating, and failed. Most of the use of the F word in the red band trailer was cut out from the actual film. They were also plot points, like when Elizabeth offered to tutor her students, goes nowhere. The pace throughout was just very slow and Bad Teacher needed more snap.

Acting wise the best performance was Seagel best person the film, having the best lines with his role and the most grounded character in the film. He was simply natural as a gym teacher who just wants to have fun, though he has a dodgy line which makes him sound like a potential rapist. Punch is solid and she is deliberately over the top as a quirky teacher, but she does not have many good lines and Punch has to make the performance as physical as possible. She also gets very screwed over in the film. Diaz does her best but the character is not very well developed and her traits flipped like a switch. Most of the time she is shown as an uncaring person, only interested in herself and only got into teaching for the hours: but at the same time she does help some students and surely she should have cared as some point about teaching. She is also too ruthless, she needed to be a deeper character.

I also have to comment about the actual school On Wikipedia it describes JAMS as a school in a poor area: it was certainly not, it was in a very middle class area. I liked how the kids in the school actually looked normal and not in cliques like the jocks, the nerds, the pretty girls, cheerleaders, etc… They were mixed. But at the same time it seems like that the teachers only have one class: when I was in school the teachers had to teach classes over many years, if they only taught one class then they would have a very short working week.

Overall, a big disappointment.
59 out of 120 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Bad Teacher - Worse Movie
eddythedolphin14 October 2011
What a waste of money and talent... Sometimes Hollywood do it just right in releasing the Cream of the Crap, my goodness grace, who in this world wanted to spend this kind of money in such incredible junk/ if the answer is to see boobs on screen, come on, give me a break! Another thing, I got to believe that the stars in it are there just for the $, because there aren't another reason for such a bad taste of choosing script, actually by calling this one a script, I am not being fair with the writers that really know what they are doing. The Directing worked because of the Hollywood's formula, otherwise, it could be used just a robot saying: "action" and "cut", or even, "Ok, let's take a break of five", or should I say, let's us all take a break of such nonsense movie.
33 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of the funniest comedies in recent memory, truly funny.
silver80830 May 2013
Truly one of the funniest movies in recent memory.

This comedy is one of the greats, it pulls no punches and has it all. It is very well written and the characters work very well and are full of themselves perfectly so. Cameron Diaz is amazing in this ultra scheming seductress role, and all the teacher characters are so well written and done, you know there is a perfect recipe for a very well written comedy that is so outrageous at times , yet really does work at what it is meant to deliver. For sure it is gross at times, the scene with Justin Timberlake is way beyond gross, but because of the character he is playing so well, it works and is funny. You will find this movie funny.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Dull, stupid and crap
evan_harvey22 July 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Saw Bad Teacher. WIsh I hadn't. I would have rather eaten a plate of raw onions or had to sit through Ishtar again. So why was it so crap? The actors: Well, firstly, Cameron Diaz is getting old, and I mean wrinkly, tired-looking old. Secondly, she just doesn't have the skill or charisma to pull off a film like this. That's what was most obvious. Justin Timberlake was half-decent, but that's not saying much. Jason Segel. I have no idea what he was doing in this film. The other supporting actors equally sucked.

The script: Terrible. I stopped counting the number of times I heard "What?" and "Huh?" from the (sparse) audience in response to the weird, unfunny and poorly delivered lines. The red haired girl (Amy, I think) was trying her hardest to be the quirky antagonist, but she just had no comic grace. Neither did Cameron Diaz either. The scriptwriters somehow thought lots of swearing and shouting were a good idea, but alas, they were wrong.

The real problem here was that the concept of the "bad teacher" just really doesn't cut it in a high school setting. It wasn't funny. I assume that the writers were aiming for a sort of cross between shock (swearing) and possibly black humour? I really can't define it other than to say it was pissweak. Weird lines, no comic timing, a half-assed romance. It all adds up to not much and a waste of money.

To be fair, there were a few funny points, but it was just so poorly directed. The humour missed so many golden opportunities.

3 out of 10. Don't waste your time.
28 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews