IMDb > Belly 2: Millionaire Boyz Club (2008) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Belly 2: Millionaire Boyz Club (V) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

16 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Fans of the original Belly, stay away from this stomach ache!

1/10
Author: protege2k from United States
17 August 2008

This is a movie that leverages the great work of Hype Williams and the cast of Belly to get viewers to take a look at what is seemingly a sequel - I can assure you it is not. Game, who plays G the main character, is simply horrible. He continues his abysmal acting career with this title. Just because you think you are a gangster in your rhymes does not make you qualified to play a believable gangster in the movies, if he were good at being a gangster he would not have become a rapper - those that can't do, rap.

Plot is telegraphed a mile away and is the same gangster flick you have seen dozens of times before, but if that were not bad enough, the fuzziness of the poorly shot movie will drive you crazy. Most people make better looking movies with a $500 video camera. In short I was offended by this movie's use of the Belly title and will assure you that there is no way in the world it depicts any realism or lives up to the original's quality. I would re-title this movie, Belly 2: Unbelievable, Gangster Fantasy - I would like a refund for the time I wasted viewing this garbage.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Trying to cash in on original Belly

5/10
Author: tedthumb from United States
14 September 2008

The title of this movie should have been a give away of what was to come. Belly 2: Millionaire Boyz Club. There was a made for TV movie called Billionares Boys Club in the 80's. Changing billion to million and boys to boyz doesn't cut it. Belly by Hype Williams is a crime classic hands down.

Belly 2 is nowhere close to the original. The Game is a talented music artist, not an actor. On screen he doesn't seem comfortable. Check out his role in Street Kings for further proof. DMX and NAS in the original Belly have a presence. Us movie fans can't see what is happening behind the scenes, but it looks like every director pushes The Game to act over the top as a criminal. They might as well have him wear a hat and shirt that screams I AM A GANGSTER! It doesn't fly with movie fans. DMX and NAS had a subtle edge to them in Belly.

If this movie was not called Belly 2 movie fans may have not expected as much. It was not close to the original.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Fatigue at its best!

2/10
Author: cisseem from United States
25 February 2010

After reading all of these commentaries, I now comprehend the reason why I fell asleep on it. While the originial "Belly" wasn't exactly a rated "A" movie, it at least had a bit of realism. This movie appears that it was titled as a namesake in order to gain an audience. Now as far as Shari Headley.....Damn, does sistah gurl need work that bad? I know she's been out of the game (no pun intended) for quite some time, but to make an appearance on a "C" (I'm really being nice w/this rating) rated movie w/displaced acting is pitiful. Although I loved Michael K. William's role as Omar on "The Wire," he could have sat this one out. Oh yeah...and the walk-on of "Snoop"......was a semi "Wire" reunion really necessary for the drug game effect in this wannabe gangsta flix? Gimme a friggin' break! This was soooooo not worth my time viewing. But hey, at least I got a great nap outta it.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Belly Up

1/10
Author: Newsense from United States
13 September 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The original Belly was an okay movie but nothing spectacular. You can tell that Hype Williams used style over substance in that movie. While the movie was visually pleasing, it was like any other gangster movie you saw previously before it. The only difference between Belly and Millionaire Boyz Club was the last 10 minutes of Belly with Ben Chavis trying to talk DMX out of killing him. That scene makes all the difference in the world between the two movies. Belly started out ignorant and slowly started to gain a conscious while Millionaire Boyz Club is ignorant and stupid from start to finish.

Plot/story: G(played by Game)is an ex-convict who is just released out of jail and goes back to a life of crime after failing to get a job on several occasions.

Opinion: MBC is laughably bad. Game's acting is worse here than it was in Waist Deep. He is incredibly wooden as is the rest of the cast. Shari Headley(who is still FINE after all these years) laboriously plays Alexis, an agent who is sent to get close to "G" end up falling for "G" even though he shows all the charm of a pit bull with rabies. These two have no chemistry together, hell, even Morticia and Gomez of the Addams Family has more chemistry than these two. The sex scenes they had in the movie is so hysterically bad that it makes the sex scene that J-Lo and Ben Affleck had in Gigli seem steamy and erotic. I laughed so hard that I almost dropped a bomb in my pants. I also LMAO at Bryce Thompson of the R&B group, Groove Theory playing a crime boss with JHERI CURLS! Yes THAT Bryce Thompson. lol! Also wasted in this movie is Ed O'Ross. You might remember him from such films as Red Heat and Another 48 Hrs. His hammy performance as a crooked cop in this "movie" rivals Danny Aiello's hammy performance as a dirty cop in Harlem Nights in its awfulness. In closing this "movie" is a DEADLY DULL debacle that thankfully lasts 76 minutes. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE WATCH THIS BORING, STEREOTYPICAL TRIPE! It will make you dumber than you were before you went to see it. I suggest you bang your head against a wall for 76 minutes because its the same experience. Two thumbs WAY down.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Don't Bother

1/10
Author: Aiike
20 August 2008

After the success of the first Belly movie it was inevitable that a spin off would happen. And just like most spin offs it is never as good as the first. Belly 2 is what traffic is to a free way. Bad. It has as far as I can tell no real plot. But you probably guess it! Yes thats right folks the same generic urban gangster plot that uses so much stero typing that it makes me want to puke. I don't care if the Game is in this movie. This movie is a cash cow with designed for 13 years old who have nothing better to do than watch junk. Please I beg of you do not watch this movie. It is terrible and just plain wrong. And if you think I am being to harsh, you watch it and tell me if I am wrong!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Belly Ache

