IMDb > Van Wilder: Freshman Year (2009) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Van Wilder: Freshman Year
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Van Wilder: Freshman Year (V) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 24 reviews in total 

28 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

It's no Ryan Reynolds...

7/10
Author: kyle-b-3 from United Kingdom
7 July 2009

...But it's still pulled off pretty well. What you have to remember is that this movie wasn't created with hopes that it would win an Oscar.

Sure, it doesn't have what the original title had, but i'm sure fans of Van Wilder will find Freshman Year a movie worthy of a few laughs.

Jonathan Bennett, who plays Van, plays the character brilliantly and as close to Ryan Reynolds as you can possibly get.

The ending leaves room for a forth, so I, along with many other fans i'm sure, are hoping for another.

I can almost certainly say that the majority if not all critics will say only bad things about this movie. But i can certainly say they don't and probably wont ever get the point of movies like this. It's not just another "stoner movie" it's a movie for people who appreciate a laugh.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

It wasn't trash, but not very funny either..

4/10
Author: Girish Gowda from BangaLore
20 May 2010

I loved Ryan Reynold's Van Wilder and I also liked Van Wilder 2: Rise Of Taj as Kal Penn is one of the funniest actors out there. My friend gave this to me to watch as he found it to be very funny and he knew that I liked the first two movies. But Van Wilder 3 is just a cheap spin-off of the franchise to make more money by using the name of Van Wilder. Standing on its own, this wouldn't even have made as much money as it did on the name of the franchise.

This film is a prequel of the first movie and starts by introducing Van Wilder (Jonathan Bennett) when he is in freshman year at Coolidge College. The college is run under the strict Dean Charles Reardon (Kurt Fuller) who is also a military guy. There is not much fun in the college, no parties, no kissing on campus and Van Wilder wants to liberate his college from sexual oppression and party dysfunction. He also meets a girl, Kaitlin Hays (Kristin Cavallari) who is very sexy, beautiful and she wants to be in the military! But he is head over heels in love with her, though she already has a boyfriend who is the dean's pet and training for the military. So, begins Van Wilder's journey into the as yet, unknown (for him) Coolidge College.

The first thing that hits you right in the face is Jonathan Bennett's immense effort to look and act like Ryan Reynolds (one of my favourite actors). Because, lets face it, he probably isn't that good an actor by himself. Also Kristin Cavallari is insanely sexy and hot. Instead of every other girl being naked, she should have been naked. It would have worked just fine for me. Kurt Fuller is a guy I have seen in so many movies and TV shows, but I never knew the guy's name. He is a pretty good actor, just doesn't work for this movie. But, I loved his portrayal of Zacharaiah in 'Supernatural'. The plot is the same as in many other college movies of this kind and the first Van Wilder movie also. I have no problem with that, but in that movie Van Wilder is actually a compassionate human being, rather than an all out party and sex animal. Here we have his two friends, one a pot-head Jamaican and the other is a Chinese named, Yu Dumb Fok (Ha ha! so funny, not). There is also his dog, Collosus's origin story here! There were some pretty hilarious moments though; the dildos beneath the bench at church was awesome, the dog sucking the Dean was funny too. Other than that, this was just another excuse to get girls naked and a cheap rip-off the Van Wilder franchise.

4/10

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

The director of this movie will suffer in hell forever

1/10
Author: partizanskaorganizacija from Slovenia
31 July 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie is as much enjoyable as chewing your own testicles still attached to you. I don't understand how one can be so talented to make such a disgusting movie. Congratulations this is one of the rare movies that I couldn't watch to the end and I watch a lot of horrible movies during my work at the video store.

3 guys: an ultra cool but subtlety homosexual guy, a pothead who thinks he is Jamaican and of course what else; the foreigner (this time he is Chinese). They are against the evil ones: Dean of the army colleague and his dominions army lieutenant's. Sounds familiar? Yeah? Thats because the movie is total ripoff from Police academy and Nationa lampoons Animal house. Remember the scene when officer Mahoney was having a blow-job during his speech? We have that. The strict female instructor? We have that here. The list goes on and on. I would like to say that movie is just one sketch after another but i cannot because sketches should be funny, this is just sad. Through all the movie Wilder tries to show how supremely ultra mega cool is. In my college he would probably get murdered the first week. The actor who portrays Van Wilder does really really extremely poor job. He tries to impersonate Ryan Reynolds so desperately every second of the movie that he of course like every really bad actor overdoes it and his thinking poses and eye swishing left to right and back make him look like homosexual schizophrenic. Other actor are not much better but at least not so annoying. The best actor I would say in these movie is the golf cart. Oh yes and the lame scenes: vibrators under church singers chairs, dog blowing of dean, dog feces on faces of soldiers,.... Do you see where I am aiming at? Perhaps this movie is meant only for mentally retarded or old under 14 years, that should explain a lot.

I thought that Road trip 2 was the worst movie in the world and it was until I actually saw this. I had to stop the movie someone in the middle because i was going to puke otherwise. I had bad taste in the mouth so I had to watch Wild Geese and Rio Bravo to regain my manliness and will to live.

This movie made me sad because Germany didn't win in ww2.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Pathetic! An insult to the original Van Wilder!

1/10
Author: from United States
4 December 2009

This is my first comment in IMDb. I don't usually write comments, but this movie is so pathetic, I felt like I must warn others.

I am a big fan of the Ryan Reynolds version of the Van Wilder. Opposite to most of the people here, I liked Rise of Taj, too. But this movie seemed like a pathetic attempt. The Ryan version was actually a cool guy who cared about people, tried to do some good stuff, but all this Van Wilder cares about is nudity and drinks!

And how this new guy tries to imitate Ryan is simply awful.

