IMDb > 2 Guns (2013) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
2 Guns
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
2 Guns More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 18: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 179 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Bad Boys reinvented as Washington and Whalberg shoot sharp in bullets and one-liners

7/10
Author: LeeRob7 from England
28 July 2014

An enjoyable ride that will keep you interested and entertained whilst not blowing you away. Trierd and tested buddy cop formula with a unique twist in that Bobby (Denzel Washington) is an undercover DEA agent working alongside Stig (Mark Wahlberg) an undercover naval intelligence officer to infiltrate then steal local cartel boss Papi Greco's (Edward James Olmos) bank stored cash for different reasons that later manifest themselves. Neither know the other is undercover each plotting to ditch their short-term partner when the job is done but unseen twists and turns see the two go up against the cartel, CIA and US Navy together in a bid to change their own fates whilst eliminating their enemies. Sharp talking and even sharper shooting, this movie is jam packed with funny, witty one-liners and high octane action. The two leads play convincing roles and share great on-screen chemistry that works brilliantly from start to finish, surrounded by a good supporting cast and well thought out plot. Think along the lines of Bad Boys reinvented for an idea of what to expect, very enjoyable. 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

2 Guns can't decide what it wants to be

6/10
Author: MacTheMovieguy from macthemovieguy.com
23 July 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Comic book films are all the rage now. Bet you didn't know that 2 Guns is adapted from a graphic novel. Even with that origin, 2 Guns feels like a direction-less retread.

Bobby (Denzel Washington) and Stig (Mark Wahlberg) start off the film as two drug kingpin-wannabees, but as the story moves forward, we learn that Bobby is DEA, and Stig is some kind of Naval Special Forces. They've been duped by their superiors into thinking they were in an undercover operation, and rob a bank for 43 million, that is just a CIA slush fund.

Bobby and Stig then have to work through their differences and investigate who set them up, and why, in order to clear their names and survive. Bill Paxton is a CIA operative trying to track down his stolen money. James Marsden is Stig's superior. Edward James Olmos is a Mexican drug lord. Paula Patton is Bobby's handler, an also random love interest.

Mark Wahlberg is at his most entertaining here. Wisecracking his way through a rather dull script. Washington is about on the same level as Safe House. I thought Wahlberg stole the movie. Paula Patton was painfully put through a scene where her hair perfectly drapes over her nipples, only to be in another shot where her nipples are shown. James Marsden brings nothing to the film, but Bill Paxton is fun as a semi-psychopathic CIA agent, though he's never really believable as a CIA operative. More like a bad ass private eye.

The film can't decide what it wants to be, as well as having a trailer that reveals a bit too much about the ending. Denzel's 'Make It Rain' should have been left out of the trailer. I can't help but feel that the movie is predictable, and even the twists don't really hit the way a real twist should. It's not a particularly bad film, I just don't think it offers anything new. It moves pretty quickly once it gets going, but it starts a little slow. I would say, you can see this film, just don't rush out to see it. I felt the same way about the last Kormakur/Wahlberg production, Contraband.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Twists and turns of corrupt rivalries.

7/10
Author: Michael O'Keefe from Muskogee OK
26 April 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Two special agents and a lot of guns are involved in this slightly humorous crime drama. Bobby Trench(Denzel Washington)is an undercover agent of the DEA, who teams up with Michael Stigman(Mark Wahlberg)to rob a bank in the hopes of busting a mob boss hiding millions of dollars in a small out of the way bank. Things get kind of complicated when Stigman, an undercover Naval Intelligence agent, shoots Bobby and takes off with the millions. By the time the two men find out each others true identities and are both working a sting against the same drug cartel; both are disavowed by their agencies and stuck in the middle of a bloody web of betrayals. Now they are forced to work together in finding out who the money really belongs to and try to make some sense of the inter-service debacle. Copious amount of violence, strong language and a bit of sexual activity; enough to keep everyone happy. Washington and Wahlberg work well together and know how to turn a laugh or two. A strong supporting cast features: Paula Patton, Bill Paxton, Edward James Olmos, Fred Ward, Robert John Burke, Azure Parsons and Edgar Arreola.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

2 W's are too amazing

10/10
Author: KexUK from Sweden
4 April 2014

I'm not exactly a fan of 'shoot em ups' that seem to be a modern film trend relying too much on body count.It was, therefore, with some trepidation that I ventured into 2 Guns.As a Washington fan and not unimpressed (like some here) with Wahlberg, I took the plunge. I found the whole movie to flow at a good pace with well written, witty and suspenseful dialogue. All the acting was at a very high level.I didn't see one character who did not absorb me as can often be the case. The story line was intriguing and held my attention exceptionally well. The action scenes were totally believable and exciting, with some very good stunts being pulled off. But, it really was the 2 W's that crowned it. The interplay and interaction of these two characters was fascinating.Sometimes a quip, sometimes just a glance, a facial expression.The level of acting from these two, ably supported by many other fine actors and actresses, produced a very memorable performance and film. I have no hesitation whatsoever in giving this a 10 and look forward to watching it again, a few times, to be able to further enjoy, at a deeper level, the intricacies and intonations profusely scattered throughout the whole film. It was also great to watch a film where someone could actually shoot instead of releasing endless rounds that hit nothing! Excellent entertainment with some fascinating twists.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Fun buddy action movie. 6/10

6/10
Author: leonblackwood from United Kingdom
15 December 2013

Review: This movie wasn't as good as I thought that it would be, don't get me wrong, it is watchable, but for some unknown reason, I lost interest after a while. The character were good and t hen chemistry between Wahlberg and Washington was good, but there was just way to much going on. The action was OK and some of the scenes were quite funny, but if you take your eyes off the screen for 5 minutes, your going to loose the plot. It's none stop from beginning to end and Mark Wahlberg really does chat a lot through the whole movie, but it's a fun ride. Watchable!