Author: zardoz-13 from United States
6 November 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Freshman director Ivan Frank's "Belly 2: Millionaire Boyz Club" is an execrable in-name-only sequel with virtually nothing in common with Hype Williams' superior shoot'em up "Belly." Neither of the two characters, either Sincere or Tommy, who survived "Belly" show up for "Belly 2." This formulaic sequel set in Los Angles is low-budget in every category. The shoot outs are lame, and the profanity-laden dialogue is mundane throughout this shoddy 76-minute crime melodrama that boasts no surprises. Like "Belly," "Belly 2" has a protagonist who narrates the action.

Scenarist K. Snyder and Frank focus on a thug named Reginald 'G' Bailey (Jayceon Taylor of "Street Kings") who has just served an eight-year stretch in the pen and is prepared to go straight. No sooner has G gotten out than he hooks up with his old pal, Tone (Michael Kenneth Williams of "Brooklyn's Finest"), and they get back into the swing of things by knocking off an old competitor's business. Amp Dawkins (Bryce Wilson of "Beauty Shop")informs on G to a corrupt cop, Detective Coleman (Ed O'Ross of "Red Heat"), and Coleman questions the Tone. When the Tone refuses to provide any information, Coleman gives him a count of five to fess up and then blasts him in cold blood at point blank range on the number four.

Meantime, what slimy Coleman doesn't realize is that a DEA task force is conducting surveillance on him, while one of their newest undercover operatives, Agent Alexis Douglas, has been sent in to romance G and get the goods on him. She gives G a wristwatch, but he doesn't know that it contains a recording device. Ironically, Coleman kidnaps Douglas and threatens to ice her if G doesn't return the 150 keys. Frank stages a sloppy shoot out in a fenced in warehouse. Predictably, G blasts Coleman. When Alexis confesses that she is an undercover cop, G blasts her at point blank and walks out.

Altogether, "Belly 2" is bad, really bad. This street level gangsta flick does nothing that you haven't seen before and done done better. Whereas redemption played a part in the original "Belly," redemption has nothing to do with anything here. At fade-out, a wounded G staggers around from a firefight and vows to keep on doing what he does best. He displays no remorse. Skip this inferior fluff.

Was the above review useful to you?

It's so bad it's good!

4/10
Author: JohnFAmos2 from Antarctica
10 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie is great, as far as entrainment value is concerned. There's a point (about 12 minutes in) where you just start laughing at how bad the movie is. The story is horrible (it doesn't seem to flow), the acting is terrible, and the set design is the worst I've ever seen in a movie! It's like The Game and the guy who played Omar on the Wire (because that's exactly who is character is) decided to make a movie one day during a smoke session, and viola!

Highlights to look out for. -The Mehican drug lord who always refers to his cocaine as 'coca' -The blunt props that you can tell are just normal cigars (or cigar props) -The referral to every woman as bitch and of course the lesson passed down on why not to be a 'rat-ass snitch' and why snitching is bad. Oh and how could I forget the dea agent (whose like 40 years old) falling in love with The Game, I didn't see that one coming.

Seriously though, watch it, especially watch it if you're an aspiring film maker, as it will motivate you to say, I can make something way better than this crap. But as far as entertainment value goes, 10 out of 10, it's funnier than most comedies I've seen in recent years. Hilarious movie! watch it!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Being Real

10/10
Author: dianegildon from Joliet, IL
23 November 2010

I thought the movie was very good, especially for young people who consider getting in "the game" of drugs, "fast life".

Smart ones will consider the outcome of their lives if they were to go that way, taking a big chance on being locked up or killed. Also, I've been around and I do know, unfortunately, that corrupt police do exist. I've actually seen them first-hand.

The movie was real life in some people's worlds/communities; and it gives some young person something to think about before going the wrong way, money or not! Lastly, "The Game", that played Reginald, was very sexy. I'd take Alexis' place gladly :)

It depends on what you like (movies), and I've seen so-called 4-star movies that I thought were whack in my opinion.

Also, We know that things are not fair in Hollywood as well as in the world, don't we!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

the Game building the legend

9/10
Author: fo-fo from Hungary
22 December 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

after Waist Deep the Game teams up with Wire star 'Omar' Michael K. Williams and swagger through a Compton crime movie like it's nothing.

should see the robbery, 2 shots and some sharp back and forths. good visual department. fans of the first Belly might not like it, this is a laid back style of video work. I personally prefer this color scale and kinda cuts. the slow mos and beats were the right spots.

the shoot-out are really something. you get the wit moments and the action too. Game toting a pump gun...

some scenes were a kinda cartoonish, a bit because how the actors look and dressed. all in all, of the 73 minutes 25 is a alltime movie classic moment. 'cut the romance' -

this should be made series with Atlanta, Miami - with Luda and Nelly. Pras and Dre. should be good.

got a script that has got coke business, the Bay, swamp alligators... Eye of the Storm. with a rap star in the main role who's got a war between labels and a shipment coming up ala Key Largo...

Millionaire Boys Clubs is a good movie, go see it.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history