The storyline is also very very simple and seemed cliché. It really felt a cheap pornographic version of some old kiddy movies, like Matilda (This movie I liked very much, as this was actually meant for the kids), where a good kid tried to end the rule of a torturous principal in her school.

I wish they had a 0 rating, I don't feel like giving this movie even 1 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

If you thought VW:2 was bad ...

1/10
Author: HenrikJr from Europe
28 October 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Such an awful movie, what more is there to say?

To start with, I'd like to say that I watched the first (original) Van Wilder and liked it quite much. Then I watched the sequel (The Rise of Taj) and didn't find it as good, actually it wasn't good at all. But this third part, it was truly one of the worst movies I have seen in a while.

First of all, the cast. Jonathan Bennett has got zero charisma, and he fails miserably in the way he tries to mimic Ryan Reynolds' version of Van Wilder. Kristin Cavallari, well, what can you expect from a reality-TV star. She, unfortunately, can't act. The Jamaican and the Chinese room mates were embarrassing rather than funny.

The plot. Wilder goes to Coolidge as a "gigolo" who wants to get laid and party, but then he bumps into a girl who he truly loves. Unfortunately the girl has a boyfriend who turns out to be a real douche bag. (Wait, wasn't there something like this in the parts 1 & 2?..) This and the rest of the plot seem to be a bad edition of the same storyline used in the original version. Way too obvious, too.

I could go on and on about how bad this movie is, but it would just make me angrier. Don't waste your time on this.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This imitation of the original formula doesn't taste as good.

4/10
Author: SeriousJest from United States
6 October 2012

This movie tries to follow the format of the original film. Thus, there are T&A galore, raunchy humor, bizarre characters, and wild parties. Bennett even kind of looks like Ryan Reynolds.

But generally, this flick doesn't do it as good as the original. Some of the jokes are kind of funny, but most are tepid or even complete knockoffs of old jokes I've heard before. While the original used eccentric characters and outlandish situations as springboards for humor, this one just goes deep into Bizzaro World (a college run by its ROTC director, who has posted "No Partying" and "No Kissing" signs, and can involuntarily enroll students in ROTC?).

Bennett decently mimicked Reynolds, but he didn't have the same charisma. Cavallari was charismatic, though, and I liked her as the love interest. Meredith Giangrande was downright sexy as forbidden- fruit Eve.

If you love being grossed out, this film ups the ante from the first one on the disgusting factor, although that's not particularly my thing. I do have to say, however, that the soft-porn aspects of this film are better than the original. There are scenes involving girls with vibrators, and a sex-ed class that illustrates intriguing positions (although with clothes on, but still), which may almost make you forget you're watching a comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Actually pretty good

Author: jaziro1 from United States
23 October 2010

First, if anyone is watching a National Lampoon movie for Oscar nominations is a fool.

Second, its actually fairly funny. They just followed the basics.... lots of t&a, a douche bag, a hero, and some chick between the douche bag and the hero.... plus a lot of t&a

third, the only thing I didn't like is the lack of creativity of the jokes. They basically took a page out of Ace Ventura, and Adam Sandler.

I think Ryan Reynolds really made the first one good because, well it was Ryan Reynolds. And even though there have been a lot of N. Lapmoon movies, most of them were pretty... lame compared to this.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Don't view this movie as a prequel to the first one

6/10
Author: muhd haikal from Singapore
9 April 2010

Van Wilder 3: Freshmen Year is set to be the prequel of the original Van Wilder. However, there are many inconsistencies. I wouldn't call this movie a prequel, just a brand new title of the franchise.

If you have watched the original Van Wilder, you may not like this movie. Why? Because it doesn't star Ryan Reynolds. I've watched both movies and in my opinion, both movies were good. They're not awesome movies to start with. I don't expect Ryan Reynolds to star in this film anyway because he is too old for the movie. Just like the American Pie movies, people usually like the original 'lead actor; Steve Stifler' and Van Wilder for this case. The new Wilder hear suits well, young and fresh. He's acting was good, and so were the other actors.

If you have watched most of the American Pie Presents.. movies, don't expect this movie to be as crude and sexual as the above mentioned movies. It's just different..which doesn't mean it is a bad thing.

As a whole, i feel the Van Wilder: Freshmen Year is a good movie and i'd give it the same rating as the original Van Wilder movie, 6/10. Just for the record, i give AP: Band Camp a 6/10, Naked Mile a 7/10, Beta House a 7/10 and Book Of Love a 5/10.

View this movie with an open mind, and not as a sequel.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

no Ryan no sale

3/10
Author: Phillip tyko (yugiohmasterv@aol.com) from United States
13 July 2009

The new actor they got to play van doesn't do the role justice, the story was boring and lame with only one or two good laughs and the acting was just lame. This was just a way to use the Van Wilder name to make a ton of money off the DVD because it would do terrible with another name. The original was great and trying to bank of a success is just stupid when it comes to this series. Its not the worst sequel i have ever seen or the worst "teen" movie but its up with the worst. It would have been a lot better it was another spin off and not a prequel. The prequel method of movies is one of the worst a series can suffer from. My final thoughts are if your a fan of the original just leave this on the shelfs and don't worry about seeing it, it will be on TV soon enough anyway.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

awful

1/10
Author: wushahu from Romania
29 August 2009

I cannot believe that i've lost 1hour and 40 minutes with this insanely stupid movie. I don't recommend it even to my worst enemies. I can't even believe that a movie with this budget can be so bad and by bad i mean almost the worst comedy movie that i ever saw. The characters have stupid expressions on they'r faces all the time that do not fit to the proper situation, they'r actions in some scenes have no rational meaning. It's another classical teenage party movies filled with bad sexuality scenes. The single good thing about this movie is that some of the young characters may be appreciated by the critics and get to play in another movie.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history