Round-Up: It's good to see Denzel Washington to comedy, in his usual cool way, and both actors really seemed like they had fun making this movie. It's full of corruption, action and a few witty jokes, but it just goes from one instance to another which made it over complicated. Apart from that, it's a typical buddy comedy with 2 actors who are at the peak of there careers.

Budget: $61million Worldwide Gross: $132million

I recommend this movie to people who are into there action/comedy movies about 2 guys who do a bank job and the baddies wanting the money back. 6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Nothing Inspiring or Genius, but Washington and Wahlberg Make a Terrific Duo,

8/10
Author: Dillon Harris from Ireland
9 December 2013

2 Guns is a great movie with a well developed storyline and a terrific cast. It's an enjoyable film with a unique and complicated story that see's two men working for different organisations getting tnemselves in to huge trouble after meeting with a drug lord, it keeps you at the edge of your seat with its terrific action and can also have you in stitches laughing on several occasions. My problem with the storyline is that it can be confusing at times, they don't spoon feed their audience enough, there were certain scenes where the two main characters are doing something, and I had no idea why they were doing it, their motives could have been clearer. The cast is all around fantastic, Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg both shine in the lead roles and the chemistry between them is the highlight of the entire movie, they are also joined by an impressive supporting cast that includes Paula Patton, Bill Paxton and James Marsden. Exciting, funny and action packed, 2 Guns is worth the watch if you're looking for a good action or crime film.

Two men, a DEA agent and a naval officer, work together to take down a major drug dealing business, both unaware that the other is undercover.

Best Performance: Denzel Washington

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Bit predictable but a very good one

7/10
Author: kwa-www (kwa.www@gmail.com) from Colombo
1 December 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

To me movie was bit predictable but it was fun to watch and it was well made. I will probably watch the file again in few months time.

From the beginning I knew that Denzel's Girl friend and navy officer are involved they were playing Denzel and Mark Wahlberg. I knew that at the end when Denzel had setup the car with money filled with explosives but what I didn't thought was he will keep some money which was smart move to make.

I love both Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg. They both are very good actors. Mark was the funniest one out of the the two but Denzel and some moments too. Mark has a knack-for-comedy which suit him perfectly.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The Vidiot Reviews

6/10
Author: capone666 from Canada
20 November 2013

2 Guns

The best way to smuggle drugs out of Mexico is aboard the Corona beer blimp.

Unfortunately, the mules in this action movie went with a car.

Apprehended at the boarder after meeting with a Mexican kingpin, Papi (Edward James Olmos), Trench (Denzel Washington) and Stigman (Mark Wahlberg) are taken into custody.

Later it's revealed Trench is undercover for the DEA, while Stigman is a disgraced Naval officer intent on taking Papi's money to his commanding officer (James Marsden).

Since the drug deal tanked, Trench backs Stigman's plan to rob Papi's bank, and bring him up on laundering charges.

But Trench and Stigman aren't the only ones keeping secrets.

While the boilerplate plot is predictable, the action is explosive and the curious chemistry between Washington and Wahlberg is classic buddy cop fare.

Furthermore, a dead giveaway that someone is an undercover Navy officer is their severe case of land legs.

Yellow Light

vidiotreviews.blogspot.com

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Why i think a lot of movies are getting bad reviews including this one

8/10
Author: d-adrian-williams from United Kingdom
13 November 2013

I think there's a lot of people out there who because they don't like particular actors they rate a film as garbage or whatever, im seeing a lot of anti mark wahlberg stuff here, thing is this isn't about rating ur favorite actors its about rating a film and their performance in it so when i see people slating this film i gatta ask........why? if you don't like an actor to the point of even if a film is good you're gonna slate it anyway i suggest you don't watch the movie, when i review a movies personalities don't enter my mind its the performances that i consider and i consider this movie at least an 7 at ther very LEAST it wont win originality awards but they bounced off each other really well so for those hating on wahlberg or washington i think don't get the jist of what were supposed to be doing here. Keep that in mind.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Guns, bank and diners

6/10
Author: Prismark10 from United Kingdom
13 November 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

2 Guns would be a type of Denzil Washington vehicle that would had bee directed by one of his regular directors Tony Scott who died last year. As it is this is a smart, hip action thriller wannabe which is not as smart or hip it thinks. In fact rather pedestrian and predictable and sort of guess how the final confrontation will pan out.

It starts out almost Tarantino style in a diner. Things get a bit heated later on with a topless Paula Patton. We have side serving of some interesting bad guys ranging from the Navy, CIA and Mexican cartels.

Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg play seemingly two small time crooks but one is with the DEA and the other is an undercover naval intelligence officer both under deep cover and both unaware of each others identity.

So we are soon involved in a cat and mouse chase, there is double crossing, you even can work out who did the double crossing, some dirty CIA officers all leading to one big shoot out. Washington and Wahlberg start out as buddies, then fall out once their true identities are revealed but have to work together to get themselves out of their predicament.

A director with flair and panache could had made more of this story, maybe instilled it with some better twists and a more interesting visual flair. Its decent popcorn entertainment, both leads are fine with Washington never having to leave third gear whilst Wahlberg having to hold his own against Washington whilst adding some humour.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 18: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history